GAA President - Jarlath Burns - 11 Like(s)
Replying To CCFabu: "I found his comments about Michael to be distasteful and badly timed to be honest. One of Michael's lowest moments of his career and the camera goes on him and he's on the big screen as Burns waxes lyrical about him. Even the applause for Murphy wasn't that big, I thought the crowd picked up on it not really being a good moment.
Everything Burns said about him was true, he is the greatest to ever play for Donegal, but Kerry had won Sam and had won it convincingly - there was no need to be going on about Murphy there. Felt like bad timing and a bit disrespectful to Kerry as champions as well to be honest" Mother of God, this is pure mopery. A person can't say a kind word about someone now without being criticised. Why would Kerry find it disrespectful? That is mental that someone would come to that conclusion. I'd say most of the Donegal crowd were gone which might explain why it wasn't a raucous roar. I don't know if it's scrolling endlessly through social media on constant negative feedback loops or watching too much reality TV and all the negativity that comes with, but people seem to see the bad in everything now. He was praising someone from each team. There was a possibility that could have been Murphy's last game, why not pay tribute to a great player.
His speech was 3 minutes. You'd swear he was talking for 20 by the way people are going on here.
FullOfPorter (National) - 30/07/2025 10:21:58
Roscommon GAA thread - 9 Like(s)
RIP Don Connellan. A great player and manager. Condolences to his family and friends.
FullOfPorter (National) - 05/08/2025 10:25:40
Mayo GAA Thread - 7 Like(s)
Replying To S1234: "Outside managers rarely do well with counties . You seem to really begrudge Andy ." It'll be an interesting experiment to have a Rossie in charge of ye.
FullOfPorter (National) - 12/08/2025 17:04:51
Roscommon GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Replying To bláthach: "Thanks for the update. Was great to find all that information out. Pity people couldn't watch it for themselves and had to depend on yourself to fill them in on what happened in the game. Nearly as good as you giving out teams before games. Should really tell people this is all on google. It would save you a lot of hassle really. But thanks again please." You are one angry amadan.
FullOfPorter (National) - 06/07/2025 17:35:06
Roscommon GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Replying To endgame: "That's how far behind we are. A long way unfortunately. Roscommon well beaten by a Galway team beaten by a Meath team hammered by 20 points today in an All Ireland semi final. The County Board need to have a very serious look around over the next few weeks. They need to get the next Managerial appointment right. The two best teams are in the All Ireland Final. Outside of them , the standard is poor. Tyrone not good yesterday. Dublin are a pale version of their great team. Roscommon , with the players we have, should have been at least in the quarter finals this year." While I agree we are under achieving and definitely need to be getting this appointment right, you cannot judge teams too much by who bet who this year. Mayo should have drawn with Donegal and could have beaten them. Mayo lost to Cavan yet beat Tyrone. Kerry lost to Meath but now are transformed. Kerry swat Tyrone away with ease while Tyrone managed to beat Donegal in Ballybofey. Both teams that are in the final have put in their best performances when they needed them most, in knock out. A good management team and a motivated young squad can take big learnings from that defeat there today. Be interesting to see how Meath get on next year. I think of that heavy QF replay defeat to Mayo in 2017 and Roscommon should have been using that to drive them on in terms of fitness, conditioning and defensive strategy. Don't know if it was management or a case of management not getting the buy in from the county board to bring them to the next level but we stagnated instead of getting things in place to get to the next level of a semi final.
FullOfPorter (National) - 13/07/2025 20:57:19
Galway Football thread - 5 Like(s)
Replying To JimB1991: "Very different circumstances. Mayo would have won an All Ireland in another era, just beaten by the greatest team of all time. Galway emerged as surprise All Ireland finalists in two strange years. Would agree though that Galway didn't bottle it, they were just short on quality to win an All Ireland." Sure the one they should have been winning Dublin weren't even in the final.
FullOfPorter (National) - 20/07/2025 11:21:55
Non-Gaa Forum - 5 Like(s)
Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "The theocracy in Iran is overtly anti-semetic and has called for genocide for years. This is an inconvenient truth to many Europeans. The Iranians deserve better leadership. Hope they sort out the region peacefully but it looks ominous. Russia is also looking at this. Scary times." While Israel actually practices genocide and is also a theocracy but no one is seems to talk about regime change there.
FullOfPorter (National) - 18/06/2025 11:18:33
Galway Football thread - 5 Like(s)
Replying To Kew: "Why are people on about mcgeeney? Did he have a great bunch of players early on? It's completely different why didn't Roscommon keep Davy burke for 10 years?" You must be a gosoon because Galway were not up to much before Joyce. One semi final appearance since ye won in 2001, Mayo lording over Connacht, getting knocked out by the likes of Antrim and Tipp and wasting a number of good underage teams. Granted there was some improvement under Walsh. Burke was no improvement on Cunningham in the end, Anthony managed at least a Connacht title so there is no comparison with us. The question is has the team progressed under the manager and you'd have to say Galway have. Joyce has ye cemented as the best in Connacht, 4 in row with that and 2 All Irleand final appearances from a team that could manage one semi in twenty years. All the while one of his best players has been cursed with injury and his other top player not far behind in the injury stakes. McGeeney had planty of talent Jamie Clarke, Forker, Murnin, Grugan, McKeever, Campbell, Grimley.
FullOfPorter (National) - 01/07/2025 10:35:16
Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To bláthach: "Promotion from division two in year two. The usual. lol." Another account you've created to talk to yourself through. Lol indeed!
FullOfPorter (National) - 18/08/2025 15:08:19
Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)
Trump getting nowhere with his tariff fiasco has resorted to war which he said would never happen. Completely ignoring his advisor on Irans nuclear capability. Suits Donald nicely as it distracts from his economic policy failure and suits Bibi nicely as they can murder starving people at will and still not make the headlines.
FullOfPorter (National) - 22/06/2025 10:11:08
Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)
Replying To zinny: "While I don't disagree, it does smack a bit like people being killed in Palestine are the only people that are or have been killed in wars. Does anyone in Ireland know where Chechnya or Xinjiang are, the history of the Kurds and how they were robbed of their homeland, the history of the Armenian people, Sudan, Ethiopia and Eritrea? There is no such thing as an Axis of evil, just evil people and governments all over the world looking after their own vested interests. Being a victim of colonialism it allowed us to have a clean soul when it came to historical acts as a country against others however, once the Irish people left these shores they have shown that we are nothing special and easily became the perpetrator." Thats true but a lot comes down to your cultural sphere of influence. The atrocities during the Yugoslav war obviously were huge here but Chechnya less so. Israel is almost like an adopted European nation, think Uefa, euro vision etc. Add in US involvement, a country we are also culturally heavily influenced by. Not saying other horrors are less so but the high horse that western people love to ride on to distinguish ourselves from the savages nearly expect that behaviour from China or Russia or whatever other pariah. But Israels genocide is actively supported by our supposedly more noble western countries. We love waving the rule of law stick at China and Russia but when it comes to support of Israels conduct and general western involvement in the middle east that law no longer applies. Sure look Britain was the beacon of global civility in the 1800s, home of magna carta and all that. Yet look what they were at here and India.
FullOfPorter (National) - 22/06/2025 10:56:57
Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Whatever has happended I hope they can put it behind them for this weekend. Even just for themselves, the players have given up a lot and trained hard, some lads with not too many years left either. We really need to go after Meath hard. They have played a tough Leinster final a few weeks ago and now will have only the week since their Cork game. Need some of the senior players to really step now.
FullOfPorter (National) - 26/05/2025 13:32:37
Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Donegal_abroad: "That's total nonsense to be honest. That's a bit like saying if I go out on the street and pull a face at you, you and your mates have the right to physically assault me and it's all good. Think about that for a minute. It's all fine coming on here talking the hard man and chatting about big boy pants but it wouldn't be okay on the street legally so why is it okay on the pitch." If as reported in the media that is was sectarian abuse, it is more than just pulling a face, which is not ok on the street legally either.
FullOfPorter (National) - 13/05/2025 10:06:30
Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Seanfanbocht: "County Chairman's term up this year too?" Hopefully whoever comes in will do all they can to rejuvenate the senior setup.
FullOfPorter (National) - 18/05/2025 22:27:56
Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To shaggykev: "Just in the door after a depressing finish to the season.
A great season but that was fairly comprehensive and bubbles well and truly burst.
McGuinness will get plenty of flak and maybe he did a Guordiola and overthought the final.
Got beaten up everywhere. Gavin White destroyed us early and set tempo for the team.
So many things went wrong.
We were carved up too easily. Lost most of the big kick outs Never made clear cut goal chances Many underperformed and we also got no luck with the wind at critical moments.
Going 12-3 down in an All Ireland final is always going to be catastrophic. Even when we got back to 4, we never really threatened to challenge them.
Kerry excellent with the twos but this will hurt as much as 2014.
I see Kerry are 2/1 for next year. They should be odds on." In fairness Jim has got a serious tune out of a team that looked bang average 3 years ago. Making an All Ireland is a huge achievement. Also to be kept in mind that ye are not the only good team to feel the wrath of Kerry, they've done it to Armagh and Tyrone.
FullOfPorter (National) - 27/07/2025 22:25:03
Replying To hontherossie: "you sow what you seed, these were the best talent available to mgt and it looked they only started playing with each in the last few weeks. they obviously had't done anything on basic defending, defenders falling for dummies left right and centre in most games. key forward disappearing in games no cohension in forward line, just individual performances. the cb need to get a manager at minimun with county mgt experinces and not let it drag on like the last time." Mayo don't have the same talent as they had a few years ago but by God do they work and play with serious intensity. The way they went after Donegal in that second half especially. Aidan O'Shea no spring chicken either. You would wonder what our training sessions were like. I would agree it can't be allowed drag on like last time. But not sure we should only look at someone with county experience. That's pretty much everyone from the county ruled out apart from Fergie and Curran. Davy Burke had county experience and then you look at Bannigan, Brennan and Laverty with no county experience and they seem to be bringing on their teams in leaps and bounds.
FullOfPorter (National) - 16/06/2025 13:14:05
Non-Gaa Forum - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "The earths climate has always changed Lock, has done for 'billions' of years, it will keep on changing long after the human species has become extinct in all probability." Indeed but our species is the first species to impact climate. Also the first species to drive mass extinction and we will probably be responsible for our own. No species has ever left such a destructive footprint on the planet before.
FullOfPorter (National) - 30/04/2025 09:31:00
Replying To letsgetgoing: "Aoife O' Rourke has done it again and made it to the 75kg World Championship final which takes place tomorrow. She will fight Busra Isildar from Turkey. A lot of experts will tell you that it is harder to win a World Championship boxing medal that an Olympic medal as a lot of places at the Olympics are reserved for parts of the World that are not strong on boxing. All the top boxing nations are in Liverpool. Therefore it is a fantastic achievent already. Catching an early flight to Liverpool early tomorrow morning to cheer Aoife on and I expect her to win and bring a gold medal back to Roscommon. If she does not, it is still a fantastic achievement. The fight is on tomorrow at 13.30 (might be a couple of minutes later) and can be seen for free at Eurovisionsport.com. "live" Lisa and Aoife and the O'Rourke family should feel very proud of themselves. Up the Rossies!" Super win for Aoife, massive achievement. Fair play for making the trip, sounded like big Irish supoort.
FullOfPorter (National) - 16/09/2025 11:06:50
Tactically inept and destroyed at midfield. Shocking decision not to start Doyle, though we still struggled in the 2nd. No two pointers attempted in first half. Why didn't we go for that 45 in the second? Galway fair play to them are good, didn't have to play amazing. They are very well drilled in everything they do. We are the opposite. No plan A never mind plan B. Everything looks so labourered. Switching off at crucial times. Those issues all rest with management.
FullOfPorter (National) - 20/04/2025 17:56:54
Replying To endgame: "Cathal Cregg works for Connacht gaa. Doubt he could take a coaching job with Roscommon. Looking forward to next week, Kerry are Kerry but the success of Donegal shows the importance of a professional Manager/ Coaching set up. Over now to the County Board." Absolutely shows you what a serious management team can do. I remember that last league game we played them in the Hyde 3 years ago. Now their confidence was gone at that point but they looked dire. Donegal have some fine natural talent like Gallen, McCole and Murphy and blessed with big men around the middle but they have a lot of players who would look ordinary under a different manager. If you are in serious shape and match that with work rate you are a long way there. McGuinness has them playing in way to maximise their potential and hard work is at the root of it.
FullOfPorter (National) - 20/07/2025 11:15:33