Who will succeed Tommy Carr?

i know we shoulnt be rushing into getting a new manager as that could turn out a big mistake.. but is anyone else feeling that if we wait to long that could also be bad??? surely we want a manager soon so that he can take a look at as many teams in the county as possible during the championship??? in a few weeks a lot of teams are going to be out and then a new manager will not get to see teams until the league next year.. championship is when players are at their peak of the year and should be fittest so this is when you see how much potential a player really has and hoew they cope with pressure of a big match.. i just dont want to see players overlooked thats all im saying.. hope we get a good manager that will nail the lads feet to the ground and try get us going.. roll on tomorrow night now:):)

cavanman10 (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 21/07/2010 17:52:35    718338

I see on all the other county pages that there seems to be progress in appointing managers where the managers have resigned. Not so in Cavan it seems. Are the county board going to delay the decision/Process until after the championships have finished. then the new manager will have no opportunity to see club players at their best. If this is the case the County board should ask ten well respected ex players (persons that might be in line for being selectors/managers or who have been involved in the past) to attend as many club matches as possible in the next few week with view to drawing up a preliminary panel of about 60 players for the new manager to work from. What do ye think lads???

observerexile (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 28/07/2010 16:49:41    727352

observerexile

well with what has been on show so far in Breifne park it would be hard for anyone to pick out any potential players so maybe best we don't have a potential manger to view them so far.??? From what has been on show maybe three or four have stood out ??

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 28/07/2010 17:43:51    727437

Sean O Rinn - my point exactly - There are 40 clubs in the county - not all of them - indeed only a small portion of then will platy in breffni park this year. It is the responsibility of the county board or who ever to get to all the games junior intermediate and Senior and see what talent is there. If you wait till semi final stage you have already eliminated 2/3 of the playing pool from getting a look in. Even if you got 6 players from junior clubs and anothe six from intermediate clubs that might make it work with them and get maqybe 2 that are good enuf well then it's a worthwhile exercise.

observerexile (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 29/07/2010 14:05:19    728242

Sean, of those who you think stood out are there any who were not on this years panel?

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 29/07/2010 14:42:00    728319

Sean, of those who you think stood out are there any who were not on this years panel?
kildare blue , 29/07/2010 at 14:42

I have to be honest and of the few I noted three are on the current panel BUT this weekend more matches to view so we will see come Monday if anyone comes through.
If McCarney C/Hill could control his temperment and concentrated on football I think he would be a great player, he has loads of raw talent plus passion to achieve, again I think O'Connell from Belturbet this year is standing out. Sorry I have not my list with me but these are two players and off course Eamon Reilly from the Gaels solid as ever.
I am looking forward to watching Lacken again for they have a few nice players so another match will be worth watching, what are your views on this fellow Darren Jorden from Lavey??
Jukes from Lavey for a minor playing senior was not all that bad so worth having another look at him, maybe a future U21 player for now. Hard to judge the Gaels
/Lavey match for the gaels were missing a lot of their senior player's

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 29/07/2010 16:08:53    728451

Jukes from Lavey? He must be a new player where did he come from?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/07/2010 10:35:15    729164

Jukes from Lavey? He must be a new player where did he come from?
ochonlir , 30/07/2010 at 10:35

ochonlir you are pathetic?

A J instead of D is a small error yet requires your stupid input.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 30/07/2010 12:51:44    729399

kildare blue , 29/07/2010 at 14:42

little feedback from last nights match
Colin Gumley scored I think 8 points 6 of them frees
Paul Galligan came on as a sub and scored two nice points
Kevin Brady scored a couple of frees
Chris Conroy scored a few.
Darren Jorden scored a few.
My man of the match last night was the very hard working and honest player Pauric O'Reilly. This was te only player last night that you could say would hold his own with the senior scene, a few of the above maybe U21 and junior. Sean

For a senior match it did not come across as one and I don't think Ballinagh will be able to put it up to the Gaels at this moment in time.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 30/07/2010 13:00:02    729422

i feel sorry for cavan people,ye have nothing to shout about,id say ye are the worst team in ireland,ha ha,byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 30/07/2010 16:48:00    729851

seanorinn

729399 Jukes from Lavey? He must be a new player where did he come from?
ochonlir , 30/07/2010 at 10:35

ochonlir you are pathetic?

A J instead of D is a small error yet requires your stupid input.

I'm very hurt by your very cruel jibe I merely wanted to know more about this Jukes fellow and you hurl abuse at me.

So to put a line under this

Who is this Dukes fellow, is he new and what does Duke think of this new kid on the block?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/07/2010 17:06:19    729883

Ochonlir,
The player in question is Karl Duke , he was on the county Minor panel this year. Came on as a sub in the Fermanagh game, I think. A lively player.

cailin deas (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 30/07/2010 18:31:39    730008

thanks Cailin deas

I was just having a little fun with the mis spelling of his name

good little player

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/07/2010 18:44:27    730036

SEANNORINN............You have mentioned one gaels player..ONLY. eamon reilly. they going for 4 in a row 7 out of 8 and he the only player worth a mention??

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 30/07/2010 21:58:40    730265

SEANNORINN............You have mentioned one gaels player..ONLY. eamon reilly. they going for 4 in a row 7 out of 8 and he the only player worth a mention??
richiej , 30/07/2010 at 21:58

In fairness richiej I did say it was hard to judge the gaels on that match as the opposition was very poor, if you were at the match as I expect your were you will have seen where I am coming from. Eamon as usual stood out and this is correct. Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 31/07/2010 09:16:15    730285

How can we make assessments on last nights match between Belturbet and Denn. The quality of football has been very bad really over the last two weeks but last night one saw why Denn got to the last two county finals with there never say die attitude BUT the football was bad and Micky Lee did well to keep the game flowing, most teams would have folded after coming back to level go behind by a goal come back to level and go behind by a goal again but it ended in a draw. Jason had a bad day really but out from one of his own men getting in the way he would have had a goal to add to his points. Lots of players worked very hard but from the Denn perspective one would have to say Thomas Corr was a hard working player and his fitness I feel showed.
Players from Denn that played well were
Corr
McPhilips
McKiernan
Smith
Tierney to name but a few from the Denn side.

From Belturbet
McGuigan
McConnell
Garrett Fitzpatrick
I am sure there was more. Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 31/07/2010 09:29:24    730289

Now that Joe Kernan is reported to have resigned from the Galway job because of all the travel involved have we a new contender to succeed Tommy Carr ? Personally of all those names muted by our posters on H.S. my preference is still for Peter Canavan if he is interested. I'd say he would also relish the challenge of the job and guage himself against the achievements of his old adversary Kieran McGeeney !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/08/2010 10:04:41    735064

All the travel involved is just an excuse. Joe couldn't do it with players in galway in a terrible province...would he really be able to do it with Cavan?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 04/08/2010 10:40:46    735126

Slasher.. Ive a feeling he might be in line for the Armagh job again. I hear things in the camp arent good at the moment so he might be ideal choice to steady Armaghs ship..Canavan or McGrath would do us fine.But known Cavan as i do we will probaly pluck some unknown fitness fanatic from the sky that hasnt a clue abt management and give him the job.

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/08/2010 11:52:01    735288

richiej,

Yes i agree. Could not see him taking another Ulster county as his sons are still involved with Armagh.

With the lack of news from our own county regarding a new manager i have a feeling we are in for yet another dud and am beginning to worry. In our case no news is bad news usually !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/08/2010 12:18:14    735384