This forum has a lovely Carlow Sugar Factory in the 1940s vibe. It's lovely the way the past is honoured because I haven't seen some of these pre 1922 terms in use by older people since the 70s.
CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 185 - 07/06/2026 13:45:21 2678486 Link 3 |
I said it after first Joe MC game so it's hardly a case that im basing it on yesterday.........I know we were missing players for league but it was a disgrace really. Our performance against Antrim in a must win game was even worse than yesterday
Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 606 - 07/06/2026 13:45:28 2678487 Link 0 |
I can't say if Laois played well or not as we didn't turn up at all. We definitely didn't perform. I wouldn't expect you to understand as the bigger boys don't generally keep tabs on what's happened in the weaker counties. Yesterday was a massive under performance from Carlow. Only 6 weeks ago Carlow hammered Laois in the 1st round by 9 points. Yes Carlows shooting was terrible yesterday but iv never seen that before from them. It was just one of them days. I think ye had a total collapse in the All Ireland last year so can happen to anyone. carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 345 - 07/06/2026 13:48:08 2678488 Link 0 |
With the way Kilkenny club hurling is going, honouring the past will be a Kilkenny feature as well.
CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 07/06/2026 13:57:44 2678490 Link 0 |
Shouldn't use terms like disgrace to describe a squad of lads that have brought glory to the county for a decade. Losses are part of sport. carlovia (None) - Posts: 1554 - 07/06/2026 14:06:57 2678494 Link 0 |
If you're going to make your second ever post on this entire forum about Carlow, and not Cork curiously, at least get the facts right. Your 9/10 comment is simply way off the mark and definitely in senior hurling.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1873 - 07/06/2026 14:44:27 2678502 Link 0 |
Ok fair enough disgrace is a strong word so I ll rephrase. I know we were missing a lot of players in league so it was difficult. However, it was a chance to develop a game plan and for the manager to put his imprint on the team. I don't think we did this or develop any of our lower profile players into a gameplan.The Antrim League game was very disappointing as it was always likely to be a must win game on the day. Similar to Joe MC final I felt we lacked the build up play to get key players into scoring positions. Anyway, fair play to players who gave it all they had. Personally I feel disappointed as I think this team has a lot of potential which we did nt see this year. Those are my last words on the issue. Good luck to all in club championship. Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 606 - 07/06/2026 14:44:32 2678504 Link 0 |
But you're not really neutral are you? Sum total of zero posts about Cork but a sudden interest in Carlow and Leix!
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1873 - 07/06/2026 14:45:54 2678505 Link 0 |
Well your county clubs keep trying to get into our competitions. Go figure. I was at an u17 game between Barrow Rangers and an amalgamation of Carlow hurling clubs last year. Ironically the Carlow boys were called the Christy Rings, because they had difficulty rising the ball. Don't worry about us. Stick to your 1800s language. CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 185 - 07/06/2026 14:46:09 2678506 Link 3 |
Disappointed as anyone with the result yesterday, Laois were the better team on the day. That's been the usual when these teams meet, just whoever turns up on the day. Our execution was way off, whereas laois' radar was fairly on it. Maybe losing the last couple of finals drove them on. Congrats to them. Our lads have been fantastic over the last number of years and have given us great days out. They owe us nothing. We'll come again even if we have to take a backstep for a few years. We have a small pool to pick from but there is talent there. Sometimes you have to suffer the loses to really enjoy the wins. Ceatharlach Abu! Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 143 - 07/06/2026 14:55:38 2678511 Link 0 |
Low standard posting.
The_Pebble (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 07/06/2026 17:40:28 2678549 Link 3 |
Commiserations to the hurlers yesterday but thanks for a fantastic effort throughout the Joe Mc. Yes, shooting was off yesterday and maybe poor shot selection at times. But huge skill and determination on show. This team ain't finished yet by a long way. carlovian (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 07/06/2026 18:02:24 2678553 Link 0 |
That was under 15 FYI. Great lad slagging off the efforts of kids. If BR are so strong why do they have to pick players from the Carlow side of the border who should actually be playing for Naomh Brid - one of them actually played championship hurling for Kilkenny this year. Go figure that yourself. BTW BR are not the only Kilkenny club who play in Carlow club competitions so it's not all one way. I wasn't even going to mention the fact that Kilkenny county teams at all ages, including the KK senior hurling team, train in Carlow all winter. Go figure that too … answer is because there's no suitable facilities that are up to standard available anywhere in Co Kilkenny. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1873 - 07/06/2026 18:48:24 2678560 Link 1 |
I am from Cork. I began looking at posts after the Joe Mc final as my mam's from LAOIS. Then I came upon your petty posts. You're a poor advertisement for Carlow.
The_Pebble (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 07/06/2026 19:18:21 2678565 Link 3 |
Laois have 9 Senior Leinster Titles, 6 in football, 3 in hurling, fact. My grandfather was on the 1949 side, my mam's father. That's fact. Carlow have in 1944 football. Go figure.
The_Pebble (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 07/06/2026 19:45:44 2678574 Link 1 |
Laois's last hurling came in 1949 and football was 2003. It was the 40s before that. Only 2003 can be talked about really, claiming relevance of anything that old is a bit strange. Even stranger to see a cork and kilkenny person here coming to gloat about a laois win. Very very strange.
CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 07/06/2026 20:36:58 2678580 Link 0 |
I've a Laois mam, my second county. I was glancing through and the Leix BS which has gone for 100 years caught me. Laois have won those. Do Tipp, Kilkenny, Cork not count their All Irelands anymore?? As for the Kilkenny poster, Eddie Onion must have annoyed him before. The_Pebble (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 07/06/2026 21:29:11 2678586 Link 1 |
Laois man sorting out Eddie Onion ;) https://youtube.com/shorts/gtVJX8sKR4E?is=vYGYTm73rJ4wGliB The_Pebble (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 07/06/2026 21:29:48 2678587 Link 1 |
Don't know why the Leix stuff caught you off guard, you're looking for logic in a rivalry. Laois have won those but using them as a stick to beat other counties is pointless. It's like us lording it over Wicklow who haven't won a title before. 2003 being the only title in living memory compared to 1949 for laois or 1944 for us. CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 07/06/2026 22:01:25 2678589 Link 1 |
Watched that match back in full this evening. I hadn't realised when there just how much more possession we had and how many turnovers we had, especially in the second half. No question the more efficient and ultimately the better team won on the day but I was interested to hear RTE's stats with Anthony daly pointing out we created 50 scoring opportunities, which resulted in 41 actual scoring attempts. That's some return in fairness and for me the winning and losing of it all boiled down to our poor shooting. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1873 - 07/06/2026 22:06:12 2678590 Link 0 |