Donegal GAA thread

I think 5 points might keep teams safe from relegation this year as I can't see two of Monaghan, Roscommon or Dublin reaching that figure. The rest should be safe enough.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1431 - 01/02/2026 19:55:55    2654421

Its mission accomplished in that we got 2pts against a fairly under-strength Kerry side, and positive to see Oisin Gallen and Michael Murphy get a short run out for first time in 2026.

Credit to Sean O'Shea and Tony Brosnan, they kicked some outstanding two pointers, but I would say Jim will be focusing on our discipline, as 0-10 of Kerry's scores came from frees. I don't think much else is worth taking from this game, maybe again we are a bit low in two-pointers ourselves, especially considering it was an under-strength Kerry side.

Final score: Donegal 1-22 v 1-18 Kerry.
Scorers - Donegal 11 v 4 Kerry
Scores from play: Donegal 1-13 v 1-01 Kerry
Number of scores: Donegal 20 v 11 Kerry
Two Pointers: Donegal 3 v 8 Kerry

Mayo seem to be on a different level right now, so next week will be a different beast in Letterkenny, it will probably be the toughest test so far.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1592 - 01/02/2026 20:05:43    2654426

Replying To panamasam:  "A game of two halves much like last week. Again an excellent first half but nowhere near those levels in the second. However 4 points after 2 games and it's nearly a case of job done. I imagine the target much like last year is to get to 6 as soon as possible and start experimenting once Division 1 status has nearly been established. Contributions from all over the field and good to see some of the young squad members get a run out towards the end. Also good to see Murphy and Gallen back. I thought Mogan in particular was excellent if picking one out. Some laughable headlines already on the click based media using the word "revenge". It's the first day in February playing a Kerry team down the 3 players who done much of the damage against us last year in the 2 Cliffords and Gavin White plus other players to come into the reckoning including Paul Geaney."
Won't be mentioned much considering who they were missing all over the pitch but felt Kerry really missed Shane Ryan in goals

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 292 - 01/02/2026 20:12:02    2654431

Replying To farneygael3:  "Wee Jammy. A lot taking pot shots Kerry minus 10 players today but I think yee were full value for the won. At least yous won't be joining us in div2"
I would not be too critical of any team at this time of year. All missing players and are really preparing for the championship. Kerry would seem to be missing more starters than most however. P. Ryan (goals), Paul Murphy, Tom O'Sullivan, Brian Begley, Gavin White, from the backs, Diarmuid O'Connor and Mark O'Shea, from midfield, Paudie Clifford, David Clifford, Graham O'Sullivan, Dylan Geaney and possibly Paul Geaney (an impact sub ?), from the forwards.
Bottom line is that a win is a win.

P. Rooney (USA) - Posts: 66 - 01/02/2026 20:29:32    2654436

Given today sold out with not too many Kerry people I'd say mayo will sell out in letterkenny so maybe get in there early

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 01/02/2026 20:43:37    2654440

Replying To CCFabu:  "Won't be mentioned much considering who they were missing all over the pitch but felt Kerry really missed Shane Ryan in goals"
Yeah very good point CC. He was outstanding last year and pulled off some big saves in clutch moments. Happy with the points and got to watch the game today with no tech issues despite an early start. Ballyshannon looked amazing on my stream and photos I've seen since. Really enjoy going to games there between the logistics and the very welcoming hosts. On another point great to see Caolan McGonigle sprinting up the field at the end. He made his 100th appearance last weekend. Who would of said that a few years ago. His determination to get to where he is deserves all the plaudits and of course a massive congratulations for reaching such a milestone.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2908 - 01/02/2026 21:53:52    2654471

Replying To panamasam:  "Yeah very good point CC. He was outstanding last year and pulled off some big saves in clutch moments. Happy with the points and got to watch the game today with no tech issues despite an early start. Ballyshannon looked amazing on my stream and photos I've seen since. Really enjoy going to games there between the logistics and the very welcoming hosts. On another point great to see Caolan McGonigle sprinting up the field at the end. He made his 100th appearance last weekend. Who would of said that a few years ago. His determination to get to where he is deserves all the plaudits and of course a massive congratulations for reaching such a milestone."
Very good call out in mcgonagle at the end. I went looking back on the tg4 player to see who that was bombing up the field and it was mcgonagle. To have the stamina to do is a pure credit to him. And he's as quick as anyone when he gets into his stride.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 01/02/2026 22:23:47    2654484

Good performance today, just wanted to comment did anyone else think Kerry got an awful lot of very soft frees today? seemed we could hardly tackle them at all without them been given soft frees, was only thing kept them in the game imo anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3681 - 01/02/2026 23:13:51    2654502

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Donegal nearly af full strength to day and Kerry with just about half first team. It's a young man's game now especially the middle eight, donegal need to stick with younger players , no place for over 30s apart from maybe goalkeeper and just maybe a full forward that stayes around the square."
Ah ok so Thompson, Hugh and Ryan should stay at home? If anything, the modern athlete can play far into their 30s compared to previous generations. They'll be fine. You need experience too.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 276 - 02/02/2026 01:08:38    2654513

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "I thought Mulreaney played well. His kickouts were on the money, I was behind the goal in first half and he hit some beautiful kickouts compared to his counterpart who was hitting and hoping."
I live abroad and the camera quality plus clash of jerseys on TG4 was hard to watch so maybe that's skewed my opinion but my thought was he isn't trying to pick out players like Patton. He bombs it and hopes for the best. Which is fine in some games but in crucial ones I'd prefer Patton picking someone out 60 yards away.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 276 - 02/02/2026 01:10:08    2654515

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I think 5 points might keep teams safe from relegation this year as I can't see two of Monaghan, Roscommon or Dublin reaching that figure. The rest should be safe enough."
Agree. But we should be beating all of those 3 (have already beaten the dubs). Which means it could be like last year where we basically threw a game away so we didn't have to play the league final lol.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 276 - 02/02/2026 01:11:49    2654517

https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2654440

Looks like it has already sold out. Nothing showing in ticketmaster yesterday and today

dats_rite (Australia) - Posts: 17 - 02/02/2026 09:02:01    2654529

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Good performance today, just wanted to comment did anyone else think Kerry got an awful lot of very soft frees today? seemed we could hardly tackle them at all without them been given soft frees, was only thing kept them in the game imo anyway."
I found the ref frustrating but I'll opening acknowledge I'm coming from a completely biased Donegal point of view though. It wasn't just the frees it was the free just out the arc that Sean ose kicked for two points. I personally find these two point frees a bit ridiculous. As a free in gealic football can often be a pretty subjective thing so what is a marginal free gives away two points just doesn't sit well with me.

mcGuinness and a lot of the pundits talked about was Donegal improving discipline. Well that means just don't tackle just outside the arc especially against Kerry and monaghan. The only way to realistically kick two points into the breeze yesterday was from frees so just don't give it to them by even attempting a tackle outside the arc. Just shadow and when they do get inside then go at them because it's only a point concession from a free. I want to contest for the ball all over the field but this rule is just saying don't do that.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 02/02/2026 10:36:54    2654545

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "I live abroad and the camera quality plus clash of jerseys on TG4 was hard to watch so maybe that's skewed my opinion but my thought was he isn't trying to pick out players like Patton. He bombs it and hopes for the best. Which is fine in some games but in crucial ones I'd prefer Patton picking someone out 60 yards away."
Live at the match the colours were grand from behind the goal but the main camera is far away from the pitch and it was into the sun which wouldn't have helped.

Mulreanny was plenty good yesterday and is definitely an option. His short ones were good and he picked out plenty players in the middle distance ones. and he does use both feet which helps. He can't ping it as long as patton so can't stretch the pitch. I don't think Patton was quite right last year after he got hurt and he needed the operation. It will be interesting to see what he's like when he gets back and gets his chance.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 02/02/2026 10:47:22    2654546

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Choices are limited. Suppose we should play every game in letterkenny?"
No we should play every game in ballybofey - it's unique it's off limits now but in the interim play the games in the second county ground.

This nonsense of sharing it around 3 venues is unnecessary.

The seating facilities in ballyshannon are not county standard and don't cater for the older generation.

Having said that my own club needs to do more on the terracing side of things which is know is in the pipeline.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1710 - 02/02/2026 11:05:35    2654553

Replying To totalrecall:  "The team haven't lost in fr Tierney park in 17 years....more important for some to get their prawn sandwiches!"
Pissing on the supporters trumps results

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1710 - 02/02/2026 11:06:48    2654554

No reason why we shouldn't be going after the league this year as it's a 4 week break to champ - another game in Croker and a chance at national silverware isn't to be sniffed out. In recent years the league winners generally lift Sam

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1710 - 02/02/2026 11:10:08    2654556

Replying To eunans4ever:  "No reason why we shouldn't be going after the league this year as it's a 4 week break to champ - another game in Croker and a chance at national silverware isn't to be sniffed out. In recent years the league winners generally lift Sam"
I don't think Jim is opposed to winning the National League, like he doesn't go out seeking to purposely lose a match, but winning it is a secondary priority to achieving the other objectives for Championship, such as road testing tactical setups and trying different players in different scenarios or matchups etc.

Mayo, Galway and Armagh are super tough outits to get points against when at full strength, so there is always a risk of losing those games when experimenting.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1592 - 02/02/2026 11:47:39    2654568

Replying To eunans4ever:  "No reason why we shouldn't be going after the league this year as it's a 4 week break to champ - another game in Croker and a chance at national silverware isn't to be sniffed out. In recent years the league winners generally lift Sam"
I'd agree if things go our way a national league winners medal in the pockets of our younger players especially would be a confidence booster and the more games they get in Croker against top opposition the better.
Lots to work on after yesterday despite the win, Mayo will be a real tester for us in Letterkenny, we'll have to improve on lots of things to get those 2 points.
Good to see Murphy and Gallen back, like to see them ticking over and picking up match fitness as the league progresses but I think the focus has to be on getting experience into the younger players, must be a dream for them to be in the same dressing room as Murphy, he is such a great leader and role model for any young player.
Hughie had a great game yesterday and himself and Langan kicked two massive 2 pointers.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3681 - 02/02/2026 11:51:15    2654569

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Donegal nearly af full strength to day and Kerry with just about half first team. It's a young man's game now especially the middle eight, donegal need to stick with younger players , no place for over 30s apart from maybe goalkeeper and just maybe a full forward that stayes around the square."
Silly post. Lots of players that look after themselves and stay relatively injury free can play well into their 30's. Are you saying Murphy, Mc Fadden and Thompson are not good enough for the Donegal panel? Thompson had a great year for Donegal 2025 and when he went off in the All Ireland final he was dearly missed. Mc Fadden is in the form of his life and was brilliant last year and his form has certainly not dropped off this year. Murphy looked lean and as hungry as ever when he came on yesterday.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 828 - 02/02/2026 13:38:40    2654586