Football Championship 2026

Replying To JimB1991:  "His point seems to be because Kerry don't win the All Ireland every single year its not an issue, or at least that's what I got from the waffle."
You mean that being ablet to gear your training to be ready for the last weekend in May, when everyone has to be ready to go 5-6 weeks earlier, is not an advantage! Poppycock I tell you.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1828 - 21/05/2026 15:12:02    2674519

Replying To Scenicparish:  "My point is that you think that the Provincial Championships and the AI Series are both now stand alone competitions. But are they?
Because you have a seeded Munster Provincial Championship, Kerry and Cork have an unfair advantage in that ye are quaranteed to get to the Provincial final every year and because of that under the new rules you have a home tie in your first match in the AI Series.
Ye also have a handy run to the final so ye can rest players such as Gavin White and Paudie Clifford, to name but a few, and have them fresh for later on in the AI Series."
A misread there by yourself. The provincial finals this year were standalone. I'm advocating that the provincial championships as a whole SHOULD BECOME standalone competitions in the future. The provincial championships have low impact on All Ireland qualification. Fair play to Westmeath this year for upsetting the odds.

Moving on...
A decent schedule this weekend - Kerry v Donegal, Cork v Meath, Galway v Kildare and Roscommon v Tyrone.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9742 - 21/05/2026 17:51:43    2674548

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "You mean that being ablet to gear your training to be ready for the last weekend in May, when everyone has to be ready to go 5-6 weeks earlier, is not an advantage! Poppycock I tell you."
In Hurling Galway can play in the Leinster championship, it's time for a couple of Ulster teams to play in Munster. The other two provinces are ok now that Dublin are also rans.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2677 - 22/05/2026 20:40:32    2674696

Replying To Saynothing:  "In Hurling Galway can play in the Leinster championship, it's time for a couple of Ulster teams to play in Munster. The other two provinces are ok now that Dublin are also rans."
good call, put Armagh and Donegal in Munster and give the rest of Ulster a great championship.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1277 - 23/05/2026 11:31:04    2674741

Kerry up against it today with so many regulars ruled out altogether or only named on the bench. Tough ask against a near full strength donegal. Great chance for donegal to make a real statement as well as putting Kerry in last chance saloon.
Langan and gallen are some options to bring on

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 88 - 23/05/2026 11:39:09    2674745

McGuinness losing the run of himself on the field at HT.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12086 - 23/05/2026 15:47:26    2674768

And Burns rightly sent off.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12086 - 23/05/2026 16:03:53    2674771

Great comeback by kerry. Won't be stopped this year.

hlynch12 (Limerick) - Posts: 33 - 23/05/2026 16:13:38    2674773

Replying To maroondiesel:  "good call, put Armagh and Donegal in Munster and give the rest of Ulster a great championship."
Or better craic if Kerry were in Ulster championship .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2677 - 23/05/2026 16:41:10    2674783

Replying To yew_tree:  "McGuinness losing the run of himself on the field at HT."
What did he do? He was very upset at one of his players being struck and hurt

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 23/05/2026 16:44:00    2674784

Kerry supporters showing their class with the booing of an all time great and deserting their own team with 10 minutes to go.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1612 - 23/05/2026 16:49:00    2674785

Great statement win by Donegal. Kerry will be hoping to get some of their squad back as soon as possible.

DubAbove (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 23/05/2026 16:58:52    2674791

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Kerry supporters showing their class with the booing of an all time great and deserting their own team with 10 minutes to go."
No place for booing in the gaa. People should put their energy into supporting their own team or just stay at home and let proper supporters get tickets.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 764 - 23/05/2026 17:04:33    2674792

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Kerry supporters showing their class with the booing of an all time great and deserting their own team with 10 minutes to go."
The all time great didn't show much class last time they met!!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1745 - 23/05/2026 17:04:57    2674794

Ah even the Kerry fans ran out of steam and couldn't maintain the boo throughout, booing in fits and spurts.

Not used to proper tests in Killarney

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 434 - 23/05/2026 17:11:17    2674795

Replying To yew_tree:  "McGuinness losing the run of himself on the field at HT."
Sticking up for his players isn't losing the run of himself.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2677 - 23/05/2026 17:17:47    2674797

Statement win for Donegal and the ten point margin didn't flatter them. Very much back on course after falling off the bike v Down.

As for Kerry they were too fired up after their heavy league final loss and totally lost the rag, once Michael Burns was correctly sent off it was game lost and David Clifford was lucky to avoid red.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 851 - 23/05/2026 17:18:42    2674798

Replying To St.Conleth:  "The all time great didn't show much class last time they met!!"
He showed his class with the ball. 1-5 he got that day?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1612 - 23/05/2026 17:26:51    2674801

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sticking up for his players isn't losing the run of himself."
My message was a bit early considering the footage I seen after. That said you can't have a manger running around the field after opposition players. Donegal full value for their win. I wouldn't write of Kerry.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12086 - 23/05/2026 17:31:56    2674802

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sticking up for his players isn't losing the run of himself."
Will he face a 12 week ban ?
I'm fairly sure ger Brennan was just sticking up for his players too !!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 676 - 23/05/2026 17:35:47    2674803