Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To eoinog: "100% I agree. MC Entee was excellent with his comments. Remember if Leinster won the rugby match this scenario would never have occurred as rugby was pencilled in for next Saturday in Croke Park. We were steamrolled during the Covid when we never got an opportunity to play Galway, we had to fight Connacht Council to get our U.20 Connacht final played in Markievicz Park when they wanted the game in Bekan. Great to see a bit of fight and not lie down to the administration of Croke Park." Agreed. He came out firing but was spot on. At the end of the day, if games need to be moved, it can't be at the expense of other championship games less than a week in advance. Complete disrespect to suggest it.
Some of the comments following his interview show exactly why the GAA cannot afford to dilute football any further in this country. So many "Joe McDonagh of Football" comments are disappointing to see and are all the more reason to avoid any further tiering of championship football to small meaningless competitions with 6/7 teams.
With regards to the game, a great show on Saturday. We really have become a big scoring team and so much easier on the eye. It's hard to judge a tenure on one game, but a win next Sunday would be absolutely massive for this group. Down on paper are still a step ahead and it's going to take an outstanding performance to get past them.
johncreilly (National) - 17/06/2024 07:22:48
Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
McEntee continues. Thoughts and prayers are with Sligonian at this time.
johncreilly (National) - 19/09/2024 15:31:03
Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To RealSouthSligo: "Everyone needs to get over the Joe Keaney issue for his sake, his clubs and our own sanity.
Unless things have changed, if you are going well at training - you get your chance. Anyways - move on from it and we should only concentrate on players in the setup.
Agree some of the subs we are using are not up to the required level - my opinion. Would not be fair to name them as some of them have been good servants to Sligo GAA.
On the point of Caroline Currid, she would not come cheap and famous saying "Is CC going to stop us conceding a last minute goal or kicking a point to win a game?"
Different gravy with the counties CC has worked with - Tyrone, Dublin, Tipperary and Limerick.
Would I love to see her involved ? Yes of course but would not be a deal breaker and all comes down to if the manager wants to have her involved.
Crazy statement to say that people have no interest in Sligo because McEntee - I was in Cavan last week and we had the majority of the support there.
No matter who we play, it is important that we have a big crowd for home Quarter final. It would be a great experience for players and fans to play in Croke Park for the semi final - (have to get there first)." People have short memories but I must say that I don't think the feelings of Sligonian are alien to the general feelings of match goers around the county. Walsh was generally successful but had his critics when he left. One in particular on our national broadcaster - less said on that, the better. Since he left, we've had Flanagan, Carew who did OK in parts but in the end finished poorly, Corey and Taylor. Is McEntee and his coaching team a more rounded setup than any of those? I believe so. I think some ex-players and managers on the waves the past few years have been hurling from the ditch and have taken personal issues with the county board other than anything else. We need to come off this negativity bandwagon that we see in our neighbours and row in behind this side during championship. We should be taking our mothers, fathers, sons and daughters to Markievicz next week and get our lads to Croke Park. If they fail to, I'm sure McEntee will be judged on that. Until such time, let's get behind them.
johncreilly (National) - 07/06/2024 11:26:52
Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To eoinog: "Disappointment for Paddy O Connor with Kilmacud Crokes on Sunday. To be honest I wasn't sure if he would get a place on that team but just like Cummins he was able to step up to the much higher standard of Dublin club football. As someone alluded to, it's poor that club football in Sligo town has gotten so bad. Neither Johns nor Calry have anything on the horizon for a few years. You would hope Johns get straight back up from Junior because we need more teams in Sligo town but next year they will be up against Cloonacool or Ballymote plus Michaels and a few very strong B teams. Too early in the week yet for my predictions for the weekend))" Credit to them on doing well for the respective clubs and are great for their county, but it would never sit right with me that players are not playing for their home clubs in the prime of their careers. I'd understand lads who are coming to the end, married, kids, etc. and a completely separate life away from their home. Things do change but it's only a couple of hours up the road once a week for a 3 months of the year.
It used to be a far bigger journey 20+ years ago when my teammates were journeying up and down. I'm not singling these or any Sligo lads out and not pretending it didn't happen then. I just don't like it. You may say that the player owes a club nothing, but I feel your obligation should always be to your club where possible.
Let me reiterate that I've a lot of respect for the two mentioned above and am speaking in general terms more so.
johncreilly (National) - 24/10/2024 14:11:17
Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Well done to Tubbercurry. It looked fantastic, and a good atmosphere.
Disappointed with the performance if I'm honest. For the first time in 4 years, I think this team is probably worse than the one previous. Hoping for better next week but I've a bad feeling it could be a close one.
johncreilly (National) - 12/05/2025 19:29:45
Replying To eoinog: "Exactly, stop the rot
We went 53 years (I think) without winning a minor title and we had never won a title at U.20 or the old U.21 age group until 2022. We don't want to go back to those days. For the last 2 years at minor level we basically played Leitrim for the wooden spoon. I'm not casting aspersions on any of the teams or the management I know 2 lads left and went off trying other sports. That will always happen. Thankfully one has returned. We just have to try and upp our game again." I think you're both right in a sense. We need to maintain the good work being done over the last number of years and not fall off, but at the same time, realise that a county of our size will not be able to compete for Connacht titles each and every year. We need a little bit of luck to compete with Mayos and Galways of this world. The big thing for me is to be matching them in terms of our Strength and Conditioning so to avoid the return to the days of 15-20 point trimmings. Stay in the ring.
johncreilly (National) - 21/05/2024 14:37:49
There's so much to be happy about with last nights performance. I could talk about a number who individuals who were excellent but as the poster above stated, the fight was incredible across the field. A gamble from management in making a number of changes but credit where credit is due. A huge improvement and we are back in with a chance of reaching a semi final. Well done young men.
johncreilly (National) - 03/04/2025 07:45:02
Replying To Sligonian: "McEntee has another year left but as you say I am not sure if he will take it up. I agree we are not quite ready for Div2 but we were never a Div4 team either with the standard of players and we stayed there for a year too long imo. I can understand why some would look back on McEntees tenure with positivity but I can also understand those that won't. Hopefully with the few wins, more support will turn up to support the seniors and lets see how the rest of this year plays out.
Does the lack of breakthroughs into the senior team by our underage players concern anyone?" I really can't see that he will. A good run in the tailteann again and he would cement a decent legacy of a man who took one of the worst teams in the country and made them competitive again, no doubt about that.
If you look back to Paul Taylor's last few games and the lineups, and the lineup the last day, there certainly has been breakthroughs into the team and panel. However, I'd agree that maybe we expected a little more from those coming through. I've been banging this drum for some time, the U20 is a long step back from Senior national league football. A poster once stated on this forum that the 2023 U20 side could compete in division four. Safe to say today, that was quite a silly statement.
Again, this is not me stating that these lads are or are not good enough. Football at that level is such a huge commitment and jump is substantial, some won't be good enough, some won't want to or won't be able to with their professional lives as the commitment is so great, and some will and hopefully, be wonderful players for Sligo. I'm still very hopeful that we can become a team who plays in the top half of this country, I've just always thought it would take time than yourself and a few others. Our ambitions would be of a similar nature, I just think you need time and a little bit of luck to get there.
What I would say is I won't disrespect the current management group by naming names, but the next appointment into our dugout and his backroom team, will be absolutely huge again. While you don't have to love McEntee, we've seen this week plenty of instances of much much worse choices. I'm happy we've the team we have compared to a lot of them but yes, I'll admit, I think the end of 2025 might be the time to freshen it up.
johncreilly (National) - 20/03/2025 08:29:20
Replying To RealSouthSligo: "In all fairness man, I enjoy your posts but this one is simply rubbish and sorry to say it highlights your football knowledge. On this forum, people (Including yourself) have stated that Sligo Management are too slow in making changes, then , when they do and the result goes against them - it is the management's fault. As you highlighted you were not at the game so these opinions are not your own. All we know you could be speaking to a biased opinion.
When is someone going to ask the question to the players? Management cannot go on the field and play the game for them, the group have be disappointed themselves with the final result. "McEntee was not on the field against Laois either" - no idea what this comment means ? Took a risk - Why did they take a risk? Players did not start because they were not playing well, does mean that Management keep starting lads that are not performing.
I am not on this forum to slate anyone but sorry - had to call you out this time.
Overall I was very happy with the performance to be honest, I have been at all Sligo games this year, this was their best performance (Bar last 7 mins) . Clare beating Kildare last Sunday means we probably need 3 wins from our last 3 games to be confident of staying up.
Great to see a huge Sligo support there, I would say we matched and probably had more fans than Fermanagh." A very sensible post.
Between playing and coaching, the experience would be extremely lacking in relation to both by the posters on this forum. You can't win. I've made it to all bar one of the games so far and this unsuprisingly this was their best performance. McEntee has taken plenty of deserved slack for their setup and I'd still have certain gripe over their defensive shape the last day, but was glad to see the fight is still there.
johncreilly (National) - 04/03/2025 08:57:49
Replying To eoinog: "Congratulations to Owenmore Gaels on reaching the Intermediate football final. They beat Coolaney by 1 . The turning point was just before half time when Coolaney were reduced to 14 players after their defender picked up his second yellow card. The second yellow was stupid. However credit to Coolaney they battled hard against the 15 Owenmore Gaels team and also the wind for the second half. Peter Wynne was very good and he got great help from Dillon and Mark Walsh plus their no 10 whose name escapes me. Raymond Connolly tried very hard as did Conor Johnson plus Barry Gorman kicked lovely points off both feet for Coolaney. It was a very enjoyable game and in sharp contrast to the second game which was fairly poor.Pat Hughes was immense and scored 1.05. Harps shot a huge amount of wides but even still they should have won in normal time. In extra time Geevagh were the best team and far more clinical and Harps were lucky to draw the game. Matt Henry was missing for Harps due to injury and he was a massive loss. With him missing a lot of pressure fell to Caelan Hunt and he didn't disappoint and was the main threat in front of the goals. As I said last week Harps have a lot of injured players and even though Dylan Walsh is playing he is only at about 50% of what he is capable of. I will reserve predicting the winner of this until I hear the venue, referee and forecast. Geevagh will take great heart from this performance and over the 80 mins were the fitter team." I didn't make the games as was away for the weekend but Owenmore Gaels deserve a lot of credit. A team that was commencing their junior championship following relegation to division three only 14 months ago. A strong team from Collooney/Ballysadare would be good for Sligo football and encourage youngsters in that area to stick at it. Gaels result should give any side going through a bit of a struggle at the moment some hope and I'd expect them to push Eastern Harps all the way.
No surprise in Tourlestrane getting past Calry and St. Pats decimating St. Johns.
johncreilly (National) - 07/10/2024 09:18:51
Replying To westvoice: "Harps, enniscrone and tourlestrane off the top of my head. But scarden doesn't even get many lights games so that's not an excuse why they put them there." Agreed. I don't know a team that enjoys going to Scarden.
johncreilly (National) - 13/09/2024 13:15:32
Replying To Sligonian: "The majority of ye are picking Molaise in a close contest. Just curious as to the reason you think we will edge it?" Just that you'd expect a reaction after their defeat to Tourlestrane and the fact that they've a bit better of a panel. Drumcliffe can turn over anyone on their day. I have to say I don't usually anticipate games too highly but I'm looking forward to getting down to it. A big test of character for both sides.
johncreilly (National) - 05/09/2024 09:17:21
My head is sore looking at these messages
johncreilly (National) - 27/08/2024 08:12:10
Replying To Sligonian: "Joe will be able to handle it but I do take your point." Honestly Sligonian, this is become embarrassing. I spoke to separate men in Coolera who told me that Keaney was decent. No mention of him being the best player on the field. In regards to the lad, I think it's quite common knowledge that he wasn't pulling up trees in training with the Senior team earlier in the year. But again, this isn't an attack on the lad. I for one think he is the makings of a very good player for Sligo. Anyone who watched the U20s will think the same but there is a reason he's not in and I'd very much doubt it's that McEntee doesn't like the lad for some misguided reason. He needs quality players but they have to mach the levels of the lads already in there.
Sligonian, I will say this, if a player is good enough and doing the right things, they will make it. So let's hope that's the case here. I'm sure it will be in time but for now, maybe give the lad a chance to do well at club level for the next couple of months and hopefully, regardless of who is in the hot seat, will have a good pre-season and be a part of the playing panel for 2025.
In regards to players breaking through, it should be tough. Can you explain why it would be easy? Again, who are these weak links? I know there were a couple of more experienced guys in the panel, I don't need to name them but I think it's probably a case of keeping some experience if necessary. It's not as if the panel is littered with them.
What part of the step up from U20 to Div 3/4 level do you not agree with? I think if you asked any member of the panel who made that jump, they'd tell you. If not, then why aren't we in an All Ireland final this year? As said previously, you can't blood all these players together or guys like yourself will be questioning why we are losing so many games.
In regards to closing games out, Galway was a mistake against in possession against the All Ireland finalists by Eddie McGuinness and the Down game, a rush of blood to the head maybe by Nathan Mullen. Will we replace these guys? Would that have closed it out better? Two of our best players this year. What is your point?
I certainly wouldn't see myself as the one having an agenda here. I see myself as a Sligo fan that has missed maybe a game a year for the past 20/25 years and seen wonderful days and some truly awful disheartening times. And while you may say that we are still very much in a transitional phase with a new crop slowly coming in, I don't see that we are currently in anything close to disheartening times.
I think your second last line shows that perhaps it's you that has the agenda, "Because he is getting the best out of some players that have a low ceiling and they may regress and I could see him being slow to see this"
So would we be happier if he wasn't getting the best out of them? It's an awful argument. As I've stated here several times, we all know he's not perfect. I'm not sure who out there is but he's done a job that has made us the first bit of decent progress in a decade. The grass is always greener Sligonian and I think you need to take the Grange blinkers off. A new manager coming in with a couple of lads stepping away could be under immense pressure if they went down from Division 3. Where would you be then? Telling us that it was becasue Caroline Currid wasn't there? When the day comes that it looks like things are regressing, then it will be time to move on. Until such time, I don't see the reason to personally.
johncreilly (National) - 23/07/2024 08:57:24
Can Gaelic Football (Handball?) Be Saved? - 1 Like(s)
Replying To SaffronDon: "Absolutely right Flaker. Two cracking semi finals and two finalists outside the two traditional ones. Is this not the Eutopia that the fans were aiming for only a couple of years back? I guess some people are only happy when they are complaining." Agreed. Save it by doing what? Enforce the existing laws a bit harder and leave it alone. Less games is the only change I'd make.
johncreilly (National) - 16/07/2024 11:53:38
Replying To eoinog: "As the year draws to a close on the county scene, just how many from the U.20 winning teams have made the breakthrough to seniors.
2022 team
Jack Lavin. Missed the first half of the year with injury and made a few appearances off the bench. I still believe he needs a new club to progress his career.
Eoghan Smith. Got loads of opportunities and isn't just at the level required yet. Time is on his side.
Oisin Flynn. The fact that he's on the extended panel speaks volumes for his commitment as he never nailed down a starting spot on the U 20. He is certainly still on the radar.
Joe Keaney. Still only 22 and hopefully a good club championship will see him return to the Co set up. He has a lot to offer.
Lee Deignan. Patiently on the bench for most of the league he made a few appearances before starting the last 2 games.
Other players that might come in from that group would be Jack Davitt and Shane Molloy.
2023 team.
Canice Mulligan. Serious player and needs minding. The last really good player from the West division had to retire in his early twenties due to injuries.
Luke Casserly. Got a full game against Tipperary and a few appearances off the bench . Very much in the frame.
Daire O Boyle. Surprised he didn't get more minutes on the pitch. Very good player.Calry badly need him at the moment.
Dylan Walsh. Disappointed. Ran off playing junior soccer at every opportunity until he got injured . May not kick a ball this year for the club. Needs to commit properly next year as he is a serious talent.
Others that may come from that group is Matt Henry.
So I make it 5 from the 2022 team and 4 from the 2023 team
Next year Sloyane, Johnson , Doherty at a minimum should also be drafted in.
There probably won't be that many starting places up for grabs next year if everyone stays fit as we are basically a young team but the subs bench needs a major overhaul." I'm not sure I agree on the new club Eoinog. If we start going down that route, why would clubs bother bringing players through at all. In essence, I hear what you're saying but I think the emphasis needs to be on the player delivering for his team consistently. Ballymote are an intermediate side playing in junior. At the end of the day, Lavin (and any others in the same position) will play 7/8/9 games for his club this year and should be pushing them to win Junior A. The major progression in my opinion will be in the off season/pre season and early league games.
Unless it is a case that the group don't share any ambition of getting up and contending for Intermediate titles (that may be the case, I don't know), I can't see why a move would be the right thing to do. The foundation of the County Player is in his club. Personally, I can't understand how players would leave - especially for another team in the same county. What's worth more - potentially winning an intermediate medal in the future with your own club, or a senior with another?
In terms of names mentioned, I think you're right in that it will be largely the gameday 26 that will see dramatic change before the starting 15. Definitely need some more energy and depth there and you'd hope the guys you've mentioned can add that.
johncreilly (National) - 25/06/2024 12:01:35
Replying To eoinog: "I left Croke Park a very proud Sligo supporter. We left everything on the pitch, you couldn't ask for any more. No doubt there will be an in-depth analysis from a few yobs pointing out all the errors of our ways. For me we died with our boots on and emptied the tank." The effort was outstanding. To see so many lads struggling with cramp was a sign of the tremendous effort. I don't feel we got the rub of the green from the man in the middle. A lot of strange calls for the majority of the game.
johncreilly (National) - 24/06/2024 08:48:30
Replying To Sligonian: "Another win in the bag for the seniors but probably cant take too much from it. Limerick were much worse than expected. I took a lot of positives from this weekend. The crowd was close to 2,500 plus all the kids which is good considering Limerick wouldn't have many travelling. It was great to see the kids on the field at half time.
Fair play celebrating our 2 athletes Cadden and O Donnell too.
Great idea having the new murals at the COE of all our team captains lifting trophies and our 4 men football all stars.
Then on to the fixture debacle. Fair play to the county board on this. As alluded too we've stood up to the powers at be a few times in recent years and its not something we have done before then. A lot of county boards play the political game afraid of them but not this CB the last few years. We needed to get ahead of this so time was of the essence to make as much noise as possible, McEntee (our lord and saviour) in his element and added weight given Burns was pushing against us behind the scenes, Armagh on Armagh. CB statement on twitter and our chairman article in the indo all added weight. I am bit disappointed at the lack of public support from other county boards. The vote was close 27/20 voting against it. Fair play to all involved. Its great to see the new posters congratulating themselves as well.
So here we are v Down at 4pm in Croke Park on Sunday. Prime time. Down did not impress me against Wicklow but I'd expect a different animal on Sunday. I thought Wicklow left a fair few scores behind them. They also got plenty of possession which if we can get the same I feel we would do a lot more damage. My main concern is that Down play anything like the defensive system they did against Armagh in Ulster. Our defensive energy needs to improve a lot to cover the runs of Down from deep. It will be interesting as I am not sure I rate Down too highly. Our forward play will give us opportunities. It would be nice to see us kick on. Either way we will learn a lot about this team and management on Sunday and should more than any other game this year reflect we are at." Agreed. I think a lot has been said on McEntee's tenure as Sligo Boss, both positive and negative on this forum. I know you can't put it all down to one game but as levels go, a win would be a real indication of significant progress. My heart says we will do it, my head says we will come up just short against a decent Down side. Either way, I'm looking forward to a trip up with the kids. We can't take any journey to HQ for granted and delighted to see us hang on to the main slot on Sunday.
johncreilly (National) - 18/06/2024 10:17:30