Football Championship 2026

Replying To Square_B:  "Well I wouldn't begrudge Louth an All Ireland. After today they showed some grit to win with 14 men for most of the match. By all accounts they've had 2 great years that will take a while to forget. It would be fantastic for the game. But in reality Kerry would win."
Lol you literally hate Andy and Mayo soo bitter ha

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1169 - 29/06/2026 05:09:18    2682740

Replying To Belclare98:  "Mayo in a semi final having lost two games and played two div 2 teams and a team bet to bits in been relegated from div 1 ( Monaghan)"
Good man Belclare. Galway have just been knocked out by relegated Dublin…who cares about the league. In 1998 Galway beat Derry in the semi and Kildare in the final…hardly two counties that would strike fear into anyone but that did not matter, Galway were the best team and deservedly won Sam.

You should not be belittling how any team gets to a semi or final. Then again we know your hatred for Mayo, but that's your problem I guess.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12166 - 29/06/2026 05:55:27    2682742

Mayo,Galway and Kerry share something in common that is the experience of and the fear of in the future being reffed by a resident of the county they are playing against.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1974 - 29/06/2026 06:35:18    2682743

Does anyone know why a lot of posts on here don't get uploaded? It seems random enough it's hard to know what can be written that is acceptable.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 342 - 29/06/2026 06:39:41    2682744

Wow. Well not many would have seen any of Dublin, Mayo or Louth in an All Ireland semi final.

What an incredible performance by Louth. Would be amazing to see them in the final. I'd say Louth v Mayo will sell out fast.

For Mayo, a young team but the fact this is probably Kobes only shot at an All Ireland for the foreseeable means Mayo have a different type of pressure. There is no tomorrow. This might be a great looking youthful team but he and the team have to go for it completely.

They should beat Louth and whilst likely 5-6 points underdogs v Kerry, anything can happen in Gaelic football now.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 29/06/2026 07:53:17    2682749

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "And never once heard a Mayo manager whinge after a match."
A lot of Dubs winging after the Donegal v Kerry game. And Dublin not even playing. Dublin manager even had a winge via a solicitor

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1953 - 29/06/2026 08:42:54    2682757

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "And never once heard a Mayo manager whinge after a match."
A lot of Dubs wingeing about Kerry v Donegal

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1953 - 29/06/2026 09:09:28    2682760

Nor supporters. We're well known for being gracious and sound in defeat.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8643 - 29/06/2026 09:20:00    2682763

As an Ulster man I would have siad that atleast one of Donegal/Armagh/Tyrone would be in the All Ireland Final this year minimum. The new rules have allowed good footballers to thrive and even if Kerry or Dublin Win the all Ireland this year I think we should be taking our hats off to Louth & Westmeath who have been brilliant this year.
Mayo where nowhere to be seen early on and now 2 games from winning Sam, outside of Galway and Rosscommon nobody would begrudge them a title.

It really is a pity that we have shortened the championship.

Good luck to those in the Semi's and for us dreamers I hope Mayo or Louth win it all.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 312 - 29/06/2026 09:20:02    2682764

Replying To moros:  "Off to the Tailteann forum lad. We won a bit this year? Ye won a game. Know one's place. Cheers buddy."
Tea in Elphin? Love to all?

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 236 - 29/06/2026 09:35:22    2682770

Replying To Fionn:  "I think it is great that either Louth or Mayo will make it to an All Ireland Final.
But if as expected Kerry make the final, I honestly don't hold out much hope for either. No offence.
I just can't see either Louth or Mayo beating them.

But hopefully I am proved wrong.
It would be great for the GAA imo…."
Agreed. I think whoever wins between Louth and mayo nearly everyone in the country will be cheering for them in the final

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 121 - 29/06/2026 10:35:26    2682780

Its all Kieran Duff' fault

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 514 - 29/06/2026 11:01:50    2682789

Replying To TommyBermingham:  "Semi Final
Kerry v Monaghan
Galway v Mayo"
Any update on this Tommy?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 965 - 29/06/2026 11:07:10    2682792

The game has been waiting a long time for a performance like that yesterday between Monaghan and Louth, Monaghan should not feel aggrieved or hard done by they were simply beaten by an unstoppable Louth side, I would go as far as saying should Louth have been playing Mayo, Kerry or Dublin on yesterday's performance they would have beaten the pick of the three, no disrespect meant, I'm simply saying on yesterday's performance Louth would be All Ireland champions, and why not.

Good luck to them from here on in.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3398 - 29/06/2026 11:15:30    2682794

Replying To cluichethar:  "At least we are still in with a shot at losing another All Ireland final not like Galway"
Ye are indeed, and were thoroughly deserving of your victory at the weekend. Your full forward line shot the lights out, and some of your defending was top class. We lost the game in the first half because we couldn't convert all our possession. We were back to our old selves of slow turgid play and wayward shooting. Shocking stuff tbh. Can't believe we waited for our biggest game of the year to put in our worst display, and just when Cork fans were starting to get on board.

A hugely disappointing end to the season for us. Best of luck to Mayo going forward, ye have some fine young talent in that team.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 602 - 29/06/2026 11:51:18    2682807

Kerry v Mayo

and we know how that will end

hlynch12 (Limerick) - Posts: 139 - 29/06/2026 12:02:31    2682811

A great weekend of football it has to be said.
Louth's win was extraordinary, fair play to them. That point near the end where Mulroy was gassed out, but still managed to flick the ball up, take a hit and pass it out to Ciaran Byrne for the score was magic. One of the scores of the Championship for me.

It will be a real loss to the GAA when Kobe leaves for Australia. Chutzpah, pazazz, audacity whatever you want to call it. he has it. Young Byrne was superb as well. Cork were disappointing but Mayo always looked a bit too strong in any case.
The semi-final is a novel pairing. I'd say Croke Park will be heaving for that one and it'll be a very tricky game to call.

Kerry and Tyrone was a right good ding-dong battle as well. Tyrone will definitely have regrets. Yes there were two very questionable decisions which went against them, but their wide count was the real killer. Donnelly and Dzzler were superb. Kerry will be glad of that good test, and their returning lads got more minutes into the legs. Dylan Geaney is moving into POTY category for me, another superb display from him.

Fair play to the Duns too. They're coming to the boil nicely these past few weeks when everyone was doubting them. I had a fear for Galway, that if Dublin were close with ten to go they'd be in bother. PJ complained about a few decisions afterwards, but I think Galwy were just a bit too passive in the first half. Another year of regrets for them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10404 - 29/06/2026 12:10:30    2682813

at least they don't hire solicitors to complain on their behalf

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1953 - 29/06/2026 12:11:14    2682814

Cant say its the draw I wanted v Dublin but its def what the public wanted.I respect Dublin but I hate losing to them. The Mayo v Louth draw is great too and its great one of them will be back in a final again.

While Mayo have been to many finals we forget that they have gone longer than Louth without an All Ireland so I certainly would nt begrudge either team an All Ireland.

Louth have lit up the championship and have some brilliant players.Mickey Harte,Ger Brennan and now Gavin Devlin deserve great praise.Other counties should follow.

Mayo have been hot and cold but looked clued in the last day v Cork.It was a pleasure to see Kobe play live in Croke park.I saw him play in Tralee but really enjoyed watching him in croker.He is already a superstar.He has it all.He fetched one ball from a kickout that was a monster catch.He wil be a huge loss not only to Mayo but to all gaa followers.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4204 - 29/06/2026 12:49:14    2682825

Replying To shaggykev:  "Wow. Well not many would have seen any of Dublin, Mayo or Louth in an All Ireland semi final.

What an incredible performance by Louth. Would be amazing to see them in the final. I'd say Louth v Mayo will sell out fast.

For Mayo, a young team but the fact this is probably Kobes only shot at an All Ireland for the foreseeable means Mayo have a different type of pressure. There is no tomorrow. This might be a great looking youthful team but he and the team have to go for it completely.

They should beat Louth and whilst likely 5-6 points underdogs v Kerry, anything can happen in Gaelic football now."
Anything can happen, but shocks are less likely at the business end. Mayo are under zero pressure or expectation to win this all Ireland imo. They've beaten Monaghan, Meath, Cork to make the semis, and I'd suspect were favs to win those 3, as an established div1 outfit. Very few however would fancy Dublin, Mayo or Louth to lay a glove on Kerry at the semi or final this season. The fixtures will sell well still, I'd say.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4833 - 29/06/2026 12:55:07    2682829