Team v Kilkenny

McIntyre constantly criticised Ger Loughnane in the Tribune last year for not having a settled spine in the team. its funny we dont see the same level of criticism this year - enough said!!! He is going to play Shane Kavanagh at number 3 which Im afraid could be a disaster as he is simply not suited to number 3. His club would not even play him full back in an emergency situation. The last time he played full back for kinvara was about 4 years ago and that was for 1 game only against Mullagh and he didnt exactly look county material in the position.... Does he not remember what happened against Tipperary in 2005 against Tipperary?? I'll hold my hand up if im wrong - but I cant see him being a success there.. He is probably the best club centre back in club hurling in Galway and he should be played in the half line... We have John Lee at cente back and it is plain for anyone that has seen him in the club championship his fitness levels are no where near what is required for inter county hurling at present. If I was going to put anyone full back - I would have put lee in there as he would not need the same level of fitness and he probably has a better hurling brain than a lot of the other alternatives for that position. I would have Kavanagh wing back with Conor Dervan at centre back. I just do not understand how he is not on the panel when you see some of the people who are on it... I dont like being negative the whole time - but you would wonder do the selectors go to club games at all - judging by the way they are lining out the team and by some of the players they have on the panel...

Model Fan (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 15/06/2009 11:35:17    311535

Wouldn't read too much into the way they line out; I think there will be switches galore in the first few minutes; I agree, Kavanagh is not a full back, and I think he wont play there; Will know who is playing where 5 minutes into the game; Dont worry , we are going to win this game; Looking forward to a beautiful evening up there;

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 15/06/2009 14:51:48    311910

Fair play to you sammythebull I love your positivity, its a pity a few more of us, plus the Galway hurling panel don't share it, always too much negativity surrounding the Galway hurling team. I have already stated on here in another post that playing Shane Kavanagh at full back would be a disaster, it nearly cost us the quarter final against Tipp in 2005, and since then nobody else has tried it, so why would they do it now. We have a chance providing the best team is picked in their proper positions, but what always seem to kill Galway teams is that they don't have the win at all costs attitude that all great sides have.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 15/06/2009 16:55:15    312215

I'm going to apparently go against what every one in the county thinks and say Kavanagh probably should be full back for a couple of reasons.
-I agree that Lee is unfit and see where your coming from but if we're going to win the All ireland Lee will have to be our centre back. He's our best number 6 and the jersey should be his. He is unfit but hopefully by the Lenister final or qualifiers he'll be closer to match fitness.
-McEntee or McClaren haven't done enough to warrant a place. They are good solid club full back who any ful forward in Galway would fear, but not county.
-Keiran Donavan would have gone close but for injury.
-Two years ago I thought Mahon would be our full back for years to come(he got caught against Eddie Brennan but did play very well against Kilkenny that day and was only 20 at the time)
I hope I'm right but I do have my doubts, the spine still isn't strong enough, but remember we were sooooo close to beating them two years ago. I think they hace a serious chance

only_way_is_up (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 15/06/2009 17:22:29    312278

Not my team but the team that will probably face the cats.

C. Callinan.
Joyce........Kavanagh.....Canning
Moore.......Lee...............Cullinane
Hynes........Lynch
A.Callinan..Donellan.......Smith
Hayes........Canning........Healy

Worried about Lee who isn't fit, lack of mobility and of course we're going to find it hard to win our own puck outs

only_way_is_up (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 15/06/2009 17:31:58    312295

Although the postivity is a good thing we should not be deluding ourselves. I will be travelling to Tullamore in more hope than expectation. I just hope that we are not 10 points+ down at half time and that we match them like in 2007.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 15/06/2009 18:15:32    312385

I hear from Todays news the Joe Canning is injured! Is there any Port Insider here to confirm this? He will be such a huge loss and even if they play him injured he could not perform at his usual best? Please tell me he is OK!

TribalCharlie (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 16/06/2009 10:24:44    313045

How can anyone think Cullinane is good enough to play wing back at inter county level? He is too small, the Kilkenny forwards will walk all over him if he is playing, we need big men espically around midfield to win puck outs

galwaydub (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 16/06/2009 11:13:45    313115

cully too small for wing back, ya kilk have a man called tommy walsh playin wing back not da tallest man in the world either !

galwgal (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 16/06/2009 22:51:29    314115

Cullinane has probably been one of the more consisten players through out the league thats what league campaigns should be used for to blood players in positions to see if the can make it there own for c'ship not exactly rocket science but at least the spine of a team should be developed on this basis. But sadly we have only two of the six central positions nailed down at this stage, still no settled full back, mid field or centre forward, here is my shot a team for saturday evening,
1 A Callinan
2 Joyce 3 O. Canning (consistent performer has often switched with mcentee in club games) 4 Kavanagh
5 Moore 6 Lee 7 Cullinane
8 Hynes 9 A. Kearns (Youth & experience)
10 A. Callinan, 11 Faragher, 12 Smith
13 Hayes, 14 Canning, 15 Healy,

The only concern with this team would be faragher at centre forward, as a matter of interest is Mark Kearns still on the panel, has given us a few good games at CF in the past great man to break up the play.

Jeeves (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 17/06/2009 08:46:14    314304

(Something else to gripe about) One thing I have noticed about this thread is we're all argueing about our full back, centre forward, and not so much midfield, but one corner back is mentioned in nearly every team our number two, I can't remember any good game he has played (apart from antrim or laois) for the last couple of years, and remember he'll be marking Aiden forgarty this saturday and I'm not very optimistic as to how he'll get on there.

roro (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 17/06/2009 09:21:07    314329

McIntyre will have to go with consistency in as much as possible. To make major changes at this stage would be unwise, and a gamble.
I think team will be:
C. Callinan
Joyce......Kavanagh........Canning
Cullinane........Lee...........Moore
Hynes........Tierney
Smith........Donnellan......Callinan
Healy.......Canning.......Hayes
(Same team as last championship match except for Ollie Canning back in corner as selected, and forced change for Kevin Hayes due to suspension.)
Lets not foget who we are playing. We are played all-Ireland champs for past three years. We are playing one of the best teams ever. We are playing first time in Leinster. We are missing several players who would be starters at beiginning of year. Even our best settled team of mid-late eighties would have a battle here.
If we lose it is not a disater. But we have to be going out to win, and play to win, and put in a performance worthy of the county. Performance is vital. A win is possible.

theweeman (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 17/06/2009 13:41:21    314683

I would worry about the defence i.e. Joyce, Cullinane and Kavanagh (if played at fullback) in particular. I know Lee is not playing well but he should rise to the occasion as he has undoubted skills. Midfield should do ok and I think Hynes / Tierney is about as good as we have at the moment. Donnellan is another imponderable - he could do well but he needs to up his workrate and ball winning skills bigtime in this game. Callinan, Healy, Smith and Hayes need to get stuck in and run at the cats / take their scores all day to help out JC (if fit). We need to up the pace and speed around the pitch hugely and let the ball in low and fast to the corners and wings as KK will win nearly all the aerial ball / physical battles which are our major 2 weaknesses throughout the team. The halfforwards / midfield will need to drop back also to help out the defence when required. We cannot at any costs allow them cheap space and time as KK will punish you like no other team around when that happens.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 18/06/2009 10:03:59    315611

No 3 has been a weak spot for a while alright. rumour is the Moore plays alot of training games there. could be an option next sat! Is Kav a better wing back? Some lads on this Forum have said so in the past. I would love to see McEntee play. He has always shun for Port on the big stage. Great communication and understanding between himself and Canning.
Another concern I have is no.11. Again it has been a weak spot in my opinion. Donnellan, Chunky, Mark Keirns have wore the no. 11 but it hasn't been solid. Maybe I am too hard on the 3 lads and donnellan has to proove himself at championship senior level. Who else have we in Galway to play a solid No. 11 and a solid no. 3.?

TribalCharlie (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 18/06/2009 11:36:57    315722

Tony Regan should be full back and Ollie Fahy should be centre forward.

Charlie (Kerry) - Posts: 513 - 18/06/2009 12:39:14    315812

Charlie,you cant be serious........!Diarmuid Cloonan for full back(playing great stuff at the mo),bring Joe 90 out centre forward and put in a mullocker in full forward to break ball for the two boys in the corners........just a thought........

debomber (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 18/06/2009 13:20:46    315878

charlie just goes two show what a kerry man knows bout hurling if u think tony regan should b full back o fahy is a good hurler but not up 2 it for galway

brown (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 18/06/2009 13:45:45    315907

galway team v kilkenny 1 callanan 2 joyce 3 kavanagh 4 canning 5 moore 6 lee 7 cullinane 8 lynch 9 hynes 10 callanan 11 donnelan 12 smith 13 hayes 14 canning 15 hayes obviously canning deemed fit enough to play

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 18/06/2009 22:15:39    316528

Lads after a week of speculating about the team its finally picked:

1 Colm Callanan
2 Damien Joyce
3 Shane Kavanagh
4 Ollie Canning
5 Fergal Moore
6 John Lee
7 Adrian Cullinane
8 Eoin Lynch
9 Kevin Hynes
10 Aongus Callanan
11 Cyril Donnellan
12 Andy Smith
13 Damien Hayes
14 Joe Canning
15 Niall Healy

What do ye think? Surprised of Farraghers exclusion... i dont agree on all of the team but McIntyre knows best and i think we can do the business against Killkenny provided Joe is fit... Now lets get behind the boys and show your support this weekend!

GAILLIMH ABU !!!

gaillimh15 (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 18/06/2009 22:31:35    316552

Message to "Only way is up", will you pick this weeks lotto numbers for me. You are the only one who got the correct team prediction

seasider (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 18/06/2009 22:34:20    316553