Mayo will learn the hard way and they will deserve every bit of it for sucking the coolaid.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2027 - 28/04/2026 16:51:06 2669588 Link 0 |
If that's your point it's not a very good one again... 7 points down nowadays isn't what it use to be with the old rules. Beirne featured in the majority of games in the league for Mayo and then to not get at least some minutes off the bench was very odd. To make matters worse Mayo got a few frees on the left hand side 2nd half that would surely be taken on by Beirne if on the field instead they were kicked short. Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 814 - 28/04/2026 16:53:35 2669589 Link 0 |
Yes, and Beirne should have replaced McHale at half time as I said. When we were 7 down and not able to win any possession from kickouts I fail to see what he could have done so it was as well to save him for the U20s at that point. I don't think this was the key issue in the grand scheme of things. MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 554 - 28/04/2026 17:27:25 2669603 Link 0 |
I mentioned Cavan game already.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8827 - 28/04/2026 17:44:23 2669605 Link 0 |
Roscommon have managed to turn them over in Castlebar twice. But you discount all other games? That's handy.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8827 - 28/04/2026 17:46:24 2669606 Link 0 |
Yes I agree with you regards O Shea and I have said same thing with every Mayo manager, if they are going to play him full forward then there has to be high ball kicked in, if not then he should not be there. Also with the current team, there isnt too many kick passers in the middle 8, which means O Shea should not be starting. People are right in saying this is the time for Andy to change things, but I can see him sticking with majority of the players from Sunday and he will think giving them an another go cause they will want to show a reaction, is the way to go. Ruane, McHugh and maybe Berine could come in. tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 671 - 28/04/2026 18:54:07 2669620 Link 0 |
Three crushing defeats for Andy and his team in first six months, Donegal Kerry in league and now Roscommon, team lacking fittness and physical strength and playing half of team out if position, Andy mighnt finish his first year if there is another heavy defeat. jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 545 - 28/04/2026 19:35:56 2669622 Link 0 |
McHale should have been off after less than 20 minutes. The confidence had drained out of him. They could have pushed Conor Loftus up to 10 or 11 and put Ryan into the corner. Conor was doing well in an attacking sense. All very well in hindsight but hopefully management will learn from some mistakes made by not playing players in their better positions. Unfortunately succesive Mayo management teams aren't great at learning from mistakes and putting an improved gameplan in place for the next game. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8541 - 28/04/2026 21:55:41 2669640 Link 0 |
You have some cheek did ye not crash out to Down??...
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1114 - 29/04/2026 08:56:22 2669671 Link 0 |
You have some cheek belittling Roscommon on their win and basically having a pop and everyone on this forum. Show some class. You giving the rest of the Mayo posters here a bad name.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12063 - 29/04/2026 10:08:55 2669689 Link 6 |
Joe Brolly, for all his faults, has Andy Moran well sussed out... all of this happened during his time with Leitrim... listen in to his podcast (Free State) from yesterday.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2027 - 29/04/2026 10:12:19 2669692 Link 0 |
I would question where that poster is from, very quick to get replies on the Galway forum and its around long enough now to just be ignored.
tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 671 - 29/04/2026 13:21:09 2669748 Link 2 |
It's an AKA Tommy trying to get a rise out of other posters.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8541 - 29/04/2026 15:35:27 2669805 Link 0 |
The record gets worse.... Losses at all 3 grades
Galwayman67420 (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 29/04/2026 22:18:05 2669874 Link 1 |
Mayo football in turmoil...
Belclare98 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 29/04/2026 22:29:06 2669878 Link 1 |
Played your part in a highly entertaining U20 final hard luck to your young troops Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 814 - 29/04/2026 22:55:03 2669884 Link 0 |
Thanks to the Galway lads for pointing out the obvious. It's open season now on Mayo football and we just have to suck it up. Another bad defeat, loads of mistakes and the depressing thing about it, Kobe again by far our best player is moving to Oz in a few weeks. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12063 - 30/04/2026 09:57:08 2669918 Link 1 |
Lads we've been down this road before time and time again with Roscommon teams. There's always a massive over reaction when Mayo lose. Half the people in the country are waiting for them to lose so they can pile on. Now all of a sudden Roscommon are the bees knees. As they were under Davy Burke 3 years ago and as they were under McStay around 2017. They haven't won a championship game in Croke Park since 1980. Let's see where they when they hit Croker. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8827 - 30/04/2026 10:26:41 2669931 Link 0 |
Its a complete over reaction to say Mayo football is in crisis . Seniors had 1 bad half of football where nothing went right and everything went right for a good roscommon team. U20 team were excellent and played some great football and were unlucky to lose to a very good ros team whose 1 point win over Galway last week did not reflect their dominance in that game. I would argue that Mayo football is still healthy and in every bit as good a shape as Galway. Neither county are in brilliant shape but neither county are in crisis. Ros on the other hand are on the crest of a wave.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 30/04/2026 10:26:53 2669932 Link 1 |
That poster is always at it yew_tree.... Have you seen that poster on about the Dubs... Hard luck last night btw. Massive footballing similarities between Dublin and Mayo these days it has to be said. And not good, unfortunately... Finally - as I have said many times before - Kobie is a special talent. Hopefully he comes back from Australia and we all get to see him play for Mayo again, after this season. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4913 - 30/04/2026 11:32:25 2669955 Link 0 |