Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from tulachmhór

Jim Gavin Steps Down - 6 Like(s)
Dipped in to post a nice message about the great Jim and all I can see is messages about Stars charity work???? Ye kerry bucks shouldn't be in such foul form, ye might have half a sniff of getting back near the top table now that the greatest has kindly stepped aside. : ) In seriousness, I dont think we will see the likes of Jim again, a serious achievement and a gentleman to boot. Leaves with his reputation untarnished, done the 5 in a row which most thought impossible and left on a high. He will go down as one of the GAA's greatest ever legends. Glad to see him go from a leinster championship perspective but overall he will be a loss to our games

tulachmhór (National) - 05/12/2019 21:29:06

Leinster Football The Reality - 5 Like(s)
The quality of leinster is excellent at the moment I feel. There have been some very enjoyable games and some excellent performances. The proof will be in our representation in the super 8s as long as we dont get unlucky and knock eachother out. Dublin are a phenomenon and unstoppable at the moment. The gap between Dublin and their closest challengers (mayo/kerry) is far greater than the gap between the likes of us/laois/westmeath and Kerry or mayo. Dublin would absolutely win any other province easing up.

tulachmhór (National) - 23/06/2019 20:27:47

Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019- - 5 Like(s)

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Croke park or Clones, I know which one provides better half time refreshments. You probably don't."
Ye will be drinking no overpriced pints at HQ this year!

tulachmhór (National) - 10/06/2019 13:35:47

The McCann Ban - 4 Like(s)

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0627/885998-burns-banned-for-12-weeks-for-kicking-ball-at-umpire/ The following was tTaken from the above 2017 article; "Louth's Ryan Burns has become the latest inter-county Gaelic footballer to receive a 12-week ban for 'minor physical interference with an official' after kicking a ball at an umpire in the Wee County's qualifier defeat to Longford." McCann must have friends in high places ?"
Diabolical decision. Friends in high places indeed. When you look at hughes' proposed ban as well as Connolly's last year it is farcical. Doesn't matter in the scheme of as it may as well have been a year. Itll be next may before he has the chance of kicking intercounty ball again anyway.

tulachmhór (National) - 14/06/2019 19:03:30

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Greengrass:  "The only provincial football game bar the finals being shown by RTE is Tyrone v Donegal . RTE should hang their heads in shame ."
As someone from a dual county I'd agree that the football has been mistreated this year. It's like groundhog day every Sunday watching the same few teams play eachother. There have been so many good football games this year and we've hardly hit June.

tulachmhór (National) - 04/06/2019 12:01:40

Merry Christmas And Happy New Year - 3 Like(s)
Happy Christmas one and all. Tis a great sport we follow.

tulachmhór (National) - 20/12/2019 14:26:11

The McCann Ban - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "You're spot on Muck. Compared to other bans of 3/4 months for more benign offences the head honchos have to really look at themselves and start using an element of discretion, upgrade or downgrade the punishment."
Upgrade or downgrade? Yes of course but in this current climate it's not happening. That would require common sense. What would have happened if serious harm had of come to mcmenamin? Would it still have been 'ah its grand, 2 matches is plenty'? Or would there have been a more serious conversation about how certain teams carry themselves on the pitch? My point is, do we need to wait until serious harm is done before acting or do we just keep on trooping as is for the indefinite future.

tulachmhór (National) - 14/06/2019 20:27:37

Cavan Vs Tyrone - 2 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "Tyrone will be happy with that draw. They always beat us. To be honest I can't see any other outcome either. It's a pity as it would have been nice to have a crack at the super 8s. The experience would have done our lads the world of good. Anyway good luck to Tyrone, you should definitely make the semi-final. Maybe another crack at Donegal. That should be tasty."
Tyrone are 1/4. That's a 25% return on your investment. You should lump it on if you're so certain that cavan are a write off. Youd never get an interest rate like that in a bank. Buying money.

tulachmhór (National) - 02/07/2019 10:35:27

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 11jm11:  "Oh I think the Meath boys are in for some shock in a few weeks time when they remember that league form counts for nothing come championship. It will be glorious watching !"
Agree 100%. We will be a different beast come championship time. To the poster who said a success for offaly would be a single digit defeat- I am lost for words. I think ye are starting to believe your own hype a bit too much. I hope the lads are reading this nonsense.

tulachmhór (National) - 02/05/2019 10:23:42

NFL Division 1 - 2 Like(s)
Dublin v Kerry.............Kerry Donegal v Mayo..........Donegal Tyrone v Meath...........Meath Galway v Monaghan...Galway

tulachmhór (National) - 23/01/2020 15:11:04

NFL Division 2 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Curlew66:  "Ahem! ... includes 0.17 scored in Division 3 final against Armagh."
And 2:11 against us when we were at our worst. I'd be 100% confident of us dismantling fermanagh should we meet this year along the line. It's dark ages football.

tulachmhór (National) - 27/02/2019 11:14:12

Donegal V Mayo - 2 Like(s)
When the groups were finalised I had this pencilled as an absolute stormer of a match with the thinking being that mayo would be going into this game on 4 points, donegal on 2 and Kerry having to travel to meath on 2 points also. I was almost expecting high drama with three of the teams ending up on 4 points. Now it feels rather damp and I cant see past a comfortable donegal win even if the mayo lads do get their few injuries back. I have a very soft spot for mayo as they have provided excellent entertainment over the years but this seems like the end of the road. I know it's been said before but surely this is a bridge too far. Donegal will also be much more equipped to deal with the boys in blue in the final also. I'd hate to see mayos final act should they upset donegal to be a harsh beating against the dubs in an ai final after their recent bravery. Theres something about this donegal team that will be extremely hard to beat. Steel, organisation and quality players in all key positions.

tulachmhór (National) - 23/07/2019 12:57:49

NFL Division 1 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Another excellent performance, another win should secure Div 1 status for another year, will leave it to any neutrals to discuss the refereeing"
Dublin will be disappointed that there wasnt another play left in the game given the lack of time which the ball was actually in play in injury time. Ref harsh on them in the end imho.

tulachmhór (National) - 08/02/2020 21:00:00

Tyrone Vs Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Dubs to win here, can't see Tyrone causing them too much trouble and it doesn't matter to Dublin who they meet in the semi, final could be a repeat of this match with the Dubs at home."
You really think this will be the final pairing again? Sure ye could have your neighbours in the semi final who you handled with ease in Ulster this year. I'd find it hard to take it at face value if any donegal or kerry men were playing down their chances v Tyrone if it came to pass in the ai Semi final. You're the better team and youve proved it-accept the favourites tag if the match happens. No win game for Tyrone here. Fair play to Tyrone for hammering their way to another AI semifinal through sheer determination but I believe they are a long way off the three big teams in group 1 and wouldn't get near them. I dont think they'd match the intensity of kerry/mayo and we know already how they faired against donegal. i think the dubs will make 5/6 changes and go hammer and tongs up in omagh with lads playing for places. I personally think DC will see game time v Tyrone in omagh. There literally couldn't be a better game to play him in with not that much on the line and which will probably be a step below full championship intensity. Make no sense to bring him on cold in an ai semi or final. What will tyrones tactics be here? A raft of changes or the first team to take a confidence sucking bateing?

tulachmhór (National) - 30/07/2019 21:14:50

Kerry V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)
I find it hard to see past Monaghan here despite the undoubted quality of their opposition and the fact that its away from home. They'll win because they have to. They've too much quality to be getting dragged into a dogfight at the bottom for me. Last week out they didn't perform against a very poor Tyrone ourfit and will be out to make amends. Monaghan by 2.

tulachmhór (National) - 27/02/2019 15:30:59

Timekeeping - 2 Like(s)
Was expecting more uproar on this thread after the shambles that occurred in our game today. I still cant believe that the match was let go on until the ref finally managed to get antrim their equalizing goal. A few points, 1. Offaly were utterly dominant throughout. 2. 1 minute of injury time in first half and I'm not even sure he played that. 3. 8 (EIGHT!) minutes injury time played in second half when three would have been generous. 4. Dont let the timekeeping disgrace take away from the fact that there were so many decisions given against us throughout the game ('throw balls' etc). I hope to god Duignan let's rip about this, something needs to be done. Fair dues to antrim / referee.

tulachmhór (National) - 08/03/2020 21:43:31

Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kevin03:  "Horrible behaviour. Hate to see any player doing that. It's not soccer."
Agree entirely.

tulachmhór (National) - 03/08/2019 19:05:58

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Decade - Goalkeeper - 2 Like(s)
Cluxton. Not even a debate

tulachmhór (National) - 05/12/2019 21:31:01

This Weekend's Football Qualifier Matches - Call Them - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Jimjo:  "tulachmor... a strong smell of Leinster off your predictions ! Tyrone/Longford close???? Derry/Laois close???? meanwhile powerhouses offaly, westmeath and Kildare cruse through ..... funny !"
Jaysis jimjo I wish I hadnt just tipped cavan to win Ulster in the other thread. Maybe I am a bit biased to leinster but I dont think I'll be far off. I'm glad I didn't go with longford to win or you would have had a complete fit. Do you think offaly/kildare/wh will lose? Do you think tyrone will beat longford handy in pearse park? I also take it that you think (based on what?) That Derry (div 4) will easily account for laois (div 3). Throw up your predictions anyway.

tulachmhór (National) - 10/06/2019 12:48:50

Kerry V Tyrone. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Aibrean:  "I suspect it is a particularly narrow pitch. So, of course, is Thurles where MF scored his famous point. Did McCurry break the line? if so, more poor officiating."
Interesting observation, watching the game it was clear that the linesman was telling him not to break the line before he went for the kick but then he did anyway and was not called for it. Why bother saying you are going to enforce it and point it out then not follow through? I'm open to correction on if he actually broke the line or not but it certainly looked that way from the camera angle. Don't get me wrong though, it would have been stupidly harsh to call that as a foul on the ball, there is always a tiny bit of leeway given when a fella is having a crack from the sideline and rightly so imho. On the other hand, the linesman did point it out, never followed through and it had a massive bearing on the game.

tulachmhór (National) - 10/02/2020 15:56:06