Cavan v Fermanagh - thoughts ?

Watching the fermanagh and down match im not sure who id rather see cavan playing,down were wasteful and very bad at times but if they had of scraped a win they wouldnt be like that the next day out,on a good side i dont think cavan will play them silly high balls into the full forward which we know fermanagh can defend easy enough,fermanagh done all there damage when they turned over ball in there own half and went on the run we will need to be able to hold them up there, and there manager has a good insight into cavan football .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 17/05/2009 18:34:12    285710

im feeling quite optimistic about this one.we dont have a great team but fermanagh arent that good either.we also have the home advantage might help us a bit,but if we were to win i think that would be as far as we would go in ulster,donegal are too strong for us,and theres not much chance of antrim beating them.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 17/05/2009 18:57:44    285725

Wouldent fear Fermanagh. I think you have to know how to play them. No point kicking high balls into Johnstone and Jayo or Pearson.They simply put a wing forward in front of the full back line and break ball down and mop up. Thought Down were very limited and the much hyped Fitzpatrick wasent at the races.Obvious that Coulter wasent fit. We will have to plan for the blanket defence and our own full back line has to be up for it. Still I think it is time for our young players to step up to the mark- Cullivan, Brady, Martin Reilly, Watters, Galligan etc. Will travel in hope and would be optimistic.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 17/05/2009 19:46:22    285771

Fermanagh will be favourites but Cavan are in with a good chance.
At home in Breffni with hopefully a good crowd - should help us.
Just have to keep good discipline in defence and try not give away too many silly frees as Fermanagh now have a free taker this year (well close in anyway).
Saturday night should be a little different for Championship football but if Cavan win I don't care.

Fat Boy

Fat Boy (Cavan) - Posts: 372 - 18/05/2009 09:38:20    286081

A win against Fermanagh is certainly not out of the question. Neither team have on overwhelming physical presence so to that end I think it could be a decent enough game of pacy open football with Cavan having the point to prove in front of the home crowd.

Fermanagh started the 2008 Championship with a couple of poor games; one against Monaghan yet, forraged a win while gradually coming into their stride. The preliminary match will stand to them and thus Cavan will need to hit the ground running (needless to say). Getting Seanie in his rhythm early on will be crucial and laying down a marker in the backline both physically and in terms of the half back line; play an attacking role to the greatest degree possible.
I predict Cavan will win the match, although I've voiced my criticism of the panel, I think Cavan will have enough class up front to register plenty of points.

Prediction; Cavan 0-14 - Fermanagh 1-09

ColmB_2009 (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 18/05/2009 11:27:23    286214

cavan have the nicer jersey therefore they are going to win by 3 points and a goal from james reilly.

fooligan (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 19/05/2009 09:12:00    287454

After watching last sunday i think if the management get the game plan right we could be in with a good chance.As a previous poster said there is no point in kicking high balls into johnstone the way fremmanagh played last sunday.Best way migh be to run at them from midfield or the half forward line... Down did that to an extent but with underfoot conditions not great a lot of their attacks broke down so they switched to the long ball in and it only worked a few times as coulter wasnt fully fit. Maybe johnstone out in the half forward line might be an idea?? It even might stop the fremanagh back line from going forward like they did last sunday,and their half back scored some good points.Our full back has got to be on his toes as their full forward tends to come out alot and win a lot of ball.He is fairly acurate too. 50-50 in the midfield would do as down won a lot of posession in the midfield but were very slow with the build up and pass to the forwards.Disipline in a local derby going to be very important.. we need to be able to keep 15 on the field for the whole 70 mins.Ipersonelly think if we run at them at speed from the half forward line we will win it.If we kick high balls in to the full fordward line well the fremanagh full back line will clean up everything in there.johnsone and lyng in the half forward line with jason full forward for his experience alone losing his man and creating space.. And then provided we have the ability to kick it over the bar from 20 or 30 m out instead of trying to walk it into the net we should get through

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 19/05/2009 09:34:25    287465

Who do you think will start full against Fermanagh lads?

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 19/05/2009 11:04:00    287555

after watching fermanagh, cavan have a very good chance of making the next round. full forward line should be pearson, jason and seanie. eoin smith (ted) for full back he can handle that big full forward. key battle will be midfield and half forward line

pity to see big dermot gone still had a lot to offer

1989 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 19/05/2009 11:55:16    287612

Id hope none of them Beer Barron, to much food or drink before a game is bad.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 19/05/2009 11:55:57    287614

Here is the team i like to see starting against fermanagh if all are fit ...

J Reilly
M Hannon
D Sheridan
K Fannin
P Brady
R Cullivan
M Cahill
N Walsh
C Galligan
M Lyng
C Mackey
R Flanagan
S Johnstone
S Brady
G Pierson

Good strong team full of running and plenty of scorers in the forwards .. midfield will be a massive battle so cullivan in half back to help out ... obviously they can interchange hannon with sheridan and like wise flanagan with mackey but regardless of the formation hopefully these are the starting 15 .. What do ye think?????????

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 19/05/2009 12:20:18    287650

I would prefer to have a defender helping out the defence that a forward/midfielder. Lyng is out and i doubt if Cahill will be anywhere near fit. Flanagan will be wing back with hopefully Gunner in the centre if he isnt away at the Handball which i heard may be happening.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 19/05/2009 12:37:31    287670

fermanagh showed sunday that they are up for this ulster campaign, they showed real character and skill to overcome what was a fairly strong down side..
this new full forward that fermanagh has looks 2 pose a threat to any opposition in this campaign.. i feel seanie johnston would b the ideal man to stop this man whom i think poses a serious threat 2 our campaign.. johnston is one of the best full forwards in the game and has a great reading of the game in this position so i think if was full back he would read this mans every move...
fermanagh tend to break a lot of ball so i reckon put keith fannin at midfield and hel pick up lots of breaks..
nicholas walsh has the perfect phsique for a goalie and has a great kickout... james reilly has had his day..

any thoughts on these convient switches..???..

riverrock (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 19/05/2009 13:18:01    287711

not a bad side from sideline view at all but what about martin reilly??also our midfield is very poor but i know we havent much options.

cavanscout (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 19/05/2009 13:47:03    287740

Reilly Eoin Smith,Dermot Sheridan, Flannagan M Cahill ,Padraig Reilly, Paul Gunner N Walsh,Absolutely anybody(& Lady Luck) Mackey, Johnston , Cullivan Pierson, Jason , Mad Eddie I suppose if u had full choice yu d have Mc cabe & Mc keever in 1 st two players.In fairness its weak.I don't like Walsh hes been tried & tested but its all the hope we have.Clever trevor wont tog.Full backs sheridan & Smith for size & Flan to mop up.Half back line is strong and each three play there for their club ,know the drill.Midfield lets hope lady luck has a stormer.Pump the ball in & let Seanie Mackey & Cullivan steam forward win frees or clean collect.Pierson will get ya 1.02 Jason a goal & Eddie a few frees and a bit a craic!!!!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 19/05/2009 14:38:42    287808

Denn man you must be joking(i know riverrock is)Flanagan corner back?Podge reilly centre back?Seanie on the 40?mad eddie and jayo on the pitch?no way lad.

cavanscout (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 19/05/2009 15:16:32    287880

J REILLY
K FANNON. M HANNON . D SHERIDAN.
P BRADY. J MC CUTCHOEN. P REILLY.
N WALSH. C GALLIGAN.
M REILLY. R FLANNAGAN. C MACKY.
G PERISON. J REILLY. S JOHNSTON.

I think pauric reilly and john mc cutchoen will work hard in this position feeding forwards and atticking,and also maybe eddie o reilly in instead of jason playing between midfield and full forward ,if you were going with a two man full forward which i think would work better against a team like fermanagh.

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 19/05/2009 18:44:09    288170

sorry RHF meant full back

My team would be

J Reilly
E. Smith
A.n Other
K Fannin
P Brady
R Flanagan
J Mc Cutcheon
N Walsh
C Galligan
M Reilly
C Mackey
R Cullivan
S Johnstone
Mad Eddie (Moving from full forward out round midfield now and again-scare the life of them)
G Pierson

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 19/05/2009 19:24:08    288204

I think Rory Dunne is worth his place at wing half back.
Lorcan Mulvey looked better then Walsh in the League but i haven't been to the 3 challenge games over the past few weeks.
Also our half forward line has to be able to hold the Fermanagh attacking half back line.
Flannagan could push up to wing half forward if we needed a forward who would track back and bring Podge in.
I'd line them out as follows.
J Reilly not much in it between him and Fintan but maybe a little better Kickout
M. Hannon
D. Sheridan
K Fannin
P Brady
R Flanagan
R. Dunne
L. Mulvey
C Galligan
M Reilly
R Cullivan
C Mackey/Givney which ever can track back as well as attack
S Johnstone
Mad Eddie
G Pierson

joeyjojo (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 20/05/2009 08:29:19    288513

J Reilly
M Hannon
D Sheridan
K Fannin
P Brady
R Flanagan
J Mc Cutcheon
L Mulvey
C Galligan
M Reilly
R Cullivan
C Mackey
S Johnstone
D Givney
G Pierson

Lyng is a big miss. Hannon to man mark Carson. Would be bit worried about half forward line been very young and inexperienced. Need a big game from Mid field and full forward line to win this. I would hope to see half back line attack as much as they can and for the midfield to sit and cover for them. Fermanagh are better then what some people are giving them credit for. It will be tough but we may sneak it by the narrowist!

Rocksteady (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 20/05/2009 09:00:18    288526