Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from rossy15

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 6 Like(s)
What's Gavin trying to achieve Never seen someone trying to make a stand against something look so uncomfortable !!! We're not talking to broadcast media but must justify our stance to print media with broadcast media n the room..... like what the ????

rossy15 (National) - 25/06/2017 21:26:29

Goody Two-Shoes - 4 Like(s)
Martin carney is mayo man I hope he's not commentating next day

rossy15 (National) - 18/09/2016 18:20:54

Division 1 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What about the Tyrone score where James McCarthy was tripped by a their man off the ball trying to tackle the player shooting or the clip they showed of eoghan o gara on the 21 hard line about to shoot when caught around the head and mcquilan 5 metres away and Tyrone go up other end and score. It happened all night yet one clip is all that's mentioned at the very end. not even a mention of McCarthy injury where he was on pitch a full five minutes standing in one leg or the sending off all they showed was coopers shoulder, seriously one sided footage that don't give you the full picture of a game. Judging by the Kilkenny Waterford match you would sweat Kilkenny were the only team that scored haha never judge a game by highlights my friend it can mislead you something terrible"
I was only saying the last free was never a free .... purely stating the obvious friend ! Obviously a touchy subject tho ....

rossy15 (National) - 12/02/2017 23:21:54

Are Donegal a real live contender in 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Given the raft of retirements and persistent rumours of unease in the camp, are Donegal a real contender in 2017? I have to say I dont think they are. Sure they still have some top class footballers, but the losses of McLoone and MacNiallis in particular do not bode well. Do Donegal have the strength in depth to replace these lads?
Would be very interested in Lockjaws opinion on this and the other Donegal lads and lassies.
The wheels do seem to have come off a little lads, have they? Is their truth that ye know of in the rumors of unrest? Heard from a reliable source recently that a certain ex player might be planting negative seeds locally re RG also?

Its very hard to see Donegal of 2017 beating Tyrone/Mayo or Kerry this year. I couldnt see them beating the Dubs atall I am afraid.

What say ye folk of Tir Chonaill?"
Donegal are this current dublin teams bogey team so if anyone's gonna take them out this year I wouldn't bet against donegal ... probably won't win sam but are they afraid of the dubs ... are they hell!!!!

rossy15 (National) - 19/01/2017 21:17:25

Dr Crokes vs S'neil - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "And what would someone from Roscommon know about bottle or winning?"
Ha And if that's ur best come back . Point proven boy !

rossy15 (National) - 17/03/2017 20:17:41

Shock Results Of 2024 - 3 Like(s)
Flaker with respect when u have Ryan ondonoghue out during the week talking about not being far off winning Sam it's not hard to see why posters get a go off ye losing to London in the fbd Most people wud probably like to See Mayo winning Sam -genuinely - however yer players need to learn a bit of humility who knows if that ever happens maybe yer day will come

rossy15 (National) - 07/01/2024 20:39:04

Dublin propaganda - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "Keegan scored two of the points of the season against Tyrone, as well as nullifying Cavanagh, so this idea that he can't play football is nonsense."
Ha ... ya after he got Cavanagh sent off !

rossy15 (National) - 27/09/2016 20:20:13

Roscommon v Galway CONNACHT SFC FINAL - 3 Like(s)

Replying To rossie96:  "The point isn't Walsh knowing our lineup. The point he is knows the injuries. They know a weaker player has to come in place of Collins which wouldn't have happened if we didn't leak it. Gives them more confidence going into game, especially Comer, who knows he has the advantage on whoever we throw in at full back."
It's called having confidence in ur panel Pretending Collins was fit all week wouldn't exactly instill confidence in whomever they have down to replace him would it .. or the team around him for that matter ... time to get over it man !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - 05/07/2016 16:15:34

Galway vs Donegal - 3 Like(s)
Maybe just maybe that Galway team are a little burnt out ..i said it after fbd final given yer fitness level compared to ours Galway were aiming to get promoted.and so ye did Like ourselves last year it's difficult to sustain all throughout the year Ye haven't become a bad team over night a lot of silly talk being talked I suppose like mcstay said when you win your brilliant when u loose ur useless... Take a breath lads and look at the big picture ye are still n championship and in division 1 next year Best of luck against Donegal

rossy15 (Galway) - 11/07/2017 17:56:21

Meath vs Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Congratulations to Donegal and the huge support you brought. I have very mixed emotions after that, hugely disappointed but also so proud of the effort by all the lads, a great game of football, got to say neither team deserve to lose and we had a genuine call for free at death denied. We have made progress and next year I think we will see another improvement. Thank you to Andy all the back room staff, Graham and all the lads, you give so much to the cause , Best wishes to Donegal for the remaining of the year. Hon the Royal"
Thought he were certs for the qtr finals royal Dunne Disappointing enough really .... good luck in 2018 ... can't get much worse anyways !!!

rossy15 (National) - 08/07/2017 21:50:01

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Horrid lot a nonsense on here Performance is the most important thing next week Then after that establishing ourselves as a serious team in the connacht championship like we used to be Reality is folks were probably the one team in the last 8 jd afraid of . It's up to team and mgt to change that and I hope they do but please don't let's lose the run of our selves

rossy15 (Roscommon) - 20/07/2017 23:02:34

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To endgame:  "Conor Carroll is developing in to a top keeper. That's about it though from today. I know we were missing players but we had an extra man for most of the second half and did nothing with it. Davy Burke talks a good game but I'm starting to wonder is it just talk. Without Mark McHugh around, our defence did not impress. I don't understand why Cox is starting. A bad misplaced pass from him started the rot in the second half. Galway have problems too. Their best players are injury prone and they haven't kicked on at all from reaching the All Ireland final in '22. Can't understand how they're among the favourites for Sam. Next Sunday in The Hyde is a big game . The loser will be heading for the drop I'd say. Any chance of the Brigid lads being available for the Galway game. At least Enda Smith has served his suspension. We just don't have the strength in depth to carry those losses as today's toothless display showed."
Oh for gods sake end game will u ever stop criticising managers - first off it's day one of league yes disappointing result but that's about it we're a small County and Down a lot of players had the goal been awarded we'd have got a draw so even playing poorly there wasn't a lot in it - There's 6 games left hopefully we get enough wins I think we all agree a good run in championship and that elusive championship win n croke park has to be the goal this year Ultimately If we don't can u please move on from questioning managers it's been constant with u since John evans time

rossy15 (National) - 28/01/2024 21:13:05

Dublin V Monaghan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To turnip12:  "Dublin are strong favourites against Monaghan and so they should be. I have an issue with the constant dismissing of Monaghan. It is both disrespectful and unfounded by the facts. Personally I think Monaghan have a 20% chance of winning which is not too far off the official odds. I don't think Armagh, Tyrone, Mayo, Galway etc would have any more of a chance of beating Dublin. A few facts for consideration re the upcoming semi final: 1) Monaghan have played Dublin 4 times in the last 6 years. Monaghan have won 3 and drawn 1. That is remarkable. There are two years when there was no game between the two sides. This year due to Dublin being in Division 2 and 2021 when the national league was split geographically. 2) Dublin have been beaten 13 times since 2018 in league and championship - a period when they have won 3 All Irelands (possible 4 if they win this year). Derry, Kildare, Armagh have beaten Dublin once. Mayo and Tyrone have beaten Dublin twice, and Monaghan and Kerry have beaten Dublin three times. 3) Monaghan are the only team with an unbeaten record against Dublin in the last six years. Dublin's bogey team! Kerry have lost once against Dublin in 6 years, Monaghan haven't. Shows that Dublin need to break ground to win an ireland this year. 4) Michael Murphy said that Monaghan have been winning by a point all year after the penalty shoot-out win against Armagh. I have heard others say this as well. This has now become the common narrative but it is not true. In 2023 Monaghan have the following record W5 D2 L5. Only one of Monaghan's wins have been by a point vs Kildare. Other wins were Roscommon (+3), Donegal (+8), Clare (+5), Mayo (+6) and Tyrone (+2), not quite the one point wonders people say. None of this takes away from Dublin being heavy favourites. It does mean that Monaghan winning would not be as big a shock as people think and that the Monaghan team will not fear Dublin like most people assume they will. Monaghan should believe they can win. I also think peoples perceptions of this game is being disportionately shaped by Dublin excellent second half versus a tired team and a tired Monaghan battling past two defensive teams in last two games. Of course if we go back more than six years Dublin had two big quarter final wins against Monaghan in 2014 and 2017 but surely that is of less relevance than the above. Monaghan haven't a hope ! ;-)"
Here's another fact for you They've won just six out of 14 competitive games in 2023, finished third in the All-Ireland group phase, had a negative score difference of -12 in the group stage Good luck to them if they win but there is a reason their not expected to win and it's not anyone being disrespectful to them

rossy15 (National) - 15/07/2023 12:04:03

Division One 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To salvador:  "The view that Leitrim will hammer us is rubbish for starters much like the view that if the Dalys came back all our problems would be solved again rubbish,And lastly that lads should be begged to play for Roscommon which again is more rubbish. We have a young panel that WANT to play for their County and these lads need to be given time to adapt and learn Senior County football. Management should also be given time. Its a tough learning curve. In reality we are in the mix with teams from the top of div 3 to the bottom of div 1. If we could beat a couple of them in the championship that would be progress."
Ur a gas man Salvador. U never seem to have much of an opinion on roscommon when things r going well for the county team so not a peek out a ya all throughout last year's league until we came a cropper against kerry n the semi final But u love getting stuck in when things aren't going well Like i said gas man !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - 21/03/2017 20:20:16

Galway vs Roscommon - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Need bit of cheering up today and this aould be just the tonic. o"
Hope ya enjoyed that RD _ good man !

rossy15 (National) - 09/07/2017 18:12:35

Dublin v Donegal - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Donegalman:  "Every team has a player that is double marked or watched. Connolly is one of 3 that dublin have. Was he targeted? No way. He was carded on the merits of his behavior last saturday rather than provocation. This is not to say that he has not been the focus of systematic fouling in the past. Last year, lee keegan was obviously working on a strategy to get him sent off, similar to the Sean Kavanagh incident on saturday. Drag a man to the ground and get him carded. Sighting such players is a thing that the gaa needs to do in a vigorous way. An all-star and man of the match ban on instigators of these tactics would be a good start. You wouldnt even have to name and shame them. Just omit them from the role of honor and that would be a fair reflection on what they have done in a game. All easy with hindsight. I think that we are looking at a potentially great end to the championship and hopefully we can focus on the sport rather than end up talking about cards."
100% agree Keegan even stated after the game last year he set out to get a reaction and get connolly sent off

rossy15 (National) - 09/08/2016 13:42:03

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mayo_123:  "ha your gas you would think ye were in croke park every year at the business end mayo to win by at least 5"
Ha ha - mayo... who are n the "busines end" every year for the last 5 r 6 and get bet every time when it matters ! !!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - 26/07/2017 22:51:59

Connelly/Holmes - 2 Like(s)

Replying To centerfield:  "Replying To GreenandRed: "No we weren't better last year. Playing the usual gungho football that got us nowhere. Connelly and Holmes were great servants to Mayo football but we're better setup under Rochford and McEntee and hopefully will continue to improve." Ye might not have been better last year but ye were also no better this year . Just stayed in division 1 beaten by galway n connacht and apart from the tyrone gMe didn't exactly play well n the qualifiers . Just like last year when the opportunity presented itself to beat the dubs in the first game this year (second game last year ) the players were not up for it I don't see mayo getting as easy a route to the All Ireland in 2017 tbh rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts:379 - 18/12/2016 10:10:17 .................................................................. TBH don't see the Rossies doing anything in this lifetime either!"
Ha ha good man if that's all ya can offer up enough said !

rossy15 (National) - 18/12/2016 13:59:59

Are Donegal a real live contender in 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "They were playing against 14, then 13, then 12 players last year and were still too afraid to come out and play!"
Ha ha grand so my man .... but it seems like the thoughts of them in jan even gets under supporters skin..... Big Michael Murphy on the edge of the square ... young Ryan mchugh running straight lines thru ye ..... diarmuid connolly getting the line after tangling with mcgee Roll on summer ... Cannot wait !

rossy15 (National) - 20/01/2017 21:40:04

Roscommon v Galway CONNACHT SFC FINAL - 2 Like(s)

Replying To endgame:  "Where to begin.? Firstly congratulations to Galway on a fine performance.Galway always have been the aristocrats of Connacht football and for all Mayo's huffing and puffing over the last 5 years,the next senior All-Ireland to come West will be won by Galway albeit not this year.What of ourselves.The injuries caught up with us.The loss of Neil Collins from a Defence that unfortunately is every bit as useless as Brolly said it is was the last straw.Still it didn't look good since May Day.Any team that stutters out of New York with a fortunate one point win can't have realistic expectations of being serious contenders in the championship.As for next weekend,I'd hope for a decent attacking performance because we do have some good forwards and a team should play to it's strengths.I also hope Management pick the best available 15 players to start because I don't think they did that today or indeed last Sunday.Nothing at all learned from Gaelic park or from the first half against Sligo in Hyde park unfortunately.Perhaps a wry smile being had by a man in Killorglin tonight and who could blame him."
John Evans bigger man than that ... He had a great relationship with that team and would not have wanted them ebbarassed like that today Evans stood down with dignity last year I'm sure there'd b no wry smiles today !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - 17/07/2016 21:01:48