richiej very good post .enjoyed ur comments .ure dead right in everything u say about cb.how can a new manager view any players in october,all good managers are taken up by now,only discarded left.i hear that luke dempsey and john maughan are touting for job.watch this space [heaven forbid]
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 17/08/2010 21:36:25
hurler40 County: Cavan Posts: 23
748843 richiej very good post .enjoyed ur comments .ure dead right in everything u say about cb.how can a new manager view any players in october,all good managers are taken up by now,only discarded left.i hear that luke dempsey and john maughan are touting for job.watch this space [heaven forbid]
all good managers taken up by now? Who was available and who did they go to?
we do need to act fast but steady on!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 17/08/2010 21:43:36
richiej very good post .enjoyed ur comments .ure dead right in everything u say about cb.how can a new manager view any players in october,all good managers are taken up by now,only discarded left.i hear that luke dempsey and john maughan are touting for job.watch this space [heaven forbid] hurler40 , 17/08/2010 at 21:36
I have not been on any other forums so are the positions of Galway, Laoish, Monaghan, Mayo to name but a few all filled with their new managers.???
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 21:44:33
Seanorinn....Well Laois have sorted their Manager, Galway vacancy only there 2 weeks yet, Monaghan want to interview canadates even though Banty expressed intrest in staying on, and well Mayo are Mayo, in as bad a shape as we are and seem to have no intrest which is reflected in their performances. My point Sean is ...........Everyone knew that TC was in his last year unless he did something spectacular ..The week he resigned Pete McGrath stated he was intrested in a return to County Management..hint hint.. Now with McGraths track record he was probaly the most expierienced Manager to become available so early in the season... Now let me explain my reasons for wanting an early appointment when a man of McGraths quality becomes available. We are down to the knockout stages of our championships, therefore all players are trying to impress even the ones who didnt want to play County football last year. By having a permanent Manager in place by now he gets the chance to watch,pick,and approach potential players with a view to forming a panel and for the league..He also gets time to produce individual fitness programes for each player to work on over the closed season.. Another words he and the players get a slight head start. How do you think a club player would feel if someone like McGrath pulled them aside after watching a Club Championship game and told them he was intrested in them pulling on the blue jersey? Players would feel 10 ft tall to think they impressed someone like McGrath..So pride in the blue jersey returns slowley.. Thats the importance of having a Manager in place while our Championship is stil in progress. Now look at our CB and the way they treat club players....What incentive do players have other than to do well for their own clubs? Only one club can win the Senior Championship but there is no incentive for potential players from other clubs to perform. Whos watching them? Everybody knows by October time the intrest amongst players and supporters in not there. What player is going to commit to a manager who probaly hasnt even seen him play in the local championship? Our main aim for 2011 has to be to get out of div3.. We need to praise our standard like Sligo and Down have and move up a div. Our goal has to be div 1 football in 3 years, So we need a headstart this year and get an open ended panel formed asap. Its a bit late waiting until January to see if players like the Reillys or Cullivan or others will Comitt...when the league starts in Feb The CB are showing a total lack of respect for ordinary club players by not having a manager in place to see whats available in the local championship That same CB will expect these same players to travel the County for meaningless challange and trial games in wet n cold January Sundays .. Why should these players make the effort then when during August in the Middle of the championship there was no manager watching when things were more competitive and players had intrest? Ask any County player or potential player would he rather have a Manager watching him now or in the middle of January? 10/10 will say now. But the CB will do it ther way.. Just like before.. Last time we were in no rush..look what happened.. If the CB want respect they have got to show players respect.That means giving all players equal oppertunity to impress a new manager through championship games . Because a Manager can only pick wat he sees and what will he see in January only half fit players with no intrest in togging out . Most Counties form their panel in late September ,give out individual fitness programes, meet up and discuss the year ahead .....Not Cavan...why.....cos there is no rush...........we aint going nowhere fast
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 18/08/2010 09:04:27
richj
why use one word when you can use 200
surely you can rant with a fraction of the drivel you just posted, none of which made any sense.
Are you in therapy?
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 18/08/2010 12:06:28
u might be touching a raw nerve ritchij.sean and other poster are cb men .[directly or indirectly].what u say is correct and you are posting what 95percent of us genuine gaa people are saying and thinking.galway are in decline due to inactivety of county board.mayo and laois in terminnal decline over same problems with managers over years.joe kiernan had to go because cb cut his backroom team.politics have taken over in mayo.see david brady article on indo.as for laois and monaghan less said the better.i cant see why cb cant go out and appoint a man asap.if ccb were a plc heads would roll.
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 18/08/2010 12:38:53
Another masterclass on debating here from Ochonlir..
richie makes a great argument for early appoinment of a manager. The right timing is just as important as the right man, choosing a panel from regional games will simply not work. The panel that we have had for the last number of years, despite all their hard work etc, have not being able to cut it in the Ulster Championship. With all due respect to Sean and his scouting we need a manager who can look at club games himself and find the players who he thinks he can work with to make a team that will be able to compete.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/08/2010 13:31:20
First of all richiej my post if you look was directed towards hurler40.
As things stand us as club members and supporters of the county and club scene have to accept what Tom O'Reilly our chairman is doing is for the betterment of the game here in Cavan and my gut feeling is that he will get what we want to go forward for the future of the game here in Cavan. To tell you the truth we can debate about this issue every week and still get no place. Our last manager came in at the later stages of the championship two years ago but all he did was take in a lot of the current players and brought in so called fringe players and really abused these by dropping them as the time went on. Now however after a disaster and a vote of no confidence he won the day "and enough said about that?" he had every opportunity to pick the best for the year just gone by and what did he do ? really nothing same old faces and same old story. Now the situation I feel is different despite the delay and probably another year may be lost, our chairman has really got our county future deep in his heart. My sentiments as well about getting promotion it has to be priority for if you keep playing division 3 and 4 teams you will never be able to compete with the elite like kerry Cork Tyrone Kildare Dublin Down and so on.
Hurler40 There are no raw nerves when it comes to me for I am not part of the county board just a real honest to god supporter like most on this forum. If I was part of the county board I would still say it as I see it, no blinkers on this person. Is mise Sean O'Rinn, Slain go Foill
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/08/2010 13:58:19
This whole debate has gone a bit stale lads. Unless there's some new thinking out there, let's wrap it up and wait until the CB decide to announce the new Manager.
ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 18/08/2010 14:24:00
Agreed, lets move on and let the CB do their work.
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 18/08/2010 14:39:06
jonsmith did I expect anything more from you other than disagreeing for the sake of it had you read the posts you would clearly see that richj is a guy with a chip on his shoulder who states the obvious and has a go at the county board, as do you!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 18/08/2010 14:40:20
The C.B. are in no rush !! Why ? In my opinion they have some more of the same in mind and want all the good prospects to be taken so that they can say "" well we had to do with what was left" !! Richiej and Sean you two were dead right with your comments and before Tommy was appointed i had said similar things myself, so it looks like its back to the future again for Cavan unless they C.B. spring a surprise but don't hold your breath !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/08/2010 14:50:59
My opinion Ocholir is that we should appoint a manager in time for the latter stages of the Championship. I have stated why above. Why do you think there should be a delay in choosing a manager? Once again your comments on the matter contain no substantive points, just petty insults and blind support of the CB for personal reasons.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/08/2010 15:18:41
to cut it in the Ulster Championship. With all due respect to Sean and his scouting we need a manager who can look at club games himself and find the players who he thinks he can work with to make a team that will be able to compete. JonSmith , 18/08/2010 at 13:31
Jon Smith the fact the we at this moment in time don't have a manager requires drastic actions so if the county board have scouts around the county it can do no harm at all but good? I am not one of these scouts I might add.?? What I would hope is that the designated people who have been selected to do this job that they don't know who has been designated along with themselves but if they do know each other I feel you don't get a proper balance of opinions for they will listen to each other. For example one might have seen a player play very well today and he draws his assumption that this fellow is good but if you have a few watching the same match you get a balanced opinion once you see their lists not a combined lists with the same names if you know what I mean. I am sure like me many write down what they perceive to be players that may have the potential to step up to the next level but I am sure at the end of the day in this game we will not agree with everyone that is written down.
With all due respect to Sean and his scouting we need a manager who can look at club games himself and find the players who he thinks he can work with to make a team that will be able to compete. It is near impossible for any manager to watch all matches so the result of these players with potential in some clubs will never be seen? So the scouting is important if the players mentioned are picked on merit ability and not because dad played inter-county football or hurling it must be in his blood nonsence???
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/08/2010 16:43:36
truth hurts and jon smith u hit nail on head when u say [blind support of county board for personel reasons] thats whats wrong in this county,cb officals and employees of cb sticking their fingers in the pie.look at the mess with banty in monaghan now.i could go on and on .its clear the cb are incapeable of appointing anyone.why not appoint a sub comittee to get a manager now.as for sean o rinn and ochonlir ;your posts are not helpful and childish.wonder why ye slag off genuine posts of ritchie and hurler 40 .undying love of county board maybe? OR SOMETHING ELSE?
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 18/08/2010 16:59:49
Can we please stick to the question of who will place Tommy Carr? Form another forumn for the county board issues. Has there been any further names thrown into the hat? Is Terry Hyland going for the position?
Angelina (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 19/08/2010 19:00:46
Angelina,
His name has been mentioned. Who would you like to see as manager ?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/08/2010 19:41:58
to replace tommy carr is a complex job or so it seems!.terry hyland is available ready and waiting for call .its my opinion that terry should be given a chance.afterall he can do no worse than last 4.
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 19/08/2010 19:56:15
.undying love of county board maybe? OR SOMETHING ELSE? hurler40 , 18/08/2010 at 16:59
unlike you hurler40 I am my own man cannot say the same for you however. I owe no one in the county board anything and I mean that not one person on the Committee, cannot say that for you however. Sean O'Rinn is a stand alone person and is not guided by anyone. Foolish posts deserve to be knocked not that I knock many however. I am hoping to god that we finally get one manager in all levels that we can look up to as we have none at this moment in time any that are currently holding positions of management with our county teams in both hurling and football.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 19/08/2010 19:58:34
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 5576
750943 Angelina,
His name has been mentioned. Who would you like to see as manager ?
Val Andrews. PAUL MCCORRY As trainer
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 19/08/2010 20:14:29