Connacht FBD League: Doherty goal decisive in Mayo win

January 21, 2018

Mayo's Jason Doherty.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Mayo 1-10

Sligo 0-11

Jason Doherty's 44th minute goal proved all-important as Mayo withstood Sligo's second half comeback to end their Connacht FBD League campaign with a victory in Ballina.

With many of their regulars back on board, the 2016 and '17 All-Ireland finalists dominated the first half to take a 0-7 to 0-2 lead into the break. Doherty converted three frees, while Diarmuid O'Connor, Paddy Durcan and Evan Regan were also on the mark. Both of Sligo's first half points came from frees.

The Yeats County, who were in action for the first time since veteran forward Mark Breheny announced his inter-county retirement, resumed with points from Niall Murphy, Neil Ewing, Stephen Coen and Gerard O'Kelly Lynch to regain parity before Doherty's goal gave Stephen Rochford's men a 1-7 to 0-7 lead.

Aidan O'Shea and Doherty extended Mayo's advantage, but they were left hanging on after late points from Coen and Adrian Marren left just two in it.

Mayo - D Clarke, B Harrison, G Cafferkey, E O'Donoghue; C Boyle, M Hall, P Durcan (0-1); J Gibbons, S Coen; K McLoughlin, A O'Shea (0-1), D O'Connor (0-1); J Doherty (1-4, 0-4f), E. Regan (0-3, 2f), A Moran. Subs: C Loftus for D O'Connor, S Akram for P Durcan, S Nally for S Coen, G McDonagh for J Gibbons, F  McDonagh for J Doherty.

Sligo - A Devaney; M Gordon. L Nicholson, E McGuinness; Keelan Cawley, D Cummins, G O'Kelly Lynch (0-1); J Clarke, P O'Connor; N Ewing (0-1), F Cawley, A Marren (0-2f); S Coen (0-5, 3f), P Hughes, Kyle Cawley. Subs: P Kilcoyne for D Cummins, S Carrabine for F Cawley, R Donovan for L Nicholson, N Murphy (0-2) for P O'Connor, C Breheny for J Clarke, L Gaughan for Kyle Cawley.

Referee - E O'Grady.

Most Read Stories