Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from MachaireConnacht

Dublin V Roscommon - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "It was absolutely terrible to watch. Very effective for Rossies, and fair play to them for getting what they wanted out of the game, but omg - shocking to pay in for that... On a side note - the Rossie fans on the Hill, didnt half give Mayo some stick... no songs about Galway but they gave Mayo plenty.... The only way to counter those tactics is, tackle hard and hope for turnovers, or get an early lead and force other team to come out an play - Dubs did neither in 1st half. Which in itself was alarming tbh. I will hold judgement until after this weekend, but how the bookies had Dublin as AI favorites is madness imo. After the moaning GR went on with the last day, I expect a much better finely tuned Dublin performance this weekend. Looking forward to the trip down to Kilkenny. For me, the performance this weekend will tell a tale. Also, a word for the Hurlers. That first half performance v Galway was right up there with the best I have seen from a Dublin Hurling team. In the 2nd half, we didnt win enough puck outs or 50:50 balls imo but we fully deserved a draw out of it. They played some really top notch hurling in the game and some great scores. Good to see a good crowd of Dubs in early for the Hurlers also. Hoping for more but at least quite a few arrived in to shout the team on. Anyway, hopefully both the Dublin Hurlers and Footballers kick on now after last weekend."
Dublin invented that style of play, now you know how the whole country felt watching ye play keep ball for minutes on end.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 30/05/2023 16:45:05

Tyrone Club Football - 6 Like(s)

Replying To countyman2022:  "Ye could have yer own championship up there, it really would make sense. Would cut out a lot of the dirt we have seen in recent years and suit our championship down here."
Your comments are a disgrace and embarrassment and run against the founding principals of the GAA. Maybe you would be better off popping the short distance across the water to Wales. You seem to have more in common with them than your fellow Gaels. Recent years? Have you seen the 1983 Dublin v Galway AI final?

MachaireConnacht (National) - 20/01/2023 13:53:38

Galway V Kerry All Ireland Final 2022 - 5 Like(s)
Horrible final for the neutral but being honest if Roscommon won an all Ireland like that I'd be happy. Hurling the winner again this year.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 24/07/2022 21:54:08

Casement Park - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah that's true. There's no doubt that what Hamas did in October was despicable. But Israel's response has been totally disproportionate. While they were entititled to retaliate and seek justice for their own victims, I think it is clear to see that Netanyahu has used it as a pretext to annex more and more Palestinian land & to hell with the loss of life and the ensuing humanitarian catastrophe. I haven't seen anyone in Ireland waving Hamas flags. It is not an Anti-Semitic stance, but a standing in solidarity with a people who are being brutally punished for something that the vast majority had no hand in. I wonder what the Israelis think the end game is? That when this is over that will be that? All they are doing is planting further seeds of hate in Palestinian minds. We saw it in the North albeit on a smaller scale. The British would take a hardline view on the IRA (e.g. the Hunger Strikers) and all it did was recruit more volunteers and damage their own image in the propaganda war. Until both sides realised the war was unwinnable, and were willing to compromise there was no hope of peace. Sadly, they're a long way away from that in the Middle East."
The Israel project is a 100 year plantation on a gigantic scale which has forcibly removed the native Palestinains from something close to 90% of their land to accomodate European, Russian and American Jews. I have huge sympathy for Jewish people and the horrors they had to endure but that was not the correct way to create a safe country. The notion that you can create a country based on a 2000 year old book is mental. It's the equivalent of everyone with the Kelly surname around the world deciding to create a homeland based on the Book of Uí Maine and forcibly removing every non-Kelly from their land in east Galway-south Roscommon.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 22/02/2024 11:24:04

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse"
From Derry, to Galway to Clare, your travelling the country looking for that second brain cell. No sign of you finding it anytime soon.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 24/03/2024 13:15:48

Attendances 2022 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Hurling attendance figures are largely holding up although the Leinster final attendance was pathetic…. Football for the most part is on a rapid downwards tri curve…."
Compare the spectacle of the Munster hurling final yesterday to the Ulster football final last week. The only people who could have possibly found the latter entertaining are coaches who are a minority among Gaelic football fans. Spectators need excitement and action. Martin Breheny is correct, football has become a play thing for coaches who are only interested in a game of chess.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 06/06/2022 12:20:50

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft scoreable "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown on TV to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far and how Smith won that all-star I will never know!"
The condescending arrogance continues. Time to get a new hobby instead of being obsessed with putting down anything from Mayo or Roscommon.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 04/12/2023 10:33:33

Armagh Vs Galway - 3 Like(s)
Whatever about the on field antics absolutely superb support and colour from Armagh. There must have been 30k of them. They nearly single handedly created the atmosphere.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 26/06/2022 17:48:57

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "I presume (The_analyser) that the two capital projects are; * Development of Hyde Park * Centre of Excellence (I have already commented on where I think it should be and given my reasons) With the proposed changes in the design of the senior championship, it looks like that there will be many more championship games. When there are new groups of four, each team will have one game at home, one away and one at a neutral venue. As a result many more games will be played at neutral venues. As most of the main grounds in Connacht are very near the coast line (Pearse Stadium/Galway, Markievicz Park/Sligo, MacHale Park/Castlebar I believe that there is a huge opportunity for Croke Park and Roscommon GAA to seriously consider a major re-development of Hyde Park. A whole range of potential championship fixtures could be facilitated in order to reduce travelling costs for supporters for example; Kerry/Cork v Donegal/Tyrone Mayo v Kildare/Meath/Monaghan/Armagh Galway v Cavan/Monaghan/Meath Sligo v Dublin/Offaly/Meath/Clare Leitrim v Galway/Limerick/Offaly etc etc. (Plus many more possible match-ups which would be great for businesses in the town and for Roscommon GAA) I know that some county boards are in serious debt but I see no reason why Croke Park, Roscommon County Board, Club Rossie, Connacht Council, Business People in Roscommon town and Local Politicians can't put their heads together and at least consider the basic idea/concept. Obviously Roscommon county board have some essential things that must be implemented at Hyde Park as per previous reports. (Dressing rooms / Toilets / Turn styles etc) Some additional things that I think should be considered in the medium to long term in order to make it more attractive to attend a championship match or a concert in Hyde Park are; * Take out 50% of the terrible concreate seats under the stand and move the pitch closer to the main stand. With good project management techniques, this could be done without disturbing the existing "new" pitch and may not cost too much. * Remove the tiny stand on the Athlone Road side and replace it with a new covered stand in order to cover 80% - 100% of people in the terrace. I personally would have no objection to leaving it as a terrace rather than the additional expense of putting in new seating. * Put in a seated stand behind the town goals, with the seating high enough for supporters to get some perspective on the play. Maybe even consider putting the new dressing under the new stand, while also considering a room at a high level for a TV panel. Similar to the stand behind the goal posts in Tolka Park in Dublin. (I live in hope!) I do not expect everyone to agree with me and I am only proposing that some of the above ideas get some consideration at least by those who make the decisions. Maybe I am living in cloud cuckoo land but sometimes you have to go for it if you want to achieve anything. However it critically important that whatever project is implemented that it has been fully critically evaluated from a range of short/medium/long term perspectives and that it does not put undue pressure on the Roscommon county board, as we are a very small county. Major support from Croke Park, Connacht Council and the Government would be needed for a couple of ideas that I have outlined. Great to hear that Club Rossie might be getting going again and that another major draw might be in the pipeline. Really looking forward to the New Year and to see how the team will perform under the new management team."
I'm not just saying it because I'm from Roscommon but why in God's name did the Hyde get demoted as the main Connacht stadium after the big works in the 90s? The location is the best in Connacht apart from Tuam. Either develop Tuam or the Hyde. To be fair Castlebar isn't too bad of a location either. Pearse stadium should never have got promoted as the main or second Connacht stadium.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 09/12/2022 15:52:41

Great grit from the lads today. Armagh had chances for goals but our backs were brilliant by and large. Ben O Carroll causes chaos when he runs at defences. Well done everyone involved. I have to say Armagh have some of the best and friendliest supporters I've ever come across. We've locked horns a few time's in recent years and I think ye are a credit to your county. Hope ye finish the league well and have a good championship.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 19/02/2023 21:03:28

Páirc Uí Chaoimh - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The "working man" and woman and poor have always been attracted to the lowest sorts of entertainment. Just look at the utter tripe that's on TV and most radio. Soccer is just another lowest common denominator and has the same "stars" and values of all the rest of the stuff. We were fortunate to retain a popular culture that was of a higher nature but I doubt that will survive over the next 50 years. So we may make the most of it while it lasts!"
I know what ya mean, when it comes to Big Brother, Love Island and all that reality tv rubbish. I do think though there are some unreal skills in soccer developed from young lads playing in the street. Although it's hard take it seriously now with all the overpaid prima Donna's and the horrible corporate nature of the English clubs. I would say keep the faith with Irish culture. It has faced bigger problems in the past. I always think that despite Norman takeover, Tudor conquest and plantation, we still maintained a unique culture and will still do in the future. Our music, dance, literature and games are too strong to be erased.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 10/02/2024 01:17:20

Another positive side note. Great to see the buzz in the pubs around town on Sundays and into the night we've had home matches. Div 1 has been great for the businesses in town in a trying time for those businesses.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 26/03/2023 22:02:57

Replying To Cbar:  "Congrats to Ross, fully deserved and while there was a lot of guts and hunger shown I was impressed (and frustrated) with how Ross managed the game. There was a time in the 2nd half when Mayo looked like we were going to go ahead, Ross keeper was under serious pressure. But the Ross players slowed it down, didn't lose the head and that showed a maturity to me. Serious defense and kicked some lovely points. Sadly I see a lot of Mayo fans blaming the ref.. it wasn't the ref that stopped Mayo from scoring for 20 odd minutes playing with a strong wind. Good luck to the Rossies... no reason why you can't make a SF"
Thanks to yourself and other Mayo fans who have been very gracious in defeat. I think the break will suit Mayo and there is now 6 weeks for yer management to rethink a few things when it comes to breaking down defences. I'd echo Endgame above on how the keeper holding on to the ball could have been very costly. Mayo pressure there nearly paid dividends and I'm sure Galway will target that area. I know it also depends on lads making themselves available to receive a pass so hopefully that is worked on.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 10/04/2023 14:49:25

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "All Stars are for AI Finalists with 3 token ones for the losing semi Finalists and League winners."
That is correct but needs to be reviewed after this season with all the additional games.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 08/06/2023 10:42:59

Páirc Uí Chaoimh - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "You're right I wouldn't. Clearly the forefathers of this county werent looking to blow up the country into smithereens. I know your agenda and I'll never agree with it so jog on now like a good lad."
You've never heard of the Clerkenwell bombing then.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 19/01/2024 16:21:08

World Cup Final Clashes With Club Semi Finals - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cuhullain:  "Freedom of speech has nothing to do with mobile phones, dancing at the crossroads or rambling from house to house, story telling or games of 25, or other stuff mentioned. Sport and the way it is brought to us has nothing to do with music, the wren boys or bonfires. Culture change happens naturally over the years, but rapid change can bring culture shock."
No need to look down your nose, that stuff kept people binded together. The culture shock has been the decimation of community and it has a profound impact on society, especially mental health.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 11/12/2022 12:17:31

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tribesman123:  "Totally agree with the last point. Absolutely no doubt that if it was the other way round the replay would already be scheduled. I dont think Glen will appeal - they seem to be going for the honourable route and taking this on the chin, kudos to them for doing that. However, RULES ARE RULES. There will be an asterix on this all ireland for crokes if there isnt justice, unfortunately"
Thers's no kudos in that. They might not get out of Derry again for another few years nevermind Ulster. No good those players thinking in ten years time we really should have appealed that. The galant defeat is far too ingrained in the Irish psyche. I say fight it and most of the country will be behind them.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 24/01/2023 13:28:31

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Roscommon were poor in Connacht final with Galway dominant. A lucky goal in garbage time made it look tighter than it was."
Never dismiss garbage time goals

MachaireConnacht (National) - 26/06/2022 15:34:24

Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Curlew66:  "Hope you are enjoying the friendly life and hospitality in the West of Ireland. You are probably meeting the wrong kind of Rossie in bars. There is no great rivalry between our two counties, I find myself supporting the Oak Leaf in most matches including next Sunday's league final as well as the 'Brandywell Boys' on their big days. You have a big Summer ahead , good luck with all that."
Ya can't take this lad seriously, he has multiple accounts on here upticking and attempting to debate with himself and going by whats between the ears I'd wager he's matching with his own multiple tinder accounts. He's over on the Galway thread trying to stir up rubbish there. There's zero Derry Roscommon rivalry, I'd be shocked if he's even from there.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 24/03/2024 15:56:19

Tyrone Club Football - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "I'm guessing the furthest you were North is Jones Road, and Blackpool for your holidays."
Too much time looking jealously across the water by the sounds of him.

MachaireConnacht (National) - 20/01/2023 16:55:24