cork disappeared in second half especially their forward line. kerry looked a bit ropey but was their first game and are sure to improve. a record must have been broken today with the introduction of the mighty darragh him and quicrky boy must be the heaviest duo to ever play football, the two of them make rory woods look like posh spice. the only way those two boys could cover ground in the middle of the park is if they fell over, impressed with togh though! reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 07/06/2009 17:57:08 303971 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 07/06/2009 18:10:23 303985 Link 0 |
Skye, forgot about that. Completely forgot about that game but today was Kerry's first game. Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/06/2009 18:24:00 303999 Link 0 |
Good game of Basket Ball in Killarney was it a home fixture for Cork as they seem to out number the Kerry support 3 to 1 or was it a case that Kerry had already booked there place in the Final well as we know in these economical times moneys too tight to mention! williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 07/06/2009 18:37:52 304009 Link 0 |
Yeah, I know. Was just posting in the interest of accuracy. Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 07/06/2009 18:39:18 304013 Link 0 |
Will review panel look at Galvin knee incident. Last year he was being portrayed as a guy who wouldn't hurt a fly but had a momentary loss of control in the notebook incident. Judge for yourselves, in my opinion he should have walked. Ref should be ashamed of himself for blatantly playing for draw. Game was over as soon as O Neill kicked the 45. What does ref do plays an extra extra 2 mins, in that time gives Kerry 2 soft frees and moves the 2nd one in a further 10 metres just to make sure. Never mind lads we will beat them in the replay providing we have a fair ref. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/06/2009 19:19:33 304050 Link 0 |
After last year I would have thought Paul Galvin would have learnt his lesson. Thought Shields and Lynch were outstanding for Cork. Heard Tommy Walsh is gone for the replay.For an under 21 player Colm O ' Neill showed great steel in pointing the 45. Cork are very hard to beat at home but both teams will have to step up. marym (Cork) - Posts: 242 - 07/06/2009 19:21:03 304055 Link 0 |
Good one Reddoctor. Never thought I'd hear Woods compared to Posh Spice. PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 07/06/2009 19:41:06 304073 Link 0 |
its nice to see the northern boys with there sly remarks we got out of jail today but walshe was a huge loss so early cork would be the more dissapointed dara looks overweight but thadgh will benefit the most a good debut for him . its all to play for in the replay kerryblue (Kerry) - Posts: 239 - 07/06/2009 19:58:30 304098 Link 0 |
That was the most blatant display of wanting a draw by a referee i have ever witnessed in my entire life. 2 mins put up on the board as extra time and kerry equalised in the 4th minute of extra time.I would love an explanation for this one by the ref.Why should he not have to explain his decision.An absolute disgrace by any standards,irrespective of whether Cork should have won the game or not which they should but,thats not the point.Disgusted. stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 07/06/2009 20:10:50 304118 Link 0 |
God the coach Potatoes are out again! Lads if ye bothered to get off yer ***** and go and watch a game then ye would have seen what actually happened! The abuse Galvin took all day was a joke, he would of been well within his rights to lash out after some of O'Learys actions, but he got his "Just Rewards" in the 74th minute :p ! The referee was very poor today, gave Kerry nothing for 60 minutes and then gave us a few very soft free's in the dying minutes. Oh and people are moaning about the injury time he played, what about the 45 o'neil scored from in the 72nd minute that never was, the Cork man clearly punched it out of play!!!!!!! Kerry were poor today, Cork in my opinion played as well as they can! Kerry will improve for this game, and expect them to just about edge it next week! A special mention to Kennelly, the boy was awesome in the last 15 minutes as was Sheehan! Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 07/06/2009 20:43:29 304153 Link 0 |
Were you at the game Ciarrai Abú? ClonoeExile (Tyrone) - Posts: 55 - 07/06/2009 21:12:33 304216 Link 0 |
Thats cos Galvin shoulda got the line again today. Cork were far superior to Kerry today and only have themselves to blame for they're messing around. IMO they wanted to hammer Kerry today and went for all goals when the were 5 pts up. beleave me if it was a final they would have been taking the points and would have won that by at least 8. They're finishing was brutal. Sheehan saved ye again today. Kennelly played better than i thought he was. But Kerry are in decline and Cork are getting stronger every year, Cork will win on Saturday and i will be having a bet on it i am so confident. Kerry never changed even after last year with all the sending off's ye are still pulling and draggin all over the field. I will admit Cork lost the plot when Kerry came back at them. They were running into men and losing the ball comin out of defence, a criminal error, only for that they would have won. The ref did play 4 a draw. Gooch took 7 steps. Cork should have had 3 frees in the last 5 mins in scoring parts of the field but mysteriously not given. I wouldnt be expecting Sam this year if i was a Kerry man. defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 07/06/2009 21:16:02 304221 Link 0 |
REF gives 2 mins added time. This means anything from 2 to 2:59 at his discretion. Kerry got free before this time as far as everyone knew at the stadium. What happened next was no ones fault except NOL. Thought Cork were good and up for it as expected and well able to match us Physically. They're a good strong team but was dissappointed with Cork too though because the game was there for the taking. At the end of the day Kerry were very very poor for 55 mins with a few exceptions. Galvin was immense, his man was replaced after receiving yellow for attacking Galvin, then Noel O'Leary was sent on to antagonise further as usual. Didnt spot any of the issues brought up here already but maybe that will be obvious on the Telly tonight. Marc O'Se was fantastic and Tomas was pretty good too. A decent enough championship debut for Kennelly. In the last 15 mins we were vastly improved which wasnt hard to do seeing as how bad we were for the first 3/4's. David Moran when he came on made an immediate impact and I still feel he will earn himself an All Star by the end of the season and in general we upped the anti and showed that maybe we're not dead an buried this year. Nice to see a 15 min period without the two big boys. Dont think we missed Donaghy in the slightest but would have been nice to have seen Walsh get the full game. Nice to see his younger brother coming through. Gooch had an awful day and if he had his scoring boots on should have come away with 1 - 6 or 7 instead of his 3 points. However lynch or Gooch usually share the spoils in their battle every second year and Lynch came out on top today. Thought Quirke was way off the pace as well as Darragh who seems to want to take the ball into contact every time he gets it for some reason. Probably because he doesnt have the pace to even attempt to go around his man. Cork didnt really test Diarmuid that often which is a shame because I think he is a weak link these days unfortunately and would have made it even clearer to selectors. O'Mahony is a disaster at the moment and don't like his attitude. Was left for dead a few times today. Pearse O'Neill, another Guaranteed All Star this year was brilliant as was Shields and Anthony Lynch. Really feel Cork left it behind and should have been 8 or 9 points up but have to hand it to Kerry for clawing their way back into it and really at the end of the day it looked like we might win it with some fantastic points being kicked particularly by sheehan after he came on. It's amazing how a few good minutes can totally change a game. Still feel it is going to be Cork or Tyron'e year. And of course nice to see all the usual Kerry knockers out in force enjoying the game and posting their usual vitriolic commentary. thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 07/06/2009 21:22:02 304231 Link 0 |
Ciarrai Abu I agree entirely. People are having a trial by television here. It's all well and good to say Galvin did this and Galvin did that but what about all the off the ball stuff that was going around that you wouldn't have seen on tv? Now in fairness, noone (Kerry people included) is going to say that Galvin is a saint, but the yellow card he got was a joke. He was being pulled out of and receiving sly digs everytime the ref wasn't looking. It was he who ended up on the ground and was most definately more sinned against than sinning but both players got yellow cards. The whole knee incident is being blown out of all proportion! Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 07/06/2009 22:00:59 304279 Link 0 |
And also, people keep talking about how the Deegan moved the ball forward for the last free. That was for dissent. Noone to blame but themselves. And the free was given within the time. What do people suggest he did? Blow up the game before he kicked the free. Nothing wrong there at all. Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 07/06/2009 22:04:30 304287 Link 0 |
a replay will be a huge advantage to both theses sides.instead of one testing game in Munster they now will get 2. hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 07/06/2009 22:08:53 304294 Link 0 |
You're right hugoboss, and I think whoever wins will have a big advantage because they will have had 2 hard games at least and still not have to go through treacherous and long back door system. I think the replay is a must win. Wouldnt be looking past limerick though. thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 07/06/2009 22:19:44 304303 Link 0 |
I see the Kerry trooper are out in force as per usual denying their very dubious sportmanship, WellI supose it workedfor yous last year getting Galvin back and then going on to........ oh wait it didnt work at all last year did it. Also after the slating that Bryan Sheehan got last year I though he was gonna be no where near the panel, some ofhe comments were quite personal as well. There is a few people in Kerry who should be thanking him tonight he got you outta jail. Good tosee Kenelly having a decent game and scoring a cracking point, a real victory for the GAA. By the way did you see the Sunday Independent today? It says he is going back to Oz but if you read the article he said nothing of the sort. On the day that two of the biggest rivalries take place in the National Sport, the Sunday Independent sports sections leads with the British Lions playing a Mickey Mouse game against a South African province and a smaller untrue article about Tadgh Kenelly going back OZ omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 07/06/2009 22:27:10 304311 Link 0 |
Really enjoyed the game. The ref played too much injury time but I thought Cork should have put Kerry away long before that. Paudi O Se in the Indo this mornin said Kerry could pay the price for not naming a recognised free taker in the starting line up. Think he was proved right and Sheehan made a huge contribution when he came on - showed great nerve hittin that equaliser. Cork were impressive big, strong and skillful but they couldn't kill Kerry off. Galvin probably should have walked. Most of the stuff he gets up to isn't really that nasty but he can't seem to stop himself commiting silly petulant fouls. No doubt he's antagonised but I'd do it myself if I was marking him because more often than he reacts. Galvin's a fine footballer though and there aren't that many of his type around. He's always available to take a pass and his own simple accurate passing makes Kerry tick up front. Wouldn't write Cork off in the replay, they'll feel like they left it behind them today. Kerry will feel they've gotten out of jail and I'd expect a better performance than today. I'm gonna have a few quid on a draw in the replay bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 07/06/2009 22:43:16 304324 Link 0 |