Equivalents In Outpouring Of Wider GAA Fans To Mayo's Win In All Ireland

Replying To Seniorleague:  "The title says wider GAA fans,and nothing those counties,or my own, achieved ever generated the same level of nationwide goodwill and support that Mayos victory generated yesterday.

Even before the social media age Mayos history of all Ireland troubles were well known and would have created more publicity from neutral fans than any other counties victory."
We'll agree to disagree.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2322 - 27/07/2026 21:07:34    2687641

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "From Mayo's last All Ireland final appearance in 2021-

How many players from that team are on the current panel (and played a part yesterday)?"
Only two starters from both finals I believe, O'Donoghue and O'Connor. I think it's 5 more involved in some action on both days.
It just shows the massive turnaround. Even some lads who breaking in as young players in 2021 weren't on the panel at all yesterday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2982 - 27/07/2026 21:21:05    2687643

When you have a former President of the USA and the current Prime Minister of Canada commenting on the win, you know you are in different territory in exposure than other counties victories in the past.

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 271 - 27/07/2026 22:06:05    2687650

Just as a further aside I see on twitter as of this evening the Sunday Games clip of the closing stages of the game has 17.4 million views!!

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 271 - 27/07/2026 22:11:45    2687651

Replying To Claretandblue:  "What a post in the middle of positive posts. If we opened a thread on behaviour of Dublin supporters over the years the forum would go into meltdown"
Don't worry, he saw nothing of the sort.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1709 - 27/07/2026 22:37:15    2687660

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "From Mayo's last All Ireland final appearance in 2021-

How many players from that team are on the current panel (and played a part yesterday)?"
2 starters in common, Ryan O'Donoghue and Diarmuid O'Connor. Matty Ruane, Tommy Conroy, Conor Loftus and Paddy Durcan all started in 21 and came off the bench yesterday. Jordan Flynn was a sub in 2021 and started yesterday. Then in the panel at large Robbie Hennelly, Aidan O'Shea, Darren McHale and Cillian O'Connor were on both panels

otgarom (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 27/07/2026 23:12:50    2687672

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Mayo had lost 11 finals in 37 years 1989-2025, and a whopping 6 of those in 10 years 2012-2021. No wins. It was well setup for 'an outpouring' in that context. It differed from '82 imo, because yesterday was all about Mayo, and the backdrop of the tortuous last 40 years of their 75 year journey. In contrast, '82 was nearly more about Kerry than Offaly, the 'mythical' 5 in a row dashed, the 'unbeatables' beaten, and the spectacular late goal winner that pulled it off. Yesterday would be hard bet for emotion, but that's Mayo and football."
'and a whopping 6 of those in 10 years 2012-2021'
The group from this era were a very good group. They didn't play well in 2021 final but they really got few breaks in the previous 5 finals they played and had really unlucky timing in the very hard competition they faced in this era.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 141 - 27/07/2026 23:16:58    2687675

Replying To Square_B:  "We'll agree to disagree."
Agreed

Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 28/07/2026 06:10:51    2687688

Replying To ohwow:  "Just as a further aside I see on twitter as of this evening the Sunday Games clip of the closing stages of the game has 17.4 million views!!"
Rte coverage of the the game itself and especially the celebrations has been fantastic. Some of the slow-mo reels on social media in particular.

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 150 - 28/07/2026 10:41:32    2687715

Replying To richiepmurphy:  "Rte coverage of the the game itself and especially the celebrations has been fantastic. Some of the slow-mo reels on social media in particular."
Hmm not sure they deserve that praise, I think some of the camera work and commentary below par, but we'll leave that for another thread

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 271 - 28/07/2026 12:03:54    2687748

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It was response to another tiresome whinge about "home ground" by Kerry chap."
Sorry Barney but if Kerry got to play ALL their biggest games at home ye would be giving out too and rightly so.

Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 28/07/2026 14:54:38    2687814

Anyone here old enough to remember Down winning in 1960? First time it was won by one of the 6 counties. I don't remember it, I'm not old enough but It must have been a huge moment.

Or Down in 1991. First time it went North since the start of the troubles. I loved that Down team but I wouldn't have been old enough to understand the wider context.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 388 - 28/07/2026 23:57:13    2687935

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "I don't remember 1982 but my father often said Offaly's 1982 win was huge and everybody at the time outside really wanted Offaly to win due to Kerry's dominance at the time, he said at the time people wondered would Kerry dominance ever end.

Yesterday was the by far the biggest win in terms of national interest that I can remember- I think more for the fact of getting to 11 finals since 1989 and not winning any of them more than the 75 year wait itself.
Lot of close run finals in there.

Clare in the 1995 huling felt big, there are not many teams competitive in hurling and a new team coming on the scene felt refreshing.

I get the impression Down winning the football in 1991 was huge for the 9 Ulster counties (up there they all seem to support the other Ulster teams in Semi finals/ finals) and that was the first Ulster team first to win it in 23 years.

I actually don't think we'll see a team winning an All Ireland being such a big story nationally in my lifetime if ever.
Qualifing for 11 finals in 33 seasons and losing them all, likelihood of this happening is very small, more so when you see that there have been a lot of close run defeats."
Offaly in 1982 was mental in the aftermath of the Kerry defeat for the 5 in a row, in lesser times of technology, the sun visor stickers all accross the windows leading up were "Kerry for 5" and etc. etc. When Offaly won, of course the Offaly AI champions equivalent came out and in a mint green transparent full width of windsreen and about 4 inches deep were adorned on every Hilmant Hunter, Mark 3/4 Cortina, Austin A30/40 and their equivaents that moved...The Seamus Darby story later tells how it ruined his life after the aftermath, one would hope today most players are well grounded and will live out normal lives after Mayos win..it was well over due.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1041 - 29/07/2026 12:13:00    2687976

Replying To Cbar:  "Anyone here old enough to remember Down winning in 1960? First time it was won by one of the 6 counties. I don't remember it, I'm not old enough but It must have been a huge moment.

Or Down in 1991. First time it went North since the start of the troubles. I loved that Down team but I wouldn't have been old enough to understand the wider context."
I was around alright but we didn't have a telly.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 664 - 29/07/2026 21:22:51    2688086

Replying To Seniorleague:  "Sorry Barney but if Kerry got to play ALL their biggest games at home ye would be giving out too and rightly so."
Short of moving Croke Park I really don't see what the solution is. It never bothered them when they had very good teams. Or even not so good teams.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4522 - 30/07/2026 07:54:07    2688104

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Offaly in 1982 was mental in the aftermath of the Kerry defeat for the 5 in a row, in lesser times of technology, the sun visor stickers all accross the windows leading up were "Kerry for 5" and etc. etc. When Offaly won, of course the Offaly AI champions equivalent came out and in a mint green transparent full width of windsreen and about 4 inches deep were adorned on every Hilmant Hunter, Mark 3/4 Cortina, Austin A30/40 and their equivaents that moved...The Seamus Darby story later tells how it ruined his life after the aftermath, one would hope today most players are well grounded and will live out normal lives after Mayos win..it was well over due."
I was on the cabal and behind the goals when Derby got that goal. Never experienced anything like that. We were swept up and down several times with crushes from that to the final whistle.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 2319 - 30/07/2026 09:50:59    2688119

Replying To Freethinker:  "I was on the cabal and behind the goals when Derby got that goal. Never experienced anything like that. We were swept up and down several times with crushes from that to the final whistle."
It must have been amazing in fairness.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5254 - 30/07/2026 10:12:03    2688120

That Sunday Game video currently nearly on 24 million views. Surprised the gaa didn't demand it to be geoblocked and only viewed through gaa go

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 271 - 30/07/2026 11:13:28    2688133

I have been lucky as my Dad brought me to many finals as a kid regardless of Kerry playing or not.
Big days Ive been at for teams winning after long barren spells were
1981 Offaly hurlers first ever win
1982 Offaly s footballers historic win
1993 Derry s first win in football
1995 Clare s long awaited win in hurling
2002 Armaghs first win
2003 Tyrone s first win
2011 Dubs win after a 16 year gap
2012 Donegals win after a 20 year gap
2026 Mayo after a 25 year gap

All very special in their own ways.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4237 - 30/07/2026 11:42:30    2688138

I think its wonderful to be part of history.While Kerry have been so successful in football its ironic Kerry have been involved in so many historic finals as losers.

It makes me proud though when I hear people say it makes it extra special to beat Kerry.Thats a compliment to me.In fact the great Kevin Heffernan used to say " beating Kerry in an All Ireland was like winning two All Irelands".
I suppose like beating Kilkenny,Cork or Tipp in hurling.

Anyway Kerry being part of historic days
1.Down first All Ireland ever in 1960 v Kerry
2.Offaly s historic win in 1982
3.Armagh s first win 2002
4.Dubs first win aftee 16 year 2011
5.Mayo s 75 year pain is over 2026.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4237 - 30/07/2026 11:52:13    2688142