Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from letsgetgoing

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 6 Like(s)

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "simple business model really. Old people will be dead soon so cant make money from someone in the ground. Younger people more willing to splurge than the last generation so marketing to them is 100% the correct choice from a business perspective. I doubt people in many fields sit around a board room and think "how can we make less money and cater to a cliental that wont be around for much longer""
Moderator. Time to take DCFCGAA off the forum for constant trolling. For example, this morning s/he appeared on the Roscommon thread at 8.26, 8.27 and 8.28. before moving on to this thread at 8.31. Might be worth checking also if s/he has a couple of accounts.

letsgetgoing (National) - 23/06/2023 11:13:26

Dublin V Roscommon - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "That's football these days for you. I used to enjoy watching it but gone are the days of releasing fast runners into the corner, lads running off the shoulder, rampaging wing backs and high fielding inside forwards. Give me the old days of Dublin v Mayo man to man games any day over this hand passing in your own half for 5m with your keeper playing in the half forwards. Lads training hard for 12 months of the year to play tag rugby."
JOXER. Did Ciaran Kilkenny not act as quarter back for years implementing Jason Sherlocks basketball tactics? Circulating the ball over and back endlessly until the right gap appeared. I did not hear you complaining then! Part of the problem last Sunday was all 15 Dublin players retreating very deep for much of the match. It takes two to tango. I agree with you, that it is not as enjoyable as the old days. Jim McGuiinness and Rory Gallagher have a lot to answer for, but their players (Donegal) have All Ireland medals in their back pockets. Up to Dessie and the lads to come up with a new plan. PS. If the GAA fix the Kildare v Roscommon match for Croke Park will Kildare have an advantage as Glen Ryan seems to think that they are too familiar with the pitch? (Playing too many games there)

letsgetgoing (National) - 30/05/2023 16:24:35

Dublin V Roscommon - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Exactly and underneath the large Dublin banner that was unfurled before the Football started. ;o) Long day - I was in there just after 1pm ;o)"
Good job you did not have to travel to Croke Park from Westport, Letterkenny, or Bantry. Many Dublin supporters could not even travel from the local pubs for the hurling game. Could not believe it.

letsgetgoing (National) - 02/06/2023 10:53:04

Championship Predictions Competition - W15 - AI Final!!! - 5 Like(s)
I agree with you Lockjaw. The administratori have you email address and should be able to contact you. You deserve 2 tickets for your service throughout the year. I would encourage all users of the Hogan stand to click on your previous post as I have done.

letsgetgoing (National) - 17/07/2023 13:11:58

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations Monaghan. Fantastic achievement for Vinny Cory in his first year. Delighted particularly for your senior players who have given so much service and now get a chance to play in another All Ireland semi final. It would be great for them if they could win the semi final and get a chance to play in an ALL IRELAND FINAL. Most neutrals including myself will be supporting you.

letsgetgoing (National) - 01/07/2023 21:47:31

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Ben O Carroll deserves a mention, I thought he was outstanding and is such a handful for any defence. We will have a really top class forward in 2 years time when he develops physically and another year at this level."
I agree that Ben O Carroll had a good game and never stopped getting out in front of his man and giving options to the rest of the team. He will no doubt get much stronger with S&C over the next couple of years. While Enda Smith was undoubtedly the man of the match, Dylan Ruane and Cian McKeon also put in outstanding shifts. All four players ran themselves into the ground along with many others. TV for example would never give you an indication of the amount of unselfish running Dylan Ruane did off the ball, making space for other players and dragging his opposition number and others at pace, all over the place. He reminded me of Liam Silk for Galway against Armagh last year in Croke Park. He must be a nightmare to play against as he has pace, power and outstanding stamina, draining energy continously from the opposition players. For a relative newcomer, I was really impressed, but I trust Davy Burke and his selectors to pick the team as they see fit. Diarmuid Murtagh is the fittest I have seen him in years and has improved both his pace and stamina. I think that we are a very fit team and great credit is due to the S&C guys and to the players for putting in the really hard work over many months and years. However we can't be waiting around for 2 years for Ben and some other recent good under 21's to get stronger. Niall and Conor Daly, Ciaran Murtagh, Niall Kilroy and some others will also be two years older and coming to the end of their careers. THIS YEAR AND NEXT YEAR IS WHEN WE SHOULD REALLY GO FOR IT. I personally think that we can really challenge this year as we can put it up to any team if our players click on the day. Getting over Kildare is the next step and hopefully topping the group. Why not! The bookies have 7 teams ahead of us to win the All Ireland, four (Mayo, Galway, Tyrone Armagh) which we have already beaten in the league or championship this year, as well as drawing with the favourites Dublin in their home pitch. Fantastic to see about 8,000 Rossies in the Hyde last Sunday on a bank holiday weekend. Yes folks, Roscommon people also have kids to look after as well. (About 12% of the total population or equivalent to about 26% of the working population). Let's see another great turnout for the Kildare game. There is something sturring. Time to make hay!! NOW. A special word of thanks is due to the Club Rossie team who put in some effort with the recent draw. With sky high electricity, fuel and food prices over the last few months, plus increases in mortgage intetest rates, it was a very difficult time to run a fund raiser. Their huge efforts should also be acknowledged. I am very proud to be a Rossie.

letsgetgoing (National) - 06/06/2023 22:06:45

Sligo GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Great result for Sligo tonight. Well done to all concerned. Any day you beat a Kerry team in an All Ireland semi final is worth celebrating. Hopefully you can go the full way now.

letsgetgoing (National) - 06/05/2023 20:25:46

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "Anyone that watches the full clip (still up on the TG4 player) will know there is nothing in that incident. The reaction of Matthew Ruane tells its own tale. What we have today is modern day "supporters" who sit at home instead of attending matches and go onto to twitter complaining during and after matches. Trying to get Enda Smith suspended calling him a thug etc for doing nothing wrong those "supporters" need to have a good long look at themselves they simply give the many thousands of good Mayo supporters a bad name."
On-line journalists Mark Donlon and Gary Connaughton also need to take a long hard look at themselves and decide if their recent articles and twitter attachments are biased, unfair and did not give a full and accurate account of what actually happened. In fairness to Enda Smith, Matthew Ruane, the linesman who was in very close proximity to the incidence and the referee, the camera angle gives a false impression of what actually happened. The evidence that I saw sitting close to the event in the stand and at a different angle to the TV camera was; * Matthew Ruane held on to the ball for a prolonged period of time on the ground, with Enda Smith using his hands trying to dislodge it. * With the ball lying between Matthew's his legs, Enda used his right foot trying to dislodge it. Most of the pressure of Enda's right foot came in contact with the ball and very little if any pressure came on to Matthew Ruane leg. * Matthew Ruane face did not grimace from any pain and he did not feel his leg. If a full stamp had occurred this would not be the case. In fairness to Matthew Ruane he did not confront Enda Smith or complain to the linesman who was right beside him at that time. He just got up and ran back into position. (Not the typical action of an injured player) * The linesman who saw all the action from very close up (Not from the angle of the TV camera) did not take any action. I would like to know why Mark Donlon could attach the full prolonged action of Enda Smith scoring the goal in his article but could not attach the full showing of the event he was mainly writing about in his article. He just attached a very biased and unfair twitter link, which was a distorted account of what actually happened. Gary Connaughton's article also attached the same twitter feed. Lads, you more of the evidence, why did you not use it? This is lazy, unprofessional and biased journalism who have blacked the name of one of our best and sporting players. At least have the decency to show the full account of what happened in your articles, and let all the GAA supporters decide for themselves! Not good enough. Fair play to all the Mayo supporters in the stand who were also close to the action. At least like Matthew Ruane, they did not make a big deal of it either.

letsgetgoing (National) - 08/03/2023 09:10:19

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Superb performance by Roscommon's Aoife O ' Rourke tonight in defending her European boxing gold medal. Completely dominating the fight (5-0) at this level was very impressive. Congratulations also to Amy Broadhurst and Kellie Harrington in bringing home a total of three gold medals to Ireland. I know this is a GAA forum but sometimes a good news story should be told in order to cheer us all up!

letsgetgoing (National) - 22/10/2022 19:39:09

Very strange game yesterday that could have gone either way. I felt that the manner in which the Derry manager Rory Gallagher approached the game was very poor and does no service to our great game. 1. He never stopped complaining to the linesmen and referee from the first minute to the last and should have been yellow carded much earlier and red carded before the end. He is certainly not showing a good example to his players and support staff about being cool under pressure. 2. He clearly set him team out to immediately intimidate the Roscommon team in the second half, by hitting / pulling off the ball, sledging (Chrissy McKaigue in particular). Roscommon had no option but to react which resulted in a terrible second half. I also acknowledge that we not a team of angles ourselves. 3. His style of play / coaching with 15 men behind the ball is destroying the game again. Himself and Jim McGuinness have a lot to answer for! I believe that players of the quality of Chrissy McKaigue, Brendan Rogers, Conor Glass and Shane McGuigan etc deserve more. At least Roscommon have moved on somewhat, from a similar negative game plan which existed last year. I personally thought that the referee lost control of the game and both teams can feel hard done by. The best thing that you could say about his performance was that he was consistently inconsistent. I thought that the RTE's coverage of the game was very poor. There was no real discussion on the major talking point from a Roscommon perspective of why the referee pulled back Cathal Heneghan when through on an open goal which may have put Roscommon 8 points clear. On a positive note: There was some excellent points scored when under severe pressure. We created several goal and point chances which we did not take. Hopefully we can improve on our score taking over the next few weeks. Keith Doyle looks to be developing well in the last few games and gives us a good option if Nolan or Harney are having an off day. In fact he is really put his hand up for selection. All our mid fielders, including Doyle look to have improved their fitness and mobility and speed around the park since last year. We showed a bit of fight when we went behind while playing against the strong wind, to get a draw. Hopefully we will have lots of supporters in Tullamore next Sunday, as Offaly have improved significantly since the start of the season. We really have to beat both Offaly and Galway to get promotion this year. I think we can do it if the team plays to its potential.

letsgetgoing (National) - 14/03/2022 13:40:49

Dublin GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Played badly and drew the game. Pretty good outcome. A few second choice lads had off day but showed good heart to come back."
You must not have been the match Barney if that is the best you can come up with. Very disrespectful to the fantastic display by Derry team but also to Dublin's so called "second choice players". It was the best team that Dublin could field on the day. As per many of your many previous posts, you see what you what to see and hear what you want to hear. In fairness to many other Dublin posters (Jimbodub, Realdub, Fionn, MesAmis ctowers etc) they gave credit to the better team on the day; DERRY. I think that some of the "second choice players" played ok and that it was some of the senior players that did not play well. Brian Fenton was completely out played by Conor Glass and Brenden Rogers at mid-field. I actually think that young McGinnis had a much better match than Fenton and I expect to see him in the championship team. Not sure why he was the one taken off. Cian Murphy and Sean MacMahon playing in the full back line scored 3 points between them while Ciaran Kilkenny and Niall Scully total was only 0-1. Where was John Small when Eoin McEvoy came thundering through the middle to score 2-2 from center half back. The fact of the matter was that Derry were clearly the best team on the day but that Dublin deserve great credit for coming back from the dead on several occasions. Your recommendation that "Dublin 1/2 to beat Derry on Sunday is also a great bet" did not go to plan either. Was it really a "Pretty good outcome"?

letsgetgoing (National) - 01/04/2024 10:47:24

2022 All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "This weekend will backfire on the GAA. Bringing Mayo fans for a 6pm throw in on a Saturday evening….I'm sure Clare and the Rossies are wondering the same. We also have our minors playing Kildare in Tullamore the next day in an all Ireland quarter final…why not make it a double header of Mayo v Kildare? You couldn't make it up. We have a round of club league fixtures too in Mayo on Sunday so good luck. With the cost of fuel and accommodation I predict the smallest Mayo crowd in Croke Park in a good few years…probably v Cork in 2011."
I agree with you 100% yew_tree. A double header for Kildare and Mayo fans in Tullamore makes perfect sense to me. The GAA are more concerned with satisfying SKY Sports than they are genuine GAA supporters. At short notice the price of getting a hotel in Dublin on a Saturday night is really out of the question. Expecting parents and children to travel all the way back to Bangor, Ballycastle, Bellacorick etc (Mayo) in the middle of the night just shows what the GAA hierarchy thinks of you all. The Leinster Final involving Galway only started at 7.00pm last Saturday night just to satisfying Sky Sports again. Some Galway supporters would not have got back to Cliften and Connemara until the middle of the night. The GAA needs to cop themselves on. As a Rossie living in Dublin the games in Dublin suit me, but I support your call for a Kildare v Mayo double header in Tullamore 100%. I would have been more than happy to travel to Tullamore or Portlaoise to see the Roscommon v Clare game.

letsgetgoing (National) - 07/06/2022 15:03:03

Club Final Expected Crowd. - 3 Like(s)
As a die hard Rossie fan I want to applaud both teams for giving us a great game in very bad conditions. Brigid's as total outsiders really put it up to Glen and can be very proud of themselves. It will be a very difficult defeat to take for Brigid's and Roscommon fans but most Roscoommon supporters I have talked to tonight, would not begrudge Glen their win. Top performances by Conor Glass and Ben O Carroll. Surely these performances should be taken into consideration during the 2024 All Stars debate. (To perform in an All Ireland final is impressive). Glad for Malacahy O' Rourke also as he is a decent guy. Great performance also by St Thomas's. At least one All Ireland cup is crossing the Shannon this year and hopefully there will be more to follow. Keep the head up Brigid's, you did yourselves proud. You will be back again on the big stage as you are a very young team.

letsgetgoing (National) - 21/01/2024 19:44:23

Good point. Travelling down from Donegal to Roscommon on long winter nights is totally different to travelling down from April to August. I believe he has three young kids so I am sure he might want to help out during school time. He is entitled to make that decision. I wish Endgame would give up on seeing things that may not be there. We now should concentrate on the future. He has a major chip on his shoulder about management and authority for some reason. John Evens, Kevin McStay, Anthony Cunningham. Who is next? He needs to start living in the real world. (Roscommon are 11th favourites at 66/1 for the All Ireland) As Analyser previously mentioned several top class players have not committed this year, which they are entitled to do, and several others are missing for genuine reasons. In fairness to Davy Burke, he did keep us in division 1 this year and hopefully will do it again. Time to get behind the players and management starting in Croke Park next week. The Dubs are 1/7 to win that match, so our expectations should be realistic. I am optimistic that we will see an improvement but some of our players could well be playing in a Sigerson Cup Final a few days before that match. Two top quality Sigerson semi-finals on tomorrow night. I would expect that they could be viewed on YouTube. Try higher education gaa or Sigerson cup and you should be able to see both matches live as they are at different times. Fancy Ulster University (Canavan brothers, C. Glass, E. Doherty etc) and UCD (Ben O' Carroll, Dara Gregg etc) to make the finals.

letsgetgoing (National) - 07/02/2024 16:57:24

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 3 Like(s)
Well done to JP, Noreen and to all the McManus family for their enormously generous donation to all the GAA clubs in the country, as specified in their letter to the various county boards. How people on this forum and politicians such as Jennifer Whitmore can criticise this fantastic gesture is beyond me. I hope that all the GAA people in Wicklow remember that Jennifer did not want you to get the money at the next election!! JP and his family have organised many events and donated millions to various charities over many years. He is providing many jobs and bringing the Ryder Cup to Limerick in a few years time. Thanks JP.

letsgetgoing (National) - 14/12/2023 17:53:05

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)
What have the following eight Kerry players named to start tomorrow all got in common; Shane Ryan, Graham O' Sullivan, Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley, Gavin White, Diarmuid O' Connor, Sean O' Shea & David Clifford? Answer: They are all teachers which may have given them a big advantage in terms of training potential and rest/sleep over the last few weeks. As the margins between victory and defeat can be very small, it will be interesting to see will it have any implications tomorrow. Stephen Cluxton is the only teacher on the named Dublin team. Hopefully it will be a great game and will not be decided by a mistake.

letsgetgoing (National) - 29/07/2023 19:47:25

Longford GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Longford played a nice style of football. Great to see some long kickouts and quick long balls into the forward line who looked dangerous. Well done Longford.

letsgetgoing (National) - 21/01/2023 19:38:37

Replying To B&G:  "I think Willie stated it aptly earlier. If you don't pay the rent, you will be evicted and that was the case for Monaghan and Roscommon"
After 42 minutes, the score was 1-8 to 1-8 having gifted Derry a goal and missing a couple of goal chances ourselves. Then Derry outscored us 1-11 to 0-1. Hard to make sense of that. I certainly can't! Fair play to Derry for proving what an outstanding team they are in that second half and to our near neighbours Leitrim on getting promotion.

letsgetgoing (National) - 24/03/2024 18:17:37

Well done to Aoife O' Rourke sister of Roscommon footballer Lisa on winning another European Boxing medal tonight. Both are very impressive boxers. Hopefully she will go on and defend her European crown with another gold medal. Up and Rossies!

letsgetgoing (National) - 19/10/2022 18:37:48

Three matches at least to go in the senior championship. Not a great start but it is only fair for definitive judgements on all involved at the end of the campaign. Advice and maybe even a little bit of encouragement for how the team could improve is ok but continuous and sometimes historical negative comments is draining and demotivational. It might even make one or two additional players consider their options next year. We certainly don't want to become like the Galway forum where many posters seem to know it all! (Several amature players and management who have given their all for years taken to bits on a regular basis by guys who were probably subs on the junior team and never saw a gym in their lives). All county players put in serious work and deserve to be respected, treated well (win, lose or draw) in ALL counties. The vast majority of Roscommon supporters are generally reasonable and fair from my experience. They know like Monaghan supporters, that we have limited playing and financial resources and have been punching above our weight for many years. Hopefully we can find the odd knock-out punch before the year is out.

letsgetgoing (National) - 24/04/2024 13:45:55