Dont b silly wisefulthinking Ray Cullivan hasn't done it with st pats, hasn't the charisma, motivation or leadership skills to manage Cavan D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2010 15:42:20 703256 Link 0 |
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 11/07/2010 17:22:23 703652 Link 0 |
Rmpf565 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 11/07/2010 18:11:52 703760 Link 0 |
Rmpf565 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 11/07/2010 18:15:18 703770 Link 0 |
Micheal O' Dowd from Clontiberet, has done well with Cavan Gaels or his clubmate Kevin Carragher a good motivator and great football head there must be other talent in our surrounding counties. Would O'Rourke from meath be any good to us? People are talking about looking inside the county there is nobody good enough some great ex footballers stephen king bernard morris dermot mc cabe mickey graham but they have not got the training or management expertise needed for senior county management. See terry hyland mentioned, he was part of Carr's setup so theres no point in appointing him or any others of that setup peter reilly, niall lynch theyve had their chance. We need a completely fresh management team, we have to start believing in ourselves as a proud footballing county again, we have better players than those we saw in the blue jersey this season,Carr and company never looked around the county properly for talent. give our players a good management setup and they will deliver. trueblue_2010 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 11/07/2010 18:21:06 703786 Link 0 |
Mick O Dwyer wot u on about the man is well in his 70's come on get a grip !! real world D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2010 18:31:49 703834 Link 0 |
galoping gazele Big Iano (Cavan) - Posts: 188 - 11/07/2010 19:44:35 704070 Link 0 |
Ah now big iano will ya take her handy. Its begrudgers like you that peev me off. I didnt even see your reply, but, yeah, fair play to ya, i stole your idea, good man. Ya happy? Now, go get ready for your cul camp in the morning child. Lads, i honestly think we need a true cavan man, full of passion, an outsider coming in would take a few months to adapt and get to know players, and would probably cost more too. galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 11/07/2010 21:34:33 704363 Link 0 |
surely the men on the team should be full of passion thats wats lacking ... no passion and no pride no manager can make a passionate team unless its in the team and sadly the team we have dont possess it .....they need a shake up to have to fight for their place and work to keep it fairplay123 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 11/07/2010 21:48:24 704396 Link 0 |
It's Monday now, time to move on from what was a truly embarrassing experience. I'd like to see one our best club Managers of recent years looking after the seniors. Ciaran Brady from Gowna fits the bill for me. Experienced and strong willed. I'd like to see some serious investment put into the minor setup with the appointment of a proven manager at this level. Pete McGrath or Adrian McGuckian would be ideal. ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 12/07/2010 09:01:21 704465 Link 0 |
ondforty don't think we'd b going anywhere with Ciaran Brady hasn't done enough to lead Cavan forward at this present time and may have some conflicting interests D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/07/2010 11:04:30 704690 Link 0 |
My my, the innocence (ahem) of youth. Big Iano (Cavan) - Posts: 188 - 12/07/2010 11:11:16 704703 Link 0 |
A root and branch review is what's needed now. WHY are we so poor and uncompetitive? Why are the best players in the county not on the panel? Why are we not as fit as our rivals? The last few years have been a disaster, bad appointments, very poor judgement from County Board. We're back in the early nineties development wise. Minor teams have not performed over last 4-5 seasons, sob story every year, 'lack of experience etc'. You can't play minor for 10 years to gain experience, how come lack of experience and know how along the line is never given as an excuse. Lots of fellas in Cavan are reasonable coaches with poor enough clubs then all of a sudden they think they are management material. The clubs that have all won Senior, Intermediate & Junior titles in Cavan over the last 5 years or so have been the overwhelming favourites. Too much is read into these achievements especially Intermediate and Junior. For God sake the Gaels Junior team would have won the Junior Championship in 2009 if they got fair play from a bias referee and them lads seemed to manage themselves. This is a great opportunity to start from scratch and build something for the future. Too many lads want to be with the Cavan senior team to be seen rather than what they can bring to the table. Walking around with a folder and a whistle doesn't give you knowledge of football and how it should be played. Every lad in Cavan can tell you how it should be played but very few can change things when the plan isn't working. Eamonn Coleman RIP was the last man in Cavan who had this skill in my opinion. Marty McElkennon was a brillant coach but couldn't manage to save his life and had the balls to admit this after he left Cavan. Mickey Graham is a very good coach but his management and game reading along the line is still seriously questionable. His decision making last week was terrible, but he has time to learn. I believe Michael Tynan on Northern Sound said he'd back Breffni Park caretaker for the job since he is interested and is canvassing for it. That comment sums up just how low we are. Herewegoagain (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 12/07/2010 11:14:34 704710 Link 0 |
Canavan is the man for the job..He is respected. He has got a brain and been doing well at underage and schools level.He asls knows what its like to win. richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 12/07/2010 13:28:33 705062 Link 0 |
This is the lowest ebb Cavan Football has been at in my long time following football in this proud county. We need a complete culture change from the players. We are being compared to Waterford, Clare, Carlow etc, (and rightly so). However we have some of the best footballers in the country if they put their mind to it, ie. Seanie Johnston, Ronan Flanagan, Dermot Sheridan, Mark McKeever, Michael Hannon and Ray Cullivan. In no other county would good talent be let go to waste, anyone remember that not long ago, Ger Pearson and Mickey Lyng were two of the best young footballers in Ulster. We have David Givney and Rory Dunne coming through among others. As regards a new manager, time should be taken to select the right man. Personally I feel Hyland is another man from the Tommy Carr era, and should be ruled out as he is no improvement on what was there. One manager that I feel should be approached is Paul Caffrey. Ciaran Whealan said he was the best Dublin manager he played under and he did transform that Dublin team from a timid team of light footballers, to a ruthless team that played at a fierce intensity. Admittedly Dublin failed on the big occasions but it has to be said he got the most out of a team that had some very ordinary footballers playing on it. If he came in with someone like Ciaran Brady from Gowna as a selector (assistant) well then we might be able to go to Breffini Park in hope and not in fear of getting another hammering. StarterBar (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 13/07/2010 11:18:47 706563 Link 0 |
Declan Docs Sheridan to be the next manager, along with the Dog and Bartley as trainer/selectors cavangenius (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 13/07/2010 12:49:40 706753 Link 0 |
"Lacken's Terry Hyland, who managed the Cavan under 21 and junior teams to provincial final appearances this year, is the early favourite to succeed Carr." Breifne_Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 214 - 15/07/2010 15:01:44 710351 Link 0 |
Herewegoagain ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 15/07/2010 17:22:07 710652 Link 0 |
"Lacken's Terry Hyland, who managed the Cavan under 21 and junior teams to provincial final appearances this year, is the early favourite to succeed Carr." trueblue_2010 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 15/07/2010 19:51:22 710866 Link 0 |
here now its time yee all gotta grip on yourselves no matter which manager succeeds carr it will not make a difference at all. we simply do not have the players to compete with the best in ulster. a manager should be picked to build the team over the next 4 years minimum before we think about changing again. fooligan (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 15/07/2010 21:10:18 710984 Link 0 |