Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from Taypot

Leitrim GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Some drivel on this forum for the last few weeks. You are all wondering how to improve fortune of Leitrim football. Have you considered getting off this forum for a few months, close it down and stop making fools out of yourselves

Taypot (National) - 07/04/2025 09:58:20

Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Super player. But is it just me who thinks Comer is over-rated.? No offence meant - but I just dont rate him that highly at all. Give me Walsh any day of the week."
Correct it's only you that thinks that

Taypot (National) - 14/07/2024 22:04:04

Donegal GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Plus the goal was a complete fluke. I wouldn't blame the keeper, just one of those things that happen in the blink of an eye

Taypot (National) - 15/07/2024 08:53:46

Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "Sligonian will stick a "McGowan In" sign outside Tony Macs. Who has he been too loyal to? I haven't seen too many knocking on the door. What "pretty big" mistakes did they make on the line versus Down? The grass is always greener and maybe you'll be proven right, but I can't see the evidence to suggest that we shouldn't be looking to keep him for another couple of years if he wanted to. I think you should be changing management teams when you are sure a cycle of improvement is over. Are you sure it is? Maybe."
All he wants is the dream team of Mc Gowan and Currid with Joe Keaney in midfield.

Taypot (National) - 18/07/2024 12:17:21

GAA President - Jarlath Burns - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Tony Kelly must have a Munster medal if Jarlath said so….. The resident snowflakes here seem to think he does or says nothing wrong… so he most definitely has a medal…!"
He has a Munster club medal.

Taypot (National) - 22/07/2024 23:04:15

Replying To sligo joe:  "I've no interest in making predictions but I am amused when those that do can fool themselves into believing that 7 correct out of 12 is now in hindsight 7 out of 8, hilarious. You should make your predictions with the bookies and tell them afterwards to ignore the wrong ones, you're a comedian."
It's people like you that prevent people from joining these forums. It's not the Eoinog, Sligoman, Sligonian, johncreilly, bumblebee,southsligo etc etc. I was sitting on the fence wondering should I join to promote interest in our games as we are doing quiet well on the field of play. These people have a genuine affection for the sport . If you don't like what you read then just scroll on to another site.

Taypot (National) - 26/08/2024 14:33:12

S.Gaels to beat Easkey by 3 Coolera by 7 Drumcliffe by 1 Mary's by 2 Johns by 2 Owenmore by 5 Coolaney by 3 Harps by 4

Taypot (National) - 12/09/2024 10:55:50

I was talking to Molaise players. They are embarrassed about stuff that gets written here by multiple forum users but still all from the same person . They are the butt of jokes from other clubs.

Taypot (National) - 17/01/2025 07:52:48

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligoman1234 gives a fair balanced reply to you RealSouthSligo. My posts get edited heavily especially on McEntee. But I was just responding to Sligoman1234 saying McEntee was not on the line. He was in the stand the last 2 games. Not sure why. Football knowledge is not about posting on here. Every game has its own merit and adjust accordingly. You see things in game or you don't. You may not have seen my other latest post before but the changes looked preplanned and I get that but you have to adapt. As I said I defer to others who were there including you but you are the first person to absolve them for the changes. I was critical before on how we close out games. Galway having a 5 on 2 advantage in injury time being another example last summer, we were 14-11 up in that game. Closing out games should be coached into you. 16-8 up how do we close out the game. We were outscored 3 pts to 11 in the last 10-15 mins so something went wrong and its hard not to look at the changes. Fermanagh have the highlights of all their scores on youtube. We don't seem to have much interest defending the new D. Several defenders overran their cover and Lally and McGuinness who were marking space let the keeper in behind for the last score. We had trouble covering their keeper by the looks of it. Things like that should be second nature to the defenders by now. Some of the Sligo players looked out on their feet where as Fermanagh looked like they had plenty in the tank. Did we take off the wrong players and why did we tire and are we conditioned correctly would be questions I'd have. The players do need to look at themselves but when as everyone know's my view on the management it's hard to look past them for me. I feel very strongly that they have got an easy time the last few years whereas some of ye think the opposite. If you look at this year so far I think its fairly obvious they are not as good as some his loyal followers had thought."
When did you last attend a Sligo game? When have you consistently gone to Sligo games either inter county or club? You pick up your poor knowledge from u tube snippets of games, "friends" that you supposedly in touch with, newspaper articles and radio interviews. You name drop stuff about players regularly, even mentioning lads that you believe made mistakes in the last few minutes the last day. You consistently bring up the Galway match because it was one of the games televised. Of course Galway were pushing up on us in the final minutes, they were losing the game. We were well set up until a mistake was made. These things happen. Steven Gerrard slipped and cost Liverpool the premiership. You are critical of the mgt for every day of the last 5 years yet your knowledge of football thought that Sligo would win the All Ireland at U 20 this year when everyone knew they were a pale shadow of the previous 2 years. Would you care to mention your input to Sligo teams ? Also critical of Markievicz Park,Co Board and anything else that moves in Sligo Gaa. All coming from a person living thousands of miles away. It would be great if the administration of this forum would at least remove some of your multiple accounts. It would be a bonus if they were all removed

Taypot (National) - 04/03/2025 07:57:40

Replying To Anto:  "You have 105 posts to your name - is there any of them on Sligo GAA related activity? Are you just on here to criticise contributors who have an opinion on Sligo GAA."
Good question. I have loads of posts about gaa in Sligo. Everyone is free to post but I take exception to any poster using multiple accounts to try and discredit the manager and players. If you didn't know any different and you starting reading posts on this forum you would think that a lot of posters and supporters are extremely unhappy with our manager which is completely untrue. He constantly get fixated on individuals. Keaney,Currid, he even mentioned that Reilly was poorly treated last year when he opted out of the panel. Reilly had been injured and struggled to get back to fitness and went off himself, got his form back and is back playing again. No agenda whatsoever.At the moment he's turned his attention to Cummins who he described as no major loss last weekend and the week previous said he was the managers favourite and he would be playing if he only had one leg . He doesn't attend games so it's all pure waffle from him. So rather than think I am critical of this multiple account holder, could you view my contribution as standing up for the team and manager that take the field. There are some excellent posters on this forum including yourself, they all have one account only !!!!

Taypot (National) - 08/04/2025 16:19:17

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "Sligonian very quiet, McEntee's impending 10 year extension following Declan Rouse's election as chairman must be a worry for him."
Thank Christ for that, don't rock the boat or he will return with a long spiel of rubbish followed by Mr Underhill that will agree with everything he said.

Taypot (National) - 22/05/2025 11:26:05

Replying To Sligonian:  "I spoke to a few people on the Molaise Harps game, Harps were 1-11 to 4 pts up at HT and it finished 1-14 to 14 in a win for Harps. Good win for them. Disappointed for us as we had our chances to make the comeback by all accounts. I was very surprised to hear that Luke Casserly was playing for us. If I am honest I was actually disappointed and frustrated because that means he is no longer involved with Sligo Seniors. As much as it is good for Molaise and we would have taken a heavier beating because by all accounts he was outstanding and the best player on the field. He looked to be pushing for a starting place last year with Sligo and he had a good club championship as most of you would have seen. You would think he was in prime position this year to push on but zero gametime. His performance on Saturday would suggest he is flying and playing well. With McNamara struggling badly and Casserlys ceiling much higher how can management justify him not making the 26 or even starting right now? Should he not be getting chances ahead of McNamara given his struggles. Make sense of that one for me. Carlow game went as expected, given the space on show we exploited it well. Alan was given far too much space for his goal and that is a gift you don't get against top 20 teams. Forwards are playing well as you would expect with the space available. The defending remains an issue. Fermanagh up next away in Brewster. Not sure what to make of Fermanagh, they were very good against Down, then lost to Carlow to beating Longford and Wexford. The game is fixed for Saturday at 5pm in Brewster. Its a 50/50 game although I'd still be confident enough of a win."
You must have been talking to the same "man in the stand" that the other poster was chatting with. I was chatting with another "man in the stand" and he told me he was bang average. Any player not on the named 26 is allowed play with the club, no big deal. Please don't turn him into a Joe Keaney where you see a terrible injustice. You are basing all your talk on third hand information, the same as the other poster with his"man in the stand". Luke is a good player strong fast and comes out at speed with the ball, unfortunately he normally passes the ball losing all the momentum of a fast break. He rarely kicks the ball. That's his weakness. It shouldn't be difficult to change that.

Taypot (National) - 09/06/2025 17:17:11

Roscommon GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Jack L:  "Could have been Dublin in Croker next weekend. With Dublin far from world beaters, a missed opportunity"
Missed opportunity. Ye came last in your group.

Taypot (National) - 16/06/2025 11:50:19

Replying To SligoScot:  "Kevin Mc Stay perfect choice now for Sligo. Get it done CB"
MC Stay is a gentleman. Unfortunately he has health issues which saw him step away from his last post . I wouldn't be going after him.

Taypot (National) - 01/07/2025 09:42:06