Mckeever on the bench.are you well in the head sean.and aswell why would you move mackey out of corner forward were he has been class all year.ANd Galligan is simply not good enough for midfield
hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 04/05/2010 21:27:06
hoy County: Cavan Posts: 146
637924 Mckeever on the bench.are you well in the head sean.and aswell why would you move mackey out of corner forward were he has been class all year.ANd Galligan is simply not good enough for midfield
If you read my earlier post where I said Mark McKeever was solid you will see then that by me putting in where I did in the list was an oversight on my behalf.
mystic meg County: Cavan Posts: 121
637613 seann o rinn your comments are hillarious. Nesty is not cut out for it??are you joking me?
. The problem with you people is that you are so easy pleased hence why we are where we are. My opinion mystic meg he does nothing for me I would rather have Rohnan Carolan standing on the 35 metre line waiting to take frees For me mefeiners have no part in any team and sadly we have them in abundance. Jesus what is it with you people go and watch both sides of the filed when a match is on not just the blue and white. I listen to supporters at matches week after week saying this fellow and that fellow is a load of rubbish and all of a sudden they do something magical and all is forgotten, forgotten wise up.???and all is forgotten wise up.??? They become supper hero's,
footballmaan County: Cavan Posts: 108
637719 Ciaran Galligan midfield?? we want to win sean...
As things stand who else is there for now maybe McGuigan or D. Sheridan R.Cullivan
mystic meg County: Cavan Posts: 121
637769 seann o rinn-wake up will you.
I am wide awake it's you and others that need to wake up and call what you see not what you imagine.
milhouse County: Cavan Posts: 230
637784 wow sean, your still flying the flag for galligan in MF??? thought that idea was just about put to bed, dont know if you made it to the galway game, but cullivan was very good, personally, i just cant see much to galligan there, although he gives it his all, he is better than walsh though... Well to be honest with you this fellows puts in a lot of effort training in his own time and this for me alone is a commitment that I would like to see through out the whole panel. Who else is there at this moment to stand in instead of him? I would however put R.Cullivan on at the start and C.Galligan is handy as a back up.
hoy County: Cavan Posts: 146
637924 Mckeever on the bench.are you well in the head sean.and aswell why would you move mackey out of corner forward were he has been class all year.ANd Galligan is simply not good enough for midfield
Why not most of his work has come from the half forward line that's why. Why would I move S. Johnston out of the full forward line as well for the same applies to him? Both in the half forward line would frighten a lot of team for you know that if you let them move forward they can score. This would be my reason for putting them in the half forward line.
I would just like to point out here like you I am not the manager of the Cavan team but like you I have an opinion the only difference with my opinions is that I leave a match after watching the whole of it all thirty odd players on the pitch and my views are unbiased unlike a lot of yours on here.
I suppose you will tell me now all Cavan have to do is turn up for the first round of the championship and they will have no problems, God help your whit??
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 05/05/2010 09:49:18
Seanorinn your either great craic in there or really good at mowing grass.But your knowledge of football is not why your kept
Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 05/05/2010 11:11:48
Sean
After reading your last post, it appears that you would have McKeever on the team. What change(s) would you make to include him. I remember reading an article earlier in the year where Johnston said he would like a change at playing on the 40. It would allow him more freedom to play, and he did well on the half forward line when moved out against Armagh two years ago. I also note your comment about preparing for next year.
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 05/05/2010 11:40:51
kildare blue County: Cavan Posts: 72
638121 Sean
After reading your last post, it appears that you would have McKeever on the team. What change(s) would you make to include him. I remember reading an article earlier in the year where Johnston said he would like a change at playing on the 40. It would allow him more freedom to play, and he did well on the half forward line when moved out against Armagh two years ago. I also note your comment about preparing for next year. Its goes without saying that he has to start for the man has loads of tallent and a great heart. Yes I feel that we ned to to next year to start to do something positive but what I would like to say and see done I am not allowed to say on here. To the other claw hammer getting the pitch ready is an important job despite what you might think, I would say that it was a credit to Cavan and the County Board last Saturday night when they hosted the Under 21 All Ireland final. It was not done in an hour but what would you know. I have been around a long time in the park and I would say I have learnt a thing or two from all the managers and trainers that have gone trough the system and in fact to make comments as well about what I see from time to time..
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 05/05/2010 13:54:30
Sean
Long may your continue to contribute to this forum. As someone who only gets to see a handful of games it is very helpful to hear your views on the state of play.
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 05/05/2010 16:44:09
Dear Sean
Listen Sean i understand from your posts your a passionate guy & take your work serious.Im a huge fan of Breffni & i attend olot of games there.I find everybody friendly & the ground & facilities best in Ulster.But i would point out that your team selections leave us scratching are head!!
P.S Don t call me a Clawhammer again or i ll put sand in the petrol tank of your lawnmower.I will......
Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 06/05/2010 11:27:54
Dear Sean
Listen Sean i understand from your posts your a passionate guy & take your work serious.Im a huge fan of Breffni & i attend olot of games there.I find everybody friendly & the ground & facilities best in Ulster.But i would point out that your team selections leave us scratching are head!!
P.S Don t call me a Clawhammer again or i ll put sand in the petrol tank of your lawnmower.I will...... Denn Man , 06/05/2010 at 11:27
Looks like I got under your skin then. Note I did not make and team selections all I did was remove a few thats all. My team selection would surprise many but again what would I know??????? Last year I mentioned on this very forum and the two local papers, players I felt should be brought into the panle strage to say most of the ones I mentioned are in, I must be saying something right Just remember this I see them from the the youngest up to senior level so I have a huge choice of selection plus as I stated before I watch all that play in both shirts not just one colour.????
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 06/05/2010 14:37:17
you watch nothing. you havent a clue!straight up.
mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 06/05/2010 15:56:34
Its really beyond me how they r any denn players on the county!! there were no use in the league last year,,,
D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 06/05/2010 16:04:47
ah lads give sean a break, sure i will post a team for the champ so to deflect the critism off sean!!
1.. f. reilly 2.. m. brides 3.. d. sheridan 4.. m. cahill 5.. j. mc ceutheon 6.. e. mc guigan 7.. p. brady 8.. d. givney 9.. r. cullivan 10.. r. flanagan 11.. g. smith 12.. m. mc keever 13.. s. johnston 14.. dont know??? please nobody suggest brennan 15.. c. mackey
milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 06/05/2010 17:13:06
some strange teams lads heres mine anyway
1 F Reilly 2 E Mcphillips 3 T Corr 4 M Cahill 5 J McCutcheon 6 E Mcguigan 7 R Flanagan 8 L Mulvey/Gearoid Mckiernan(bit early but have no options in this department) 9 D Givney 10 M McKeever 11 G Smith 12 M Reilly 13 C Mackey 14 Ray Cullivan (need a physical ballwinner) 15 S Johnstone
cavanscout (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 06/05/2010 17:32:06
D_Dude
I doubt it takes much to get beyond you.None the less i ll explain..
league means nothing.Cork won league by over ten points.Last years league no relegation or final.This year Killeshandra are top.championship is where u act.Doubt your even going to games near tail end of the summer.No point..Three Denn & Eight Geals would be my choice.Make up the rest with young talent.
Sean O Rinn you did nt get under my skin i was merely being humble and adding a bit of humour.You still have nt a clue..
Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 06/05/2010 17:58:52
1 F Reilly- only option in goals.if there was any better who wanted to play they would be in there 2 E Mcphillips 3 D Sheridan- big strong full back 4 M Cahill 5 J McCutcheon 6 E Mcguigan- has performed well all year 7 Paul Brday- too good not to be playing 8 Givney 9 mulvey- more mobile then galligan 10 flanagan 11 nesty 12 mckeever 13 mackey 14 D Mckeirnan- very impressed with him against dublin and for the u21s 15 Johnstone
hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 06/05/2010 18:13:46
Martin at his best might b ok for the county thats about it from DENN we r at all time low and will struggle to beat Fermanagh judging from the team some of use guys have up her
D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 06/05/2010 18:36:24
I agree
I can t see us beating Fermanagh.The last game of league was a farce.Fermanagh showed no hand & i think were in trouble.This perfect ball from Nesty will work 3-4 times in a game & if johnston is fit we ll get scores but who would you be afraid of at present time????Mackeys on fire & cahill & Mc keever Paul Brady will give you an honest hour .First Champ for a few other which will be no harm & the rest have nt made the cut.We the most un mobile midfield in cavan including club and thats saying alot.
Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 07/05/2010 10:37:13
hoy County: Cavan Posts: 147
639974 1 F Reilly- only option in goals.if there was any better who wanted to play they would be in there 2 E Mcphillips 3 D Sheridan- big strong full back 4 M Cahill 5 J McCutcheon 6 E Mcguigan- has performed well all year 7 Paul Brday- too good not to be playing 8 Givney 9 mulvey- more mobile then galligan you must be joking 10 flanagan 11 nesty 12 mckeever 13 mackey 14 D Mckeirnan- very impressed with him against dublin and for the u21s 15 Johnstone
beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 07/05/2010 11:03:43
1. Fintan Reilly 2.Mc Phillips 3.dermot Sheridan 4.Padraig Reilly 5.McCutcheon 6.McKeever 7.Paul Brady 8.Givney 9.Cullivan 10.Martin Reilly 11.Nesty 12.Flanagan 13. Johnson 14.Declan McKiernan 15.Mackey
Mackey could also play wing forward and put bud in the corner.
KL09 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 07/05/2010 17:37:42
There are so many simialrities in all of the teams on this post but I have to ask why so many teams would have 2 men from Denn in the counties full back line. Go through must clubs in Division 1 and 2 and you will find better players in these positions. What are we basing this judgement on? Seriously....is it because they got to the last 2 senior finals - if so I think ye have to look back and see what they conceded in these 2 finals. If these lads can't mark players ( Johnston been an exception) who can't even make the Cavan senior panel how are we going to expect them to mark the likes of Bradley, McDonnell, McGourty, Freeman, Murphy, ONeill and so on....please lads we honestly need 2 recognised corner backs who have done it for us before, i.e, Brides,Hannon, Paul Brady, Dermot Sheridan not these fellas who would not get selected for any other county in ulster bar maybe Fermanagh.
cavandude (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 07/05/2010 18:27:04
fintin reilly michael hannon rory dunne martin cahil paul brady john mccutcheon ronan flanagan david givney dermety sheridan mark mckeever gareth smith ray cullivan cian mackey sean johnston martin reilly
laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 07/05/2010 19:13:57