Cavan V Queens

dont think coleman gets playin with dcu - plus he is not good enough for cavan. dont think i have ever seen him play a championship game at any level for cavan in nets so how is he on the panel? Delaney from Killinkere and O'Meara have done the job so how come neither of them got a chance.

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 06/01/2009 13:47:30    173920

Yes he is the second keeper with DCU. He did not get to be on the DCU panel for been rubbish. He played county minor championship for Cavan when he was about 16. Grt al round goal keeper. Grt kickout, shot stopper, brill under high ball and is one of the most accurate kickers out of his hands. Think he deserves to be the number 2.

jimjim (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 06/01/2009 15:06:48    174009

sorry jimjim have to disagree with you on that one. for the last two years O'Meara was the minor keeper and the year before James McEvoy done the honours. so when did Coleman play championship.

Anyway it doesnt really matter who is number two, James will be the number one.

Its our backline that really has me worried

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 06/01/2009 16:24:38    174112

Maybe so but Coleman was def number 1 until injury held him back then, the sub keeper finished the rest of the year - full back line has always been a problem, we have any amount of half backs on the panel but we have really no ful back line.

jimjim (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 06/01/2009 17:30:47    174200

Yes but Coleman was underage for minor the next year and he didnt even make the panel jim jim. That is whay I find it hard to understand his inclusion.

Yep our full back problems scare me..Is chesty gonna end up back at full back, or what about Rory Dunne. He did ok last year but is still about inexperienced for the number 3 jersey. Give him time though and he will mature. Podge is a good reader of the game but is slow. Still have my suspiscions over Brides.

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 06/01/2009 18:45:37    174275

I`d have no believe in any footballer who wears them black leggings to cover there legs. Gaelic football is a mans game, and if some players believe it`s to cold to play without these leggings maybe they should leave it to the men.

Dimitri (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 06/01/2009 19:14:20    174302

i agree with jim jim he did play that year but i think for his last year minor he turned it down

bob1 (Cavan) - Posts: 102 - 06/01/2009 21:51:17    174422

dimitri who was wearin the tights....
Maybe Coleman did turn it down, i am not sure. I just know his presence wasn't missed. Will he be the U21 keeper then? I half saw a report in the post from the game at the weekend and he didn't start. Does he play in goals with the club does anyone know?

One more question lads..how did Gumley get on?

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 06/01/2009 23:14:28    174523

Injury has kept coleman out the last few years. He was good enough to be in the u21 squad when 16 but injured at crucial time. He will be DCU no 1 this year according to rumour and now isn't good enough to be ahead of Simon Delaney. If you went to Healy Park last year it might be true. Delaneys tactical kickout of the ball to Tyrone players was an interesting feature of the game as well as the goal he surrenderd. But he played at that level already therefore better. NO. Lets play the best player in their best position regardless. Experience blab blah blah. Not many players have experience winning in Cavan so why bother? Because a lot have, Sean johnstone and Ronan flannagan DCU, Sean Brady UCD, all the Virginaia players, Mountnugent players with Meath so lets embrace this attitude on the terrace instead of this old whiny attitude two bad teams, or should have stayed at home etc.... Stay at home then and let real fans and optimisits (Ha Ha ) look at the positives instead and maybe just maybe.

mrdeeds (Cavan) - Posts: 30 - 07/01/2009 14:33:31    174977

Alrite deeds ye I admit Delaney isnt a great keeper and definetely wouldnt be my choice but you have to understand the point i was making. Both he and O'Meara have done the nets in the last few years yet neither of them were given a chance this year, just thought it was strange. But as I have said this is not an important argument as James will be in nets anyway. That man is class.

Really looking forward to when Tommy gets the college players back.

Cullivan, Lyng, Keating, Johnston. Despite what some believe i think we have some very good forwards..Our problems at the other end are just scary

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 07/01/2009 15:01:04    175019

no i dont believe coleman plays in goals for castlerahan because he was playing outfield for them last year anyway.

bob1 (Cavan) - Posts: 102 - 07/01/2009 19:44:07    175294

Coleman didn't exactly cover himself in glory when he came on for the under-21s in bawnboy against roscommon.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 07/01/2009 20:21:37    175312

what did he do in the under 21 match?

westcavan (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 07/01/2009 22:23:14    175409

if coleman doesnt play in goals for his club, is the sub keeper for DCU and never played minor or u21 for Cavan in goals,,then he must not get a lot of practice in the goals! This strange if you ask me

In my opinion he is better than Elliott though.

any word on the team for the weekend?

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 08/01/2009 01:02:51    175500

stop going on about coleman. what did he do to deserve this abuse? what is the point in trying to make your way in senior county football if all you are going to get out of it is abuse.

McNulty (Cavan) - Posts: 47 - 08/01/2009 13:11:22    175746

My team would be

1. J Reilly 2. M Hannon 3. R Dunne 4. P Brady

5. J McCutcheon or E Reilly 6. M Mckeever 7. R Flanagan

8. C Calligan 9. McCabe if fit or Walsh/keating

10. Martin Reilly 11. M lyng 12. Anton Reilly

13. Johnston 14. Cullivan 15. G Pierson

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 08/01/2009 22:22:15    176172

Coleman does play outfield for castlerahan but fergal byron plays midfield for his club and brendan murphy so that arguement is hardly relevant. He has being unlucky with injury and hopefully he can show what he can do.

mrdeeds (Cavan) - Posts: 30 - 12/01/2009 23:20:12    178859