Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from reffingmad

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Megane98:  "Far from a super pundit I am Cannyfixit but this man has it almost right with the amount of lads that have gone from the panel there's a couple more he has missed that have played pivotal roles for Roscommon in the last three years and if they were treated with respect and looked after by the management like they were under evans then they wud still be on the panel and most of the starting 15 from yesterday wouldn't be even part of that panel for obvious reasons! From wat iv seen and heard and read up on, 90% of the lads named in that post are playing unreal football for there clubs since they have left the panel and rightly so because they are fully accomplished and trained intercounty footballers! I know for a fact they wud easily take the place off at least 5 to 7 players who lined out yesterday and I would be a lot more confidant like anyone would going into a Connacht final against a top 5 team of galway if they were still part of the panel! Its impossible to take anything from the game yesterday, yes we played good all round football and kicked a big score against Leitrim but lads come on Leitrim are probably the worst team in Ireland and have been for many a year, a good senior club team would have bet them yday! Donegal went out yesterday against a Tyrone team who are reigning ulster champions and have held onto their big experienced strong players because their manager knows he's f***** without them simply and they blew Donegal away simply because Donegal went out with a host of youth and inexperienced intercounty players and they didn't know what hit them! As it stands for Roscommon we are the Donegal now of Connacht and we're coming up against the reining champions of Connacht and galway are looking at more than jus retaining a Connacht title this year and it will prove evident in two weeks when they face us! Galway like Tyrone have held onto there big names no matter how old they are they still know how to get over the line and win hard, Roscommon have completely gone the opposite way!"
get over John Evans, he barely won a championship game when he was here. truth of the matter is that players left for various reasons, some for work reason, some to travel and some management didn't feel were good enough and that's their prerogative. we played yesterday against a very week team and we hammered them, we had a game plan, far superior fitness and better players. Maybe KMcS has done what he said he'd do and concentrate on the championship and maybe just maybe he could pull it off. As for worrying about who will mark Comer let me tell you as a full back in my time I'd much rather mark Comer than to see Diarmuid Murtagh coming into be marked. lets get behind the team for once and see what happens

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 20/06/2017 06:24:40

GAA Officials - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Is it time referee's had no say in who does umpire? It's usually their friends or relations who are more worried about where they are feeding after game."
Where do you recommend getting these VOLUNTEERS from?. They give up an awful amount of their time most weekends of the year. If the are doing it for a dinner I'd hope it's a 4 course in a Michelin star restaurant.

reffingmad (National) - 21/03/2022 09:48:44

The Super 8S - 4 Like(s)
as the dust settles on another Super 8 defeat, lets put it into perspective, 1. we were well beaten by the greatest team ever in Gaa, 2. we went into the year minus our two most consistent players in C. Murtagh and N. McInnerney, and we still win Connacht beating both Galway and mayo away. 3. Add Compton, Harney, O'Rourke, devanney and yesterdays task is multiplied, Seanie Mc and Ian Kilbride also missing from last year. 4. some positives are the Dalys back playing well. Cathal Heneghan added to panel(hopefully his operation went well), Conor Cox, Conor Hussey looks like a number 6 and hopefully ties that position down. 5. Cathal Cregg got his Connacht medal. hopefully get our strongest panel together for 2020 and see where it takes us. see ye in Cork

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 21/07/2019 19:34:06

Roscommon managment - 4 Like(s)

Replying To HarryMancini:  "Time to replace the managment, theres no way a team can perform this badly after how well they performed over the last 3 years"
Maybe sort out your own management and tell them not let the players pick the team.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 25/03/2017 22:54:49

Galway Minor Footballers 2019 - 4 Like(s)
Best of luck to the Galway minors in the final. I've watched a number of their games this year and have been impressed with them and their management.

reffingmad (Galway) - 12/08/2019 16:27:07

Dublin V Roscommon - 4 Like(s)

Replying To superdub:  "Referee is only short of putting a Roscommon jersey on"
You obviously weren't at the game with this comment. He was very inconsistent to both teams but particularly harsh on Roscommon

reffingmad (National) - 03/03/2019 16:10:27

The Sunday Game - 3 Like(s)
Has the Sunday Game in it's current format run its course? Or are the current analysts just not up to scratch? Last night's program was so bad I went in and watched Love Island with the Mrs.

reffingmad (National) - 29/07/2019 10:21:10

Kerry V Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To kevin03:  "High challenge is a yellow only. Black only for a pull down. Please learn the rules"
Actually a red card offence, dangerous play.

reffingmad (National) - 11/08/2019 18:15:31

The Next Senior Football Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To dave1988:  "Any name"
Keith Beirne. Not gonna add much to our forward line imho

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 11/12/2018 20:33:46

New Sunday Game Night Time Host. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Pat was given the gig 10 or 12 years ago for a short while and he was atrocious, constantly interrupting guests and not letting them finish their points before moving on to the next one."
Sounds very like Jacqui Hurley. Plenty of good replacements out there but I'm sure whoever gets it, she will be well deserving of it

reffingmad (National) - 17/10/2022 14:36:10

Roscommon Vs Monaghan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tim_NicebutDim:  "He came on in the second half. Was basically pulled and dragged for the few minutes he was on. Got involved in something off the ball (didn't see it - but linesman did). Straight red."
I'm sure he is used to a little pulling and dragging in training when being marked by the Wylie brothers, or do they not do that anymore?

reffingmad (National) - 04/02/2019 13:43:23

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Megane98:  "After looking at Galway's display today, can anyone in there right mind give Roscommon a half a chance against them in a Connacht final in Pearce stadium!? Considering we beat Leitrim first that is!"
Didn't see much to be overly concerned. Galway are beatable if we get the supply into forwards. Just have to beat Leitrim first...

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 11/06/2017 19:07:08

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Where is it the Smith's are rumored to be going?"
Narnia

reffingmad (National) - 21/08/2023 12:51:07

GAA Officials - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "That's why I said inter county level :)"
Yes but where do you get referees for all these club games if all these referees are doing umpire duties.

reffingmad (National) - 22/03/2022 09:40:12

Goal of the year 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Obviously biased but Con O'Callaghan's goal against Tyrone was a thing of beauty Fearless, direct, skilful, with fantastic technique to leave a very good shot stopper in Morgan completely helpless Just top drawer stuff and football at its best.. you don't see many like that A peach of a goal and set the tempo for the rest of the match Any other one come to mind that yiz enjoyed from either code?"
a bit biased myself but I think Cian Connolly's goal for Roscommon v Galway in Connacht Final was the best goal. it involved movement, long distance foot pass and a cool finish.

reffingmad (National) - 11/12/2017 19:50:50

National Football League 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Done is a lucky boy to only get one game, however it was inevitable considering previous suspension for similar offence. As for Higgins, I don't think he warranted any suspension. Draw a line under it and move on.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 30/01/2019 12:14:26

Club Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "I was at game and I couldn't agree totally with that summary. Black card didn't appear to get any complaints from Faithleachs and bridgids player was fouled deliberately going through on goal. In fact David Rooney from Faithleachs should have got a second yellow shortly after he got his first one for giving away the penalty. Yes could have been a black card for bridgids player alright. I was in line with last goal and it definitely wasn't a square ball. Senan backed in from a long way out once ball was kicked. I'd have thought brids 2nd goal was more of a square ball. Ref was never signalling a penalty at end as there wasn't a faithleachs player within 20 yards of the goal when ball was kicked in. Now everyone was confused at the way it finished. One thing throughout that game was you never felt Faithleachs were going to win. Don't know who said ross gaels v Boyle was level at ht. Gaels were 6 pts up at least and could have been double it. 11 weeks is a long time between games and a lot of teams will be better by then. Section A looks straight forward with the three teams on top going through plus one from Faithleachs, Pearses and Boyle who all have to play each other in last three rounds. Section B is already looking like Clan and Strokestown. Elphin could catch Strokestown in that game but not Clan. When is the Kilmore v Clan fixture? An awful lot of games over by half time. Very small crowds at games I was at Friday and Sunday. Standard in general is poor. Wouldn't pick too many county players from them."
Faithleachs player who was black carded incident happened on half way line. Offence was not a black card offence. Last goal was clearly square ball, Senan was in the square long before ball was kicked which linesman told referee but he didn't listen. Referee signalled a penalty and ran nearly 30 yards towards goal before again blowing whistle and indicating game over. Even Frankie was giving out about penalty.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 16/05/2017 22:43:51

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
I quiet like the team for Sunday. I was expecting Cian Connolly to start in place of Stack. Connolly will do damage when introduced. Best of luck to team and management.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - 13/06/2017 23:00:50

David Gough To Referee The Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To facethepuckout:  "David Gough was totally compromised in this game and it showed both ways at different times. Huge non calls for clear kerry frees in the last mins of injury time giving Dublin the turnovers they needed when they were on the rack."
What about Tom O'Sullivan not getting a second yellow? Gough was just poor today.

reffingmad (National) - 01/09/2019 17:48:15

Neil Mcgee Retirement - 2 Like(s)
Would love to see Neil on The Sunday Game as he talks alot of sense and no bullshit outta him. Knows the game insideout

reffingmad (National) - 29/09/2022 20:34:08