Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from tearintom

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 12 Like(s)
That's hillarious in fairness, what next? Will they roll up in front of the hill doing a warm up in Connolly t shirts? I mean what's it got to do with RTÉ? the lad made a mistake, got caught and punished, move on. They had done that today with an awesome display and the last thing people were talking about was the whole Connolly incident but now they have brought it back front and centre again. Maybe they should take the issue up with gaa hq by refusing to deal with them? The only reason Connolly is suspended is because of Connolly, no one else.

tearintom (National) - 25/06/2017 19:52:43

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 9 Like(s)
So since yesterday the reasons it wasn't a red card include: It ruined the game It ruined the game and it's really expensive to go to a game. It ruined the game, it's really expensive to go and game was over after the sending off Hogan isn't that type of player They're wearing helmets, knocks to the head aren't that bad. He wasn't seriously injured Barrett went down easy/ throw his legs up in the air It was raining It was an all Ireland final The ref spoke to the linesman before making a decision. Barrett also caught Hogan earlier around the head(whilst going for the ball, by the way Conor fogarty also caught Brendan Maher in much the same vein during 1st half but curiously no one mentions it) We don't know Hogan's intent because apparently that makes a difference, maybe Barrett was really warm and Hogan was being a gentleman and attempting waft him down with his elbow Did anyone mention it ruined the game?? Reasons it was a red card: The actual rules!

tearintom (National) - 19/08/2019 18:50:15

Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All - 7 Like(s)
Cracking game Amazing what knockout football does isn't it, weeks of utter nothingness with 8 teams and basically we end up with one meaningful game out of the whole lot that's actually exciting. Who would have thought it. Super 8s me hole.

tearintom (National) - 03/08/2019 21:47:46

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 6 Like(s)
Fair play on a huge win for the Limerick hurlers. Hurling needs the likes of Limerick, Wexford etc back up challenging at the top table and despite what many say hurling 1A brings on teams no end. The hurling world is looking at now 8 teams or so all hurling in and around the same high standard with each one capable of taking the other on any given day so congrats on the win. Huge munster championship coming up.

tearintom (Limerick) - 12/03/2018 09:18:14

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 5 Like(s)
For the 1st time ever when given the choice between sky and RTE i turned over to sky at half time as soon as brolly started waffling, i actually couldnt believe what i was hearing. Enough is really enough, theres no analysis, its just agenda settling and one upmanship. I means there was so much about that game yesterday and once again Brolly and others make the aftermath not about the game and the main talking point to be about himself. Its a joke at this stage, i thought the aftermath of the hurling final was bad with Sefflin but it jumped the shark yesterday. Please, a revamp please, enough is enough.

tearintom (National) - 02/09/2019 12:20:27

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ewan McKenna I am sure most of you have seen/heard this lads "opinions" by now i am not getting into it here, we all know what he says and the counter arguments etc What I would like to know is, especially from the non Dubs on here, where do ye stand on this? Most people not involved in GAA seem to think McKenna is right, its a fix, Dubs are false champions etc etc Would be interested in what ye think lads. I think most people on here would be involved in one way or another in GAA so your opinon's would carry more weight than the summer crew if you get me. Do many of you think he is right, do many of you see Dublin's success as false, tarnished and bought? Sound. LW"
Fair play to you for bringing it up, its something that shouldnt be spoken about in many areas I look at it differently. Its every counties responsibility to make the best of the hand thats dealt them and make the most of what they have and Dublin are doing this far better than anyone and everyone else. I agree with every single word Mc Kenna writes in regards to the unfairness and the disparity of how Dublin are treated versus the rest, i find the disparity genuinely disgusting to be honest. But where i disagree is that it should not be a slight on what Dublin have achieved on the pitch or that it should even be discussed as a Dublin issue, i seperate the team and the players from the issue at hand. I have huge issues, huge issues with that the GAA are doing here in regards to funding and the disparity, it disgusts me but i have no issue whatsoever with what Dublin do with it, i would expect my own county to do the same if its handed to them. But i genuinely dispair at fellow Gaels who are not appalled by it to be honest, i mean if ever an approach went against the very ethos of what the GAA should be about this is it. But as regards to what Dublin do on the pitch with whats given to them, not demanded, given, i say hand on heart fair play to them and admire them for it. Dublin should hold their heads high imho for what they do with what theyre given but also in my opinion the powers that be should hang their heads in shame for whats going on, again just my own humble opinion.

tearintom (National) - 05/09/2018 12:19:03

Kildare Dis-Service To Smaller Counties - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "[quote=TrimJim:  "Replying To tearintom: " The fact is the likes of Dublin don't have to worry about these things, don't have to weigh these options up for example. But genuinely there are a lot of ordinary gaa people in Dublin who don't get the frustrations of counties who are not in the same privileged position as they are or maybe they do and don't give a damn which is fair enough too why should they? But don't belittle the small victories for smaller counties, for once a county put the players ahead of money good on them." Exactly, the real reason why the Dubs are so worried about the little kiddies of Kildare not getting to see the game is they are worried that the jig is up for them and all their numerous advantages. If they were drawn out first to play Kerry and it was switched to Thurles you can bet there would be no end of "bleedin" and "jaysusin" out of them."
See? this is the ultimate end point of these discussions: whining about the Dubs. I'd say 99% of Dubs supported Kildare in their fight to get the match played in Newbridge. Furthermore, as you probably well know, Dubs love a roadtrip. Kerry in Semple would be snapped up, as it was (twice!) in '01. Your post just exposes a tiresome small-minded mentality."]And again your post is further proof of the fact ye just don't get it! People aren't whining about the dubs, what they are whining about is the fact is the lack of fairness that exists in the gaa world at this point in time. Is that the fault of Dublin? Absolutely not 100% but everytime it's raised the same rtheoric comes out, your only whining about the dubs, you see you don't get it! This is a gaa issue not a Dublin issue. Dublin are in a privileged position not because they demand to be but because the gaa deem it that way. It's nothing to do with road trips, it's actually nothing to do with Dublin. Should Dublin take full advantage of what's on offer, 110% they should and do. If my own county was afforded the same privileges I would 100% expect them to take it. The inequality in the gaa doesn't exist because of Dublin, it exists because of the gaa itself but dub,in are the biggest beneficiaries and in my opinion don't get the concerns and issues that smaller counties have to deal with.

tearintom (National) - 29/06/2018 14:07:46

Brolly on Gooch - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tyronemanc:  "http://www.independent.ie/sport/columnists/joe-brolly/joe-brolly-sublime-finisher-but-colm-cooper-didnt-have-answers-when-asked-tough-questions-35607170.html So very interesting points, I note that Joe was not able to put his point across last night on RTE as it didn't fit in with their script.................."
I think you may have been watching some other programme last night as Joe was the only one afforded the time to actually get his point across. Everyone else didnt get such freedom as Joe couldnt even show basic manners constantly shouting across everyone else as they tried to get their own point across.

tearintom (National) - 10/04/2017 09:34:33

Brolly on Gooch - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tyronemanc:  "If you watch it back, Joe was constantly interrupted by Mike Lester, who was constantly tryting to drive him down the line that the Gooch was the greatest to ever kick a ball. I for one do not hold much love for Brolly, however an alternative view is good to hear as opposed to the RTE agenda, read the article in my original post, you will find he puts forward a structured, coherent argument backed up with evidence as opposed to the blind soundbites we are constantly been fed, God forbid some an analyst actually gives some structured analysis"
Again i think you actually have to watch it to see your incorrect. At the very start of the gooch debate Joe was the only pundit who was actually afforded the opportunity to put his point across without interruption. Everyone else who tried to debate it was again talked and shouted across by Brolly himself so much so Ciaran Whelan had to tell him to shut up. Nothing wrong with an alternative view and nothing wrong with the points that Brolly was making but when you have been afforded the opportunity to put your own point across uninterrupted its basic manners to allow other the same courtesy rather than shouting across others who hold an alternative view. Its isnt the joe show, others have the right to make points also something lost on Brolly it seems, its basic manners really.

tearintom (National) - 10/04/2017 10:30:11

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 4 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You can't have a disciplinary system that decides when it wants to 're ref matches based on public pressure! No pressure Brendan Murphy equals no cccc case. What about national league games I say incidents in games that never get any attention from the cccc simply because there's not much coverage. there is probably melees in division 3 and 4 and don't get reported by media so the cccc don't have any head on them to investigate. The ref and linesman both seen or felt in linesman case Connolly touch him, decided it didn't merit anything therefore it wasn't a non seen incident by officials that meritted investigation until the media went into hysteria. now we have another home of a suspension as a knock in effect for the Louth player because the ball accidentally hit an umpire when he was kicking it back towards the goal. Like come on officiating is at a poor standard and all they want to do is punish players left right and centre instead of actually look at the foot of the problem which is the inability of most of these officials to officiate games correctly"
You keep going on about Brendan Murphy yet you have no idea, not a clue what he said? Yet you keep going on about it. What did he say that deserved to be included in a referees report, tell us cos you keep going on about it. You have this obsession with everything being in the media, you do know that hundreds of games every year have a match report for them which the cccc look at, you do realise that? This idea that referees only report transgressions that happen in matches in the media or on the telly or commented on by pundits is laughable really. Referees have people monitoring them from the stands so when they make mistakes or don't report incidents etc they are basically writing themselves off in regard to getting further games. I mean it's laughable this suggestion that all they want to do is punish players left right and centre, no, all they want to do is have nothing to report from games, no flash points to deal with. It's quite simple really, players need start taking responsibility for their own actions the game and people constantly making excuses for them in the long term doesn't them no good, plain and simply. Refs aren't perfect and many of them aren't very good but that doesn't give any player from anywhere free reign to do what they want and get away with it. That's life. One thing I will say on Jim Gavin bringing the whole thing up again though is I think he has done it for a reason and it has nothing to do with this suggestion of this siege mentality bull people are coming up with. I mean seriously we are dealing with one of the greatest football teams of all time and definitely the most professional and people think oh he needs to develop a siege mentality to get the best out of them I mean in all fairness have people been looking at the same bunch of players, they need nothing more to motivate them than going down in history. But Gavin hates dealing with the media, he has said it before that he sees no benefit for Dublin to be dealing with the media so I personally think he sees an opportunity now to cut dealing with the media altogether because he can't be bothered in all honesty. It's a perfect excuse now for getting out of doing something he has no interest in or sees no benefit from. Maybe he's right.

tearintom (National) - 27/06/2017 21:25:14

Buff Egan and Croke Park Wifi - 4 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "why do so many people in this country resent anyone doing well for themselves."
Thats genuinely funny seeing as its in support of a fella that has that exact same problem of resenting people doing well for themselves!!! Honestly some of the stuff this fella comes out with is primary school stuff, i mean when what age is he? He was tweeting during a prime time programme about abuse in the gaa complaining that no one was highlighting the abuse where southern GAA players were calling northern players british ++++!! Never mind the other stuff as others have mentioned, if he wants to be taken seriously he might want to grow up a bit.

tearintom (National) - 03/11/2022 14:15:02

JP McManus donates 100,000 to every county board - 4 Like(s)
Why can't people just accept the offer of generosity for what it is, an offer of generosity? Why is this country so rife with begrudgery with comments of "we'll sure he can well afford it" or "what about the tax he doesn't pay" or what about us, we got nothing and they got more than us etc etc etc. Is it any wonder successful wealthy people decide to to live here?

tearintom (National) - 28/09/2018 18:55:10

Wexford Hurling 2016 - 4 Like(s)
Im not sure where people are getting the abuse thing from in regards to here? I havent seen any of the players receiving abuse, i cant comment for social media twitter and facebook and the like but ive yet to see a players slagged or abused on these pages. I think people need to be able to differentiate the difference in abuse and opinion. Saying someone didnt have a good game for example isnt abuse, its giving an opinion. Likewise in saying hes too slow for a position or made a mistake isnt abuse. I havent seen any player insulted on here as has been claimed. We've all heard comments at matches which constitute abuse and we all know the difference. However there are a certain few who think that any negative opinion at all is a form of abuse. Dare to say i dont think things are going very well and your nothing but a keyboard warrior in some peoples eyes. Its a bit of a trait to keep plodding along saying "ah sure it will be grand, were trying our best" but sometimes we need to take a step back show a bit of honesty and say, hold on a minute, we need to change a few things here, this isnt going well. We've done that in Wexford, we have turned the tide and will soon enough reap the rewards of being honest with ourselves. We will get there slowly but surely.

tearintom (Wexford) - 31/05/2016 08:40:33

Should Mayo Warm Up At The Hill - 4 Like(s)
Itll not happen these days. It was always a case you warmed up dependent on what dressing room you were assigned in Croke Park. Back ten years ago also the teams took the pitch, done a bit of a kick around whilst the coaches set up the cones etc. Nowadays however coaches are out on the pitch a good 20 mins before a team player comes out so it will be well set up beforehand. God i couldnt stand that Dublin team, team full of egos and arrogance who i was delighted to see lose, as a Dub said to me one day "they would have been a great team if they spent more time playing for the hill and crowd rather than playing to the hill and crowd" If it did happen on sunday Jim Gavin or the Dublin players wouldnt even bat an eyelid and continue on doing what they were doing, changing to that mentality has been Gavins greatest achievement and more than anything has contributed to how great this Dublin team have been.

tearintom (National) - 13/09/2016 15:01:29

Sky Sports To Stop Showing GAA - 4 Like(s)

Replying To anotheralias:  "Whatever about Sky , I think that the broadcasters are missing an opportunity on the club season. The game coverage is decent but there should be a marquee programme like the Sunday game on Sunday night to analyse the top games. Some serious games over the next month or so and a real opportunity. Also if the Sunday game pundits got to make a few pounds out of the club game they might stop whinging about the split season."
The pundits get paid an annual fee so the championship season ending earlier or there being more club games matters nothing to them in terms of making a few pound when theyre arguing about the split season. And the fact is the vast majority of those pundits are involved with clubs, very much so, this idea that theyre somehow anti club is moot, they just dont agree with the shortening of the intercounty season. And to be frank the opportunity is there for broadcasters to cover more club games but they dont because the appetite for viewership isnt there, thats just it. The amount of club games being shown at the moment is probably adequate for the interest thats out there, in 2020 there was a programme called "RTE does comic relief" and its a programme ive never heard of, never even knew existed yet it took in on average 2.5 times the viewers that TG4's most watched club game did in the same year. And that was during COVID when ye couldnt even get to a game. If it was a viable commercial opportunity the fact is RTE would be showing more club games than they are.

tearintom (National) - 25/10/2022 16:39:38

Joe Brolly Finished With RTE - 4 Like(s)

Replying To gahfan:  "Huge contradiction in his article(s) for me. He's constantly having a go at the GPA and the commercialisation of the gaa which is fair enough. Yet he never mentions anything about the commercialization of Dublin."
This is the thing, its like hypocrisy of the highest order. Not a thing about the huge commercial giant that is Dublin GAA, i mean this is a county GAA team with its own official Airline partner ffs along with their own official car partner. This is why Brolly simply cannot be taken seriously and anyone looking for wisdom from him in regards to the future of the GAA is on a fools errand. Nothing against what Dublin GAA are doing from my point of view, fair play to em and best of luck to them but to complain all about the GPA and commercialism etc whilst ignoring the huge elephant in the room literally sitting on your face is laughable, truth be told.

tearintom (National) - 04/11/2019 09:44:12

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)
There's only one thing for it now. First off an online petition demanding a replay. Secondly be it either the first Walsh cup Match or league opener in 2020 every payer running on to the pitch wearing Richie Hogan t shirts, Cody included with Jackie insisting on Littlewoods bringing out a range of Richie Hogan t shirts in black and amber colours with a choice of round or v neck collars whilst Henry insists on a nice white option to wear on the Sunday game. A behind the scenes Netflix documentary and podcast series investigating the various conspiracy theories since the game with undercover footage trying to answer the questions left, was there a 3rd unseen person deciding it was a red card and what influence do they have? Was it a George Sorros type infleuncer with money up in the stand in the refs ear demanding action (fingers pointed at JP here) or is there government influence at the highest level seeing as the Tipp sponsors were founded by the brother of a government TD, perhaps miss G O Doherty could be the host bemoaning these young Irishmen being denied their rights to not have players sent off for elbowing people in the head with no ball in sight, another example of old Ireland being lost! At this stage it's surely the next stage to go to??

tearintom (National) - 22/08/2019 21:53:38

Paul Galvin New Wexford Manager - 4 Like(s)
Well this is going to be interesting that's for sure.

tearintom (National) - 02/08/2019 12:30:27

Tyrone Boycott Of RTE - 4 Like(s)
It was a wee bit more than that. It was as result of the John Murray show doing a comedy sketch about Harte going to see the Dali Lama after his daughters murder which included using the song "the pretty little girl from Omagh" RTE apologised and removed the sketch immediatley. I dont blame Tyrone or Mickey Harte one bit and Harte annoys me to be honest but i think hes dead right. The sketch was just months after his daughters death and Harte had let it be known he was going there to listen to the Dali Lama's teachings on forgiveness etc.

tearintom (National) - 20/08/2018 13:36:15

If The Dubs Were To Win 4 In A Row - 4 Like(s)
Is it not kinda ironic to cite people as being copy and past merchants whilst bringing up an article from 2 years ago copy and pasted again!! The ironic thing about that article is it's basically saying the dubs winning in 2016 isn't that big really, they aren't that dominant, it was an reticle written on the back of Dublin possible winning back to backs, not a big deal not real dominance and no real sign it will continue, that worked out well for Eamon's theory since then hasn't it? His point back then was that it's only in leinster where this dominance is really and score margins after Leinster price this, yet these scoring margins in the last 2 years have jumped again. In reality this article has t actually aged well to be honest. But again why do Dublin supporters care whether they're loved or not outside the capital which in reality is what this post is all about. If it was me and Wexford were in the same position I wouldn't care less!

tearintom (National) - 01/09/2018 10:31:31