Soldja Boy (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 31/10/2008 12:53:37    130831

phil "the power" taylor is my number 1.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/10/2008 12:57:45    130836

daytona11

130836 phil "the power" taylor is my number 1

................................,-~*`¯lllllll`*~,............................................. .....
...........................,-~*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll¯`*-,..........................................
......................,-~*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll*-,......................................
..................,-*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll.\... ..................................
................;*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll,-~*~-,llllllllllllllllllll\....................................
................\lllllllllllllllllllllllllll/...........\;;;;llllllllllll,-`~-,................................
.................\lllllllllllllllllllll,-*.............`~-~-,...(.(¯`*,`,...............................
...................\llllllllllll,-~*........................)_-\..*`*;..)..............................
.....................\,-*`¯,*`)............,-~*`~................../...............................
.....................|/.../.../~,......-~*,-~*`;.................../.\..............................
.................../.../..../..../..,-,..*~,.`*~*..................*...\.......................... ...
...................|.../.../..../.*`...\................................)....)¯`~,........... .........
...................|./..../..../........).........)`*~-,............../.....|..)...`~-,..............
.................././.../....,*`-,.....`-,....*`....,---......\...../...../..|..........¯```*~-,,,,
.................(............)`*~-,.....`*`.,-~*.,-*.......|.../..../..../...............\..........
..................*-,.......`*-,...`~,..``.,,,-*.............|.,*...,*....|.................\.........
......................*,.........`-,....)-,..................,-*`...,-*.....(`-,..............\........
........................f`-,........`-,/...*-,___,,-~*.....,-*......|....`-,...............\.......

This is quite possibly the most ridiculous post I have ever seen on this forum.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 31/10/2008 15:35:38    131036

The only thing powerful about Phil Taylor is the reinforcement bars under his chair! Sportsman? Why? Cos he can throw a few spears at a board and put on weight doing it!!!! Now Peter Manley on the other hand.....now thats a sportsman!!!! de deda de de de de deda de de de deda de......DE DE DE DE ...........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 31/10/2008 15:45:15    131055

daytona11 - Jez, not even you can make a comeback from that one!

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 31/10/2008 15:53:31    131073

Liam, you have one too many "De"s at the end!

I was out at Citywest for it recently, talk about craic! Not since I got kicked out of the Hill 16 pub after a Kerry Dublin match have I had such a messy night.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 31/10/2008 15:54:03    131074

Loyal2TheRoyal, the above post in response to Daytona is your best post ever. A work of art if I may say so. You have brought posting to another level.

Favour returned.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 31/10/2008 16:02:45    131088

whats worng with phil? he's that talented he could have made if at any other sport. a bit like colm cooper, sean kavanagh and dj carey.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/10/2008 16:19:34    131114

Thats class loyal, I can see it being used to death now though. I'm certainly gonna use it alot!!! Might put in the Benny Coulter thread for your contribution.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 31/10/2008 16:24:45    131121

in fairness it took the slow coach long enough to come up with that reply. good all the same!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/10/2008 16:31:03    131131

I personally wouldn't have Phil Taylor anywhere near my top 5, but Darts is just as much a sport as snooker, golf, archery or any of those olympic shooting events

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 31/10/2008 16:36:14    131139

Not talking out national sports into account

1. Tiger Woods
2. Michael Schumacher
3. Pele
4. Wayne Gretzky
5. Michael Jordan

All have won at the higest level and on their retirement (obviously Tiger has not retired) held the majority of all winning records in their respective sports.

DON (Dublin) - Posts: 120 - 31/10/2008 16:40:52    131143

Pele
Michael Shumarker
Bojrn Borg
Muhamad Ali
Tiger Woods
These sportsmen have been tops in their sports consistently, for years. A lot of the previous names have been one hit wonders. The nearest Irish WORLD SPORTS STAR is Sonya O Sullivan. BTW how many World Cup medals has Ronaldo (MU) won? A long long way behind Pele. The boxing game will never see anyone like Ali ever, ever again.

CHESELDORMAY (Longford) - Posts: 31 - 31/10/2008 19:46:56    131261

Peter Canavan
Muhammad Ali
Tiger Woods
Bolt
Phelps

All great in their selected sports!!

updacelts (Tyrone) - Posts: 61 - 31/10/2008 21:59:17    131294

Loyal, That is a class post. Cant keep a good man down !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 31/10/2008 22:15:34    131299

patrique

122176 That American swimmer Phelps is a better hurler than Canning.

Yeah good man, and u r from dat hurling strong hold antrim rite? U r saying joe canning is not a good hurler yet he managed to score 2-6 against ye this year in da championship. When ye win even 1 all star between ye n antrim then u can try and slag joe. I realise antrim is one of the main powers in hurling at the moment, a team that has conceded 4-28, 3-29, 3-23, 2-31 and 6-21 in sucessive years against galway

Cloonan14 (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 01/11/2008 00:40:02    131333

paddywexman
County: Wexford

Fair play to you Galway man.... but the others have all won at the highest level. Canning will not even win a Leinster medal!!

Fair play to u wexford man he has more chance of winning a leinster medal than any of the wexford team. U talk about performing at the highest level, 2-15 against cork n his first year playing n da senior championship, wud that be high enuf of a level for u. No wexford player wud be capable of scoring even half dat against cork.

Cloonan14 (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 01/11/2008 00:45:09    131336

wayne rooney- most honest footballer in the world
micheal phelps- 8 GOLD MEDALS in one olympics enough said
usain bolt- what a man
alex ferguson - hunger hunger and more hunger
rossi(motorcycling) - lost it for a year but came back even stronger- sign of a great sportsperson

mayo5051 (Mayo) - Posts: 106 - 01/11/2008 00:52:27    131341

nobody has mentioned Padraig Harrington.
pulled if the biggest feat in Irish sporting history this year.
probably the best golfer in the world at the moment(Woods is not playing at the moment).
3 majors in a rolling year.
back to back majors.

hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 01/11/2008 08:45:55    131357

I would wonder whether Phil Taylor is even the best Darts thrower in the world. The only reason he won so many world titles was because all the other great Darts men were signed up to the BDO. He hasn't been so dominant since Raymond Van Barnevald and co. have switched over, has he?

But to call him the greatest sportsman in the world is an insult to the likes of Bolt, Phelps, Bekele and Contador. I've hit a few 180s in my time but I've never cycled half ways round France or swam the 100m butterfly in record breaking time. I think that would say all we need to know about where Darts lies with respect to other sports.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 01/11/2008 11:14:25    131371