Replying To Drax_the_destroyer: "Totally agree and best of luck to Leitrim in Tailteann Cup, interesting opening round fixture against Westmeath,Down or Cavan." The fact that we could be playing London or Waterford but instead we could be playing a team that just beat the div1 champs and last year's AI runners up raises some questions, but also we could have been looking at a connacht final and the AI series ourselves so it shows you need the chances to play teams above you to improve and with other results of late, the new rules and formats could be starting to work. Sure there are still some turkey shoots but can't always blame the gaa for that, some great games this year. If we play like we did the last 2 games, we will be at the business end of the TC.
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 756 - 27/04/2026 22:10:07
Talking to a few very shrewd Leitrim men this evening and we all think that with a few tweaks Leitrim could end up in the last 4 this year at a minimum, not too many counties have the players we have at our disposal, genuine question but do we have the top forward unit in the province?
Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 25 - 27/04/2026 22:40:10
Don't know why people are fighting each other here please. Can we not be civil thank you. Leitrim football is doing ok thank you for agreeing so why is everyone so cantankerous?
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 528 - 28/04/2026 08:44:16
Doesn't look like Galway have improved under their new coaching regime either. Probably a bad move for them there from evidence last Saturday
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 159 - 28/04/2026 08:55:40
Replying To leitrim4sam: "Am I right in saying that every team is guaranteed at least two games in the Tailltean cup?" Yes, 8 winners go into round 2a from the first 16 teams and the losing eight get a second shot in a round 2b or something.
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 159 - 28/04/2026 09:06:05
Replying To gaelsboy: "The fact that we could be playing London or Waterford but instead we could be playing a team that just beat the div1 champs and last year's AI runners up raises some questions, but also we could have been looking at a connacht final and the AI series ourselves so it shows you need the chances to play teams above you to improve and with other results of late, the new rules and formats could be starting to work. Sure there are still some turkey shoots but can't always blame the gaa for that, some great games this year. If we play like we did the last 2 games, we will be at the business end of the TC." I would argue that the teacup has offered Leitrim nothing in terms of development...the results in previous years prove that, but then the league hasn't shown much improvement either so our improved competitiveness in the provincal championship is baffling. We were far better imo being in an all Ireland qualifying series than this pat on the head competition
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 159 - 28/04/2026 09:13:21
In a further boost to our qualifier games Wrynn, Dolan and Plunkett are back to full training again so even more options to our already talent laden panel. Poacher will have some job just picking 26 for the first qualifier.
Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 25 - 28/04/2026 10:29:50
Replying To ohwow: "I would argue that the teacup has offered Leitrim nothing in terms of development...the results in previous years prove that, but then the league hasn't shown much improvement either so our improved competitiveness in the provincal championship is baffling. We were far better imo being in an all Ireland qualifying series than this pat on the head competition" Good point, I think it depends totally on how much the teams buy into it, I thought we were very good in 2022 and should have went to all the way, 2023 after losing to NY we were completely disinterested and got beat out the gate in every game. We are still a few years off winning connacht or getting to division 2 so we should be targeting the TC, let's not get too carried away with let Sunday, Galway not as strong as they were and completely underestimated us, our hand is shown now
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 756 - 28/04/2026 10:45:30
I have to say that Jack Kelly's goal was extraordinary. The way Oisín McLoughlin stole the short kick-out and flicked it up to himself, before finding the in-coming Kelly who saw the threat and got in position to palm it in, was just pure killer instinct and skill. You wouldn't be surprised to see a Galway or a Mayo doing that to us, but instead it was us doing that to Galway. Well done lads.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1286 - 28/04/2026 12:01:19
Replying To Mugatay: "Saturday was very much a case of what might have been. As I said before, we need to covert 80-90% of chances to beat these teams and we just had too many wides. It's frustrating, particularly when Galway missed a fair few but the heads never dipped, we kept plugging away, we had an edge, aggression and desire and the belief was there - even after 10points down, the body language remained positive. Squidgy epitomised all of this with his display. In another championship, another year, it would have become a 20point hammering with people streaming out of the ground. That had started with the fairweather supporters only to see them turn back and stay to the end.....well done them! The referee seemed slow to award us a free at times and quick to award them to Galway. Case in point when he blew for an alleged foul when McNulty collected the ball in the air on the shed side when we had them on the ropes. No idea what for but Galway were then able to take the sting out of our play as they did so well many times. Tom Prior was everywhere and rightfully got his MOTM award. Gaffey for goals if a great find this year. A bit more fine tuning an he could be the main option for those long distance 2pointers. Honeyman had a fantastic 2pointer-Oisín McLoughlin was eye catching-(lovely pick up! !) He timed his run from deep for a possible penalty follow up to perfection whilst the Galway lads were flat footed. Great point too. A clear penalty btw - the attacker will always get those decisions even if its 50:50.
Crowd watch - again, a below par attendance. Galway travelled well but we didn't turn up the way we should have for a home semi-final following a hard fought quarter final win. Where were Connacht Council going with them stand prices??? It put people right off. I think of London 3 years ago allowed people in for free for league game to try and drum up a good crowd to get behind the team. I'm not sure what the answer is - group discounts, kids go free ? But it diluted down our home advantage severely. Same thing happened over in Castlebar. If you are going to charge then at least have toilets that have seats, a bit of a clean, full soap dispensers, speakers that work on the shed side and no obstruction of scaffolding for TV cameras rendering half the shed unusable. Apart from that, the pitch was immaculate and the pipe band never disappoint to add that sense of championship occasion.
I hope the lads are given a good week or 2 off before giving the Tailteann a good rattle - they have shown they are capable of going toe to toe with anyone on a given championship day - we've earned a bit of respect back again and there's good feeling back. Huge credit must go to Poacher. I for one had my reservations during that league campaign last year but I've seen and heard more than enough to be buoyed by what's to come.
Fair play to the rossies. It's a pity we are not in the final with them. They were a class act that 2nd half in Castlebar and I would tip them to stop Galway's gallop for a 5 in a row.
Well done also to our Hurlers who are tuning up nicely. 3/3 and may give us a day out yet with that form.
Finally, this message board needs surgery and fast. It's becoming more difficult to pick out the genuine commentators. The administrators need to open their eyes and stop allowing the increasing drivel to get on here. As pointed out by others, it was a great place to come on and contribute to a discussion about all things Leitrim football and you may not always agree but it was constructive and well intended. It has clearly been hijacked by doom scrollers who cannot master a basic English sentence and have SFA to do with their days. They will be crowing to an empty room if it goes on much longer. Liatroim Abú" To answer a couple of your points. Regarding the cost of tickets, I bought mine on Ticketmaster around 2.25 on the day of the game, believe it or not. I wasn't 100% sure of my exact plans. It cost €25 and it was for the terrace, with €30 for the "sideline" which I presume was the concrete seats. However I saw no-one checking tickets at the entrances to the concrete seats, so I could have gone on there if I wanted. I chose the shed instead. I didn't use the toilets but you're right, they should be in a reasonable state. And the tannoy was non-existent at the shed; we could just hear it from the stand. I didn't hear who the minute's silence was for at the start.
Was there a scoreboard on operation? I didn't see one. Maybe the camera tower was in the way. I never thought to look for it on the way out.
Fair play to the hurlers. Pity about those two defeats in the league doing for them, but they've now got a 100% record and they've beaten the team who beat them in the league.
And yes, there's some absolute drivel that's plagued this thread lately. I dunno what it is. I dunno what the other threads are like, and I know it's alright to have a bit of craic, but someone of the stuff here is of absolutely no quality, and there's one or two main offenders, thank you very much for agreeing. And lately it's turned into just attacking the Rossies and how they're the fourth or fifth best team in Connacht. The joke only goes so far.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1286 - 28/04/2026 12:57:13
Replying To Gantric: "In a further boost to our qualifier games Wrynn, Dolan and Plunkett are back to full training again so even more options to our already talent laden panel. Poacher will have some job just picking 26 for the first qualifier." Your shrewd Leitrim Football friends tell you that?
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 346 - 28/04/2026 13:26:50
Was talking to good sources this morning and the good news is Wrynn, Dolan and Plunkett are very near a return to the 26, more competition for places is good even if we are high on quality already.
Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 25 - 28/04/2026 13:37:08
Replying To Tacaí Liatroma: "To answer a couple of your points. Regarding the cost of tickets, I bought mine on Ticketmaster around 2.25 on the day of the game, believe it or not. I wasn't 100% sure of my exact plans. It cost €25 and it was for the terrace, with €30 for the "sideline" which I presume was the concrete seats. However I saw no-one checking tickets at the entrances to the concrete seats, so I could have gone on there if I wanted. I chose the shed instead. I didn't use the toilets but you're right, they should be in a reasonable state. And the tannoy was non-existent at the shed; we could just hear it from the stand. I didn't hear who the minute's silence was for at the start.
Was there a scoreboard on operation? I didn't see one. Maybe the camera tower was in the way. I never thought to look for it on the way out.
Fair play to the hurlers. Pity about those two defeats in the league doing for them, but they've now got a 100% record and they've beaten the team who beat them in the league.
And yes, there's some absolute drivel that's plagued this thread lately. I dunno what it is. I dunno what the other threads are like, and I know it's alright to have a bit of craic, but someone of the stuff here is of absolutely no quality, and there's one or two main offenders, thank you very much for agreeing. And lately it's turned into just attacking the Rossies and how they're the fourth or fifth best team in Connacht. The joke only goes so far." I agree with you. This thread has been infiltrated with nonsense posts thank you for highlighting this. Plus it has been infiltrated with Roscommon posters please insulting our young players thank you.
Yes there was a scoreboard where it usually is. You obviously don't go to many games when you don't know where the scoreboard is in our county grounds but thank you for highlighting this.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 528 - 28/04/2026 13:55:58
Replying To Tacaí Liatroma: "To answer a couple of your points. Regarding the cost of tickets, I bought mine on Ticketmaster around 2.25 on the day of the game, believe it or not. I wasn't 100% sure of my exact plans. It cost €25 and it was for the terrace, with €30 for the "sideline" which I presume was the concrete seats. However I saw no-one checking tickets at the entrances to the concrete seats, so I could have gone on there if I wanted. I chose the shed instead. I didn't use the toilets but you're right, they should be in a reasonable state. And the tannoy was non-existent at the shed; we could just hear it from the stand. I didn't hear who the minute's silence was for at the start.
And yes, there's some absolute drivel that's plagued this thread lately. I dunno what it is. I dunno what the other threads are like, and I know it's alright to have a bit of craic, but someone of the stuff here is of absolutely no quality, and there's one or two main offenders, thank you very much for agreeing. And lately it's turned into just attacking the Rossies and how they're the fourth or fifth best team in Connacht. The joke only goes so far." Hmm you're talking about drivel and you didn't see the gigantic scoreboard in the scoreboard end of the ground in Carrick? Really? Come on now.
Everyone's neck was craned towards it when the scores was getting tight, but fair play to you, you must be marking down the scores on a bit of paper maybe.
You're very concerned about the Rossies aren't you, as you can see they're well able to post the stuff here making a skit out of Leitrim but no mention of that. Interesting.
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 159 - 28/04/2026 14:17:14
Replying To bláthach: "I agree with you. This thread has been infiltrated with nonsense posts thank you for highlighting this. Plus it has been infiltrated with Roscommon posters please insulting our young players thank you.
Yes there was a scoreboard where it usually is. You obviously don't go to many games when you don't know where the scoreboard is in our county grounds but thank you for highlighting this." Get a life lad.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 483 - 28/04/2026 15:11:54
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Get a life lad." What do you mean? Thanks in advance.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 528 - 28/04/2026 15:27:33
Replying To bláthach: "I agree with you. This thread has been infiltrated with nonsense posts thank you for highlighting this. Plus it has been infiltrated with Roscommon posters please insulting our young players thank you.
Yes there was a scoreboard where it usually is. You obviously don't go to many games when you don't know where the scoreboard is in our county grounds but thank you for highlighting this." Agreed. Can't find the scoreboard at the scoreboard end lol
ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 159 - 28/04/2026 15:40:22
Yes there was a scoreboard where it usually is. You obviously don't go to many games when you don't know where the scoreboard is in our county grounds but thank you for highlighting this." Wrong on all counts Blathers. I've extended love in all my posts. The world has enough hate without adding more and your contempt for your neighbors. I've always wished ye well. Best of luck in the second tier competition the Tailteann cup. Thanks for agreeing with me on this. Love to all.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1370 - 28/04/2026 15:52:00