Any predictions on cavan minor team 09???

what fella keeps writing bout james mcdermott, quit insisting hes good for a county spot!!!!

the.dosser (Carlow) - Posts: 22 - 06/01/2009 20:14:28    174338

just wondering did many fo the 2008 cavan minor panel do the leaving cert and go on to play third level colleges football with any of the universities or Institutes of Tecnology??

and if so where are they now?

furthermore, the teams being picked now will all be wrong, from my own experience of playing county minor football players come out of the shadows and into form around late april early may and that has a much bigger bearing on the minor team. I rememebr doing a trial for the county minors in December, not putting a foot wrong but not getting recalled, going away and playing for my school and club, getting asked back in 6 weeks before the championship after my school had won an provincial title, played really well at training, and i ended up making the championship team. if you had asked me to pick the county team in janurary of that year i wouldn't have put myself on it, but once i got training i realised i was better than half the guys on the panels, only thing was i came from a small junior club (at that time). but once i was surrounded by better players i began to improve and surpass them, in a matter of weeks. there'll be one or two guys like that on this years minor panel, theres always a few lads like that.

but yeah, if anyone can provide info on the 2008 panel i'd appreciate it

FelixGuattari (Dublin) - Posts: 6 - 16/01/2009 12:06:19    182194

In response to FelixGuttari
The following are the lads that i know are playing colleges football from last years panel

Niall Murray-UCD freshers
Robert Maloney-UCD Sigerson
Niall Smith-DCU ''(Scholarship)
Oisin Minagh-DCU ''(Scholarship)
Niall Mc Dermott-DCU ''(Scholarship
Daragh Tighe-DCU ''
Mark Leddy-Sligo IT
Alan O Mara-DIT
Kevin Tierney-NUI Maynooth(Scholarship)(2009 minor)
Micheal Brady-St Pats Drumcondra(2009 minor)
Raymond Lynch-DCU(2009 minor)
Packie Leddy-NUIG(2009 minor)..cant remember if hes playin with the freshers in galwy or not.

there the lads i know for definate anyway.hope this helps

TheDon1990 (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 16/01/2009 15:15:23    182389

Damian Barkey and Georid Mckiernan are both playing with DIT freshers aswell.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2874 - 16/01/2009 16:11:35    182470

Alan o meara- dit Damian barkey-dit Mark leddy- sligo it daragh tighe-dcu colm smith-?? fergal flanagan-repeating kevin meehan- not doing football in sligo it oisin moinigh-dcu gearoid mckiernan-dit niall smith-dcu barry rielly-leaving cert niall murray-ucd Robert Maloney-UCD Niall Mc Dermott-DCU Kevin Tierney-NUI Maynooth Micheal Brady-St Pats Drumcondra Raymond Lynch-DCU killian brady-leaving cert Packie Leddy-NUIG duno if he is playing michael coyle- in some colege in fermanagh(not playin football) ciaran smith-leaving cert mark kelly- dit duno if e is playing damian kellegher-not playing football in dit conor mclarey- 2nd year in nci playing intermidiate sean cooney-2nd year in dit(not playing football) thomas rodgers- leaving cert aodhain kiernan-not doing football in sligo it tommy brady-not doing football in sligo it thomas moore- not doing football in sligo it think thats all...

gaelsminor08 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 16/01/2009 17:08:21    182517

couple of ammendments there boss colm smith- repeatinh damian kellegher-not in dit now in nci sean cooney-not in college isnt it amazing how many cavan players get scholarships at college level considering we never win anything

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 17/01/2009 01:25:30    182866

any1 no wen nxt minor trail game is on!! Just curious want 2 go av a look at the talent!!

putHERup (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 18/01/2009 02:23:00    183270

as far as i know, theres 1 on next saturday. not sure of venue or time though!

d.heimlek (Cavan) - Posts: 20 - 19/01/2009 20:00:05    184231

hows d trials goin...????? any word on who made d panel so far...

mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 28/01/2009 19:29:19    192520

saw you there mclovinn...think you should no

drumgooned (Cavan) - Posts: 251 - 28/01/2009 21:09:00    192586

wel since both of yous were there maybe one of yous could actually answer the question.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 28/01/2009 23:11:36    192731

In response to the message all the lads fromlast years panel
raymond lynch
micheal brady
killia brady
thomas rodgers
barry reilly
kevin tierney
pakie leddy were all sent texts tellin them that the managemnet were happy with there performances so they're all going to be calld back for th final panel

and in addition from what i know both fergal flannagan(butlersbridge) and enda reilly(mullahoran)both were sent those texts so they wont be at any more of the trial games and are on the panel..thats as far as i know anyway.

TheDon1990 (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 29/01/2009 15:52:55    193326

now......there is proof that i am not writing all this rubbish...and whoever has my password is an idiot

mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 29/01/2009 16:16:13    193352

no dougal i wasn't there but i heard a few gaurentees who will make the cut...the keepers are sean briody and sean gilsen (balibrough... defo on it are gunner mickyd brady barry reilly packi leddy kevin teirney ect....

drumgooned (Cavan) - Posts: 251 - 29/01/2009 16:24:48    193359

now mclovin, theres no need to be callin people idiots, thats CROSSING THE LINE

peanut1 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 29/01/2009 16:54:00    193414

you'll just have to set up a new account mclovinxx.il tell ya,if i had someones password,id be having alot more craic than whoever has mclovins.any fixtures made for the club league yet?good one penut,think its time to let that one go though.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 29/01/2009 17:21:38    193467

LET IT GO, ha, just like the 1 mclovin let go in breffni

peanut1 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 30/01/2009 09:26:17    193892

eh no peanut..the first one was good il giv ya dat but ur scraping the bottom of the barrel now

mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 30/01/2009 14:16:36    194223

so is your face mclovin

peanut1 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 30/01/2009 15:07:24    194302

any 1 knw wt de minor panel is

lakesider (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 08/02/2009 15:34:10    201169