Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from D.Hyde

Roscommon GAA thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "The gamble of resting so many starters and giving other a chance paid off as Roscommon U17s pull off a hard earned and deserved 2 point win away to Leitrim this evening. Four week break now until the Connacht Final I can imagine one or two hard challenges will be played before them. Mayo winner against Sligo tonight so it will be them or Galway we'll face in the final. Well done to all the players and management."
It was hardly a gamble, they were already in the final and those lads that played last night were as deserving of a game as any of the rest. Well done to all involved on a great campaign so far, hopefully a sign of things to come!

D.Hyde (National) - 12/04/2025 08:56:43

Roscommon GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
These are the evenings i love! Night before a big game down the country, getting the kids organised for the morning, filling the car and getting ready for the road trip in the morning! Really looking forward to what should be a great day in a brilliant city. I hope our lads are re energised after last week, hopefully only a blip. Huge battle ahead against an improving team with nothing to lose. We will need to be at our very best to get over this challenge. I believe if we can get back to somewhere near our full capability we will get over the line but by god it's going to take a hell of an effort from everyone, fans included! Best of luck to all our lads. Anyone making the trip, drive careful and keep safe and we will have a great atmosphere for our men. Up the Ros!

D.Hyde (National) - 23/06/2023 22:15:47

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Huge congratulations to the 3 lads nominated for awards this morning. Enda was a certainty and great to see Brian nominated aswell after another solid year. And what an achievement for Conor in his first year at this level. He should be very proud of himself, I know all us supporters will be. Great for him to be recognised. Well done to all and good luck to them in November!

D.Hyde (National) - 29/09/2023 09:52:40

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To togoutlads:  "Back from the buzz of NYC and now the real battle begins. I know for certain that the Rossies are strongly, strongly expecting to ambush us on Sunday. They're absolutely loving going into this as outsiders. There's already plenty of quiet debate over there as to where the Connacht final v Mayo should be, McHale or The Hyde. I ain't making this up! There's only one answer to that, lads! Bring it on. Gaillimh Abú!!"
I don't know where you get your information!! There's very little expectation of Ros winning in Salthill and certainly not too many wondering about a Connacht final!

D.Hyde (National) - 15/04/2025 07:24:31

Attendances 2024 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "That's one way of looking at it… and you won't have to endure much more either I'd say"
I know I won't have many more days following my own county but I've been to every game they played this year since January and I will be wherever they are next weekend. And I will sit down this afternoon and watch 4 of the country's best going toe to toe. And I will enjoy watching the remaining games in this championship.

D.Hyde (National) - 16/06/2024 12:59:41

Very negative vibe here after the weekend! Yes we are in a bad position in league but IF we win on Sunday and results go our way we could be 4th Sunday evening! I know we have tough fixtures remaining but it's still not impossible. If we lose Sunday then it's all over for us in Division 1. We need a big crowd Sunday in the Hyde, now is the time to get behind the lads that are there and give them our support. One win could change the momentum entirely for this group.

D.Hyde (National) - 19/02/2024 16:37:25

Understandably there is a much more downbeat vibe about before this weekend, compared to the last few weeks. But it's now that the lads need us. They have given us great days so far this year, a solid league campaign, another brilliant day in Castlebar and almost the perfect day in Croke Park. Davy commended the support the team had in Tullamore and it was great to see such numbers. He also asked us to get out again this weekend. I know it's not possible for everyone and it's a trip that won't suit many people but let's park the negativity now and anyone who can be in Cork Saturday afternoon, let's get in early and show the lads that we are right behind them, from when they do their pitch walk, their warm up and come out for the game. It might give them that extra lift they need.

D.Hyde (National) - 20/06/2023 10:18:21

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "Mayo don't have the same talent as they had a few years ago but by God do they work and play with serious intensity. The way they went after Donegal in that second half especially. Aidan O'Shea no spring chicken either. You would wonder what our training sessions were like. I would agree it can't be allowed drag on like last time. But not sure we should only look at someone with county experience. That's pretty much everyone from the county ruled out apart from Fergie and Curran. Davy Burke had county experience and then you look at Bannigan, Brennan and Laverty with no county experience and they seem to be bringing on their teams in leaps and bounds."
Good Lord don't mention Curran in case anyone in the county board starts getting ideas!!!!

D.Hyde (National) - 16/06/2025 16:05:56

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
So much better today albeit Monaghan were very limited and under strength. Have given ourselves a fighting chance of survival. Still need at least 1 more win. I do fear that draw with Galway will come back to bite us given that Galway will beat Monaghan. Niall Higgins had a great game and has had a brilliant league to date. Enda is getting back to his best, his points today were top drawer, one off either foot in first half and then the one at the end was outstanding. We have a top class keeper for years to come in Conor Carroll. His composure under high ball, his shot stopping, his football skills and today his kickouts were excellent, a lot of pin point kicks. I'd say Galway regret letting him slip by. Great to have Tadgh back and Niall Daly returning. James Fitzpatrick had his best game, done well to win and hold a lot of ball into him and should have got his goal in first half. Well done to Davy and the group. Looking forward to next Saturday against the neighbours. Hopefully we can get a performance for 70/80 minutes, if we do we won't be far away at the end.

D.Hyde (National) - 25/02/2024 21:29:33

Who Are Going To Be Euro 2024 Champions ? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I once encountered the Lazio team in a hotel in Naples. I was fairly heavy into a good session of Peroni so I thought it better to leave them be :D That was a golden period of Italian football, from the late 80s and through the 90s. Channel 4 on a Sunday afternoon was hard to beat."
Channel 4 on a Sunday afternoon.. what an absolute gift that used to be. Good times

D.Hyde (National) - 19/06/2024 22:19:09

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Well done to your minor team yesterday. I was very impressed watching them. I hope they go all the way now, always had a soft spot and a huge respect for Monaghan. Best of luck

D.Hyde (National) - 11/06/2023 07:57:36

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)
Very best of luck to players and management tomorrow. And all supporters, I hope ye have a cracking day! Enjoy it all and hopefully Sam will be back in the west Monday evening!

D.Hyde (National) - 27/07/2024 22:10:14

Replying To Ros2013:  "Bit late here but well done to the Rosu20s. Serious performance considering that Mayo team is superior in most areas. I think Kilkline should have started myself and was left on bench far too long but it will drive on the lad for the future, best of luck to Mayo in the semi final. No reason they can't go on to win. I know they've trained savage hard since being knocked out last year. Next up the minors who I think are a great bunch and I fancy them To pip mayo in the final. The players and their families have serious respect for the management team so I'd be lining him up for our senior team next year."
After 1 year managing a minor county team?? Give the man a chance to develop himself!

D.Hyde (National) - 04/05/2025 19:06:13

Replying To dave1988:  "Ben is a massive blow and probably won't see him in a Roscommon jersey till next year. Once again I don't see that team scoring the 1-14 or 2-11 that will be needed to have a chance of winning. L"
Ben is a big loss but we have had to deal without him for 95% of the season so far. If he is struggling with injuries then it's best he takes time to get himself right and his body right. He is only young, with a long intercounty career ahead of him (hopefully), flogging him now will come back to haunt him and us down the line. Brigids won't need him until knock out games in championship

D.Hyde (National) - 31/05/2024 07:49:56

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To giveitlong:  "Mighty news, should be a great setup."
I'm not even from Galway and even I am excited to see that ticket. 3 of the finest players I've seen. Good luck to them

D.Hyde (National) - 26/08/2023 21:25:40

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Congrats to all involved yesterday. My heart was racing watching it, I can't imagine how you guys felt!! Serious achievement, coming off the back of the minor team last week. Enjoy the next few weeks, ye will be a tough challenge for anyone in the semi. I will certainly be rooting for ye. Well done

D.Hyde (National) - 02/07/2023 10:59:42

Replying To rossie4sam:  "As focus now turns to club action how do we see the club championship going this year with"
We will support out minor lads first

D.Hyde (National) - 15/06/2025 12:45:35

Replying To endgame:  "We all got excited with beating Mayo in Castlebar and drawing with Dublin in Croke. Such an impressive steel to those performances. We had the Dubs chasing shadows. I was dreaming of an All Ireland Final or semi at least. It's all ended in a whimper. We couldn't beat two very ordinary average teams in Kildare and Cork. We couldn't get past the last 12. Didn't even make the quarter finals. When the must win matches came along, Roscommon lost. No better than last year when Clare rather then Cork knocked us out by a point. A very disappointing end to a season that gave Roscommon people hope only to have those hopes dashed. New Manager. Same old."
I would disagree. Last year we went out to Clare after a very poor showing in a Connacht Final. This year we have been competitive in every game. Lost by 4 points to Galway, a ball hitting a post and dropping into comers hand in front of the goal! One mistake against Dublin gave them a goal. If we had won that game we wouldn't have been playing yesterday! Very small margins. Our game needs developing, there is no doubt, need to be able to vary our play and go direct when needed. Cork and Kildare beat us by running at us. We rarely done that this year. I'm certainly still fully behind Davy and his crew. He came in late, maybe he played this system to make us more resilient and give us a base to be in a position to nick a one or two point win. Unfortunately we have come out the other side of those results. Now that he knows the players better and has time to work on it, I'm hoping we will see something different next year.

D.Hyde (National) - 25/06/2023 10:30:05

Club Loyalty - 2 Like(s)
Are the lads happy playing where they are with their mates? Would moving affect the friendships they have built? I think at that age, they need to develop in more ways than just sport. My own lads have been playing with the same group since u6 and the friends and bonds they have made will last for life, on and off the field. As plenty have said, there is underage opportunities in counties now with development panels from u14. If they are in that system and as good as you say, they will be brought through. And who knows, when they get to 18/20 the hurl or O Neills might be put to one side when young ladies start to catch the eye or the few pints on a Saturday night might be more appealing!! Good luck to them whatever solution ye come up with

D.Hyde (National) - 25/08/2023 09:26:31

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "I generally find that Leitrim people are very optimistic, and sometimes they would be better keeping that optimism to themselves until the game is over. I don't expect that you will win. But then ye were very optimistic about the minor and the U.20 teams you had also and there wasn't much substance to that confidence either. I'm not running ye down, maybe it's a great trait to have, glass is never half empty it's nearly always overflowing. Good luck against Kildare"
Why in the name of God should they keep it to themselves?? Isn't that what sport is about? There's enough negativity in this world, sport and especially GAA is an outlet for us all. Build your hopes up, convince yourselves you will win.. "just maybe!". If we all went to games thinking we are going to lose, what's the bloody point!

D.Hyde (National) - 30/05/2024 22:14:04