U21 football championship

I think Killannin (i know how to spell it now) will beat Oughterard in the west final as they did in both minor finals last year.

Oughterard have some classy players all right with the Galway trio Martin Coady,JJ Greaney and O'Reily.But i dont think they will cope with Kavanagh and Sweeney.Oughterard know all about Sweeney read in the paper that he scored 2-12 against them in the Minor west championship final.....think Tuam will win the North board out in this side of Galway....

Joycey14 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 24/02/2009 22:25:35    217372

Lads whats all this talk about Oughterard playing Kilaninn in the championship final???
THEY ARE IN NO FINAL!!!!Theyre in a semi final!!!!

They still have to play a mighty Breathnachs team.The result can go either way.They've had very good minor teams in the past few years and have good strong backs to cope with Oughterard.Wouldnt bet on Oughterard beating them at all.

gaillimh15 (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 24/02/2009 22:40:40    217394

Gaillimh 15, dont be wasting your time explaining these things to people who know nothing about football! Great game between Micheals and Breathnaigh last Sunday, a superb day for football, and fair play to both teams, they served up a dish, in a four goal thriller, with beautifully taken points in a high scoring game;
I heard Oughterard and Kilannin have great players as well, so we should be in store for some great under 21 football here;
And I agree with you, Gaillimh 15, none of the teams that remain can be dismissed;

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/02/2009 23:29:57    217439

Tuam to hammer headford sombody said?? Headford should have won.
Tuam favorites???? Hardly

damoh (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 25/02/2009 11:21:12    217660

I think if Caherlistrane get past Corofin they could cause Tuam all sorts of problems!They have one of the best underage forwards in the county in Eric Monaghan and have very tight backs in Bohan and Monaghan!I think the Headford match showed that Tuam arent as unbeatable as people think and they have a few chinks in their armour that the quellys could expose!They have a tough match against Corofin to come first though!Should be a good match!

Hit_the_Gap (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 25/02/2009 15:03:26    217957

listen damoh tuam are favourites 2 win it much as it pains me 2 say it,all these headford lads leavin comments about how great a team and club ye are bt are ye in senior no yere a junior club and thats all ye will ever be

crazychris (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 25/02/2009 15:07:17    217966

so do mb think they would beat oughterard if the game was to be played some where else other than at home...strictly team focused no other influnces ie location weather ect ect...from what ive seen of o-ard and mb i think it will be a tight game but belive that oughterard will have that bit extra to allow them to win at the end of the game no matter where it is..

madramor (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 25/02/2009 19:52:22    218364

the way headford played against tuam was a disgrace they had 2 men in front of full back line trying to play as negative as possible, in fareness they made it hard for tuam but had very few oppurtunities them selves. Tuam i feel will excell when they play a footballing side as that is exactly what tuam are. Caherlistrane are a good outfit and should overcome corofin. Annaghdown i feel will over come monivea, which could mean tuam annaghdown final, which would relive the great rivelry of 3 years ago in minor.

bomber14 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 26/02/2009 13:42:12    218975

Headford did play very negative against Tuam but Tuam also dropped one of their forwards back so both teams had the same idea in trying to crowd out the opposing forwards!and as for oppurtunities Headford missed three one-on-one goal chances and three 14 yard frees which is unacceptable at this level but it shows they had just as many chances as Tuam did if not more!As for the final i think it will be a Caherlistrane vs Annaghdown final and Caherlistrane to win!

Eduardo9 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 26/02/2009 15:18:51    219119

bomber14 thats absolute rubbish. they did not have two men in front of the full back line.they had one and so what.plenty of teams use that tactic. as for headford not having any chances.what about the three point blank goal chances they had in the second half? you must have been watching something else at the time. the simple fact is that tuam are lucky to have beaten headford and they will not win the championship going by that performance.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 26/02/2009 15:20:57    219123

I heard Corofin bet Caherlistrane today!anyone know the score or how the match was?

Eduardo9 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 28/02/2009 22:44:08    221158

i thought corofin would get beat in that game, a solid team alright, thought the quellys would have 2 much though. wat was the score

no3 (Galway) - Posts: 66 - 01/03/2009 14:30:26    221299

corofin 2-13 caherlistrane 1-10 was the score on saturday. was at the game and some good talent on display, michael lundy, mike faragher, cathal silke, eric monaghan, oisin o brien. however only for justin burke corofin wouldnt have won, he gave some unreal passes and really stood up when he was needed for his club, scored at least 4 from play and made the 2 goals for corofin, an excellent display from the young man. great game of football and glad to see that the future for galway football is lookin good....

gal.3 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 04/03/2009 01:47:30    223577

it will be a good game this week between tuam and corofin. where is it on? tuam stadium? predictions? i have a feeling it will be close

galwayallstar (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 04/03/2009 09:47:00    223629

corofin and tuam is in menlogh this sunday, time to be decided

gal.3 (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 04/03/2009 13:08:09    223785

Damoh and crazy chris,grow up
what are ye talking about playing negative against tuam.Do you honestly think their attitude was lets play lovely kerry style football and if we get hammered so what?No it wasnt.Completely realistic in their approach.Acknowledged that tuam were a better team and realised the only way they could beat them was by blotting them out.And it nearly worked for them aswell,3-3 at HT and 6-6 when they missed a very important free.In fairness,Tuam upped it a gear then and peeled away but it would have been a very different story had they taken the lead.

And who were the "2" playin in front of the HB line,I didnt see that?

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 04/03/2009 18:25:27    224102

tuam back to full strength on sunday.. along woth gary o donnell.. anyone silly enough to go against tuam?

footballskin (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 05/03/2009 14:25:59    224730

tuam back to full strength on sunday along with gary o donnell.. anyone silly enough to go against tuam

footballskin (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 05/03/2009 14:27:26    224734

Tuam Corofin is a 15 a side game sure anything can happen! what would be the main match ups around the pitch?

galwayallstar (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 06/03/2009 10:57:39    225509

I was at the caherlistrane corofin game also. caherlistrane fairly fell apart in the end, corofin's best player was lundy who scored around 1-4 from play, he was a real handful in the 2nd half, the standard wasn't great with two very young teams particulary caherlistranes. As for burke he only came into it in the last 15mins when he moved to midfield and wasn't picked up, up to that he was marked out of it by bohan and didn't do much, at most he scored 2 pts.. tuam and corofin looks a real mouthwatering game with the winner likely to go on to win the NB final..

mike2 (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 06/03/2009 15:13:53    225831