Hurling Championship 2026

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Where did I ever say that I think its fine for the 5th team in leinster to be relegated?
I have been very consistent on this. There are 6 teams in Leinster. There should only be 5. That was what was intended and you chose to change it. While there are 6 teams in Leinster relegation from Munster isnt even up for discussion. Thats my opinion. Is that clear enough?
If there are ever 5 teams in Leinster again then a conversation can be had on relegation but not until then.
Ladd go on podcasts and get asked on the spot questions all the time. They give off the cuff opinions that they may or may not have fully developed. It doesnt mean that they will stand by them when examined deeper."
Motion 59 at GAA Congress in 2020 was voted on by all counties. There were plenty down here in Wexford not happy with it. And it wasnt voted in for being a safety net by or for us, we were the then current Leinster Hurling Champions who narrowly lost an AISF to Tipp only a few months previously.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19384 - 28/04/2026 12:50:10    2669502

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "A bit harsh on Cork Hurling.

In Fairness I would be first to call out bad behaviour amongst supporters (and to be clear we have some wrong ones in Limerick occasionally as well), but since I have called out a certain element of the Cork Support in recent years (for booing and generally unnecessarily abusing opposition players etc.), I have to say I didn't see much of it down the Pairc on Sunday.

It was a great occasion very colourful. We had great banter with all the Cork supporters I met before and after the match (similar to how it was in years gone by) no nastiness what so ever just and appreciation for two class teams. Unlike recent years, I would be very happy to get the opportunity go back down again if we re lucky enough to make a Munster Final against Cork."
I think a lot of the eradication of that behaviour has been down to the distribution of the tickets being through the county boards and clubs initially. Im not sure if any/many went on sale on ticket master fot this game. It does seem to make a difference to fan behaviour.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 267 - 28/04/2026 13:01:59    2669508

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Tadhg2020 : "Every serious competition the world over has different levels."

Every serious competition in the world has a level playing field. Equal rules for each competitor. Merit based systems, you find your level and when relegated you take your medicine and try to get back up.

You don't see anybody in the Premier League saying "Spurs were in a champions league final a few years ago, we can't possibly relegate them and they sell out 50k every week".

You are talking out of about 3 different ends of your mouth, you are talking about the 6th team in Leinster diluting the competition and providing a safety net yet, yet you think the 5th team in Munster should have no risk of relegation or any punishment for coming last. But you deem it fine to relegate the 5th team in Leinster just because "well they should be relegated", why do you think it would be OK for Wexford or Offaly to be relegated yet Waterford have won 4 games in the round robin since it was brought in? Which is it?

You talk about Kildare making progress yet relegating them back to Joe McDonagh will do not one thing to develop them. Westmeath, Antrim, Laois, Carlow are testament to that. The gap just gets bigger when you are not playing them.

I'm not old enough to remember the 80s and early 90s when Tipp and Cork won every Munster title for 10 years, or when Waterford were terrible. The Munster championship is riding the crest of a wave (and well deserved) but look at the attendances just 10 years ago, it wasn't always so and it was knock-out back then.

Colin Ryan the former Clare hurler was on the Wexford Hurling Pod a while ago and said he'd love to see "people get out of their own head" and develop a game which was knock-out provincials and then may the best team win the All-Ireland from there. Rank the teams based on provincial if I recall.

I think what you really want is the "I'm alright jack, Munster hurling is great so let the counties trying to develop and grow the game go to hell" status quo."
Whatever happens let's hope we never go back to knock out provincials
Round robin best thing that ever happened to hurling
More games means the cream rises to the top, more interest from fans, more home games for places like Ennis and Waterford and Kilkenny that in the old days would be lucky to get a home game every couple of years
I remember well the old knockout system - yes it was great for the build up as you would be looking forward to it for a month. And then one game and more often than not you were done and it felt like the summer was over before it had even begun. You had top class players over their careers playing a handful of Championship games.
The issue is imbalance between the 2 provinces - not the number of high level games. Straight provincial knockouts just makes what we have worse not better - for all its faults the current system is far superior to what we used to have.
And right now Galway, Dublin and Offaly are improving even as Kilkenny and Wexford slip back

Yadse (Limerick) - Posts: 238 - 28/04/2026 13:45:10    2669523

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "I think a lot of the eradication of that behaviour has been down to the distribution of the tickets being through the county boards and clubs initially. Im not sure if any/many went on sale on ticket master fot this game. It does seem to make a difference to fan behaviour."
It definitely does. Another factor with big city and town teams is that "marginalised youth" have no interest in any type of sport.

Sloppy drunks on long hot days are main pain but there's rarely enough of them to cause serious trouble.

Was a few at Gaelic grounds for league finals and stewards and guards nipped any potential in the bud very quickly.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4242 - 28/04/2026 13:54:22    2669526

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Where did I ever say that I think its fine for the 5th team in leinster to be relegated?
I have been very consistent on this. There are 6 teams in Leinster. There should only be 5. That was what was intended and you chose to change it. While there are 6 teams in Leinster relegation from Munster isnt even up for discussion. Thats my opinion. Is that clear enough?
If there are ever 5 teams in Leinster again then a conversation can be had on relegation but not until then.
Ladd go on podcasts and get asked on the spot questions all the time. They give off the cuff opinions that they may or may not have fully developed. It doesnt mean that they will stand by them when examined deeper."
I thought you meant 5 with promotion and relegation. I didn't chose to change anything, I really thought that was how you meant it. Yes that's clear.
But if there's no relegation, you think Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford and Offaly should be the 5 counties I am guessing.
So Kildare, Laois, etc just not bother? How do these counties progress in the hurling world? Or Kerry for that matter? Use the ash for firewood?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2011 - 28/04/2026 14:22:19    2669537

Replying To Viking66:  "Motion 59 at GAA Congress in 2020 was voted on by all counties. There were plenty down here in Wexford not happy with it. And it wasnt voted in for being a safety net by or for us, we were the then current Leinster Hurling Champions who narrowly lost an AISF to Tipp only a few months previously."
I never said it was a safety net for Wexford either. I believe that it acts as a safety net for the team that finishes 5th whoever that may be.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 267 - 28/04/2026 14:24:04    2669539

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The size of your population and one All Ireland in 38 years, the ones ye won before that involved two matches so look after yourselves firstly. Not exactly Kilkenny, Cork or Tipp"
As per Galway in 2017 it was one of the greatest hurling teams ever assembled. Not even the best westmeath hurler (whoever that is) would get a sniff of that galway panel never mind the team. In regards to our previous success, we can only beat whats in front of us we can do nothing about physical geography. And if you want to talk about records against the big times, Westmeaths isnt exactly prestine. Also has to be taken into account that Galway is a successful dual county which is a bit different to westmeath as they are a dual county but without the success. Only one real maroon county !
Hon the Tribesmen!!!!

Galwayman67420 (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 28/04/2026 16:13:22    2669564

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I thought you meant 5 with promotion and relegation. I didn't chose to change anything, I really thought that was how you meant it. Yes that's clear.
But if there's no relegation, you think Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford and Offaly should be the 5 counties I am guessing.
So Kildare, Laois, etc just not bother? How do these counties progress in the hurling world? Or Kerry for that matter? Use the ash for firewood?"
We always hear about teams wanting to play the bigger counties to "progress" but from what I see it sets them back a mile getting hammered by the bigger counties. It wasn't that long ago Carlow and Antrim were the examples for counties trying to make inroads in hurling's top table and once they got there the beatings set them back years.

I am wondering if their could be potential for some divisional type teams in added to Munster or Leinster championships i.e. a single Ulster team, from the best of Ulster, a Leinster team from the best of the rest in Leinster (excluding Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford and Offaly), (a Connacht team (Connacht counties excluding Galway but perhaps including Kerry). This would allow the best hurlers in these counties play at a higher level while also representing their own counties. Players playing a higher level can lift other players playing with them going bac to their own counties.

Also what could be considered is letting players not making intercounty squads play inter county with their neighbours. A couple of Kilkenny fellas not making their championship squad could be allowed play with Carlow or Laois etc. Fellas not playing for Limerick or Cork could line out for Kerry etc.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 28/04/2026 17:08:53    2669597

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "I never said it was a safety net for Wexford either. I believe that it acts as a safety net for the team that finishes 5th whoever that may be."
Wasnt that the whole point to motion 59 in the first place? To stop counties yoyoing up and down.
I suppose your solution would have been a more absolute solution to the problem. No yoyoing possible if there's no promotion and relegation.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19384 - 28/04/2026 17:18:30    2669599

Replying To Galwayman67420:  "As per Galway in 2017 it was one of the greatest hurling teams ever assembled. Not even the best westmeath hurler (whoever that is) would get a sniff of that galway panel never mind the team. In regards to our previous success, we can only beat whats in front of us we can do nothing about physical geography. And if you want to talk about records against the big times, Westmeaths isnt exactly prestine. Also has to be taken into account that Galway is a successful dual county which is a bit different to westmeath as they are a dual county but without the success. Only one real maroon county !
Hon the Tribesmen!!!!"
Ad that's fairly well telling you the lie of the land, Claretandblue.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2506 - 28/04/2026 21:10:42    2669635

Replying To Viking66:  "Wasnt that the whole point to motion 59 in the first place? To stop counties yoyoing up and down.
I suppose your solution would have been a more absolute solution to the problem. No yoyoing possible if there's no promotion and relegation."
No, ibdont have or need a solution. You cant play the good samaritan card when it suits and then ignore the consequences. You want munster to face relegation. I say that, because of the consequences of having 6 in leinster, that is not going to happen. Its as simple as that.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 267 - 28/04/2026 22:47:00    2669654

Why should Leinster hurling have to look after Galway, Antrim and Kerry??
Munster won't even allow a Munster team play in the Munster championship. Leinster should look after Leinster Counties not the rest of Ireland.
Munster should at least allow Galway in every 2nd year. For those years allow 4 from 6 to qualify.
2 from Leinster.
Munster do not give a damn about hurling outside of Cork, Tipp, Clare and Limerick. Waterford will soon go the way of the Leinster Counties.
The Munster championship cannot be more important than the All Ireland championship or we will head down a road where its Munster or bust. And from there its not a long way to serious hurling in 5 Counties only. Is that what we want??

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 28/04/2026 23:43:50    2669657

Paulll I'm of that mindset now too. Tadhg still hasn't answered my question about what we should do with Kildare and Laois in a 5 team Leinster Championship so guess the answer is nothing. "Pat on the head, good lads now go back to football".
But yes is it time for Wexford, Kilkenny, Dublin, Offaly and Galway to paddle our own canoe and say why is hurling development in the 2nd tier our responsibility when the diluted standard is weakening us all collectively?
I don't believe its the only reason, far from it. But hurling development can't be just up to us. Its either a collective effort from everybody or nothing.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2011 - 29/04/2026 10:25:38    2669697

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Bloodandbandage, as you well know by now, I don't like Cork hurling (Cork football and people are fine), but I am sorry to hear about these injuries, particularly to Joyce, a pure warrior, where I was very interested in seeing how he'd develop in the full-back role. Downey, also a warrior, but Cork has cover for the half-back line.

I wish both players a speedy and a healthy recovery!"
You're free to dislike whom ever you wish yank! Although, I have noted your silence on Limerick's defeat last Sunday. Do you only sing when your winning???

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 516 - 29/04/2026 10:50:01    2669706

Replying To Paull:  "Why should Leinster hurling have to look after Galway, Antrim and Kerry??
Munster won't even allow a Munster team play in the Munster championship. Leinster should look after Leinster Counties not the rest of Ireland.
Munster should at least allow Galway in every 2nd year. For those years allow 4 from 6 to qualify.
2 from Leinster.
Munster do not give a damn about hurling outside of Cork, Tipp, Clare and Limerick. Waterford will soon go the way of the Leinster Counties.
The Munster championship cannot be more important than the All Ireland championship or we will head down a road where its Munster or bust. And from there its not a long way to serious hurling in 5 Counties only. Is that what we want??"
If Kerry ever win the Joe McDonagh cup they will play in Munster. That has already been decided.

As for Galway and Antrim, that's a matter for the Leinster Council and the counties concerned.

Why cant each county be responsible for the development of the game within their own boundaries. Protecting Offaly in Leinster didnt help them. Relegation awoke their county board and the hurling people in the county. They put in the work and got back to where they belong. They still have a lot of work to do but they can build on what they have currently. Protectionism doesnt help anyone. It actually hurts the very thing its supposed to help. There is no substitute for putting in the work. No shortcuts.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 267 - 29/04/2026 11:01:09    2669708

I'm not entirely convinced on this idea that the round robin has made Munster teams stronger and having an easier side of the draw has somehow weakened Leinster Counties. The reality is Leinster as a whole has been weak since the 90s. Glossed over by Kilkenny being once in a life time strong from 2000-2015 and Galway having a good team from 2012-2018.

Offaly were by far their worst since the 1970s for much of that period, Wexford and Dublin have been at a pretty consistent level of always having a chance at upsetting a Munster team or KK but never going into a game with them as favourites. Both had great years and won Leinsters, 2 in wexfords case and 1 in dublins case and went no further but then fell away from that level again

Not having a go at wexford at all here but I'm sure any of the wexford posters here woould admit the county needs to look at themselves rather than blame promotion/relegation in Leinster for them not being competitive on the All ireland stage. If you moved Wexford into Munster for 10 years as they currently are would we see improvement?

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 29/04/2026 12:17:25    2669727

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "If Kerry ever win the Joe McDonagh cup they will play in Munster. That has already been decided.

As for Galway and Antrim, that's a matter for the Leinster Council and the counties concerned.

Why cant each county be responsible for the development of the game within their own boundaries. Protecting Offaly in Leinster didnt help them. Relegation awoke their county board and the hurling people in the county. They put in the work and got back to where they belong. They still have a lot of work to do but they can build on what they have currently. Protectionism doesnt help anyone. It actually hurts the very thing its supposed to help. There is no substitute for putting in the work. No shortcuts."
How were Offaly protected? I think any Leinster county could enter the Leinster championship if they thought they were good enough. For the 'weaker' counties, and this included Offaly in the 2010s, a preliminary round robin wss played with a path to the Leinster Quarter finals.

On the assertion that Offaly got thir act together after they where relegated, this isnt really true or only partially true. Offaly had just started to show signs of competitiveness at underage ahian just when they were relegated to the Joe McDonagh cup. In fact not being in the Senior Leinster makes it harder to keep young lads and supporters interested. And this is the main issue with current structure; that is, if we believe in developing hurling. In general Leinster counties have smaller playing populations, as noted previously, so are much more likely to have periods when they are not competitive. If they are not given the opportunity to compete in their own championship it is much more difficult to progress when that county has another crop of talented youngsters. There is no substitute for playing teams at Provincial championship level. So, if Offaly Kildare, Wexford or Dublin are relegated or Joe Mc teams continue yo-yoing, they will find it more difficult to progress. Its not just a case of say Waterford spending a few years getting there act together but still having exposure to championship level games and having a free shot to give it a go with no jeopardy. When there is relegation the support drops, interest drops - players will choose football, soccer, rugby over hurling. The next generation of players will not get the opportunity to develop by playing the best regularly.

Firceall (Offaly) - Posts: 43 - 29/04/2026 13:47:35    2669757

Replying To Overdahill:  "I'm not entirely convinced on this idea that the round robin has made Munster teams stronger and having an easier side of the draw has somehow weakened Leinster Counties. The reality is Leinster as a whole has been weak since the 90s. Glossed over by Kilkenny being once in a life time strong from 2000-2015 and Galway having a good team from 2012-2018.

Offaly were by far their worst since the 1970s for much of that period, Wexford and Dublin have been at a pretty consistent level of always having a chance at upsetting a Munster team or KK but never going into a game with them as favourites. Both had great years and won Leinsters, 2 in wexfords case and 1 in dublins case and went no further but then fell away from that level again

Not having a go at wexford at all here but I'm sure any of the wexford posters here woould admit the county needs to look at themselves rather than blame promotion/relegation in Leinster for them not being competitive on the All ireland stage. If you moved Wexford into Munster for 10 years as they currently are would we see improvement?"
Don't think anyone down here is blaming promotion and relegation for our current format.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19384 - 29/04/2026 14:01:48    2669762

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "No, ibdont have or need a solution. You cant play the good samaritan card when it suits and then ignore the consequences. You want munster to face relegation. I say that, because of the consequences of having 6 in leinster, that is not going to happen. Its as simple as that."
You seem to think Munster is seperate to the rest of Ireland, and doesn't include Kerry.
The Munster championship is part of the All Ireland series, same as the Leinster Championship. The Munster and Leinster Councils have to get approval from every other county at home and abroad, or a majority thereof, to change anything. Changes are made at Congress.
If someone proposed a motion at Congress that Kerry isnt allowed to compete in Leinster competitions any more, and a majority approved, then the Munster Council would have to facilitate Kerrys hurlers at underage.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19384 - 29/04/2026 14:09:31    2669766

Replying To Firceall:  "How were Offaly protected? I think any Leinster county could enter the Leinster championship if they thought they were good enough. For the 'weaker' counties, and this included Offaly in the 2010s, a preliminary round robin wss played with a path to the Leinster Quarter finals.

On the assertion that Offaly got thir act together after they where relegated, this isnt really true or only partially true. Offaly had just started to show signs of competitiveness at underage ahian just when they were relegated to the Joe McDonagh cup. In fact not being in the Senior Leinster makes it harder to keep young lads and supporters interested. And this is the main issue with current structure; that is, if we believe in developing hurling. In general Leinster counties have smaller playing populations, as noted previously, so are much more likely to have periods when they are not competitive. If they are not given the opportunity to compete in their own championship it is much more difficult to progress when that county has another crop of talented youngsters. There is no substitute for playing teams at Provincial championship level. So, if Offaly Kildare, Wexford or Dublin are relegated or Joe Mc teams continue yo-yoing, they will find it more difficult to progress. Its not just a case of say Waterford spending a few years getting there act together but still having exposure to championship level games and having a free shot to give it a go with no jeopardy. When there is relegation the support drops, interest drops - players will choose football, soccer, rugby over hurling. The next generation of players will not get the opportunity to develop by playing the best regularly."
Offaly were protected from relegation. They were then relegated as soon as relegation was introduced. I think they were relegated again the following year. Thats how far they had allowed themselves to fall. It took them 3 or 4 years of team building to return. I dont recall them winning a leinster minor or u20 title prior to relegation so I suppose it depends on how you define things.

If you guys get your way there will be no end to the amount of teams in leinster. If there is only promotion and no relegation then, by logic, a team is added every year to your championship. If that's what yoi want then knock yourself out but I believe that a lone has to be drawn somewhere and that should have been at 5 participating teams
Thats how it was intended to be. Its now at 6 so, in my opinion, ye own promotion and relegation now.

On population, wexford has a similar population to Tipperary Clare and Waterford have smaller populations. Kilkenny is smaller but look at their success. Offaly is smaller alright but you also have Dublin which is 3 times Cork. We all have other sports to contend with etc so a lot of it comes down to how hard you work at grass roots and academy level to promote hurling.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 267 - 29/04/2026 14:25:33    2669771