saw the draw, kildare in the first round. anyone know if we've a good team this year? many still underage from last year? i presume the u21 club championship within westmeath will be starting soon, good opportunity for the new management to have a look at everyone monkey (Westmeath) - Posts: 223 - 11/10/2009 16:36:57 451197 Link 0 |
Panel has already bein picked...60 players which will be trimmed down over time!! players have already bein informed thru their clubs. 80 players were picked 4 senior panel as well Gaa4life (Westmeath) - Posts: 23 - 12/10/2009 11:32:56 451675 Link 0 |
Any new names on under 21 or senior? Eastwood (Westmeath) - Posts: 116 - 12/10/2009 12:02:51 451698 Link 0 |
who from last years panel is underage? ronan moran (None) - Posts: 49 - 12/10/2009 13:46:56 451800 Link 0 |
cunday9lu (Louth) - Posts: 175 - 12/10/2009 20:58:14 452343 Link 0 |
Eastwood (Westmeath) - Posts: 116 - 12/10/2009 23:20:42 452536 Link 0 |
Just saw the list of county call ups. Is that the final list for 2010 panel? Eastwood (Westmeath) - Posts: 116 - 13/10/2009 11:32:23 452800 Link 0 |
There are several players on that list who are overage. Simon Quinn and Fintan O'Reilly for example. Extremely unprofessional. If that's a sign of things to come then god help this group of players. jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 476 - 13/10/2009 12:02:56 452843 Link 0 |
Thats what i was saying jamsie, some of the names are a funny selection, is it an old list or something? Can think of a few lads around the county that had a good year with their respective clubs and didn't get a mention and as you said, lads that cant make club level starting places, and others in Oz still selected?? Eastwood (Westmeath) - Posts: 116 - 13/10/2009 13:30:44 452943 Link 0 |
lads just lookin at the senior and 21 panels for the upcoming year..does anyone else not think its a bit of a shambles to have a panel of 106players for the senior and60 for the u21??this will only put serious strains on the county boards funding supplying gear/food and buses to get all these lads to games?correct me if im wrong but only 15 players can start on any matchday.. handrelief (Westmeath) - Posts: 31 - 13/10/2009 13:34:00 452946 Link 0 |
Paddy Mulvhill did not play any football this year (though he was on the bench for the county final) and more than likely he will not make himself available for the county team. He is without doubt one of the best point takers in the county though and its a pity that he is not interested in playing county football. Good point about the lomans players who was only on the bench all year and Fintan O'Reilly is not an U21 this year. Matthew (None) - Posts: 1086 - 13/10/2009 14:03:13 452991 Link 0 |
here here handjob..60 players for an u21 team is just a ridiculous notion...plus if either the u21 or senior teams were to win league or provicional championship wudn it be bit of a farce to hand out nearly 100 medals??also i hear dessie dolan is considering a switch of codes and a possiblity of lining out wit the hurlers is on d cards..ne truth n tat?? shinkwin (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 13/10/2009 14:26:22 453008 Link 0 |
them panels are the most ridiculous thing i have come across. in fairness no player that should be there has really been left out but theres some that is hilarious. without giving names, one player retired from his club 3 months ago, another was on his clubs junior team.. surely two panels of 35/40 players would make more sense and work harder with them, agree think westmeath should have a junior team competing with fringe u21s etc, worked well for ros this year. . TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 156 - 13/10/2009 14:41:53 453030 Link 0 |
100 medals? did anyone bother to read the article before they commented? that is just a provisional panel of players selected for trials and fitness tests. the panel will be cut down. EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 13/10/2009 14:43:15 453034 Link 0 |
Is der ne truth dat der keepin d panel of 106 players, i think dis mite work well, if a player gets injured on match day dev a good bunch of lads to pick from, dug outs will hav to be bigger tho...... christian (Leitrim) - Posts: 4 - 13/10/2009 15:19:22 453091 Link 0 |
Christian is there 106 players in Leitrim? ye should join up with sligo and ye might actually win a game. you could hace a nice big panel like ours then. EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 13/10/2009 15:39:00 453121 Link 0 |
When Westmeath won Leinster we had the 32 best players in the county (30 + 2 not togged out, obviously minus Flanagan). The pressure put on the players on the team was immense from the subs becuase they had to perform or someone would take their place. Paidi employed a Kerry like tactic in the 2nd year, culling the 10 lads who didn't get c'ship time or felt weren't good enough, to freshen things up and bring in 10 new lads that were in most part inferior to the lads he let go. This practice continued albeit at a slower rate under Tomas. Performances began to slip and an over reliance on key figures, who were generally excellent for us got us some good results if not performances and got us through to where we are now. So how do we get back to winning Lainster. We go well in Division 2 bringing a winning mentality into the summer. How do we do well in div 2, we have the 32 best players in the county all fighting for jerseys. how do we get the 32 best players in the county, we pick all we think can be in the 32 and we train them over the winter, play them against each other and see who rises to the top. The weaker guys will be gone in 2 challenge games as will the boys who don't fancy it and don't turn up. Suddenly you are looking at a smaller fitter panel picked from what we agree are all the footballers in the county that have a chance at a senior team. Assuming Mr Hackett can motivate and slection is transparent you are now making progress. No more replacing subs with lesser players, no more going back to the well for one final game in croker. Onwards and upwards. Let the building commence and all the best. stonecold (Westmeath) - Posts: 23 - 13/10/2009 16:00:55 453142 Link 0 |
well said stonecold great post. all for optimism - fresh start and let the pesemists off. EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 13/10/2009 16:33:37 453177 Link 0 |
does any1 no where some1 can access the names of players dat were picked for both senior n u21 panels this year?? Gaa4life (Westmeath) - Posts: 23 - 13/10/2009 16:37:30 453182 Link 0 |
i think there a few wind up merchants using this thread for a sneer in all fairness theres no need for these big trial panels as the selectors who should have a knowledge of this years champ surely know whos up to the required standard kingofthetramps (Westmeath) - Posts: 50 - 13/10/2009 16:48:31 453205 Link 0 |