Attn Mayo Lads

Lads can ye please confirm or otherwise if yes or No Ex Dublin all ireland winner (cousin of mine) Enda Sheehy played senior intercounty championship football for Mayo post 95?!
And if not IC, did he play any level of senior football for Mayo. I was never aware that he did but I am open to correction on this one
Cheers lads
Liam

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 16/06/2008 14:59:03    33281

Wasnt he the lad that played with crossmolina for a few years? Think it was him, though im not sure if he ever played county for us

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 16/06/2008 15:10:15    33289

ya thats him RNG
Won an all ireland with us in 95, moved to Cross in 97 i think it was. His late mother was a Cross woman.
a mayo lad on the Dublin board (xxx) saus he played for Mayo, i am not saying its 100% untrue, but if it is....the family doesnt know!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 16/06/2008 15:14:23    33295

Jog yer memories, Really wet evening in Sligo, 2003, Fermanagh, qualifer, Sheridan missed last minute free.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 16/06/2008 15:18:41    33298

Yes he did around 02/03. Think he played for us the year Fermanagh beat us in the qualifiers.

JamesMayo (Mayo) - Posts: 126 - 16/06/2008 15:20:53    33301

Go to mayo page, search, enda sheehy

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 16/06/2008 15:24:12    33312

Well it appears he did alright. Found this in the Western People archives. Dont remember him i must say.........

"There might have been some surprise in Mayo when Enda Sheehy first moved to Crossmolina earlier this year but for the former Dublin star it was most natural thing in the world. In many ways it was like going back home.
"I was born in Crossmolina and spent the first four years of my life there. We moved to Dublin when I was four and though my mother died when I was just ten I have always maintained the link.
"When I was growing up I used to spend all my summer holidays in Crossmolina so it was hardly a huge move for me. Crossmolina is like a home from home for me and I grew up knowing a lot of the Crossmolina players. I knew the Rakestreet fellows like Barry (Heffernan) and Liam (Moffatt) really well."
At the time of his switch to Crossmolina, the former Dublin star was seen as a candidate for a spot on the Mayo team. The view within the county at the time was that that the midfield sector was weak and that Sheehy would bring his strength and experience to the area for Mayo.
It never quite worked out that way though. A combination of an injury picked up five days before Mayo were due to play Sligo and a rule in Mayo which prevented him playing club league football did nothing for his chances of nailing down a place in John Maughan's team.
"At the time I was really looking forward to playing for Mayo. I had been part of the Dublin squad under Tommy Carr but apart from a short stint with Tommy Lyons I seemed to be surplus to requirements.
"I was told by John Maughan that I would be starting against Sligo but we played Clare in a challenge on the Bank Holiday Monday five days before we played Sligo and I was injured and couldn't play.
"A cyst developed behind my knee and I had a scan on it. The medical people thought I'd need an operation on it and I missed the Galway game too. Then after that the doctors told me that I could continue to play without doing any damage even though there would be some pain.
"So, I played against Fermanagh but I wasn't anywhere near match-fit. I hadn't played enough of football at all in the build-up and it was like I was coming in from the cold. It was very disappointing and by my own standards I just wasn't at the races that night. The second half was a bit better for me than the first but it just didn't happen for me. What made it worse was that I felt that if we had beaten Fermanagh we'd have put up a better show in Croke Park than they did against Tyrone.
"I'm not saying we'd have won but I think for Fermanagh getting to Croke Park was the real achievement. Beating us that night in Sligo was like their All-Ireland final. I don't think we'd have approached the game in that frame of mind. But that's all ifs and buts now. We didn't win, it's as simple as that."
The summer of 2003 might not have worked out too well then on the county scene for the former Dublin star but he's not packing his bags just yet and heading back east. "I definitely want to continue to be part of the county squad but that's not up to me. If I am to be on the county panel I have to be playing well for Crossmolina, that's the priority," he says."

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 16/06/2008 15:25:54    33315

well **** me !!!!
XXX i tip my hat to you....
This could cause serious waves in here if it gets out lads!! Liam walkinstown in Mayo Links claim!!
Good God, the place will not know what hit it!! Prob best kept quiet :) I am off to Elverys to get me jersey
He is a sneaky fecker!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 16/06/2008 15:32:29    33321

Ah who's gone and brought this up? A dub putting on the famous green and red jersey. We dont like to talk about this round these here parts

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/06/2008 15:42:45    33334

i am not saying its 100% untrue, but if it is....the family doesnt know!!! :)
Liamwalkinstown , 16/06/2008 at 15:14
Well well Liam! What ya gonna do now - excommunicate him? I can just picture the wider Liamo family gathering or EGM in the near future. Liam in the conservatory with big cigar and the various family members coming on to see him individually.

1st family member "Ah, Don Liamo He's only a boy. He didn't know what he was doin', we donna even know if its true?"
Don Liamo: My mama is crying upstairs. I hear cars coming to the house. I think it's time you told your Don what everyone seems to know. He played for Mayo, yes?
2nd family member: How bad do you think it's gonna be?
Don Liamo: Pretty goddam bad. Probably all the other Families will line up against us - he has brought shame to the family.
1st family member: You're taking this very personal, Don Liamo. this is business and this man is taking it very, very personal.
Don Liamo: It's an old habit. I spent my life trying not to be careless. Women and children can be careless but not men.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 15:43:08    33335

not ure best ever effort there JC, good, but not up to your usual standard.
Leave my late mother out of it too, thanks.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 16/06/2008 15:50:46    33341

Actually hit return too early Liam - it was getting better!! No offence meant with reference.

So you gonna meet up with BB and WB now before the games?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 15:56:23    33349

i'd sooner have a pint with the Corleones!
RNG has grown up it seems! A damn fine poster these days!! Who knew.
Word of advice, neve bring peoples familys into things, especially people you dont know unless they instigate it. You never know a persons circumstances.
No offence taken, lets leave it at that.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 16/06/2008 16:02:04    33353

Liamwalkinstown

well **** me !!!!

No thanks you're alright

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/06/2008 16:47:45    33401

Sorry lads, missed this thread as I was away a few days - I remember when Enda moved to Cross and played for the Deel Rovers. Got (unjustly) sent off in the '03 county final against Ballina for a trip 'cause the ref was only evenning it up following Martin Wynnes dismissal.

Playd a couple of games for Mayo in the league I think but a combination of injuries and his contract at a local not being extended (think he was in as a sub teacher) resulted in him returning to Dublin.

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 17/06/2008 09:48:06    33654

* at a local school*

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 17/06/2008 09:52:01    33659

would that make him the last man to have a celtic cross playing for mayo.

its good the way he went down to try and raise the standards down there

Nasty (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 17/06/2008 11:15:35    33714

"its good the way he went down to try and raise the standards down there "

Yep he sure did. He raised them so much that he couldnt even get in the team himself for most of the year......

JamesMayo (Mayo) - Posts: 126 - 17/06/2008 11:31:00    33721

No the fellas listed are just some of the players who have played since for Mayo since who would have won a celtic cross, just some, James Nallen, Ciaran McDonald, Peader Gardiner, Joe Keane, David Ger and Liam Brady, Pat Harte, Ronan McGarrity, David Clarke, Enda Devenney, Tom Cunniffe, Keith Higgins, Aiden Kilcoyne, Michael Conroy, Trevor Howley, kenneth o malley, pat kelly, chris barrett, aiden campbell etc.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 17/06/2008 11:58:25    33740

didnt know they all played in 51 !!!!!!! ( or whenever it was when ye last won a senior football all ireland )

Nasty (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 17/06/2008 13:34:02    33794