Senior Championship results

Cavan Gaels have won a lot in Cavan in the last decade and fair play to them this doesn't mean however they have improved the standard, all im saying in The gaels guys should not have behaved the way they did yesterday, it was uncalled for on a glorious and momentus occassion for KINGSCOURT STARS the Cavan County Champions!!

JohnSilver1 (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 27/09/2010 14:47:14    784934

when you say it like that it is reasonable

but laughing out loud as you just did is disrespectful and I hate it when people stereotype other people, like you and your ilk do with Cavan Gaels

i understand rivalary and am not particularly fond of cavan gaels but a lot of the critsism is hearsay and unjustified.

I applaud Kingscourt they have given the rest of us fresh hope but the gaels have raised the standard and we will still have to work very hard to beat them next year.

The fact is that they did not get fair play in ulster and neither will Kingscourt.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 27/09/2010 15:13:33    784975

I think the Stars win yesterday is great boost for club football in Cavan as it should give all other clubs the belief that on the day it's anyone's to win, so hopefully clubs like Ramor, Cuchullains, Lacken and others can take inspiration from Kingscourts win, as they were at the depths of Div 2 over 2 years ago, Kingscourt don't have many standout individuals but Dudley Farrell has them playing lovely football as a Team and I'm delighted for them as players like Mossy Malone, Wakely, JP, Gavin Sheenan, Philly Smith that have played so much football without any reward and they have some great committed young lads in Barry Reilly, Barry Tully, Gray and Colm Smith. No doubt the Gaels will be back stronger than ever, but it shows they are beatable on the day. I thought it was a lovely touch of the CB chairman to allow Phil Smith present the cup to his home team and county champions Kingscourt Stars!!!!

JPritchard (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 27/09/2010 15:43:02    785009

After all the hype going into the game from posters on this site, I was expecting more from the Gaels. To be in a situation where they had survived four clear goal chances, where their opponents lost a key player to a serious injury and where they were gifted a goal, with their experience they should have kicked on from there. Instead they showed serious flaws in their mindsets with bickering and cynical behaviour. Throughout the game it was quite clear to me why they have failed in Ulster - they don't concentrate on their football and waste too much time posturing and moaning. On the other hand, I believe that Kingscourt in yesterday's mood, are well equipped to give Ulster a serious lash. They are focused and courageous, more of a country team than a town team. For me, the biggest contribution came from their manager Dudley Farrell. I was seated quite close to the Kingscourt bench and he was simply magnificent. Spotting and fixing throughout the game and introducing subs at key times that all made telling contributions. He is very highly thought off in Meath and now Cavan followers of football can see why. Another man who would fit the bill for me to look after our minors, but anyway… Finally, it's unfair to tar all the Gaels players with the sins of a few at the end. I saw most of them applauding graciously at the end and paying due respect to the Kingscourt speech. The ugliness was an isolated expression by a few idiots that should be left with their club to deal with, and I hope they do.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 467 - 27/09/2010 15:45:27    785012

Congrats to Kingscourt..

The ref was fair i thought,the game was a good show.Wish it was us but Kingscourt have to be admired they went down to the lows of Div 2 for two years the likes of Wakely malone Mc Cormack have been on the receiving end of gales hammerings all down the years but id say this is sweet.

Great management & club direction

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 27/09/2010 15:54:46    785023

okay here is my opinion on yesterday

referee
i thought he did well enough / if there was anything in it he gave it to kingscourt though / but it was a penalty - the defender pulled barry reilly back / too many gaels players mouthing and trying to bully the ref - how many times did he have to speak to gaels players about mouthing / i dont think 1 kingscourt player had to be spoken to in relation to this

support from the crowd
for me the most stunning thing about yesterday was the support for kingscourt / if there was 8000 people in attendance it seemed like 7,500 were shouting for kingscourt

seanie johnson
very dangerous player / the main stand out player cavan gaels had / although adge king was excellent - possibly the best midfielder i have seen playing the championship this year (and he is only recently back from travelling i believe) / was marked very well by bomber wakely though and the longer the game went on the quieter he got / he was winning the ball out in front but i think he did not like the raps he was getting when he won the ball / he needs to stop posing with his free kick ritual which just looks plain ridiculous - i think it really frustrates the crowd and they love getting on his back then

midfield
thought the gaels dominated here and still did not win which is a bit unusual / adge king was excellent

cavan gaels
11 straight county finals - amazing run, deserves serious respect / not sure whether they were at full speed yesterday - aiming for the ulster club maybe / but they got outplayed in the second half / did not play well this year / i dont think they are as good as they were / their backs can be got at now which never used to happen / not sure if the young guns coming in are as good as the excellent players who are on the way out / if you take seanie johnson out of their team and put him with the opposition many teams would fancy their chances / their discipline is poor - mouthing, play acting, posturing re decisions - cut it out and concentrate on the ball / they have become too cocky and this is a big wake up call for them

kingscourt
what a result / have only lost 2 games this year - cucu in the championship and the gaels in the league / so they have been good all year / have taken some heavy beatings off the gaels in the past so i dont think they will begrudge them this one / the team is young too and there is a couple of hardy young bucks coming up from minor too so fingers crossed kingscourt keep the head down and push on / dudley farrell has worked wonders with this team / when he came in with them it was literally a case of avoiding relegation from division 2 / next year win division two / next year win the championship and top to division one at the moment / that is some going / the players are a good bunch who have not got alot of silverware but have played a lot of football / underage structures in the club are being really focussed on (driven by the gaels success in this area) so kingscourt should get stronger / well done to all - what a year!

overall
why is the game being called controversial? - just because the gaels were beaten / i think this will inspire other clubs in a big way but may not have a massive impact on the county team / for all the talk about the gaels panel and strenght in depth, on the day the 'unknown' kingscourt subs made much more of an impact / for all the talk about the gaels not committing to the county - barring johnson and king, how many of them would actually make the county team? / there is no doubt that the gaels are sickened - but maybe this will be good for them / they were going soft, winning too easily for too long, when it actually went against them they could not respond / think the gaels will be almost a cert to win the oliver plunkett cup next year

thats all i got
would love to hear reaction / other opinions

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 27/09/2010 17:33:03    785147

just_the_facts cant disagree with alot of that, good to see a sensible post for a change on hoganstand.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 27/09/2010 18:04:43    785194

Can't argue with any of those comments, and the issue of the younger players coming through is a big on for the Gaels. Barring 2 or three good performances, the Gaels were devoid of leadership on the pitch. They have stuttered along all year and were found out yesterday by a better team who had a plan, stuck to it and reaped the rewards. I am a staunch Gaels man all my life and there is no doubt that even with some fairly dubious decisions from the ref (it was a penalty though) they had more than enough opportunities to get back into the lead after the penalty and they didn't take them.

From our perspective serious questions have to be asked as to why some many players were played out of position, not just yesterday but all year- the manger took this team backwards drastically this year and this has to be addressed. As for some of the younger lads, I personally think they would have more to offer on the County set-up than they showed yesterday, Enda King was by far the best man on the pitch yesterday and dominated midfield but I don't think he'd have the legs or the football required for inter-county football at the moment.

As for the craic after the final whistle, same old rubbish caused by the same old faces who seem to have a serious superiority complex, and unfortunately the rest of the club will be tarred with the same brush. Congratulations to Kingscourt, it's good for Cavan that a good open footballing team beat us and I hope it will be a lesson learned for the Gaels next year!

ferilpigeon (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 27/09/2010 18:39:14    785242

Well said ferilpigeon! It's nice to see people who can take defeat with grace and humility. I'm sure that the anti Gaels comments that have made their way onto this site in the past are borne mainly out of jealousy because the truth is that Cavan Gaels have set the standard in Cavan club football over the last 10 years - yesterday Kingscourt managed to reach that standard and fair play to them - it's some achievement to have come so far in such a short period.
From a county team point of view, I only hope that we can get the best players in the county, regardless of whether they are from the Gaels, Kingscourt or any other clubs, to fully commit to the county setup and pull together for the common good of Cavan football.
Well done Kingscourt and good luck in Ulster. Bad luck to the Gaels - ye will be back, I have no doubt about that!

CavanManInMayo (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 27/09/2010 19:29:30    785297

loved the silence when seanie scored the goal and him celebrating to himeself it seemed.....dont think the gaels supporters even like themselves anymore!!!!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 27/09/2010 21:48:12    785454

The comments of Cavan Gaels mentor in the Celt are pathetic. Can they not accept that thay were beaten by a better team on the day and just get on with it.

marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 29/09/2010 15:48:11    786792

the hobnails are back

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 29/09/2010 16:28:13    786836

O YES. What a sweet victory. Best team on the day won. Controversy ??? It was a penalty, defender pulled back Barry Reilly = foul. Im glad Jimmy Galligan had the liathroide to award it. I think alot of ref's would of let the gaels away with that foul. Thought overall the ref had a good game. Sour grapes from the Gaels assisstant manager in the Celt. How many soft frees did seanie johnstone get all year ? No way was it a red card for the shoulder on collins, a yellow at most. Can't touch a player these days which is a joke anyhow. Fair play to all the club players from other parts of cavan who came up Monday night to join in the celebrations. Didn't see any gaels lads up last night. Looking forward to ulster now in a little over 2 weeks, absolutely nothing to lose or fear.Oooooo arrr it's ambrosia !!!!!

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 29/09/2010 18:54:47    786999