Senior Championship results

yes sean you were excluded as you are not one of the nay sayers

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/09/2010 21:40:47    773675

S goldrick
please dont tell me you want to see a bunch of big donkeys running after the ball. yes i agree some big players but not all!Just go by stats like on every game see who plays well in league games and championship for example take the top scorers from every club and bring them in?

SEANORINN
nature boy put you in your place..i honestly think your opinions of players should be kept to yourself because your only there for the odd match and the information you have on players are limited!

we need scouts!!

fiesty1 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 13/09/2010 21:50:20    773689

773120 SEANN ORINN .. Living in the Uk i dont see many club matches but i get to all County Team Senior Championship matches, Now let me tell you something you might be too blinkered to see..
1 ... Gavin Duffy is as good if not better than any wing half back i saw playing for Cavan this year.
2..Young Murray is as good as any inside forward that started for Cavan this year barr Johnstone
3,.. mcClarey is not far behind him either
4...Domnic Reilly is as versitile as ul get anywhere in the County.
5.. King could hold his own in midfield.
6.. Eamon Reilly is a cert if intrested,
7.. Collins though been 33 is as goos as whats around
8..Forde can still play a bit even though he is retired.
9... Nothing wrong with Elliott either
10..Johnstone a cert.
11.. Dunne will be good in time2/3 years.
Now seanorinn theres 11 players that if intrested should be on the County panel...
richiej , 13/09/2010 at 15:10

SEANN ORINN .. Living in the Uk i dont see many club matches but i get to all County Team Senior Championship matches, Now let me tell you something you might be too blinkered to see..
1 ... Gavin Duffy is as good if not better than any wing half back i saw playing for Cavan this year.
2..Young Murray is as good as any inside forward that started for Cavan this year barr Johnstone
3,.. mcClarey is not far behind him either
4...Domnic Reilly is as versitile as ul get anywhere in the County.
5.. King could hold his own in midfield.
6.. Eamon Reilly is a cert if intrested,
7.. Collins though been 33 is as goos as whats around
8..Forde can still play a bit even though he is retired.
9... Nothing wrong with Elliott either
10..Johnstone a cert.
11.. Dunne will be good in time2/3 years.
Now seanorinn theres 11 players that if intrested should be on the County panel...
richiej , 13/09/2010 at 15:10

Young Murray is at the moment involved at one of the Inter County Levels so he has been noted
McClarey is also involved at Inter County Level
Domnic Reilly Eamon Reilly Doc Collins A. Forde Elliott Dunne Johnston are or were in on the County panel or are on the panel so you are naming all players who are there or who have left for one reason or another so nothing new.
You left out Lyng Smith Rabbitt Meehan Crotty.
These players have either been tried or they just don't want to know so what's the point may I ask.

I would like to remind you I watch all the players that enter the fray plus what goes on outside the line as well so no blinkers on this fellow but sadly I am pointing my finger directly at you for it would seem that you saw just one team yesterday or were the other team just figures of my imagination.??

NOW SEAN YOU CAN SEE WHERE YOU DID SAY DOMNIC REILLY WAS INVOLVED BEFORE...........DOES IT MATTER IF PLAYERS WERE INVOLVED BEFORE???
WASNT ANDREWS INVOLVED BEFORE TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO??

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 14/09/2010 10:42:41    773830

seannorinn.......You talk the biggest load of rubbish on this forum in my opinion. Your not consistant with ANYTHING you say.. YOUR ANTI GAELS FOR SOME REASON.........You talk rubbish about getting rid of at least 25 of the current panel and keeping only 5.. Yet you name only 3.
You show NO respect for a club or their players going for 7/8 Senior titles..
Your method of success involves having committed road runners with no footballing brain.....There more to Gaelic Games than having some headless chickens from some junior club that doesnt miss a night training..
Commitment can easily be Instilled.........But you cant make a silk purse out of a sows ear.....

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 14/09/2010 11:00:25    773852

Can any of you confirm, I read it in the gaelic life, that Damian Cassidy has been with cavan Gaels the past three weeks.

MickeyMouse (Derry) - Posts: 174 - 14/09/2010 11:26:13    773882

Lyng was on the county panel he left it
Johnston playes on the county panel
McClarey played with the U21 this year
Murray played with the U21 and junior
Duffey I don't know
E Reilly will not play he was ih the panel
D.Reilly the same

Above is your post Sean O Rinn so don't deny it. Mullahorn where the form team going into Sunday's game and Paul Brady was in line for club player of the year. Cavan Gaels beat the form team and Eamon Reilly nulified the club player of the year elect. Do you think the Gaels sent out text messages Sunday morning and rounded up a team to fulfill a fixture. These players put in the hard work to get where they are. It just doesn't happen and it is true they may not be playing as well as other years but they have been on the ropes a few times this year and have still come on fightin. If there was no passion they would not be in a final. If Mullahorn won Sunday you'd be on here saying "Mullahorn wanted it more" and all the other hindsight stuff you come out with. Also, what about your hero Dermot Shierdan? Where did he go in the second half Sunday?

PS: Players try not to give Johnston an inch. It's just easier said than done.

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 14/09/2010 12:11:14    773937

well done sunday Begby, best team won, another oliver plunkett for yous im sure?
surely favourites on saturday too??

dread08 (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 14/09/2010 13:05:28    774015

"Eamon Reilly nulified the club player of the year elect"

Eamon only won one ball off the Gunner in the entire second half...

Gaels far better team man for man than the Dreadnoughts but there aren't 7/8 county men on their team at the minute...

hughoreilly (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 14/09/2010 13:20:23    774034

Paul Brady had been playing really well this year and apart from a consolation penalty at the end made no impact in the second compared to what he had done in the likes of the Denn,Belturbet and Castlerahan games previously. If Mullahorn could have limited Johnston the way the Gaels limited Brady it may have been a different story. Just saying Brady and Shierdan were the form men coming into Sunday and looking back the Gaels done the job. To do the job it took heart, passion and desire and for anyone to question those credentials off the Gaels is pure tripe. Mullahorn are, and never will be easy bet but since 2002 the Gaels have played Mullahorn 8 times and have been successful on 7 occasions so credit where credit is due. Just ask Kilkenny what it's like to play a team that are hurt from previous defeats and have the hunger.

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 14/09/2010 15:15:24    774178

sean are u not going to respond to begbys post where u said dominick reilly was called up and niall murray on the juniors both not true, and what about ur no allegiance are u not going to respond to fight for ur own gowna club, u have wrote numerous times on this wen some othe rposters might say that a certain player wasnt training or something, u wud respond saying thats not true he did train, info that only members of a team should no, and what about begbys question about ur favourite player in the world it seems, ur knowledge is obviously quite limited and u seem to struggle with ur concept of team defending seems to be out the window, im suremickey harte wud love to hear u speak like that, sean come on get a grip man ur letting urself down

natureboy.woo (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 14/09/2010 16:51:03    774301

Can the Gaels Mafia lay off poor Sean

He like many of us acknowledge that the gaels are under represented and we would like that to be rectified for the good of our County team!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 14/09/2010 17:45:10    774367

all these posts lauding the gaels is all well and good but their attitude is appalling.forde is in every incident.elliott,e reilly,lyng,crotty question every decision and try influence refs.this might work in cavan but they get found out in ulster and when theyre in a cavan jersey.if they stuck to the football maybe they could backbone the county team but as it is they wont

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 14/09/2010 21:38:52    774621

i reckon it's safe to assume that Damien Cassidy is over the Gaels or is heavily involved with them the last month or so. Or else it's just a pure coincidence that he was in breffni park for their last two games & in the dug out on sunday

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 15/09/2010 10:28:52    774738

Not that I am in love with the gaels or anything like that, but after watching their match against cuchullains I think that they would be an infinitely better and more respected team if they just played football and stopped a lot of nasty things in their game like off the ball hitting, moaning to the referee.
starting one for alls in the middle of the pitch too is ugly.
If my memory serves me right it cost the gaels dearly in ulster last year.
grit, determination etc are needed to win but ultimately discipline is needed too.
in the particular case of the cuchullains match, the ref to say the least had an unfortunate day and probably left the pitch in a daze.
Last of all it's really easy to say johnny or mickey or pat should be on the county team and no doubt they have the talent to be there, but they also need to put in the dedication too, and that's sacrificing their lives for the sake of probable defeat or possible glory in the blue jersey of cavan.
FACT not every good club player wants to play with the county, for as much as it hurts it's the truth.
How many players on your reserve team could be on the senior team if they showed more dedication to their club and less to the bar? SAME CASE applies above.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 15/09/2010 12:03:10    774844

duumavagio.I understand what your saying but every County team challanges refs decisions. Cork, kildare Kerry. Dublin,, Meath are experts at it..Its a way of firing Teamates up. delaying time... part of the mind games and spoiling tactics that have crept into the game everywhere not just in Cavan.. Off the ball incidents we will always have especially in Championship football..And bad ref decisions are happening every where.. just ask anyone from Louth..
But there is no denying that these gaels lads are committed to their clubs...How do we know they wont show the County the same commitment??
They have been blamed this past 2 years for not wanting to play county football.....But how many of them did Tommy Carr personely ask to join the County set up??? I Spoke to 2 that were never asked by Carr yet they have been blamed for not playing.......

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 15/09/2010 13:21:14    774971

it not fair to the gaels players that people on here would accuse them of not wanting to play for their county, these people should encourage the management and all players that are good enough give it all for Cavan. Throwing rocks at Cavan gaels isn't helpful, there is obviously too few from the gaels representing Cavan so that must be put right!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 15/09/2010 14:47:23    775078

Richie and ochonlir, maybe I missed the point that i was trying to make and that is that if cavan gaels just concentrated on the playing side of things they would be in my opinion a much better team, they have the strength in depth, the talent etc. but they seem to get caught up in needless bickering.
In another match with a strict referee it would cost them dearly.
the second part of my message had little or nothing to do with the gaels. It was about the commitment needed by any player from any club in order to be on the county panel.
Personally speaking I'd love to see a lot more new blood on the county team and for their to be a strong presence of gaels players in the panel.

Going back to richies vision of the semi final between the gaels and mullahoran I would like to say I agree with sean orinn about the fact that 2 teams played the game and some of the mullahoran players played well too. more gaels players were better, and that's why they won.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 15/09/2010 19:20:35    775384

agree with drumavingo posts. on both points. However we shouldn't get caught up in this argument about who should be on the county team or not by looking at who stands out in these club games. . as I said in a previous post that counts for little. what we need now is big strong men who can play a bit and can be moulded into good team footballers. Guys who will commit. these will be the backbone of the team.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 15/09/2010 19:46:38    775416

Gaels to beat kingscourt by 10 points. Is this the ulster breakthrough year for the gaels? Tho What was the story with Dunne not shaking the managers hand when he went off?

spicer (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 17/09/2010 12:39:22    776838

Spicer, i also noticed that he sat in the dug out and didnt clap scores or encourage his team mates. This is just my opinion, but dunne there is no doubting the kids ability, but he needs to get meaner and he has the makings of a great player.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 17/09/2010 13:14:22    776885