I'll take the job-80 grand i think should do for the 1st year with increases each year thereafter and bonuses for winning any games!Where's my contract?
beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 15/08/2010 20:36:31
hurler40 County: Cavan Posts: 21
746495 there u go againn sean o rinn.knocking everyone and anyone who does their best for cavan.that is a disgraceful comment about wee martin who was a great success with cavan.cork mentality?
You are a pathetic man hurler40 and you hide as usual behind an alias, Read my post you will see no knocking.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 15/08/2010 21:59:14
Sean
I don't necessairily disagree with your arguments but you must understand that this forum like many others on the internet work because it's username based. You are pretty unique using your real name. Usernames get people giving their views in a less inhibited way and that's the way it is. So nobody is hiding behind their usernames we are just participating in a username forum. you can't base your argument on annonomity vs name disclosure because this forum is designed for the former. it's great that you are so open but this forum would collapse if everybody had to do what you do.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 16/08/2010 11:44:22
Sean
I don't necessairily disagree with your arguments but you must understand that this forum like many others on the internet work because it's username based. You are pretty unique using your real name. Usernames get people giving their views in a less inhibited way and that's the way it is. So nobody is hiding behind their usernames we are just participating in a username forum. you can't base your argument on annonomity vs name disclosure because this forum is designed for the former. it's great that you are so open but this forum would collapse if everybody had to do what you do. ochonlir , 16/08/2010 at 11:44
I fully understand your intelligent reply from an intellectual person but what annoys me is pointing a finger like a coward behind an alias. This is why Cavan is the way it is with attitudes like hurler40 and others knowing they can shout like they do because they are safe because the receiver does not know the supplier. When you have nothing to hide and you give your honest opinion be man or woman enough to stand by what you say or do. Sad thing is that these people are more than likely talking to me weekly and even licking up to our County executives and tapping them on the back and stabbing them on here what a shame.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 16/08/2010 14:35:46
Sean I agree with most of what you have to say there. Firstly heres where we may differ, this is a forum of free expression and we shouldn't limit the types or styles and when people are obviously taking the U.Ryan then they are called "WUMs" and ostracised. But these WUMs add to the general experience. It's good to hear daft ideas, mine for example, and unreasonable arguments mixed in with rational and logic this all makes for good reading gets people going etc etc. Some people like other people and agree some people are populist and like to get acknowledgement but as this is a username driven forum it works because people have the freedom to say what they want because of the said usernames. So my gereral view is that this works because within reason and adhereing to basic morals anything goes!?
Here's where we definitely agree. I don't like it when posters attack individual players and officials as i believe that most people, players, officials and the Co Boards do their best largely for the most part with out pay! So it's grossly unfair to single out a volunteer or group of volunteers and hurl populust abuse at them in the form of hearsay and gossip. It's ok for me or you to have a go at another poster, their views or opinions but we should draw the line at singleing out a players who has trained for months for the cause.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 16/08/2010 15:32:25
OCHONLIR.....What you need to realise is that posters on here are supporters too. So as you know they pay hard earned money to go and see their County Team in action.....AGREE??.. Supporters also pay money through fundrasing events and sponsorship which is used for the benifit of our County Team expenses and our paid officials..AGREE. When supporters see lack lustre performances like we have seen of late they feel quite annoyed and agrieved at the return they are getting. This added to the passion most Cavan ppl have for their football. Not to mention our so called tradition. Supporters are entitled to complain..Look at our CB track record of late...Last year we could not even finish our domestic league over squabbling about this and that...The CB never took control and let it linger on ..What comfort does the ordinary joe soap get out of a mess like that be he a club player or supporter going to matches?? So respect works both ways. How can anybody respect a CB who operates the way they do. Brush everything under the carpet and hope the problem goes away..Thats their motto. Players comitt to the County Panel at the start of the year..Yes its amatuer and its their choice to play or not..They get their expenses,, mileage ect..Then half way through the year 1 or 2 quit because they get the hump about not being selected..So suporters voice their opinions like they are entitled to do. Anybody who went to Cork to watch that shower score 4 points in a Championship game are entitled to have the hump and let their feelings known.. Cavan have the best supporters around when they see an effort being made.. Little bit of heart, little bit of know how and passion is all we ever asked for. Now we have a situation where the CB have decided there is no rush finding a Manager.. Our local Championship in full flow but there is no rush..Would it not be better to have a manager in place now so he could see for himself who he wanted to approach for next years panel?? No we dont work the easy way. We want to wait until all our competitions are over and just before the closed season in november we will pick another 2nd rate yes man ,hand him a list of players who have played well in the championship, name his selectors for him and let him organise trials for january on heavy wet pitches with unfit players who would rather be propping up the bar in the Imperial on a cold January Sunday than driving down to the far end of Swanlinbar for a meaningless trial. We at the last 8 in the County Championship,We are Managerless. and we clueless too it seems
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 16/08/2010 16:21:09
Richj
most of what you said there is correct, some of it is hearsay and opinion and not factual.
However people try their best and if it's not good enough we need to get better people in place, that process is brutal and if you ever saw someone being voted out at the AGM its very painful. So bad in some cases you would wonder why someone would accept such a thankless job. So I totally agree that change is necessary and that we need to sieze the moment in terms of recruiting a new manager and that is fair critisism. My argument is that we should effect change by our own actions and challenge what's wrong by using fora like these but attack the issues rather than the people who are trying their best with their voluntary time.
Yes call it like you see it but you should appreciate the efforts of the people working for the betterment of Cavan football, appreciate and remove if necessary, but throwing rocks at well meaning individuals wont change things.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 16/08/2010 16:41:05
All club representatives on the C.B. do the natural thing and put their club before the county. They feel they are serving their club and their club players better by doing this i.e. we have a great player who is good enough for the county. They court the selectors for the betterment of their own men. What an outside manager and selectors would do is make sure this does not happen and only use the players they see as good enough. The exceptional players are easy to spot as they dominate games but there are not a lot of them. The rest are in some cases vouched for and selectors are sometimes cajoled to put them on the panel. This is sometimes to the detriment of other players who might be even better but do not make the panel. Its human nature and i have seen it myself a lot over the years !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/08/2010 11:09:18
slasher
I don't think thats fair, I can see why you might think this and it may have happened from time to time but not as wide scale as you think. External selecctors may help and shouldn't be ruled out but we shouldn't dis out own so quickly. If external = better we should do it.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 17/08/2010 12:36:49
I have seen it happen as i stated and i am not dissing at all as i already said its human nature !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/08/2010 12:48:08
Now that Banty Seamus McEnaney has all but been told that he is not wanted would it be worth while approaching him for the Cavan job, would Matry be happy to come back as trainer I suppose not. Would Seamus come to Cavan would he work with a local trainer called Paul McCorry, what are your views on this situation that is now unfolding in Monaghan? So much for bringing your team to the brink.???
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 13:58:10
firstly i dont hide behind an allias,it makes my blood boil when i hear comments about ex managers who have done a good job.mrtin mchugh does not deserve them comments after all he did for cavan.bet u sean was slapping him on back in 97.now look what ye are saying.secondly a forum is a platform to express an opinion where u agree or disagree.dont be taken it personel.as for banty ,he cant take monaghan over finish line and now he is good for cavan.no more failures please.
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 17/08/2010 14:23:19
firstly i dont hide behind an allias,it makes my blood boil when i hear comments about ex managers who have done a good job.mrtin mchugh does not deserve them comments after all he did for cavan.bet u sean was slapping him on back in 97.now look what ye are saying.secondly a forum is a platform to express an opinion where u agree or disagree.dont be taken it personel.as for banty ,he cant take monaghan over finish line and now he is good for cavan.no more failures please. hurler40 , 17/08/2010 at 14:23
What I say to you hurler 40 is read my post I have not slated Martin McHugh what I said was he knew he was going to get no more from what he had and he did the wise thing quit while ahead its that simple/ Being that you were in management and are curently involved your post is what I would expect from you.
I hane no problems standing up to be counted and you know that for you spoke to me often enough to know where I stand. I did shake Matins hand and I did pat him on the back as well for he was one of the very few that respected the facilities and plus the players respected what they had as well. I also shouthed his praise in Dunnes stor car park. He and most of the players from that period will talk to me when ever we cross paths. I am not nor will I now start shafting any managers for I am not afraid to say to them one on one to there face what I think. Sean O'Rinn
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 15:13:18
Folks is Banty receiving a three year extension at Monaghan?
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 17/08/2010 16:38:55
i c topics on hogan stand who will succed tommy carr as i read i didnt see many names apart from pete mcgrath who we saw in paper few weeks ago now here that pillar mccaffrey ex dudlin manager is linked with job but as he is supposed to of stated he would not manage any other county outside of dublin; in past few years gone by the managers have been outsiders but have not come up trumps; apart from martin mchugh then other people say get a local which at the moment only name i c is terry hyland of lacken who should co board decide to bring in and sean o rinn whats your opinion as i be in stand at games i c u be up in press box alot taken note of players i was thinking you should go for selector or just concentrate on pitch and leave it to next panel of selectors
Davin (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 17/08/2010 16:42:48
i c topics on hogan stand who will succed tommy carr as i read i didnt see many names apart from pete mcgrath who we saw in paper few weeks ago now here that pillar mccaffrey ex dudlin manager is linked with job but as he is supposed to of stated he would not manage any other county outside of dublin; in past few years gone by the managers have been outsiders but have not come up trumps; apart from martin mchugh then other people say get a local which at the moment only name i c is terry hyland of lacken who should co board decide to bring in and sean o rinn whats your opinion as i be in stand at games i c u be up in press box alot taken note of players i was thinking you should go for selector or just concentrate on pitch and leave it to next panel of selectors Davin , 17/08/2010 at 16:42
Well Davin as a long time supporter of the game I can take all the notes I want regardless of what you think. I am no different than any other person who has an interest in our game. I hope that when you were watching me taking as you say notes I don't have anything in my hand except the list of the team nothing else maybe off course a pen to mark any changes that have been made by the management, with regards what I am supposed to be doing you will find before I sit down my input is finished until off course you the teams and the supporters are gone then it will be another two hours before I leave, so wise up and get a life. From who it matters there are no complaints about my end of things.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 18:34:26
Agree or disagree Sean has as much right to comment as the next man and very often i do agree, even if i am mischevious sometimes
we share common ground on occasion and he is brave enough or foolhardy enough to use his own name but his opinion is as as valuable as anyone elses
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 17/08/2010 18:48:30
Going for selector Davin might not be a bad idea but as I cannot tolerate bad manners ill discipline disruptive players I expect a lot would find it hard to work with a no nonsense person.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 19:22:25
seanoroinn,
I will look forward with interest to your completed list of players who played well in the championship as due to work commitments i will not make many more games.
I have to say your comments on here are always well thought out and non biased !! You have the betterment of the county team at heart !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/08/2010 19:56:21
seanoroinn,
I will look forward with interest to your completed list of players who played well in the championship as due to work commitments i will not make many more games.
I have to say your comments on here are always well thought out and non biased !! You have the betterment of the county team at heart !! Cavan_Slasher , 17/08/2010 at 19:56
Thank you Cavan_Slasher as I stated in an earlier post I would post my full list after the County Panel is selected for I have no desire to influence those that are currently scouting the matches. I can only take names of those I see in Breifne Park so those that are doing the scouting will have been able to watch games at all level in other pitches. I will starting from next Thursday week see all levels playing and I am sure I will see players worth noting for the future be it at U21 Junior or Senior as we are now into the quarter final stages, I must add as I don't know the age of the players they are just noted from what I see on show by their performances.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2010 21:20:04