Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from Faithfull

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Absolute nonsense to suggest our players are trying to get opposition players sent off. I was listening to the GAA Hour to see if JJ was whining too and Parkinson made two good points: 1/ he compared the hit Barrett took to that in a boxing fight where it looks innocuous but the guy receiving it is suddenly panned out on the canvass. 2/ it happened on the sideline near the Tipp medical team who were over like a flash and made sure he had to follow proper concussion protocol before going back onto the pitch. That didn't help Hogan's cause but at that stage the welfare of our player was more important than how it looked in front of the refereeing team. The longer this drags on with Kilkenny fans moaning about the result, the worse they are looking. I have tried to drag conversation back to the actual match and even complimented the performance of some of the Kilkenny players and there is no interest in that. Paul Murphy had a great game and looks like he is back close to his 2014/ 2015 form. You are trying to devalue our all Ireland and if this thread keeps going on a circular daily basis for the next 20 years you'll neither take the win away from us or devalue it. If I was a Kilkenny fan i'd be pissed off that Cody and his backroom team didn't come up with any half decent plan to try to stay in the game or get back into it. It must have been a torturous second half for neutrals fans to watch. Other things i'd be dismayed about if I was a Kilkenny would be starting Mullen and Buckley, both were clearly not right. Aylward, Billy Ryan, and Leahy must be annoyed that they were overlooked for players who weren't fully match fit."
Whatever about planning it, you would have to admit against Laois it was embarrassing. Laois player flicks back the hurl and he goes down like he's shot. The same man ended Michael Rices carrier with a wild pull shattering his finger in seven places and he didn't even go down like that. For a man that is bursting out of his jersey you'd expect more.

Faithfull (National) - 23/08/2019 16:32:28

Referee For Wexford V Tipperary - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bottletopbill:  "There is a massive slant here and in the media with Brendan Cummins and Michael Duignan etc that Wexford got away with blue murder, but in fairness to you oldtourman you have referenced the blatant penalty on Conor Macdonald, the only goal in question is the third one, the others are self explanatory as to why they were dis allowed and Conor macs penalty claim cancels that out. Ballydalane and Heftydickonem are beyond unreasonable in their assessment of things. It also baffles me as to why the line ball that was deflected on Saturday eve gets feck all discussion, coz in my opinion it was the biggest injustice of all. Amazing the way Cummins and crew don't focus on that in their articles."
It would be interesting to go back and review the two games and note down scores that come from either 50/50 or incorrect decisions. I was listening to one of the GAA podcasts and they made the point about the 65 but they also made the point that TJ Reid made a legitimate handpass, ref gave the free and Limerick put it over. It's only remembered because it happened at the end of the match. You could go over the whole game like that. I thought the Limerick defender was fouled for Mullens first point. Reid was done for steps when his hurl was been held. You could go on and on. I am 100% certain that no one can come on here and say that only one decision a ref made in each game decided the outcome without someone else pointing to another decision.

Faithfull (National) - 31/07/2019 09:08:56

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He got blood on his jersey in an earlier accidental clash."
Accidentally got a hurl across the face! Nothing accidental about it. He swung the hurl at head height in the direction of a players head from behind the player. There was no control in where that hurl was ending up. The blood on his jersey was because his nose was opened from the pull, the force of which wasn't stopped by the face guard. He may not have meant to split him but he was fully aware of what he was try to do. The ball wasn't within reaching distance.

Faithfull (National) - 21/08/2019 14:18:33

All Ireland Gold - Wexford V Offaly 1996 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Blockandhook:  "Padraic Horgan the present Cork full forward said recently that he watched the 1996 leinster final, shown on TV a couple of weeks ago. He said he wasn't impressed with the standard of play in that game. He was rubbishing it really. For me it was a good honest and very exciting encounter. There was no ultra defensive stuff like you see nowadays. Nobody feigning injury. It was hard but fair hurling. Time moves on and like all things the game evolves but not always for the better. Horgan can have his blinkered views but the 90s gave us great games to be remembered."
It was organised chaos. Brought me back to the advise we all got when we first started out, 'if it doesn't come up first time let fly!' The ball would be hit 70 yards to nobody but the whole crowd would shout 'aboy insert name'. If a ball was pulled on on the ground while moving it was 'that's the hurling'. You wouldn't see it in Junior B nowadays. I wouldn't agree with Horgan, imagine if Whelahan, DJ, Leahy and all these fellas had the strength and conditioning of todays players. They'd be gods in any era.

Faithfull (National) - 22/08/2019 17:11:05

Galway v Waterford Final - 3 Like(s)
Austin Gleeson will definitely be banned. We want to see the best players in the final but rules are rules. I hurled for 30 odd years and never felt the need to put the helmet off anyone. If this rule has done one this this year, it has highlighted the amount of times helmets are actually interfered with. Intentional interference should be an automatic 4 week ban. That would cut it out fairly quick. Gleeson gained absolutely nothing by pulling his helmet off, he knew exactly what he was doing and made that decision himself. He will now miss out of the most coveted day in any GAA persons life. A terrible pity but rules are rules.

Faithfull (National) - 14/08/2017 14:01:11

Big Flaw In Hawkeye System - 3 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Missing the point if Hawkeye is deployed game has to stop no other sport allows game to continue for 32 secs while a decision is being consider. I am right and you are incorrect. You simply cannot allow game to continue ref indicated he couldn't hear because of noise. This is why GAAis amateur sport."
Did you actually watch the incident? The ball was caught in play, i.e. the game never stopped! Hawkeye was not "deployed" by anyone on the field, neither umpire or ref because they did not see it go over the bar. As play unfolded 20 seconds later, the hawkeye official in the stand contacted the ref and said that last shot was a point, bring it back and restart the play. Hawkeye checks every shot in the background in case there is a mistake as there was yesterday. It does not need to be signaled by the umpire. There have been many instances where umpires have made a wide or point decision for hawkeye to interfere and correct it. Relatively straight forward sequence of play that you are not understanding. Had it been waved wide and there was a restart then you would have a valid point but based on what actually happened I'm afraid it is you that is incorrect. Only comment I would make is the process of using hawkeye in general is too slow.

Faithfull (National) - 29/07/2019 17:15:59

Is It Time To Bury Provincial Hurling Championships- At Senior Level - 3 Like(s)
Don't agree with the argument of the 4 week lay off. Teams now will have played at least 5 games before getting to a semi final by winning their province. Plenty of time to get up to pace. 2014, 2015 and 2016, Kilkenny played 2 games to get to a semi and had a 5 week break after Leinster final. Teams they played game through a qualifier series and they still got into the final. At that stage Kilkenny were much weaker than they were in 06-12. There was a puck of a ball between both sets of teams at the weekend. No way Tipp beating Laois had anything to do with that. KK were either missing some key players for the Leinster Final or had players returning from long layoffs, these players were pivotal in the match against Cork. Hogan got 1-2, Walsh got 4 points from the bench. It might be an argument if the provincial winners were getting hammered. There is nothing between the top 8 teams and they could go out again this weekend and results would be completely different.

Faithfull (National) - 30/07/2019 13:07:28

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "What ever. It is whinging of the highest order from Kilkenny and they should be ashamed of themselves. Will not have too many admires outside of Kilkenny going forward. I have supported them living there for nearly 20 years. The people I hear whinging now called Mullane every sort of dirty ****** you could think off. At least he was man enough to take his punishment that probably cost Waterford an All-Ireland. Opponents were told to go out and niggle him and did on that day but he never said anything. Grow a pair of b-lls Richie and Kilkenny."
If you lived in KK for 20 years you'll probably appreciate that Mullane left a very sour taste in their mouths after what happened that young fella back in that 2003 club game. It was well documented at the time. I would say he got back a lot of that respect in 2008 when he was the only Waterford player to stay on the field and watch KK lift the cup.

Faithfull (National) - 23/08/2019 10:33:56

The Sunday Game - 2 Like(s)
That was shocking stuff last night. The two lads spent 10 minutes trying to justify their own failings rather than talking about the many talking points in both games. Hopefully that's the two of them done for the rest of the year.

Faithfull (National) - 29/07/2019 11:03:05

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "If letting a fella away with deliberately elbowing another player in the chin just so you can "restore order to the game" then we have a serious problem with the game, Nobody should be allowed basically assault just so order can be restored to the game."
It's not letting a player away with anything, it is the ref getting control back on the game. He let both teams away with blatant yellows in the first 30 minutes and then all of a sudden decides to apply the rules to the full letter of the law. There was far worse challenges throughout the year not punished with a red. Buckley elbow against Limerick, shoulder to Hogan's head against Cork. Both incidents were far worse. In my opinion, had the ref been applying the rules from the off then nobody would have said a word about the red because the marker would of been laid down early. The above is exactly why two referee's won't work in hurling.

Faithfull (National) - 20/08/2019 10:38:03

Is This The Golden Age Of Hurling? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To baire:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "We were bullied by strong teams this year Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 519 - 08/08/2019 19:39:52 2222787 Bullied? I see, all of Waterford's problems this year were down to them being "bullied" by the big boys. Nothing to do with the Waterford players, management or county board."
KK were bullied by Tipp for years. When Galway gave KK a hiding in the 2001 ASF Cody vowed that they'd never be bullied like that again! We all know what followed ..."]5 points was hardly a hiding but Galway's physicality that day definitely changed the landscape of hurling for the next decade with KK winning 7 of the next 10. Brian Cody swiftly moved away from the silky Charlie Carter type players and went for predominately big strong men up front.

Faithfull (National) - 09/08/2019 12:00:59

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To fainleog:  "The sliothar was within reaching distance."
Swinging the hurl behind someone's head, where was the hurl going to end up regardless of whether he connected on the ball our not. The momentum was always going to put the player in front of him in harms way. If he connected on the ball the hurl wasn't just going to come to a stop. It's a new one to me where the word reckless and yellow card can be used in the same sentence. Surely if it's reckless and causes injury it's a red regardless of accidental of not.

Faithfull (National) - 21/08/2019 22:00:21

Kilkenny Vs Limerick - 2 Like(s)
I was at the game, fantastic viewing for a Neutral although I was leaning towards the Leinster team for the win. My observations were: After all Brian Cody has delivered for the County, Kilkenny's support yesterday was nothing short of scandalous. Not really noticeable on tv when I watched back but every time there was a Kilkenny score there were a few claps but when Limerick got a score they lifted the roof. This definitely had an effect on the players. I noticed one poster said TJ Reid was poor. Had KK won he'd of been up there for MOTM in my opinion. The amount of work he did off the ball (i.e. probably missed on tv) was unbelievable. He chased, harassed and hooked at every opportunity. Caught some great balls and brought other forwards into play with flicks and runs to draw defenders after him, at one stage he was even being double marked. I myself thought he was unreal yesterday. On the referee, I thought he made some poor calls on both sides throughout the game. The Donnelly one was even questioned by the Limerick people beside me and it was probably most noticeable because it was towards the end of the game. Overall I think these things usually even themselves out. On the overall game, wides tally I believe was 18 points to 8. You cannot hit that many wides at this level and expect to live to tell the tale. Kilkenny only have themselves to blame. On the remainder of the Championship, my preference for the win now would be Limerick however, I'm going for a repeat of the 2013 final. I see Clare catching Galway with the short game and I see Cork beating Limerick. Kilkenny probably have their worst set of 6 forwards since the pre DJ era and yet they had over 40 shots at the target. That has to be a worry for Limerick with the quality Cork have upfront.

Faithfull (National) - 16/07/2018 14:05:13

Limerick V Kilkenny - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Yes, my point exactly. That's why if Tipp are lucky enough to get there I'd be putting Noel McGrath at centre forward. Having said that Limerick are excellent at marking space and each man covers their area really well. TJ has been excellent in a lot of games this year but has struggled badly in others. I genuinely can't see a way KK can win this game. If Limerick can create space in their own forward line then they could run up a huge score against that KK backline. BUT back to backs are hard won and it'll be interesting to see if the hunger is there from Limerick They can't have become invincible that quickly. However, Limerick by 6pts + for me"
Would completely disagree with the comment on TJ Reid struggling badly in any championship game this year. Outstanding in first 3 games, held scoreless against Wexford in first game although he was still very influential. Leinster Final he was outstanding again. That dummy for the point in the second half was class. Against Cork held from play but I was at that match and he was brilliant. Probably scored 4 points from frees where he was fouled himself. Caught an amount of ball, set up 3-4 points and his hooking and blocking was second to none. Saying all that Limerick +6 is there or thereabouts where I think the score will be at also if Kilkenny can't contain Limerick. Both teams tend to start slow, a purple patch in this game needs to put 6-8 points on the board.

Faithfull (National) - 25/07/2019 10:28:37

Irish But Never Held A Hurl? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Hurling isnt for me, said it before. There is no method to hurling. I prefer to watch a game where you see teams try to figure out how to break a defence down for example, Like gaelic football and soccer. A game where you have to work a score rather than just blasting a ball from 110 yards over a bar. Its a lot of hit and hope stuff in my opinion. Is it skilful ? Well yes, it is. But then, give a hurler a snooker cue and he wont hit century breaks straight away. Give a hurler a set of darts and he wont be hitting 180s for fun straight away. Every single sport has its own admirable skills. Personally, I think id hit a sliotar over the bar from 65 70 mtrs in Croke Park with nobody tackling me, quicker and more regularly than id hit a 180 at the ally pally in the darts with thousands of people behind me watching or a century break on full size snooker table My point is, This "most skilful game in the world" that people just throw out is something i simply dont agree with. If you practice and play hurling from a young age and youre good enough to play intercounty in all ireland semi finals, it should be expected that, you can do all the basics, and make them look straightforward like scoring from distance, like unreal fielding, like sideline cuts, like running through tackles while balancing the sliotar on your hurl. Its not *that* skillful Is hurling the fastest, most hectic game in the world, Id say it probably is. Doesnt make it most skilful or definitively the greatest sport there has ever been. The above is simply my opinion and i think other GAA people would have a similar opinion, Football for me is the better of the two. For some, just watching a fast headless chicken like sport is entertaining, for others, like me, i just prefer to go into a game knowing there are more than 1 way of playing the game, Its not just gonna be a you shoot from miles, then ill shoot from miles, 1 shot every 45sec-min type of game, Id rather stand watching a team clearly try to figure out how to beat a blanket defence. Or id prefer to see a high scoring kicking game like Kildare v Galway, Monaghan v Kerry etc. The lack of hurling numbers on HS tells alot too. Its the inferior supported of the two codes."
Your comments suggest you don't really watch the sport. Hitting a ball over the bar in hurling on your own from 60 yards is not the equivalent of throwing a 180 in darts. The equivalent in darts would be hitting the board. The skill in hurling is controlling the ball at speed with one touch. Putting a ball into a players hand from 80 yards away while on the run, timing a hook or block correctly while the apposing player is bearing down on goal. I'd like to see you try that and come back with the same comments. How do you think your striking would go if the ball was wet and the wind was blowing into your face. The best players make hurling look easy but it is far from it. Your just bitter that football doesn't get the plaudits because of how boring the games are most of the time.

Faithfull (National) - 31/07/2018 13:28:23

Munster Hurling Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Nah...they are like a dying wasp and their final sting was Wexford another team who should have flattend Kilkenny before they got stung! Even their own faithful fans admit Kilkenny are in transition and trying to build a team again and to give them time. But who cares really...enough about them they have had plenty of Glory, it's about Limerick, Clare, Cork and Galway this year.... they are all fine teams and would make mouthwatering All Ireland semi finals!"
I can see Kilkenny winning Leinster. Cody has 4 weeks now to work out a game plan to beat Galway. Not many managers have beaten him twice.

Faithfull (National) - 12/06/2018 12:19:55

Is It Time To Bury Provincial Hurling Championships- At Senior Level - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Maybe we should- go figure. No real Leinster team, outside Kilkenny, has contested an All Ireland Final at Senior Level since 2000. All five Munster Counties have contested All Ireland Finals in this decade alone, with Waterford Cork both losing a Final narrowly. No Leinster Under 21 team, outside Kilkenny has won an All Ireland since 2000. While Cork have won none in that period, Limerick, Clare and Waterford have won 10 between the three of them. Only one League title has been won by those 'other' counties in Leinster since 2000. So it is easy to argue cogently that Kilkenny do have an easier, and yes I do acknowledge that KK sides over the past twenty years have been utterly exceptional, road to ultimate success. You mention Galway from 2009- interesting. Galway have appeared in five All Ireland Finals since 2009, including a replay, and won just one, a perfect reflection of their rate of success in their final appearances up to 2009."
There's several ways you could argue what you're saying. If what you have said is true then Limerick and Tipp should be in the final because they've had a relativity easy path to the semi finals this year. Munster wasn't competitive in the slightest with the hammerings that were dished out. Limerick could even afford to rest several players in the final group game against Tipp who they then hammered in the final. When in the history of the game has a team ever been able to rest key players. Even in the qualifier years when Limerick and co were knocked out of Munster in the first round and then hammered ourselves, Wexford and Dublin for an easy path to a semi final. Why were they not winning finals then? Why after a so called easy route through the back door were they still losing to Kilkenny who would have played the same teams in Leinster? For example, In 2008 KK hammered us out the gate (18 points), hammered Wexford also (19 points). Waterford went out in the first round of Munster and played Antrim (21 points), then played us (6 points) and Wexford (1 point). KK played Cork and Waterford played Tipp in the semi and we all know what happened in the final. Waterford ended up having nearly the same route to the semi final as KK did. Stating that KK were winning finals because they had in easy in Leinster doesn't stack up. Kk finished top of the group in Leinster with all 4 teams on 5 points and any one of those teams could have been knocked out going into the last 5 minutes of the final games. Leinster was unbelievably tough this year and I believe it was those difficult games that got Kilkenny the wins against Cork and Limerick. Cork and Limerick you could argue were not prepared for the level of intensity because they didn't have the difficult group games Kilkenny had. Wexford showed they are up there now dining at the top table with their performances against Tipp and Kilkenny in the Leinster Final. So an easy route to the semi final doesn't make a difference.

Faithfull (National) - 14/08/2019 10:54:46

Is It Time To Bury Provincial Hurling Championships- At Senior Level - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "If u boys or wexford copped urselfs on and had decent teams it might have been a decent leinster championship for years.....Yes they gave muster teams a clipping after a gruelling muster championship and they all rested up after cakewalk but muster teams also gave kk many a thumping too at least were competitive pal"
Playing a game or 2 in Munster is hardly grueling! People are complaining that Limerick and Wexford had too much of a break, now your saying KK only were successful because they had a break. If anything Munster teams should have been better prepared for having the games.

Faithfull (National) - 12/08/2019 14:57:36

Is This The Golden Age Of Hurling? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "In the corresponding decade in the last centuries eight different counties won it. I suppose we will never see the likes of that again."
I think with the current format we are likely to see more variety in the winners. Between 96 and 2001 just as the back door came in we had 6 different counties winning the final. If KK win 2019 then we will have 4 different winners in the last 4 years. Doing back to back in this new system will be incredibly difficult with the number of games teams have to play. Interesting stat, if Tipp win Sunday week, with the exception of Brian Cody who has won 11 All Irelands as manager, Liam Sheedy will be the first manager to win 2 All Irelands since Ger Loughnane with Clare in 1997. He will also be the first manager to beat Brian Cody is back to back championship games. Incredible stat after 20 years.

Faithfull (National) - 07/08/2019 12:49:18

All Ireland Hurling Final Referee - 1 Like(s)

Replying To jobber:  "The ones who made fools of themselves are the national committee who didn't even give Mcgrath one of the four jobs on All Ireland day after his great service. Make no mistake the key event here was the Limerick Kilkenny match. Some people have to find scapegoats for any defeat"
To be fair he had a shocker in that match. I was at it, had Limerick lost they would have picked several decisions they felt went against them also. The one that stands out was the blatant foul on Donnelly that would have drawn it level but Limerick went up the field and scored. Coming out and complaining is an insult to those who were selected.

Faithfull (National) - 10/08/2018 13:46:04