U21 football championship

Its great to see two local rivals playing to fight it out for the fright to play in a county final. Two completely contrasting styles of football going head to head. Annaghdown are a big strong route one team and Corofin are a typical Corofin side, short passing and speed. Should be an epic encounter. My view on the game is that Corofin will edge it because its impoosible to ever back against Corofin. By the way, its great seeing Tuam knocked out - brilliant

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 26/03/2009 13:59:28    240097

should be a good game in tuam stadium sunday...anyone interested should attend to see a good hard game of football..plenty of good players will be on display..Justin Burke, Michael Lundy, Ciaran Duggan, Cathal Silke, Enda Mullarkey...just to name a few. Maybe the galway u21 management should take a look, considerin only 1 player ( Kavanagh of killanin) was involved with the county team out of the 4 teams contestin both north and west finals...surely somethin wrong with that??

gal.3 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 04/04/2009 01:01:41    248038

Very good point there gal3 about only 1player Steve Kavanagh representin galway U21

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 348 - 05/04/2009 00:36:08    248381

great win for annaghdown yesterday...twas a long time coming...great to see a corofin getn bet in a final!!!!!

rapper (Galway) - Posts: 42 - 06/04/2009 11:26:41    249235

By the way its great to see Corofin getting beat, Brilliant. Fair play to Annaghdown, much like Caltra in that they are a sound bunch of lads unlike Corofin

Jackose (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 06/04/2009 16:35:46    249714

Well done to all in annaghdown great display!

gman7 (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 07/04/2009 21:02:05    251334

well done to annaghdown, good win...people forgettin tho that corofin played well too...hope annaghdown go on to win it now. goal of the year by justin burke???? some finish....

gal.3 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 09/04/2009 12:26:18    253023

west u21 final should be buzzin

galway4life (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 10/04/2009 01:35:44    253938

Both games will be exciting...For the ''B'' : I expect Bearna to beat An Spideal but it might be close enough.VERDICT:Barna by 6 pts.

''A'' Final :cant wait to watch this match,two very good footballing teams with good individual players coming up against each other should make for good viewing...both clubs have been making good strides recently in underage football and their futures' looks bright..I think Kilannin will be too good for MB.Miheal Beathnachs have very good backs but i just dont think they will be able to cope with Kavanagh and Sweeney and i feel they dont have enough firepower in their forwards.VERDICT: Kilannin by 4 pts

gaillimh15 (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 10/04/2009 20:48:01    254479

Hey Jackose, your some man coming on here calling blagging about how annaghdown and caltra lads are sound. Where are you from? Its either Annaghdown or Caltra anyway. And as for saying how great it is to see Corofin be bet in a final well there are a lot of small minded begrudgers out their like yourself who are jealous of Corofins success in the past and the present. They are well used of it. The more people despise Corofin, the sweeter it is to win something. If you want to be a good footballer........watch Corofin, if you want to be a jack all your life well continue the way your going.

Corofin Abu
Corofin for Frank Fox................(again)

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 11/04/2009 21:06:10    254994

excellent point joe joe...people seem to think its great when corofin get bet and tend to rub it in their faces yet corofin always take defeat graciously and when they win never rub in into the other team...i have to admit joe joes comment is one of the best i've read in a long time..well done sir

and i agree......corofin for frank fox 2009

gal.3 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 12/04/2009 00:08:36    255091

I thought this topic was about the UNDER 21 CHAMPIONSHIP;
Anyway, it is ANNAGHADOWN V MICHEALL BREATHNACH, in County final;
Annaghadown hot favourites; Nobody expected MB to be there; A total shock, Moycullen and Kilannin were supposed to be in the Final; MB beat both of them;
The Final Should be a bit closer, than people think. Must say it was a great game between Killannin and MB; Credit to both teams:

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 13/04/2009 18:42:06    255903

Its a disgrace that players from the two county u21 finalists this were overlooked for the county team. It goes to show that players who are good in minor are recalled to the u21 panel 3 years later based on reputation and not form. Annaghdown reached a county final as well when this team was minor and were overlooked by the county management at that stage too. Its a disgrace. Players like Coleman, Burke, Fallon, Farragher and Duinigan would of added some much needed steel to our county panel.

Its time players at underage in Galway are picked on merit and not by past achievements

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 13/04/2009 19:55:36    255939

Joe Joe, if i want to see good football being played well then Corofin is not one team i would watch, putrid stuff altogether with 13 backs playing!! Cant remember any good gameye played, Any game I saw was muck!! I only made those comments to see your reaction after you made the same comments about Tuam being knocked out of the U21's. P.S does it matter where i am from?can i not appreciate other players and teams?

Jackose (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 14/04/2009 08:41:40    256213

I am sorry, I keep mixing up Moucullen with Oughterard..My apoligies, great respect for both teams:

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 14/04/2009 09:26:23    256227

Jackose, your comments about Corofin are about begruding success and that alone. My comments about Tuam are the feelings of every single North Galway person that dont live in Tuam. I'll say it again........Great to see Tuam not win the north u21!!!!!!!!!

Corofin abu!!

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 14/04/2009 16:02:12    256660

When is the replay between Caltra and Kilkerin can anybody tell me???

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 348 - 14/04/2009 16:34:16    256722

Corofin have been great ambassadors for Galway Football! They seldom have had a bad year, as far back as I can remember; If some other clubs had won as much as them, we would never hear the end of it; Great to see an upcoming team in Annaghadown as well, and really looking forward to a great battle between themselves and MB.... West V North , is always interesting!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 14/04/2009 23:09:28    257215

Joe Joe thank you for proving my point about Corofin! Im from North Galway and ive nothing against Tuam winning,
Sammy Im not questioning what Corofin have won, fair play to them for what they have achieved, they prob should have won a lot more when you consider the size of the parish and the amount they can pick from, I just think their style of play is brutal, it wins games but awful to watch. again it was great to see Corofin getting beat, best of luck annaghdown.

Jackose (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 15/04/2009 08:39:06    257417