Cavan Panel

Heard the panel was named today, eamonn reilly, connor smith ,eugene keating ,ciaran galligan, john tierney ,anton reilly gary ferncombe,enda mccormick ,david givney are all on it. Larry Reilly isnt on it or Anthony Forde.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2890 - 15/12/2008 22:02:13    164889

Lads would be great the find out about the panel for the coming McKenna Cup.

Hope we keep a couple of experienced lads but start mixing them with youth and getting a hard working team

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 16/12/2008 00:20:47    165024

Heard paddy gumley and ronan o reilly made the panel, anyone else

patbonner (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 16/12/2008 09:47:43    165083

hopefully some of the debutants can make their mark and add to the team. midfield still looks a bit dodgy

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1734 - 16/12/2008 11:21:23    165186

Givney and Tierney will be a huge help to Cavan football - if they can stay injury free.

aheadofthecurve (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 16/12/2008 13:43:59    165316

just wondering does anyone know how many of these players played in the regionals and played well??????

topper (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 16/12/2008 14:58:53    165382

eddie and jayo back....great!

delighted to see the new faces in like givney and ronan reilly. they have earned the right of a chance.

very surprised to see coleman in there as a goalie, he wouldn even make the u21 team in my opinion..any explanations on that one?

be interesting to see how midfield and fullback line develops.

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 17/12/2008 01:09:45    165896

thats an average cavan team i can name 15 more players in cavan that would beat the cavan starting 15 team!!!!!!
The Drumlane keeper
killian Reilly
Barry Cusack
John odowd
Daniel Luby
Antony Gayner
Damian Higgins
McDerrmot from ballinagh
Declain McKeirnan
Conner smith
Neil Madden
Kevin Downs
Ado cole
Neligan from the Gaels
Finbar Reilly
These are only players that i have seen over the past 2 years and would probally beat that cavan team, nearly all over 6 foot and strong, not to mention all good footballers

topper (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 17/12/2008 17:33:16    166507

Have to agree with topper cant understand why some of those players are not in the squad, that is a poor cavan squad selected.

newstime (Cavan) - Posts: 7 - 17/12/2008 18:55:54    166583

What a load of Rubbish,Someones from Killeshandra and just trying to big up their mates. The Drumlane keeper -Not good enough killian Reilly-Not up to it Barry Cusack-Good club full back but-- John odowd- wouldnt have minded seeing him given a run in the McKenna Cup. Daniel Luby-Nope Antony Gayner- cannot be trusted. Damian Higgins-Nope McDerrmot from ballinagh-Going to Austrailia next year,and already turned down numerous offers to join the county panel. Declain McKeirnan-Not good enough. Conner smith-do you mean Conor Smith of Cuchullains???? hes on the panel. Neil Madden-Niall Madden of Gowna??? il give you that one he should be there. Kevin Downs--No Ado cole-Too young,give him a year to bulk up and he will be there. Neligan from the Gaels-Cormac Nelligan??? He was on and off the fringes of the county panel a few years ago,Not what we should be looking at. Finbar Reilly-decent free taker but doesnt offer much from play.

DHaise (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 17/12/2008 20:47:06    166663

There has to b some influence with this panel from the county board, mc cabe and jason reilly haven't the legs for county football anymore time to move on nicholas walsh and lorcan mulvay not good enough either. Cavan will extremely lucky to register a win in this years championship we have to be one of the weakest counties in Ireland im afraid.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 17/12/2008 21:34:37    166712

no not from killeshandra just seen them in a few champ games they looked good, and i never said any of these players should be on the county, just said they would beat a cavan starting 15!!! maybe u'd like to stick in a few hasie lads

topper (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 17/12/2008 23:08:51    166808

Re: Topper Clearly you weren't at too many of Killeshandra's championship games this year, because Higgins and McKiernan were only came on as substitutes against Cootehill the whole summer. Out from Conor Smith (who is on the county panel) and Finbar Reilly (who is a safe bet to be back on at some stage) this team reeks of average players, who would NOT beat 15 of the county's best players unless 10 of them were all on an off day! The Drumlane keeper - is Darren Murphy and was caught out badly twice against Redhills in the IFC semi killian Reilly - fast, but has no head on him Barry Cusack - good for club, but can't see him cutting it at county John odowd - same and don't think he has interest in county football anyway Daniel Luby - too slow imo, and doesn't know whether he's a back or forward Antony Gayner - unreliable and can't really solo the ball when you watch him Damian Higgins - very small and was away all summer anyway McDerrmot from ballinagh - Australia Declain McKeirnan - I'd have Tomás O'Reily before him Conner smith - from Cuchullains is already on the panel Neil Madden - Niall is a strong lad, but is another victim of his versatility Kevin Downs - London Ado cole - I'll be honest, I don't know much about him, but if he's really known as 'Ado' that's enough Neligan from the Gaels - good left foot but past his sell by date when it comes to county Finbar Reilly - It's another mystery why he's not back in again. Injury and aging I suppose

aheadofthecurve (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 18/12/2008 09:56:29    166919

what strikes me about the panel is our complete lack of strength in depth at midfield. we will never win anything with so few capable midfielders.

BTW what happenned to young McDonald from drumgoon

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 18/12/2008 13:02:38    167166

mcdonald doesn want to play. sure didn he walk out on the team after Armagh beat us.

glad Carr brought in some new faces but Jayo and Eddie still in is a joke in my opinion. Again I say the inclusion of Coleman baffles me.

The McKenna Cup has to be used as an experiment though. Do we care if we dont win the McKenna Cup. We padly need to find players

McKenna Cup Team
James Reilly
Podge Rory Dunne Hannon
Ferncome Chesty Watters
Galligan Tierney - I would try walsh but it wil be interesting to see if Galligan has it in him
Keating (can help midfield but not puttin too much pressure on him) Lyng Ronan Reilly
Pearson Gumley Conor Smith

Planty of subs should be used too.

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 18/12/2008 14:59:52    167307

Looking forward to McDonald coming to Terry Coyle in Round 3 of the Divison 2 League. If he gets it tough against our one of our minors like he did last year then midfield against Sean Reilly and Gavin Duffy should be interesting. Really can't wait cause we're all looking forward to it.

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 18/12/2008 15:15:10    167329

"Looking forward to McDonald coming to Terry Coyle in Round 3 of the Divison 2 League. If he gets it tough against our one of our minors like he did last year then midfield against Sean Reilly and Gavin Duffy should be interesting. Really can't wait cause we're all looking forward to it."

Yeah well, as long as they have no 14-year-olds to protest against yous should be alright.

aheadofthecurve (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 18/12/2008 15:24:52    167346

Jaysus begby, there's no need for comments like that. Can't believe you would bring up something like that especailly unprovoked... Let sleeping dogs lie

CeltMan (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 18/12/2008 15:40:49    167370

Dogs may sleep but they have to wake at some stage, probably around March sometime. It's a long road

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 18/12/2008 15:48:48    167390

keating didnt make the panel and ur starting him???? i know hes a gud footballer ... is he on da panel???

mickybingo (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 18/12/2008 17:30:21    167529