Kerry v Cork match analysis

Spot on Thomas Clarke, great post and I agree with all of the above.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 12:54:18    304712

Terrible performance by kerry and if the truth be told not much better by cork. Next saturday will give us a better idea of where we're at and i'd expect a big improvement but cork to win all the same. Except for T. Kennelly can't say any kerry lads can be happy with their performance.

Would have to agree that ref gave kerry everything going but what on earth was he looking at when half the cork team were hanging out of gooch at the end. The legend that he is he just threw it over without any fuss. Someone on here earlier said gooch overcarried. A side-splitting quote if ever there was one!

scholesy (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 08/06/2009 13:38:05    304768

Is the replay been televised?

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 08/06/2009 14:27:07    304846

cork threw it away but will win the replay. Don't mind the cork footballers - at 13/2, a good price to win the all-ireland - whereas the hurlers are a bunch of cry babies.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 08/06/2009 14:36:01    304861

Thomas Clarke you get my vote for message of the day!

Terrible Kerry performance, the attack looked rudderless and no sign of any gameplan.
At least we fought hard and managed to fork out the draw.
fair play to Brian Sheehan, he takes an awful lot of slack but yesterday he really stood up and got counted for.

All in all,looking forward to Pairc Ui Chaomih on saturday, nice starting time too!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/06/2009 14:57:36    304895

Fredthered

Is the replay been televised?

Yep - TV3 at 5.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 15:07:54    304904

08/06/2009 12:05:08
Breffni39

304648 The Galvin "knee" incident was blown out of all proportion by the Sunday Game. There was a man underneath him and he wasn't even looking. Yet another Galvin witch hunt. No one cares to mention the yellow he received. What did he do can anyone tell me? I saw nothing only him getting a dig in the ribs. Yet he got a yellow based on his reputation. Poor refereeing in my opinion. Same thing happened this time last year when he got a second yellow for doing nothing but being dragged all over the place and having the jersey nearly ripped off him.

This really annoys me. Its not a witch hunt when he is always guilty. It annoyed me when Des Cahill said that last night as it suggests sympathy that he doesn't deserve. Every game he plays he is involved in something and that is his fault, no-one elses. I didn't see the original yellow card (its irrelevant anyway), but I saw him drop the knee on Spillane and there is no excusing it.

Himself and a few other players are the type of players I have no sympathy for in any context. You give it, you take it and you deal with the consequences. He has made a reputation for himself and he has to put up with it now. Sure he still gets away with more than he is punished for, hardly a witch hunt.

Bref the kerry posters just feel exceptions should be made for them all the time. They know they can't win it on the field so they rely on their off the field media and political spin machines to win it for them. It is the greatest admission of defeat and ineptitude you are ever likely to witness.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 08/06/2009 15:11:16    304906

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

Bref the kerry posters just feel exceptions should be made for them all the time. They know they can't win it on the field so they rely on their off the field media and political spin machines to win it for them. It is the greatest admission of defeat and ineptitude you are ever likely to witness.

Breffni39 just to add to/clarify what Ralf said as sometimes his posts can be construed as completely anti-everything;

We have only relied on our off the field media and political spin machines for 33 out of our 36 All-Irelands. Everyone knows 1997, 2004 and 2006 were "soft" All-Irelands. Our "political" (???) spin machine was locked up in the garage those years.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 15:31:11    304941

Great point by the Gooch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8x5bykachY

Questions marks over whether it was a foul and the number of steps taken...some finish nonetheless.

eiregocroi (Cork) - Posts: 201 - 08/06/2009 15:32:18    304943

Real Louth fan

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hah talk about trying to provoke a reaction! We don't think exceptions should be made for us all the time. Not at all. But the Galvin ''incident'' is being stupidly blown out of all proportion entirely! He was already almost on the ground and wasn't looking at the Cork player. If anyone could prove that he meant to kneel on him from that I don't know how. He shouldn't have gotten his yellow. Very little is said about that. Why? Because most of the people on here wern't on the game and are just jumping on the Sunday Game bandwagon. He did absolutely nothing to deserve that card. The ref didn't see it and asked the linesman. Just like he didn't see the incident at the end properly which resulted in him moving the ball. I think that giving a yellow card had much more impact that moving the ball ten yards. Sheehan is an excellant free taker but when the ball was moved up a lot of people around me got more worried, as he does have a tendancy to fluff the easier ones. Don't think that moving the ball made any difference to the outcome at all.

Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 08/06/2009 15:53:12    304977

Skye there's no point taking on Ralf in football matters - he never replies referring to football to debate an issue with you, eg. see my above points to Breffni39 relating to the match, where Ralf knew he couldn't put up a serious football related argument to, and then decided to drag the debate off-topic referring to a "political spin machine"?!? As to what a political spin machine has to do with Kerry, your guess is as good as mine. Maybe something to do with Seán Kelly and the European elections perhaps.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 16:01:43    304992

lads i think galvin's reputation is going before him here like seriously how many times do we see the whole falling with the knees in every match? personally i would love to have a player like him on my countie's team and think he is an invaluable player to this kerry side. Do many people think cork are real contenders for this years championship?

moore16 (Kildare) - Posts: 17 - 08/06/2009 16:09:09    305002

People have been going on about how bad kerry were and true, they were awful in the main but I really do believe that if that was last year and Kerry were behind by 5 or 6 points wth only a handful of minutes remaining they would never have come back. It was Kerry losing large leads last season rather than shwoing some bottle (well done Sheehan in particular) and clawing themselves back into games that we became used to. There hasn't been too much mention made of the way they dug deep and drove forward to get back into it. Couldn't see the Kerry of last year doing that if they fell behind like that.

Also, I know it was only the league but remember the comback against Dublin even though they had qualified for the final? Kerry played about as badly as they can on Saturday yet still managed to nick a draw. People are going on about Kerry as if they've done nothing of any note over the past several years based on that performance and I think they'll be loving the running down they're getting. Can anyone see them playing that bad again on Saturday or Cork playing any better (other than the final 10 minutes) than they did in that match? I for one am looking forward to seeeing the outcome of a fascintaing encounter with Cork on the up and Kerry out to prove they've not gone past it.

MiddleEastExile (UK) - Posts: 26 - 09/06/2009 10:43:59    305880

MiddleEastExile
County: UK

I agree MiddleEast, Kerry of last year would not of Drawn that match playing as bad as they did. They dug deep got the draw and you can be sure they will come out on Saturday i different team. Praise going to Sheehan for his cool head (has had his critics since september). And the wonder point from gooch.
Cork should be wary of Kerry coming out all guns blazing on Saturday night. I think it will be a cracker . . .

tribes4liam09 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 09/06/2009 11:03:17    305907

Hey there Middleeastexile, I'd have to agree that I can't see Kerry being that bad next Saturday but would also say that surely they couldn't get any worse. Yes nice to see them coming back and I'm not saying that they can't do the business this year but at the moment on evidence so far it is hard to look past Cork and Tyrone. We've a long way to go based on last weeeks performance. Anyone can have an offday but really they were running around with headless chickens with nowhere to go for most of the game. No system, no hint of any training ground drills, no idea whatsoever of a best 15 (which mightn't be a bad thing in the long run), looked off the pace and lacked the physicality and aggression in certain parts of the field to challenge Cork with a couple of dodgy backs to boot.

The only thing is that with people like Tomas, Marc, Galvin, DO'S and the Gooch we always have a chance against anybody, even on an offday. Looking for and expecting a vastly improved performance but in particular a more coherent plan.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 09/06/2009 12:16:06    306018

Thomas Clarke

I agree with a point that you have made. Cork at times look awesome, we hit teams with a bit of blistering pace for a while but then fade away. That is an honest assesment and one that more and more Cork people should take on board. We do lack a few quality footballers and we try and make up for that with athletes that can run. Our half forward line is decent but I do not think that the three of them should be on the same field together. Give me six forwards (or at least 5) that can score any day of the week.

To me Daniel Goulding is our best forward. He is very comfortable on the ball and has great strength and stride when attacking defenders. If he was on the Tyrone or kerry teams he would be even better than he is now as he would be surrounded by better players and would have more support.

Still, when all is said and done I do believe that Cork, at this moment in time, the third best team in the country and the ones most likely to beat either Tyrone and kerry (something that I do not see happening). That could change over the summer with the likes of Galway, Derry, Dublin and Monaghan (would not be surprised to see them in an All-Ireland semi-final) all capable of one big performance to knock one of the big two out. Right now, just now, Cork are the most likely though.

As regards the ref on Sunday, as a part time ref myself, I know he did go out to do his best. It is up the players to behave themselves on the field and to play sportingly. The ref will call what he sees. I thought myself that he did a good job. There were two occasions when Cork players were attacking Kerry defenders and rather than play the ball, they attempted to gain a free. Despite the protestations from the Cork crowd at the time, the ref made the right decision. The time when darren O sullivan slipped into a tackle, the referee rightly stopped the play, and awarded a throw ball, some referees would have given a free. There is not one county team in this country (I dare say even club) that does not have players that grab the arms of opponents when in possession and play for the free or lads that dive in low and then make it seem that they have been grabbed around the neck. These incidents are a blight on our game, Maurice Deegan pulled up lads the last day. Fair play to him for doing that.

In short, in my opinion, the ref was not bad, was not biased in favour of Kerry and was not bad for both teams. he did as good as he could. Those involved with the teams need to analyse themselves first before criticizing the ref.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/06/2009 23:01:44    306835

No Skye not trying to provoke a raction. Just as usual - I call it as I see it. You guys had a lot of credibility in years gone by i.e. when all you had to beat were the Leinster champions and Cork every 4 or 5 years. But those days are over and when you are challenged we are seeing the real and unsightly side of Kerry - personified by the galvin lad. That being said I must find favour with you and your "colleagues" in your name calling. RALF is most appropriate for me. I find that it conveys images of coolness like Ralph Fiennes. Also the A being slotted in between the R and the L demonstrates that I complete the gaps and make sense of what others may perceive as chaos. Or is it A for Assertive as I am forthright and uncompromising in my opinions. I have grown to like it and will adopt it as my pseudonym. Yours forever RALF (Real Assertive Louth Fan)

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 10/06/2009 00:57:18    306939

Real Louth fan

No Skye not trying to provoke a raction. Just as usual - I call it as I see it. You guys had a lot of credibility in years gone by i.e. when all you had to beat were the Leinster champions and Cork every 4 or 5 years. But those days are over and when you are challenged we are seeing the real and unsightly side of Kerry - personified by the galvin lad.

This is going off the point of the thread but you say Galvin personifies the real and unsightly sight of Kerry???? I would perfer to think Jack O Shea, Mick O'Connell, Colm Cooper, Pat Spillane......Need I go on? Does Ryan McMenamin personify Tyrone for example?, no he doesnt men like Frank McGuigan, his son Brian, Dooher, and Seán Cavanagh do. Bar Galvin who can sometimes cross the line, name another Kerry player tha could be called dirty?
As for your comment on us occasionally beating Leinster champs and Cork, well that was such a pointless and wrong statement it doesnt need responding to.

The_Defender (Kerry) - Posts: 48 - 11/06/2009 21:38:28    308809