Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from Viking66

Non-Gaa Forum - 8 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The "elite" has managed to destroy any real commitment by Irish born people to the state or tge idea of,a united Ireland. Other than some makes up nonsense. Referendums perhaps prove that tge,tide is turning. Young people are leaving not because they can't get a place to live even on a,decent wage but because the nation has lost its soul."
Barney I know many, dozens, of lads who have left Ireland in the last few years. The main reasons cited were- 1- cost of living/housing relative to wages 2- chance to experience living and working in other countries while still young and before children happen along. 3- Weather. Not one has left because the country has "lost its soul".

Viking66 (National) - 19/03/2024 08:02:02

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Setanta11:  "Thought ref favoured Tipp today, but the Gillane incident was an absolutely stone-wall red, also Hegarty lucky not to pick up a second yellow. Barrett at his usual rubbish, and ref giving no protection to Gillane, delighted to see him getting done for the goals."
Barrett was fouling Gillane for the whole match. He fouled him twice in one incident and the ref gave a free out. Bizarre.

Viking66 (National) - 08/05/2022 19:35:50

Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=royaldunne:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Even though the GAA didn't set out to create a "Super Team" in Dublin, they ought to have known that their unfair actions would have done just that. You see, there was a time in Dublin not so long ago when Gaelic games were looked at by many in Dublin as something only "country people" played, "bog ball" it was known as. Clearly they still had lads playing the game, many of them introduced to it by Guards from the country and so on. There came a point when the GAA became terrified at the reality of other sports getting a foothold in the capital and in the most basic of terms this is what lead to massive investments in Dublin GAA, helped along by Bertie Ahern, who "happened" to be a man steeped in Dublin GAA. There is an inherent fear of "foreign games" within the GAA dating back to its formation, and it still exists today. All you need to do is read some of the posts here to get a sample of that, it's like going back in time and it's this fear which has lead us to the farcical situation we are in today, especially when it comes to the Leinster Championship, which isn't dying, it's already dead. Had the "the free market choices" of sport prevailed and not been interfered with by the GAA and the government at the time, then I have no doubt that we would have a more competitive Leinster and All-Ireland championship now and I have no doubt that Dublin would not have won six in a row either. Nobody questions that Dublin wouldn't still have produced good players and that they wouldn't win the odd All-Ireland, of course they would, but they definitely wouldn't have the dominance they have today. Throw in the use of Croke Park as your home ground, to know every blade of grass like the back of your hand and know your range, sure how could you not win. I just wonder is there anything else the GAA could do to help them. If it hadn't been for the likes of Kerry, Mayo and Donegal over the last few years, the farce would have been exposed even more. If you look at a player like Andy Moran of Mayo as an example, who probably played on the best team Mayo ever produced and indeed one of the best teams that ever played, great on the eye, to think that in all likelihood he and that team were denied because of the unfairness of the GAA, is scandalous and simply wrong. That was a classic generational team, not a team helped by millions to create robots, the money even turned Jim Gavin into a robot in the end, if he had stayed in the game much longer he would have been electrocuted with all the wires hanging out of his ears. Will David Clifford of Kerry suffer the same fate as Moran or will time save him, who knows. How many more generational teams will be denied by the money men ? It's wrong. So no matter what way you look at it, the paper trail leads you back to the unfair investment, but don't blame Dublin, it's the GAA who have created the monster but unless things are radically changed, in time the monster will end up costing the GAA big time."
Agreed. I don't think many actually blame Dublin, it was a massive mess up by the gaa. Dublin benefited but it was not their doing."]Well Dublin attract criticism as well because they go on the defensive and try to convince themselves and others that their success has nothing to do with unfair investment and other perks. Nobody wants their playing career tainted by constant reminders of unfairness, so it's understandable. I heard Pat Gilroy say that "nobody was giving out when Kerry and Kilkenny were winning everything", he's right, people weren't giving out because people understood their successes had nothing to do with unfair investment by the GAA and Government. "]How much money from either the government or GAA goes into their squad? None I'd be guessing!"]How do you mean "into the squad" ? Sure the squad is the one of the end products of the investment."]You are still missing the point. If this current team is the product of the government's/GAA's investment in underage Dublin football/social projects then why arent they winning All Ireland Minor titles every year?

Viking66 (National) - 05/05/2021 18:57:01

Houses In Order? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To republicofcloone:  "You could amalgamate the best players in all of Connacht and that combined team wouldn't beat Dublin. Amateur v professional is never going to turn out any other way."
That's nonsense. Mayo by themselves havent been a million miles away behind Dublin. Dublins bench has been the big difference maker. If they were able to bring some of the best players from Connacht off the bench, and if those players had been used to playing with the Mayo lads, theyd have won some of those losses.

Viking66 (National) - 02/03/2021 07:36:25

Did The Rugby Steal A March On Gaa During Presidents Biden Visit - 6 Like(s)

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "ExiledinWex here (just in case) Yes, they should have had Stephan White from great Louth teams way back when, so the whole world can see Joe Biden and internationally reknown GAA star Stephan White. Paddy Keenan either. The whole Irish diaspora in the US would have heard of them."
Maybe if the lads had beaten the Black and Tans instead of being shot by them Ol' Joe mightve put more pass on them.

Viking66 (National) - 13/04/2023 11:10:08

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Fair play to the Dublin supporters who every time they're in Omagh ay flowers where Aidan Mc Anespie was gunned down going to play football . I hope they also lay flowers for Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at the Lordship Credit Union"
Adrian Donohue was murdered by gangsters in the course of his work. Sad though that is it has nothing to do with the GAA and a lad who was murdered on his way to a GAA ground.

Viking66 (National) - 30/07/2021 14:27:00

GAA Speeches - 6 Like(s)
Cant believe someone started a thread whinging about the speech. I was very lucky I wasnt handcuffed to the chair so I went out to the kitchen and put the kettle on......

Viking66 (National) - 13/12/2020 18:56:24

This Forum - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Im not at all ruining the forum. give over with the hyperbole I regularly change user name. I for a short while had 2 usernames on go same time but not for some time but there is a lot more than 1 person on this site using multiple log ins at the same time and im far from only person "ruining the forum" if thats whats considered ruining the forum"
Maybe you could answer a question for me? Well 2. What is the point of having more than one username? Or changing the one you have?

Viking66 (National) - 09/09/2021 18:42:55

Galway Hurling thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "As I expected the Galway v Kilkenny game in Pearce Stadium will be a dress rehearsal for the Leinster Final and the golden ticket to the All Ireland Semi Final. It could be some dog fight for 3rd place between Westmeath,Laois, Dublin and Wexford."
If Whelan is missing for any matches you will be scrapping with Westmeath and Laois to avoid being back in the Joe Mac. Awesome player.

Viking66 (National) - 16/04/2022 21:20:23

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Don't be codded, Tyrone will be at full strength, they are all flying in training and have had a good rest now, so we don't want to hear any more excuses or sad stories from them at this stage. They all had the option of being vaccinated. If Ulster football is as good as it's "supposed" to be then this should be a close game which could go either way."
The vaccine wouldnt have stopped any of them getting covid AG.

Viking66 (National) - 25/08/2021 13:28:20

McDonagh Cup Link To All-Ireland To Be Removed? - 5 Like(s)
There is already a link between the 2. Win the Joe Mac and you are in the Liam Mccarthy the following year. Is that not enough?

Viking66 (National) - 27/06/2023 16:08:02

Chicago Senior Football Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "To smith here It would be interesting to know what the cost of the winning team was"
I know you are from Cavan Tom but every post I've read from you seems to be about money lol!!!

Viking66 (National) - 10/08/2022 09:51:35

Will Rugby World Cup Harm Gaa. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "I posted a fact about a private school's Leinster cup winning side with zero players playing rugby at any level inside ten years and the actual captain never playing a rugby game ever again after the school's final. Never has happened in the Gaa, never will happen. To suggest otherwise displays an unbelievable level of ignorance about the Association. Rugby's biggest fault in my view is that players play with countries they've zero allegiance to, Ireland had four starters of seven backs who wouldn't have found the country on a map six years ago and another on the bench, that's ignored in the media."
Mack Hansens mother was born and bred here. Bundee Aki is here 9 years and his 4 kids go to school here or will do. Gibson Park is here 7 years. Lowe 6 years. I don't think their effort for the country can be faulted in any way. Plenty lads born and bred here wouldn't take the hits those lads do for an Irish team.

Viking66 (National) - 17/10/2023 17:17:30

Sky - Be Careful What U Wish For! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To thelutch:  "Sky's aim was to turn the game professional. Lets be honest, it is a professional set up now except the players don't get paid. I didn't agree with Sky coming in from day one however they did and they tried but were unsuccessful. They have turned every sport they touched to Gold financially except the GAA. Darts. Cricket. Formula one on a different level now. Prize money in golf has multiplied tenfold and as for the premiership. Rugby Rugby league ladies sports I could go on. I would imagine Sky would see this as a massive failure, their was an opportunity there but was never allowed to turn professional."
Strange post lad. Don't really think they tried to do anything with the games only broadcast them. Never heard anything about Sky trying to influence GAA policy and ethos at any level.

Viking66 (National) - 02/11/2022 12:01:53

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To thegadfly:  "Did you just gallop into the middle of the thread on your high horse without reading any of the previous commentary? Just for your information. I called out a section of the Tyrone following for bringing a truly ignorant banner to GAA matches that originated with Millwall soccer hooligans in England. It's nothing got to do with them beating us this year. They were the better team. No Cavan person is sore over that. Now we'd be sore if it had been Monaghan that beat us but thankfully that hasn't happened for a long time."
It's not an ignorant banner. You seem to be the only 1 offended by it! Are you a West Ham fan by any chance?

Viking66 (National) - 29/07/2021 17:58:30

The Musings Of Tom Smith - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here from Cavan This Post has veered into a pathway that was never intended ie posters talking about Millwall , Leeds ect . I say again " Irelands call " let the Ulster Council of the Gaa take it on board and encourage the Ulster Clubs to play it. While composed by a formed Londonderry man Phil Cou---er I feel it would be lovely to hear it being belted out in Silverbridge, Cross and in or around the Antrim Gaa grounds. Sure the Brethern would then feel part of our wonderful organisation"
Nonsense Tom. It's not that far up the road to West Belfast for you. If you and Mrs T start saving now you will have the diesel money saved by Xmas. Belfast at Xmas is very pretty, and there are plenty of places to listen to music and sup a pint or 4. Or you could buy one pint and bring some cans in in your pockets if you prefer. Then you could bounce your idea off some people up there, and hopefully they won't bounce you and Mrs T out of the bar and onto the pavement.

Viking66 (National) - 19/10/2023 11:23:52

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Suffering in Ireland didn't just start when the troubles in the North began, millions of people on the whole island of Ireland suffered for centuries but I understand you are talking about recent history but it's also important not to pick and choose to suit a narrative by comparing "relatively peaceful lives of southern nationalists" to Northern nationalists, otherwise we can also say that the "Northern nationalists" had relatively good lives compared to children who were starved to death due to famine in Ethiopia, so it's a pointless exercise. Is the woman who is sleeping in a car in Dublin with her children today through no fault of her own suffering more than a lad being called a fenian in the North because he is a member of a GAA club, I think any reasonable person would say she is, so we must be very careful of not abusing the word "suffering". The GAA is built on tribalism, sledging is common among players and even more among supporters, all you have to do is read this forum to see that, so when tribalism meets victim mentality there can only be one outcome. Where is the evidence that any significant amount of people "from the 26 sneer at people in the 6 for being victims of partition" outside of trolling comments which people from every county are a victim of ? I never heard anyone refer to a team from the North as being British and believed that they in any way felt that to be true so I think there is some victim mentality at play here."
Another good post from you. You're making a habit of this lately"]I'm like Tyrone, "People Don't Like Me But I Don't Care". :-)."]Anyone who dislikes anyone for what they post on an anonymous forum really isnt worth caring about Africangael:-D

Viking66 (National) - 30/07/2021 16:39:12

The Rise Of Antrim Hurling - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "We will do, if it matters."
You didn't in 2022, 2019 or 2017.

Viking66 (National) - 28/04/2024 18:52:32

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 5 Like(s)

Replying To bad.monkey:  "the CCCC  " made it clear this was not a deliberate action and that no fault was attributed to Kilmacud Crokes for the situation they found themselves in" I wonder will Joe Brolly show some of that 'integrity' he moralises about and apologise to the Crokes players and management. Somehow I doubt it."
So you can have 16 men on the pitch and it's not your fault?!!!!

Viking66 (National) - 09/02/2023 19:40:03

Move To National Forum Only Model - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Administrator:  "From this morning the individual forums in all bar two counties have been retired. The majority of discussion will be in one place, through the national forum where any topics can be discussed. There has been a growing trend towards this in recent years and with all messages individually moderated, it allows us to focus our resources more efficiently. It's a big change, but where would the GAA world be without amalgamations?"
This is nonsense Admin. Why have the 2 chosen county forums that will be remaining been chosen?The Wexford forum has numerous posters who dont post nationally. Our club championship thread has nearly 3000 posts and the football championship has barely started. Are you sure this is of any interest to posters in Clare and Donegal?

Viking66 (National) - 30/09/2021 09:29:34