best young players this year

who were the young players for the future who played well in the junior, intermidate and senior this year

newstime (Cavan) - Posts: 7 - 23/10/2008 15:06:04    125109

minagh & leddy for redhills...quality

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1739 - 23/10/2008 15:39:38    125176

lads are there any good young keepers about. i was thinking about next years minor team and I couldn think of one player good enough to play in nets..any suggestions?

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 23/10/2008 15:58:04    125195

Wishful thinking, yes, there is a lack of a keeper for next years minor team, but young tracey from ramor, briody from mulahoran and gilsenan from bboro are the main contenders in my opinion.
Could somebody place suggestions about the next minor team, are they any good?
I know there are three or four very strong plaers from the u16 dev squad that should get on it, and obviously reilly and tierney from this years team. Any ideas?

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 23/10/2008 20:32:10    125501

ye there are 3 obvious selections in leddy,kevin tierney and barry reilly. maybe someone could post a list of players that could be selected and the clubs they play for

bob1 (Cavan) - Posts: 102 - 23/10/2008 21:02:43    125522

galoping gazele, with all due respect to those you mentioned, none are really good enough to play at intercounty level. Cavan have been well blessed over the the last few years with James Reillynat senior level and O'Mara with the minors.

The management team are going to have a tough task in finding a suitable number one. At the minute it looks like an outfield player will have to be converted which is a sad thing.
however they are well blessed in other departments. Packie Leddy looks a serious player, and there are four or five very talented others to go around. But on paper the team as a whole doesn lool too strong. Can Mickey work his magic?

onthesquare (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 24/10/2008 00:14:32    125604

The minor player of the year is without doubt Niall Murray. Class act with both the Cavan Gaels Minor and Senior Teams aswell as the County Minors. Hope he doesn't join the Cavan Senior Panel for another Year or two yet. It be better he Matures into a stronger footballer first with his club.

Sergeant (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 24/10/2008 15:24:15    126011

Geariod McKernan from swadlinbar!! class act! one of the county minors best players this year at mid field!!

Jimmy08 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 45 - 24/10/2008 18:44:24    126204

Talking about the county minors next year i don't think they will have any under 16s from this year. I was at the roinn A final today in Virginia where Bailiborough beat the Gaels. Can't see any of them starting for the minors next year. I don't think the main players of the two teams Fulton, Kearns and Sexton wouldn't get a starting place but possibly get a place on the bench and Young wouldn't be up to it in the goals, his kick-outs are pretty weak against the wind. The likes of Leddy, Barry Reilly and Kevin Tierney is very good, the best the county minors have produced in years but the rest of the 12 positions to be filled out i wouldn't have my hopes on.

BlueRevolution (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 27/10/2008 21:57:01    127553

Blue Revolution, there are a few very descent u16s scattered around the clubs, and yes i agree that none from bboro or cavan gaels will make the minor panel, bar maybe sexton, they both have very rounded teams, with nice footballers.
There are 2 from ramor, 2 from redbridge and 1 from crosserlough that are u16 and will/should be on the minor panel.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 14/11/2008 20:43:31    141891

i dont know if he is still playn but stephen colwell from ballyhaise was a keeper with a kickout resembling the distance of james reillys....i once playd against him when he was in nets and the kickout was amazing!!,,a good keeper aswell...tommy rodgers from kingscourt and aidan moran from ballyhaise are contenders for a starting spot on that team...and david doherty and james morris will/should not feature....bosco reilly is also there or there abouts.....a very big strong centre on that minor panel of gunner brady,packie leddy,kevin tierney,barry reilly and michael brady.

pieball (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 24/11/2008 23:17:33    148973

john mccabe reached an ulster final.surly gets a shout

drumgooned (Cavan) - Posts: 251 - 25/11/2008 09:45:56    149100

Any Promisin under 16s from the finalists?? Cavan Gaels,B'Boro,Redbridge,Lavey,Denn,Belturbet????

PaddyBradley14 (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 25/11/2008 10:08:32    149143

thomas o keefe if he was still on the minour panel. r mayb bomber from u16.agree

Flee08 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 04/12/2008 10:48:36    156628

definatly cian byrne from drumalee still u16 next year carried the drumalee team through sme matches to keep them in contention till the end 1 to look out 4 if he stick at gaeilic nd not soccer

Flee08 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 04/12/2008 10:50:45    156633

has 2b packie leddy..one for the future..

mikomi (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 04/12/2008 23:37:27    157438

Cian burns also playes for the ireland soccer team,think thats his main preference great at both sports though

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 08/12/2008 19:51:38    159628

has to be p.leddy,
fair enuf niall murray played well wit d gaels seniors but leddy at times carried redhills up the field and got scores which he created himself out of nothing
murray did play well wit d county but leddy was "thrown into the deep end" and nearly won the match for them

Niall mc dermot should be up der but his problem was managers kept playing him in full forward when he prefers to be roaming about d middle driving at teams

thinkr (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 10/12/2008 14:32:07    161098

Without doubt the best minor this year was Niall Murray.Fantastic minor league and championship finals .Intelligent ,fair,unreal fitness, constant movement and selfless running.Also when he is awarded free he justs continues the move at speed.A lesson for other minor footballers without retalitating or having attitude with other players or ref.Damien Barkey also deserves a mention for his defending especially against more experienced players.(u21 and senior).G.mcKiernan from swad is a good player but only seen him with county so cant comment further than that on him.

mckelvey (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 13/12/2008 17:38:23    163703

arvas cian sheridan a serious talent

daman1 (Longford) - Posts: 14 - 14/12/2008 19:19:35    164037