Kerry v Cork match analysis

I feel Cork were robbed by the ref naturally the Kerry posters see it different but the non Cork/Kerry posters who have commented on refs performance have all tended to agree that Cork were indeed robbed. I rest my case on that one, by the way it was the umpire who gave the 45 twas hard to tell definitively on the telly who got the final touch but that guy was standing pretty close to the action. The Galvin knee incident wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen on a pitch but he was on a yellow card and definitely should have been sent off. Whilst disappointed with the result, the reality of our position is that we must become a better team then Kerry, have no fear at all of them and be confident of beating them whenever we meet. Unless we can do this, even if we had won today , we will always be waiting for them to catch us later in the series. Accordingly its no bad thing to be playing them again, if we are good enough we will beat them and if we are not so be it.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/06/2009 23:02:31    304337

For the height of pearse o neill he has some speed to him. Always comes to the fore against kerry and today was no different,

sexyface (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 07/06/2009 23:08:31    304343

Kerry father by O'Neill so hes bound to rise to the occasion! Great speed alrite for his size.

Plenty on here today going on about ref, if Cork were so good they should have been out of sight well before Kerrys comeback. They were just that bit better then Kerry today but not much.
People on about Galvin should have got red, well Ger Spillane got a (dubious) yellow and straight after floored Darren O'Sullivan for a penalty, by the law he should have walked. plenty other examples off bad decisions for both teams, the ref is only human. I will no doubt be called biased but thats to be expected!

Next week could go either way, Donaghy and Tommy Walsh will be big losses, I think we played poorly today and have alot more in us but Kerry Cork is always impossible to say.

williewentwell
Good game of Basket Ball in Killarney was it a home fixture for Cork as they seem to out number the Kerry support 3 to 1 or was it a case that Kerry had already booked there place in the Final well as we know in these economical times moneys too tight to mention!

Yeah they might seem to on the TV alright but appearences can be deceiving and what that has got to do with events on the pitch I don't know

The_Defender (Kerry) - Posts: 48 - 07/06/2009 23:35:58    304370

Sunday Game said Noel O Leary very hard done by at end. Bryan Sheehan was stealing yards and Noel was telling him go back. Ref had back turned.

marym (Cork) - Posts: 242 - 07/06/2009 23:53:18    304382

The amazing thing about Pearse O Neill is that he never played under age for Cork. He was discovered in the Underdogs programme on TG4.

marym (Cork) - Posts: 242 - 08/06/2009 00:26:09    304398

was deegan bad for both sides , rem last year against tyrone in the final he did us no favours . that said jack has a lot of work to do maybe time has caught up with our lads on the go since 2000 a lot of them

kerryblue (Kerry) - Posts: 239 - 08/06/2009 01:03:44    304415

Prior to this match I believed that Cork would win. Cork could have won this match, they did not. Kerry SHOULD HAVE BEEN OUT OF THIS GAME WITH 20 MINUTES REMAINING, BUT THEY WERE NOT. They clawed their way back into a game they were second best in for most of the seventy minutes. I am reading on these pages how the ref favored Kerry, and how lucky Kerry were. People are knocking Kerry and giving them no credit for getting a draw out of what seemed a sure defeat. This time yesterday I believed the top three teams as Tyrone, Cork and Kerry. I still have that belief. What other sides could edge any of these three teams on any pitch? Yes at times today the football was dour. But these two sides are well used to eachother, and the rivalry is as intense if not more so than any other on this island. The grit that both teams displayed today was fierce. Cork threw away chances where they should have sealed a victory. And perhaps opened the door for their first Sam Mguire victory in 19 seasons. But, their shooting boots were askew and the ability to punish their opponent was missing again. Cork dominated immensely for a good period of time. The Kerry backline, maligned in the media, bent but did not totally faulter. Kerry live to fight another day, Cork I still believe will win this match up. The referee did not take the game from Cork today as many suggest. There are too many Kerry knockers out there. Give them credit, they are a great footballing county. Cork are on the verge....And I suggest Mickey Harte can sense a double is within his grasp. But two counties with great character stand in his way!

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 08/06/2009 02:46:53    304435

regarding the paul galvin incident with ger spillane, blown of all proportion, their was nothing in it, come on lads honestly calling for a suspension , are you's mad.. just because its paul galvin.

billythekid (Louth) - Posts: 109 - 08/06/2009 08:50:45    304450

Jack was given a life line by us yesterday. had we won he may as well have hung up his whistle. Should we win the replay and in the style we should have won yesterday then it could be his obituary. Returning managers only works in Scotland!!

mildred (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 08/06/2009 10:19:31    304502

First 20-25 mins was excellent and played at a brilliant pace though it began to slow down after that. Both teams were impressive in their own right, Cork for playing the football they did and Kerry for not being at their best and still not losing.

Galvin incident wasnt pretty, some might say that here is a fundamental sickness at the heart of Munster football. Why cant you play nice like us Ulster boys!!!?

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 08/06/2009 10:35:31    304524

Great post lostintime, but alas there's too few posters like you on here, and more of the other sort.. I must say I was glad the title of this thread was changed from what it was originally, but no surprises as to what Ralf had to say. Also glad that his first post has also been deleted. I could have told what he was going to post before the match started. Maybe I'm Mystic Meg. And then I waited until Ulsterman popped up. I wasn't to be disappointed. The criticism for this match came from the one province. For people that say the ref was biased towards Kerry - well the general consensus after the match was that he was equally poor to both sides. The only difference was that Kerry got the easier frees towards the end of the game when they were on top. I could pick numerous ones where Kerry were hard done by, and numerous ones where Cork were hard done by. The Galvin "knee" incident was blown out of all proportion by the Sunday Game. There was a man underneath him and he wasn't even looking. Yet another Galvin witch hunt. No one cares to mention the yellow he received. What did he do can anyone tell me? I saw nothing only him getting a dig in the ribs. Yet he got a yellow based on his reputation. Poor refereeing in my opinion. Same thing happened this time last year when he got a second yellow for doing nothing but being dragged all over the place and having the jersey nearly ripped off him. I'd also like to say that a great Cork following came down - so to all those that say Cork have the worst supporters ye might want to think again lads. As for willwentwell's comments regarding the home support - the camera for the match shows onto the stand. The stand was 50-50. The terrace to the right was 50-50. The terrace to the left was all Cork. The terrace on the opposite side to the stand was all Kerry. The attendance was 33,000. I'd say 20,000 Kerry and 13,000 Cork.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 10:59:25    304555

wasn't video evidence used against Monaghn and Derry players? Surley then galvin should be treated equally?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 08/06/2009 11:03:24    304565

Cork bottled it yday..... was shocked to see Kerry pull it back after such a dismal display...thought Cork were very good in opening half.... Cork to win replay

yearofthelily (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 08/06/2009 11:09:56    304575

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

wasn't video evidence used against Monaghn and Derry players? Surley then galvin should be treated equally?

A very good suggestion Ralf, we should be able to overturn the yellow he received for receiving a dig in the ribs so. Keep the good suggestions coming. Thanks.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 11:37:04    304603

08/06/2009 11:37:04 3inarow08 County: Kerry Posts: 1465 304603 Real Louth fan County: Louth Posts: 1719 wasn't video evidence used against Monaghn and Derry players? Surley then galvin should be treated equally? ___________________________ A very good suggestion Ralf, we should be able to overturn the yellow he received for receiving a dig in the ribs so. Keep the good suggestions coming. Thanks. His rep goes before him ;-) Nobody to blame but himself.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 08/06/2009 11:46:58    304618

The Galvin "knee" incident was blown out of all proportion by the Sunday Game. There was a man underneath him and he wasn't even looking. Yet another Galvin witch hunt. No one cares to mention the yellow he received. What did he do can anyone tell me? I saw nothing only him getting a dig in the ribs. Yet he got a yellow based on his reputation. Poor refereeing in my opinion. Same thing happened this time last year when he got a second yellow for doing nothing but being dragged all over the place and having the jersey nearly ripped off him.

This really annoys me. Its not a witch hunt when he is always guilty. It annoyed me when Des Cahill said that last night as it suggests sympathy that he doesn't deserve. Every game he plays he is involved in something and that is his fault, no-one elses. I didn't see the original yellow card (its irrelevant anyway), but I saw him drop the knee on Spillane and there is no excusing it.

Himself and a few other players are the type of players I have no sympathy for in any context. You give it, you take it and you deal with the consequences. He has made a reputation for himself and he has to put up with it now. Sure he still gets away with more than he is punished for, hardly a witch hunt.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 08/06/2009 12:05:08    304648

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

His rep goes before him ;-) Nobody to blame but himself.

I actually agree with you there. I feel dirty.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 12:06:38    304652

Breffni39

This really annoys me. Its not a witch hunt when he is always guilty. It annoyed me when Des Cahill said that last night as it suggests sympathy that he doesn't deserve. Every game he plays he is involved in something and that is his fault, no-one elses. I didn't see the original yellow card (its irrelevant anyway), but I saw him drop the knee on Spillane and there is no excusing it.

Himself and a few other players are the type of players I have no sympathy for in any context. You give it, you take it and you deal with the consequences. He has made a reputation for himself and he has to put up with it now. Sure he still gets away with more than he is punished for, hardly a witch hunt.

Stall the ball a second Breffni39, I'm not trying to annoy you. I'm just trying to defend the man or give a different viewpoint. God forbid that he should ever stumble across this site and read some of the posts on here.

Galvin was on the ground at the time. So there was no "dropping" of the knee. In fact he was kneeling on the Cork player's (sorry can't remember who) back/shoulder at the time. The Cork player tried to get up, but put his head underneath Galvin's knee. I know you'll laugh at that explanation, the usual "he headbutted my fist with his jaw, your honour" type excuse - but watch it again. Galvin wasn't even looking at the Cork player the whole time of the incident. He was looking at the ref because he thought he should have won a free. Surely the Cork player would have protested to the ref that Galvin dropped the knee to his head???

As for Galvin always involved in something every match - that's a simple one. He's the type of player that always gets into the nitty-gritty, that's his game, he's there to break up attacks from the opposing defenders and win breaking ball. If you were marking Galvin in a Championship game, the first thing you'd do is try and get him sent off. How do you do that? Rough him up and try and get him to lash out, ie. the dig inthe ribs he got in the first half. Did he complain? No. I think he's learnt a little lesson from the Clare match last year.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/06/2009 12:28:07    304684

Really enjoyed the game lads. Very impressed with Cork and with Kerry`s tenacity. Very high standard of football. There are not too many counties could live with either of these teams. Do think however that timekeeping should be the preserve of pitch side officials. The referee has enough on his plate. Greatly looking forward to the replay.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 08/06/2009 12:32:52    304687

This Cork side remind me a bit of Pillar Caffrey's Dublin. They hit you with power and speed for 20 minutes, looking like the best side in the Country, but then drift completely out of things for long periods. Perhaps their problem is a lack of good footballers (as opposed to athletes) in the middle sector, men who can get on the ball and give the side direction when it is beginning to slip.

Having said that, and despite Maurice Deegan's dreadful performance, Cork should still have been good enough for Kerry yesterday. They won most of the key match-ups around the field, and caught Kerry on a day when Donaghy & Walsh were injured, and Cooper terribly out-of-sorts. Cork also look at a more advanced stage of training than Kerry do at this point. Positives for Kerry were good performances from Galvin & the O'Se's (particularly Marc), but I'd be worried that they relied on Sheehan to get them out of trouble, when most Kerry people would feel that he wouldn't be worth a place on the team.

A draw was a great result for Kerry, as they need games to find their best 15. They may have some strength in depth, but there are key positions (full-back/midfield/wing forward) with no stand-out candidates, and at times it looks as though Kerry are just shuffling the same hand over and over again in those areas. It's time for some of the fringe players to stake a claim.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 08/06/2009 12:48:20    304704