Cavan v Fermanagh - thoughts ?

if yuo look at the cavan defence everyone bar whoever plays full back are all small men.carr said at the start of the year he was going to bring in big men,givney and gailligan are the only new big men brought in and there not defenders.emmett madden from gowna has been excellent all through the league so far and he hasnt even got a look in.he is a better player than eoin smith and thomas reilly.i dont no where carr got the notion that they were county footballers,reiily couldnt even make the county u21 team.and not to have brought back mckeever is another joke,cavan cant afford to have players like him not on the panel.

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 21/05/2009 15:55:22    290080

Hoy would you consider Dunne to be a small man?? No point in bringing in big men who cant play football..

Would anyone else consider Gearoid McKiernan as a better player that Mulvey?

Jecht (Cavan) - Posts: 150 - 21/05/2009 16:23:26    290117

hoy totally agree with what your saying about madden. he is brilliant, would make any cavan man proud to see him in county colour's. he would definetly be on any other county team, especially with the level of class cavan has.

cavangeals08 (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 21/05/2009 16:34:27    290139

jecht if you read the comment right you would see that i have who ever plays full back as a big man which is either dunne or sheridan

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 21/05/2009 17:33:34    290219

that tomas reilly is simply not good enough and its a great indication to how poor we really are.

cavanscout (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 21/05/2009 18:19:23    290273

Lads , dont talk rubbish about Tomas Reilly because ye have probably never seen him , He is a fine footballer and alot better than some of these names being menteoned like Mad Eddie , Nicolas Walsh , Lorcan Mulvey , John McCrutcheon . Himself and Dec McKiernan have been playing magnificent football for the Leaguers all year. Some of ye no nothing !

legend 44 (Cavan) - Posts: 154 - 21/05/2009 19:45:26    290337

fair enough legend44 i didnt see him play this year but unless hes improved an AWFUL LOT i dont think hes good enough yet.just my opinion,

cavanscout (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 21/05/2009 20:32:44    290382

agree with ya legend.people just cannot be pleased,one day they say get rid of dermot jayo larry and the likes,time to start building a new team,the next day they're complaining because theres lads on the panel who are young even though they show signs of being great footballers.its time to start bringing in players like tomas reilly and mckeirnan from swad,also lads from clubs like ramor.tomas is a great footballer and a bit of experience at this level will do alot for him and it wont do any harm to the county.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 21/05/2009 20:40:32    290398

and cavanscout,i have no problem with people having an opinion,everyones entitled to one,but at least watch a player before you start putting them and your county down.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 21/05/2009 20:42:53    290401

fermanagh have some good players. i dont think they are much better than cavan but their work-rate is unbelieveable, so to beat them cavan will have to play at a level that they haven't reached in a long time, a level that they probally haven't reached since tyrone in 2005 (first game). if they do this they have a great chance.

Hurl08 (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 21/05/2009 21:32:17    290454

Apologies Hoy read your post wrong.

Declan McKiernan should surely have been called up ahead of Tomas Reilly after the year he's had playing college football? Also Brendan Fitzpatrick from Belturbet should be given a chance, playing with Jayo and as well as Jayo for his club.

But overall I suppose Carr's pick cannot be criticised. The full back will need to perform. O'Rourke himself branded Carson as a focal point for the team. If they can take away that threat hopefully we'll have enough to contest the game well and maybe sneak a win!

Jecht (Cavan) - Posts: 150 - 21/05/2009 23:41:15    290578

thomas reilly from killeshandra has loads of potential but goes down far to easily wen he is tackled! the absence of mc cabe and mc keever is baffeling apart from jelly there is no1 at their level in cavan!

spartacus10 (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 22/05/2009 00:46:27    290622

Chesty got his chance twice in the past with Cavan and just couldn't cut at that level of football,good club player but thats it.Gaynor was good for two years with Cavan but has gone off the boil in my opinion and is a liability anyway!McKeever hasn't been the same player he was in a Cavan jersey in a long, long time and if hes gonna be messing the whole time he can't be on the panel!

Dunne and McCutcheon are taking a right bit of stick on here but name the lads who played better on a consistent basis in the league than they did?That lads are saying that Corr, Tierney and Reilly are better than these boys is laughable, i seen him outplayed one game by this boy or that boy...yeah one game doesn't make a season and the two lads don't half carry their clubs, do the other lads carry theirs?

On the subject of Flanagan,he has real talent but when have we really seen a full 70mins of class from him in a Cavan jersey?We haven't...we've just seen glimpses now and again!

Fermanagh have just as many quality players as we do if not more i.e. McGrath,McElroy,Sherry,etc. so whoever said we're the better footballers must have a screw loose!I still think we can turn them over in Breffni though if we get the gameplan right!

hughoreilly (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 22/05/2009 12:18:36    290868

For those not in Newry this year Ronan performed superbly for the full 70 minutesas did the rest of the Cavan team. I have watched RF since he was a gossan and believe me he has all the ability to make it at this level added to this his attitude is very good. A major failing amoung players from our once proud county. I wish him and the rest of the panel well in the challenge that lies ahead. Fermanagh last years Ulster finalists must be favourites. They say to win finals you need to have lost some. Femanagh have lost theirs and will be going all out for another final appearance. We know how they will battle their gameplan is hardly a secret, the question is will Cavan match their workrate for the 70 minutes. I for one will be in the park on Saturday the 6th of June roaring myself hoarse. I live in hope for without that all is lost.

rahanman (Cavan) - Posts: 127 - 22/05/2009 16:51:40    291212

zamora, james rielly is not the best keeper in the country!! he a massive kickout alright but its to 2 lads that cant catch( cluxton kickouts wud be perfect for cavan)!! if he was to improve his positional kicking and be more braver for his size he would be the best!!

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 22/05/2009 18:48:25    291305

Well he is a fine shootstopper to. Should have at least 1 all star and Cluxton does a lot of stupid tings. Ok Sorry he is not the best but either is Cluxton

zamora (Cavan) - Posts: 200 - 22/05/2009 20:57:37    291390

hughoreilly u are away with the birds. To say that Chesty is not worth his place on the cavan panel is madness. McCutcheon and dunne are good club players and no more. The last time I saw Dunne play he was absolulty destroyed by an antrim fringe player, he didnt get out on front once and looked uninterested. I have seen him play a few times for his club where he did well this season.
Cavan will never win anything when they have half a panel not playing in Div1. Its easy for lads to play well with their clubs when they are playing against second string ( and 3rd string) teams every week.
Well done rahanman for the piece on RF, his effort and skill cannot be questioned , he will be a good captain and if we had 15 of him on the team we coundnt have a prob with Fermanagh.........

driveiton (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 22/05/2009 21:28:39    291427

"the absence of mc cabe and mc keever is baffeling "

Its not really. McKeever was kicked off the panel for indiscipline and McCabe retired. why do you find that so hard to understand?

mylestheslasher (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 22/05/2009 21:32:11    291431

no cluxton isnt the best, if rielly adopted his kicking towards cluxtons style it wud hum as a player and most of all cavan keeping the ball way from some of the best midfeilders in ireland!!

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 22/05/2009 22:02:19    291449

Probable Team:

Reilly

Cahill
Sheridan
Fannin

McCutcheon
Keating
Padraig Reilly

Walsh
Galligan