Val Andrews may have won a HATRICK OF SIGERSONS in Kerry but in fairness my mother could have managed Joyce.. Donnellan.. Moynihan.. Mike Frank.. McGuinness.. No great achievement there. He's a very very average manager and he'll be looking after a very very average bunch of players The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 14:39:12 754860 Link 0 |
no excuses now. its down to players now to committ to cavan.while andrews may not have been my choice ;hyland was and lets give them a chance to bring cavan forward.word of warning though.andrews felt he had unfinished business before he left last time and some players may find it hard to adjust to his scientific approach.ie dietery and fittness is very much on his agenda.best of luck val and terry. hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 24/08/2010 15:07:27 754935 Link 0 |
looking after a very very average bunch of players The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 15:08:46 754939 Link 0 |
I don't know what to think now as it looks certain that Val Andrews and Terry Hyland have been offered the Cavan job !! I know Val Andrews as a very decent, hard-working and conscientious man and i think Terry is the same. As we all know Val was here before and may have got the wrong end of the stick as indeed he did elsewhere, Louth got rid of him through "Player Power" just when he was on the verge of getting them playing good football. Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 24/08/2010 15:17:27 754955 Link 0 |
Silly, silly Cavan County Board. The effects of the fleadh has obviously warped some peoples judgement. Please, lets not do anything hasty until we have had a week to sober up and gather our collective senses. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 15:25:06 754970 Link 0 |
Sean, your optimisim is to admired, hopefully the new team will turn the tide over the coming years. Rome was not built in a day and it will take time to turn this around. Val Andrews was treated very badly in 2001, If Jason's quick free in the second half of the Ulster final hit the back of the net rather than going just wide we would have been Ulster Champions back then. kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 24/08/2010 15:35:02 754991 Link 0 |
great decision i think. 2 very well respected men in cavan. Ye are foolin yourselfs to think ye could have any other manager with the history required. the reality is that we have a very average group of players but a lot of them are young and with time can be developed to compete with ulsters best. Remember ulster football is not at the standard it was a few years ago and there is oppurtunity there for new teams to come through as down have shown this year. finea3 (Longford) - Posts: 63 - 24/08/2010 15:46:58 755012 Link 0 |
seanorinn Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 24/08/2010 15:51:12 755019 Link 0 |
I really really hope you are right but I have yet to be convinced by the aforementioned duo. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 16:57:22 755161 Link 0 |
Agree fully with JonSmith who says Andrews had very little success with a better panel in 1998. His record up to an Ulster Final appearance in 2001 was quite shocking in both league and championship if any1 cares to check it out.His record also with Louth in 2004 AND 2005 was just as bad..Whether the chairman thinks he is the right man does not count for anything if the clubs dont ratify the appointment..If the clubs ratify the appointment well let Andrews at it and good luck to him..Clubs now have a big part to play in getting all their best players to comitt.I See SeanORinn never mentioned Seanie Johnstone in his few players to build a team around.Maybe he thinks he is not good enough???.. richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 24/08/2010 16:57:27 755162 Link 0 |
kildare blue , 24/08/2010 at 15:35 The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 17:02:30 755174 Link 0 |
Folks kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 24/08/2010 17:02:52 755175 Link 0 |
SEANNORINN...............U really are getting carried away with V Andrews....He is average. His record over the last 12 years proves that. Results dont lie and at the end of the day thats how every manager in the country is judged.RESULTS. He has done nothing special at Senior level in ANY County yet. IF Cavan clubs ratify his appointment well he will get his chance.IF they dont well the search goes on..Surely every club has still yet to hold its own club meeting to discuss the appointment?? Or do CB club delegates vote according to their personel feelings or that of their clubs?? richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 24/08/2010 17:08:22 755189 Link 0 |
SEANNORINN...............U really are getting carried away with V Andrews....He is average. His record over the last 12 years proves that. Results dont lie and at the end of the day thats how every manager in the country is judged.RESULTS. He has done nothing special at Senior level in ANY County yet. IF Cavan clubs ratify his appointment well he will get his chance.IF they dont well the search goes on..Surely every club has still yet to hold its own club meeting to discuss the appointment?? Or do CB club delegates vote according to their personel feelings or that of their clubs?? The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 17:46:03 755263 Link 0 |
There is a Full County Board meeting for THIS Thursday when the CB expect to ratify Val Andrews appointment.. THIS DOESNT LEAVE CLUBS MUCH TIME TO HAVE THEIR CLUB MEETINGS TO INFORM THEIR CB DELAGATES WHICH WAY TO VOTE..........ANY VIEWS?? richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 24/08/2010 18:07:03 755303 Link 0 |
Richie we called for quick appointment of a manager and we're getting it, the CB I'm sure are keen to get the clubs to decide before the quarter finals so fair play to them. It shouldn't be hard for the clubs to contact members to get the general consensus anyways. Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 24/08/2010 18:25:47 755331 Link 0 |
Richiej, Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/08/2010 18:36:03 755350 Link 0 |
come on lads .as it looks like a done deal lets get behind them.give them a chance .god knows we waited long enough .i sean o rinn will u have any input with new regime as u are singing vals name from heavens for past few months? i knew u have inside track hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 24/08/2010 19:01:42 755381 Link 0 |
Sure look, we may as well be happy. Andrews at least has a bit of personality about him, Carr had about as much enthausiasm as a fireman in the artic circle. Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 24/08/2010 19:28:22 755406 Link 0 |
i sean o rinn will u have any input with new regime as u are singing vals name from heavens for past few months? i knew u have inside track The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/08/2010 19:40:57 755421 Link 0 |