Westmeath Football thread

Replying To Dessie15:  "It seems one poster has a serious issue with Sam McCartan...easy to ready between the lines and the comments to see that poster is one of he many new supporters Westmeath have gained this year.

Sam has been one of our players of the championship so far, has been a stalwart for a number of years now. was excellent when we won the Tailteann Cup. He is a brilliant player and we are lucky to have him.

For the long term fans one the board, I wouldn't bother responding to that, just a wind up merchant.

Lets look to Sunday and hopefully the lads will do us proud again"
Read the Westmeath examiner, backs up my post.
Like I said. I know what I'm talking about.
Examiner won't call out by name. But we all know who there talking about.

Hopefully he would have learned his lesson, give the ball to the man, that's been top scorer in Ireland for a reason. And the other forwards they will do the damage.

Joeynyc (Westmeath) - Posts: 23 - 20/06/2026 13:15:21    2680698

What time do people think we would want to be leaving Mullingar for this match ?

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1081 - 20/06/2026 16:45:04    2680723

Best of luck to players and management today. Here's hoping for another great performance be it a win or a loss. Ye have giving great pride and delight to this old curmudgeon this year. Onwards and upwards.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 21/06/2026 08:14:18    2680807

Replying To 2maroonjerseys:  "Best of luck to players and management today. Here's hoping for another great performance be it a win or a loss. Ye have giving great pride and delight to this old curmudgeon this year. Onwards and upwards."
Id tell everyone to cherish every game with family and friends because one day it will be the last. I never thought the Kildare game would be last game Id share with my brother. He was the proudest Westmeath man in Tullamore and would have been proud looking down from above when Ronan Wallace lifted the Delaney cup. Im glad to be back on the horse today and his kids will be with us. Well be thinking of him and be grateful win or lose.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 394 - 21/06/2026 09:59:52    2680819

just a memo . dont be surprised if james mitchell starts in goals

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 2011 - 21/06/2026 11:50:22    2680831

No better day to exit the championship than in the sun soaked clones. It's been a good year for yous so enjoy today and clap your lads off.

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 721 - 21/06/2026 12:22:20    2680835

From the first whistle against Louth in the O'Byrne cup to the hooter today , each and every single one of them lads have burst their gut and gave us a year to remeber , can not and no one can fault any of them , it's been a year full of memories , our wildest dreams achieved and we are only getting started , to mark McHugh his staff and everyone one of those panel members thank you for a wonderful year allowing us to dream and for delivering the sweetest of Leinster championships , roll on 2027 IARMHI ABU

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 85 - 21/06/2026 18:03:12    2680927

Fair play to the lads and all the management team. A great year, one to savour.
Time now to turn our minds to the club championship.

GozoGael (Westmeath) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2026 18:16:32    2680934

Replying To Laker1500:  "Was hoping for Monaghan at home. Away… in Clones, Will take it.
I give us a real chance.

Monaghan are a great footballing county and play great football. Clones away should be a cracker.

Monaghan don't have the inside line Galway has.
Monaghan are (in some games) very reliant on dead ball. Mc Carron unreal but 33 and they can't keep relying on him as much as they are. Dessie ward is 32 I think. Conor mc carty is very good tbf.
I think our full back line will do a job on their inside line …
Mooney also looks to be out inj and he is a real goal threat.
Learn from the messy goals v Galway and Monaghan could be under real pressure from play...

Monaghan have had 2x extra time games. They were 12 pts down v Derry and looking very average in parts. Tbf, some come back. They lost extra time looking tired in the Ulster final. They lost to mayo. Good against the Rossies...

I was hopeful going into galway but thought Galway to shade it ...

We will beat Monaghan."
I can tell you there isn't a person in Monaghan who took Westmeath for granted. Leinster may not be a strong province, but 5 championship wins is a serious achievement. This "we will beat Monaghan" comment though, anyone with even half a football brain knew that was not a certainty.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 62 - 21/06/2026 19:11:46    2680957

Our kickouts in the second half were a disaster. Absolute disaster. I also think it took Rory Beggan to go off in the 66th min by the time we won a Monaghan KIck out in the second half.

I was on sideline when Brian Cooney was called ashore. He was the solidarity westmeath lad trying to field a Mitchell kickout and had 3 Monaghan lads against him. Immediately McHugh called Forde over, who was warming up and by time Robbie Forde had his bib off did McHugh tell the sideline what he was doing. Dont know what Brian Cooney did wrong in the last 2 games, but certainly Salthill and Clones was not his doing.

Maroon Heaven (Westmeath) - Posts: 65 - 21/06/2026 19:33:13    2680968

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "I can tell you there isn't a person in Monaghan who took Westmeath for granted. Leinster may not be a strong province, but 5 championship wins is a serious achievement. This "we will beat Monaghan" comment though, anyone with even half a football brain knew that was not a certainty."
"Leinster may not be a strong province"
Westmeath best Cavan
Louth beat Armagh
Meath beat Derry
Dublin best Donegal.

Fair play on your win today. Our injuries and inexperience around the middle caught up with us today. Better team won today. However take Beggan out of your team and yee are on par with likes of Kildare and Cavan who we played this year.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 654 - 21/06/2026 20:31:15    2680993