Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from endgame

Dubs V Mayo - 7 Like(s)
Like the fall of all great empires. Dublin a shambles at the end.

endgame (National) - 14/08/2021 21:29:22

Conor Cox Or James O'Donoghue - 7 Like(s)
Conor Cox but if James O'Donoghue has relations in Roscommon,we'll take him.!

endgame (National) - 19/06/2019 18:02:39

Should a possible Galway v Tipp All Ireland SHC semi be played in Cork? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "Our fine stadium Pairc Ui Chaoimh is opening today. When Tipp beat Clare today they play Galway in 2 weeks. Should this game be played in Cork instead of Croke Park? Would be a better atmosphere and good for the economy in Cork"
No.Play it in Birr.Convenient to both sets of supporters and it would be good for the economy in West Offaly.

endgame (National) - 22/07/2017 13:16:47

Galway vs Kerry - 6 Like(s)

Replying To rober:  "Last time Galway beat Kerry in senior championship was in 1938. So Kerry won't rate Galway next weekend. Great time for Galway to take a big scalp"
Galway beat Kerry in the All Ireland senior football Finals in 1964 and 1965.Where have you been all these years.!

endgame (Galway) - 22/07/2017 23:24:31

The Next Senior Football Manager - 5 Like(s)

Replying To moros:  "Not losing the run of myself bud. Our championship was poor with poor games for the most part. This was confounded with that.result today. Cunningham has a big task ahead of himself. We all knew this after our Super 8 debacle. But I wish him the best of luck going forward."
Bud or no bud, club football is weak throughout the country.There is absolutely no correlation between club football and the strength of the county team.If there were,Armagh would have several All-Ireland's and not just one and Dublin wouldn't be anything like as good as they are.Disappointing to see Clann hammered today but it means nothing in terms of the job ahead which Cunningham has which is an onerous one alright.There are good footballers in Roscommon and we now look to Anthony Cunningham to make the best of the talent he has at his disposal and in particular to improve our defence and strength and conditioning where were so lacking under Kevin KcStay.

endgame (Roscommon) - 11/11/2018 20:54:50

FBD 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To rossno1:  "Yes I had, and yes he was a major success but the point I am making is that to play for the county then he must make a commitment at club level to be eligible to represent your county. I do not agree with a player representing the county and he has not played club football. What message is that sending out, the day we allow this to me is a sad day for football within the county. I just think it is crazy in this day and age that the GAA have not placed more stringent regulations in this area. Yes Conor Cox played a large part in our success last year and is a fine player but I believe he should be told if he wants to play for the county he must be playing for a club within the county to represent the county."
I'm happy for the Roscommon senior county team to have the best available footballers regardless of where they play club football.Wasn't Dermot Earley playing his club football for years outside Roscommon while at the same time representing our county team.We're a small county competing even in Connacht with far bigger counties not to mention Dublin in the super 8s so we need all the players we can get.Everybody posting here knows that without Conor Cox last Summer , we wouldn't have beaten Mayo in Castlebar and we wouldn't have won the Connacht title.

endgame (Roscommon) - 04/01/2020 10:01:55

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Ref has been shocking."
Not so. Do referees always have to be criticised. Hurson got most things right on a difficult wet day.

endgame (National) - 15/07/2023 19:17:34

Division One 2017 - 5 Like(s)
Certainly not all doom and gloom and let's hope we have a long and fruitful Summer.Interesting interview after the match on Rte with Kevin McStay.He's understandably annoyed at the comments made by Gay Sheeran last week on Shannonside.Gay Sheeran should withdraw those comments which were totally over the top.Mayo man or not,McStay is doing his best to bring the Roscommon senior football team forward and he deserves all our support as does the team.

endgame (Roscommon) - 05/03/2017 20:44:38

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yeah, you were a massive fan up to now, weren't you?"
Kilkenny should let it go.Tipperary are deserving champions.I recently watched a video of the 2009 Final which started the recent series of Finals between Tipp and Kilkenny.I still rate 2009 as the best of the Finals.A young Tipp team were a lot better than Kilkenny in the second half but were undone by 2 refereeing decisions,the sending off of Benny Dunne(a totally correct decision) and the awarding of a penalty to Kilkenny(a totally incorrect decision because the initial foul was clearly outside the box).Tipp Learned and came back and beat Kilkenny the following year.For Kilkenny,players like Huw Lawlor ,Conor Browne and John Donnelly will have learned from last Sunday and they'll be the better for it next year.It's all about next year now,not about last Sunday.

endgame (National) - 22/08/2019 21:44:58

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To BoynesideBlue:  "Is there a SpecSavers near you ?"
It's laughable the number of Meath posters coming on here lauding David Gough's performance.Have ye no team to support.I'd like to have seen Gough referee the Meath team of the 1980s,Mick Lyons,Liam Harnan and all.The Royals would have finished with about 12 men on the field.Conor Lane of Cork seems to be the best ref around at the moment.Gough too fussy for my liking and Kerry's pre match mind games (which were unfair on Gough) did influence his performance today.

endgame (National) - 01/09/2019 19:42:31

Andy Moran retires - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "Very few Roscommon people are born here unless home births as we don't have a maternity ward. For the record Andy like the late Dermot Earley was reared up in,educated in and kicked his first football in Roscommon. All the best to Andy Moran in his retirement, I'd say he'll get into management and it will be interesting to see how he does there. One thing for certain he made his late dad (a rossie supporter to the core) very proud regardless that he played for Mayo."
That's right.A lot of Roscommon people born in Ballinasloe Co.Galway. It is all about the county where a player is raised,reared and brought up.That's a player's home county.It doesn't matter if he was born in New York or Sydney.Andy was Riscommon raised and reared.Yet he put on the green and red.Unfortunately,Ballaghaderreen remains lost to Roscommon football unless the Connacht Council and Gaa show some imagination and fairness and come up with a solution.

endgame (National) - 27/08/2019 20:47:34

Joe Canning on Late Late Show - 5 Like(s)

Replying To The_Bull:  "Playing hurling has provided Joe with plenty of business and financial opportunities including college scholarships. There are only very few players who reap the commercial opportunities provided through advertising etc. Joe has built a profile and appears very eager to build an image through the media. I wouldn't be a fan of Joe. He was a exceptional underage player but is not an in the category of players like Henry Shefflin, Ben O'Connor, Nicky English, John Fenton, DJ Carey, padraig maher, Brian Corcoran."
An ungracious post Bull.

endgame (National) - 16/12/2017 18:36:25

Kilkenny V Waterford - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "I am going to rant. I never blame refs and always defend them even against my own team but that was absolutely scandalous. In the first quarter every time a Kilkenny player got bottled up he gave a free. If he applied the same to Jamie Barron he would have 10 frees on his own. Once Kilkenny got well ahead he began to give the odd one to us at the wrong end of the field. Guess what he started again when it got down to two points. One in particular Ryan threw up the ball and caught it again, got challenged and a free to Kilkenny. Look I have the greatest respect for Kilkenny and hate making our win about refereeing but if we had got pipped it would be a sore point for ever more. Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully we can put it up to the winners."
Not a rant.The ref visibly and clearly favoured Kilkenny in that match.Waterford were good enough to win anyway and fair play to them.When are the gaa going to do something about their refs constantly favouring the traditional counties in decisions.

endgame (National) - 28/11/2020 20:34:19

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Jonnycee:  "David Gough had an appalling game. Refs should have repercussions for poor performance. The level of inconsistency was terrible. Onr major incident was How was Tom o Sullivan left on the field when cooper walked."
Gough clearly refereed that game with the pre match Kerry criticism of him ringing in his ears.He shouldn't be let anywhere near an All -Ireland Final again.

endgame (National) - 01/09/2019 17:40:12

Do Galway Senior Footballers Need A New Approach? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To kazoochka:  "I think you have to at least acknowledge he lost to KW three years on the trot and couldn't make a connacht final if you are going to drag KW in to it."
Yes.Mayo dominated Connacht for 5 years and in fairness to Kevin Walsh,he took Mayo down in Castlebar in 2016 and his Galway team beat Mayo each of the following two years.This year's Connacht Final was a strange match.Galway were clinical in the first half taking ten out of eleven scoring chances.I think Galway thought they had the game won at halftime.I certainly did.When Roscommon got on top in the second half,Galway didn't have an answer.Galway have a lot of quality players and hopefully Comer and Conroy will be back soon.I wish Galway well and hope to see them in the super8s.

endgame (Galway) - 26/06/2019 18:39:54

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To cannyfixit:  "Hate to pick holes in your undercover work there but I think you'll find 90percent of those named are not playing unreal as 3 are injured, not entirely sure Neil Collins is playing with castlerea open to correction there. David keenan is playing division 3 or 4 football not an ideal standard to be judging him on either. So 3 max are doing the business for club. So once again you need to be told that k Higgins pulled out because the strain inter county training was having on his knee, he weighed up the costs and benefits and made a tough but sensible decision to concentrate on club and he deserves utmost respect for that. Winning a county title with his crew would be a fitting reward. Anyway I'll repost a similar message in about a month when you bring it up again."
Isn't Neil Collins living in New York at the moment.Best of luck to Kevin McStay and Roscommon on July 9.We'll be there in the likely wind and rain of Salthill to roar ye on.

endgame (Roscommon) - 20/06/2017 13:33:17

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Viking66:  "They have been lucky in Leinster finals 4 years in a row now......"
It's ridiculous that the Leinster and Munster hurling championships are treated by the gaa as being on a par for the All Ireland hurling series. An extra team should come out of Munster into the All Ireland series.

endgame (National) - 23/07/2023 18:16:34

Division One 2017 - 4 Like(s)
Kevin.We're willing you and this group of players to succeed.Let's hope for a long Summer.Up Ros.

endgame (Roscommon) - 05/04/2017 20:31:59

Connacht Club Football Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Pearses the better team on the day and came out with the result saying that they were lucky as i think Mountbellew should have had a mark near the end. Any person who condones the disgraceful scenes at the end or justifies it by saying the ref was poor are not GAA men. All those involved let their club down and Galway down today and it's a good thing they go no further. Hope lengthy bans are dished out left right and centre. Supporters from m m aren't much better either"
It's on the sports news on RTÉ. Just watched it there. The gaa will have to act. We all get frustrated with refs on days decisions go against our team but this was ugly stuff at the end and it deserves serious censure.

endgame (National) - 11/12/2021 18:53:51

2022 All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Finals - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dublin looking more and more like all ire winners with every game."
You certainly hope so.

endgame (National) - 25/06/2022 21:37:18