Lavey for Ulster?

Fair Play to the Lavey Lads......done us proud today! hope they can top off the year now and win the final!

Maybe Cavan football isnt as bad as we think.....we just need a few lads like the lavey boys with a bit of heart and determination and we might just be back in clones on ulster final day?

miwadi (Cavan) - Posts: 51 - 15/11/2009 16:06:51    484208

I dont think Lavey even have anyone on the senior county panel. Surely some of them deserve a run now. Darren Smith and Joey Jordan anyway. Congratulations to the team anyway.

Brefni Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 107 - 15/11/2009 18:36:17    484312

hard to have anyone on the county panel when the club are still in Ulster. I somehow doubt Terry Hyland would let them in at present and sure isn't he a selector. I am sure they will get their chance if he thinks they are good enough.

retired (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 15/11/2009 19:21:16    484345

Congratulations to Lavey. No doubt about it but yous were by far and away the better team today. Fanad completely fell apart in the second half, whatever happened to them.
Good luck in the finals.

normajean (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 15/11/2009 20:35:01    484414

well done lavey.great second half performance,brilliant spirit and determination

toplad (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 15/11/2009 23:24:45    484596

Excellent second half from Lavey. Let's just wait and see how the final goes before we start calling for Lavey players to be on the county panel. Firstly this is the Ulster Intermediate Championship and is not as strong as our senior championship in cavan. Would Lavey beat the Gaels or Denn? They bet neither this year playing Denn on a week off during the championship and the Gaels also. They were also relegated from Division 1 which is hardly a case for including their players on a county panel. You can only win the competition you're in and Lavey are playing well at times but Lavey have yet to play a team from any of ulsters stronger counties( Armagh, Derry, Tyrone, Monaghan) the draw has been good to them playing teams from fermanagh and donegal. Now Cookstown and Owen Mulligan lie in wait. Lavey will need to play for both halves to win this game but I think they have a great chance and i hope the can repeat Ballinaghs success in 2006.

Jack15 (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 16/11/2009 12:16:07    484871

jack 15

That was a very sobering comment,i agree with the county player thing.But hats off to lavey god knows the county needs a piece of silverware.I hope they beat Cookstown.The jordans versus the Mulligans.I suppose this battle will provide you the answer.Is our club football competitive enough.

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 16/11/2009 13:50:10    484973

jack,intercounty isnt the same as club.just because they met teams from weaker counties intercounty wise doesnt mean the clubs they met were weak.i think alot of people were saying that there should be some lavey lads on the county panel from the start of the club championship,so its not people saying that they should be on it because of how far they have got,its because they are good enough.anyone know when and where the final is?looking forward to seeing how they can handle the like of mulligan.

Mclovinxxx (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 16/11/2009 18:07:39    485328

Mclovin

I'd say only two lavey players are of intercounty standard.

Jack15 (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 16/11/2009 18:23:36    485341

ye id say 2 aswell from what little ive seen of them this year,joey and smith.im just saying that these 2 are intercounty standard from what ive seen,and im not basing it on how far they got.i think cookstown will be the real test for them,whoever wins this should win the all ireland.

Mclovinxxx (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 16/11/2009 19:07:58    485393

Owen Mulligans two broyhers played far better than him in the semi against monaghan harps!

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 16/11/2009 19:38:58    485426

To be honest I'd have said the two Jordans stephen and Joey. At 27 I think Smith has had a few games with Cavan juniors and he did not impress there so his time has probably passed. On reflection with all the time Joey has missed with injury and at 27 he may no longer be up to it either however there is no doubt in his youth before injury he was a very solid county defender.

Jack15 (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 16/11/2009 22:14:06    485631

Musgys, two cousins not brothers.

BlueBlood88 (Tyrone) - Posts: 98 - 17/11/2009 11:26:16    485924

AIB GAA Football Ulster Intermediate Club Championship

Cookstown Fr. Rocks (Tyrone) Lavey (Cavan) Brewster Park Enniskillen Ferm 29/11/2009 14:30

Come on the Rocks !!

BlueBlood88 (Tyrone) - Posts: 98 - 18/11/2009 16:20:57    487490

brewster park is laveys new home ground by the looks of things.

Mclovinxxx (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 18/11/2009 18:11:52    487647

Well done Lavey. Where is the report on the match on hoganstand?

mylestheslasher (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 20/11/2009 18:34:02    489714

Cookstown Father Rocks Abú
We're in for the All-Ireland!

BlueLion (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 05/01/2010 01:21:05    524618