headless chickens?
with supporters like you to boost the confidence of our players we're really going places!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 13/08/2010 16:18:40
Denn Man County: Cavan Posts: 174
745379 Ohhh Such Anger!!!
Kidare are like robots they play to a system like Trapatonis crew.If you think they ll win the All Ireland i ll def take that bet.Meaths run was poisoned with the huge score differance again the dubs & then the Louth saga.Kevin Reilly was a horror.kildare wont sore 7 from play points the next day....
Seanie johston is best forward in Ulster,( Ever hear of Sean Cavanagh??)micky lyng class act.( How many championship games has he played in the last 5 years?)Raymond galligan is good enough from what i ve seen this year,(Did you only see the rossies game?)Barry reilly Kingscourt very classy(Agreed) & strong,Mackey are you telling me hes useless.(What did he do against Cork?)Paul & philip Gunner,Mark Mc keever a brilliant brilliant player,nesty not too bad.
Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 13/08/2010 17:19:07
Mackey are you telling me hes useless.(What did he do against Cork?)
scruffy what did he do against CORk I ask ? he scored a point on the 37th minuet that was that so if this makes him good then I don't know what to say. Yes I say R. Galligan playing very well at the minuet and thats good for the future as is Reilly from Kingscourt, Leddy from Redhills to name but a few. DennMan are you for real when you name the players you have and put them up with the best in Ulster maybe in Cavan but that is as far as it goes lad so wind down a few notches will ye.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 13/08/2010 17:59:07
lads we have to support our county in our time of need not run them down
r6 (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 13/08/2010 18:56:40
r6 County: Cavan Posts: 7
745699 lads we have to support our county in our time of need not run them down
I for one am not running anyone down however I am saying to denman to come down a few notches when he puts players up on the high pedestal. Lets be honest at this moment in time maybe the best in Cavan but deffo not outside of it. Note my word MAYBE for I am not sure they are the best we have,???????????????????????????
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 13/08/2010 21:35:59
Denn Man
As you know Kildare and Cavan crossed paths two years ago in Newbridge and Kildare got home with the aid of an injury time goal. Since then they have gone there seperate ways. If Kildare manage to win Sam for the first time since 1928 then it will be a victory for absolute honesty. Honesty of effort on and off the pitch.
When O'Dwyer left Kildare he left a legacy of total effort to the cause. Team work was everything and you know it has not been lost since. John Doyle, Kildare Captain, plays centre field for his club, he is the most honest man you will ever come across on a football pitch. He is not a natural forward in the way that Sean Johnston is, but he works his socks off and if someone is in a better positon then J.D. gives him the ball. If Kildare win sam it should give hope to another 20 counties including Cavan.
If a Kildare player is asked to train for 8 days a week, its no problem, asked to eat grass again its no problem!
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 14/08/2010 10:47:56
The subject of the post is being lost with this discussion about players !! We should concentrate on who will/should actually replace Tommy Carr and become Cavan's new manager. I for one want to see a complete outsider take charge, others want a local Cavan man. My reason is that " a new brush sweeps clean " and an outsider sees everything from his own perspective without interference from anyone i.e Pete McGrath. He attends games and sees the potential himself and does not listen to people, or rely on people, suggesting names to him. Thats how he has always done it. The man is a perfectionist. He won't listen to the "theres a young lad from OUR club" types at all and will decide his own panel. he takes no messing either, you either buy into his way or you're out. That in my opinion is why we should go for him now !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/08/2010 11:07:35
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 5524
Has Pete McGrath said he would like the Cavan Job I have seen nothing or heard nothing any palce where he has said that he would, so may I ask why Pete McGrath. I like the no nonsence side of it but with reference to picking his own men well right now that is near impossible is it not so why not look at all potential players the scouts will hand him for this coming season and then let him go and view matches throughout the year. The sad think here is that he will inherit what is here right now and it will be near impossible not to see the same faces for the McKenna Cup and the National league. If he was to adopt the new names handed to him well with all the names he would have in his possesion he could let's say run a mini league over the Month of November December on the 3G pitch twice a week or even two nights and one weekend day, The invitation should be sent to the clubs also to send in what they feel are potential? This way he will get a chance to observe what is there. If this was tried it would be a good way to see what potential selectors have to offer by giving them 20 players on a night and get him to make up a team this way he will have an idea what they have between the eyes and how they change their team around over the period of the match. 3 twenty minuet periods per match. I suppose you can say daft but at least an idea.???
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 14/08/2010 11:35:19
Nothing daft about it at all Sean but i know for a fact that Pete has a hands-on method. I do not know if he is on the C.B. list as they are very tight-lipped but the post was aimed at suggesting / guessing who will replace T.Carr. I do know that Pete is available and ready for action, he wants to get back into Senior management and has all the credentials necessary for the job. Thats why i think he is an excellent candidate !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/08/2010 12:14:13
If an outside man is to be appointed then the C.B. have got to go for the best available. If they are looking for a proven record then it should be down to:
McGrath O'Dwyer O'Mahoney or Kiernan
as stated in a previous post. If they are looking for a McGeeney type appointment then it has to be Peter the Great.
In order to get any of the above mentioned the County Board have to go out and sell the job to the above.
If it's to be from within the County then it looks on face value that Hyland is a shoe in.
Whoever gets the job needs, time and the rub of the green. If Cavan came out of Newbridge with a two point win two years ago maybe things would be different today, maybe?
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 14/08/2010 12:31:37
Paul Grimley is on the move.
Geezer also on the move
Rumours in Armagh are rife
They are set to take the job with Galway
Dublin wanted Grimley for 2011 on a 3 year deal if they don't win Sam this year.
Cavan's terms were not really attractive enough but Cavan may yet pull off the biggest swoop in years.
But wait for it, there is an even more cunning approach coming from way down south.
Whoever lands Grimley gets the silverware
Everyone now knows Grimley is the acedemic in the track suit.
Even the Kingdom!!!
What could they offer Grimley? except maybe a place on the team.
bonker (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 14/08/2010 14:05:45
bonker(s)
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 14/08/2010 20:17:02
If Cavan Slasher is right about McGrath's desire to get back on the management merry go round then the County Board should snap him out. We might get someone as good as him but not better and there is a huge risk of acquiring someone not in his league.
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 15/08/2010 10:09:13
KildareBlue,
Not only that but Pete McGrath is not in it for the money. While managing Down he took little or no money as the love of G.A.A. is his life. He hardly ever claimed expenses at all in his entire time with Down !! So if that does not encourage the C.B. nothing will !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/08/2010 11:40:59
SLASHER....You are correct in everything you say about McGrath. He would want to see the players for himself.There would be no point in handing him a list of potential players..Maybe thats why he said weeks ago he was intrested in a return to management so he could get involved from the closing stages of the local championship. See the problem for Cavan is if McGrath got the job well he would call the shots. He would have his own selectors. Probaly have John Murphy from Down because he has always been his right hand man. See our County Board dont like to have someone too powerfull in charge because that way they are not in control. McGrath is the ideal man. Hopefully some club will recomend him or propose him shortly. I know for a fact the Gaels were intrested in Joe Kernan 3 years ago to manage them but i dont think he would commit to Cavan as his sons play with Armagh. Some one mentioned Paul Grimley??. Seems Kildare have improved since he left..He is nowhere near County manager standard on his record. McGrath the man for us..But he is too powerfull and knowledgable for our county board..THEY NEED AND WANT SOMEONE THEY CAN CONTROL
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 15/08/2010 14:18:20
richij
you aare in cloud cuckoo land with your views that the co board want to control the manager
what is the basis of this belief
please explain
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 15/08/2010 14:43:55
OCHONLIR....Its based on the belief that we have just appointed 2nd rate Managers since 1997...2ND rate i mean well is there any ex co managers managing at inter county level?. Ochonlir ........find the REAL reason why McHugh left and you wil see what i mean. Why not at least interview McGrath weeks ago when he said he intrested in return to management?? Why not?..Because McGrath is off the radar he way too powerfull in his ideas We are looking for a Manager we can hand a list of players to and say manage them.. You ever look at the sideline during a County Match??..Check out the hangers on with the manager and his selectors... When the last manager to really pick his own selectors?? I
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 15/08/2010 15:34:18
We are looking for a Manager we can hand a list of players to and say manage them.. You ever look at the sideline during a County Match??..Check out the hangers on with the manager and his selectors... When the last manager to really pick his own selectors?? I richiej , 15/08/2010 at 15:34
I really don't think you people have really got to grips with what is going on. Our Chairman has said it will be October at least before we have a manager now putting two and two together I can see he has his man all ready but is just taking his time making sure they all understand what is involved with getting our team together. What is the harm in some people been designated a job to scout what is around the county the new manager would not be able to do that anyway so what's the harm in this. Handing him a slip of paper with names on it is just that nothing else, he the new manager will have every opportunity to view what he has with the current panel plus what may be available from the lists. I personally believe it's the way to go for now for if the new man comes in gets three years to improve the situation I.E getting promoted maybe winning a McKenna cut maybe getting to an Ulster Final is this too much to ask?? I totally agree richiej and I have stated this many times about the extra personal on the side line and in the dug out these need to be removed very fast only way forward. I am pinning my trust with our new Chairman and my feelings are he will get a good person please god. In relation to Martin McHue he knew he was going to get nothing else from the panel he had and as it was in his business interest he run whilst he was ahead it's that simple, it's called being clever.???. Sean
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 15/08/2010 16:47:36
there u go againn sean o rinn.knocking everyone and anyone who does their best for cavan.that is a disgraceful comment about wee martin who was a great success with cavan.cork mentality?
hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 15/08/2010 17:19:54
richj
it's all in your head
tell me, did some of the last management report back to Hq to help them contro; things, and who were they
you're talking nonsense and being critical of the wrong things
you, if you are a member of a club, can influence the make up of the county board like the rest of us
so instead of making things up, make things happen!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 15/08/2010 20:28:09