I said he was going to be a top senior player and I stand by that. I don't care about posters talking rubbish. Ye lads are worse for debating with him. Meehan was class and even though he was hampered by injury he was still class in an average enough Galway team at that time. Aidan O Shea has been brilliant for Mayo even if he has had some bad days. Conor Mortimer was good but thought he was Clifford. Sam Callinan is very good and will be back to form at some stage but you are throwing out random names. Not even sure why you included them. McDonald a better player at his age then the ones you mentioned. For a variety of reasons some of which are obvious. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8640 - 16/11/2025 22:29:27 2644895 Link 0 |
Lol
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 524 - 16/11/2025 23:49:06 2644905 Link 0 |
I think that poster is best ignored. Ballina doing what I thought they would do. Mayo Senior club football is a joke. Our junior and intermediate championships are much more entertaining.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11820 - 17/11/2025 06:13:47 2644915 Link 3 |
Lol
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 524 - 17/11/2025 09:55:36 2644939 Link 0 |
Callinan is class had a weird year last year still very young but is he not a good example to Kobe? Did a serious job man marking Shane Walsh a couple of times when what 18 ?? and looked like been another great mayo defender now in early 20s struggling for form and a place on mayo team Didnt go well v Bridget's yesterday jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1752 - 17/11/2025 10:14:29 2644950 Link 0 |
Sam Calinan is back in form this year. Your right when you say not a good example to Kobe though. In fairness the whole of Ballina didn't go well yesterday not just Calinan. S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 524 - 17/11/2025 10:55:43 2644964 Link 0 |
Well lads just wondering what sort of team Kiltimagh are? Our champions Aughavas won yesterday and play them in Connacht Final. Would be huge for a Leitrim club to win a Connacht title , would be the first football team to do so, but id imagine any team that comes out of Mayo will be strong. JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 309 - 17/11/2025 11:07:55 2644974 Link 0 |
Different type of player. Never talked about in same way as Mullen and Hanley. Kobe is a 6ft 3 athletic freak who can kick long range frees. And can score off either foot. There's a reason he is talked about a little differently.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8640 - 17/11/2025 11:20:26 2644981 Link 0 |
Kiltimagh had 45 on the panel for the county junior final - they are an intermediate team who had a bad season last year. Could go all the way in the junior All Ireland if they have the desire for it (which was a problem for a long time) tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1647 - 17/11/2025 11:33:52 2644985 Link 0 |
I watched Kiltimagh in their quarter final in Mayo. Should have won that game a lot more comfortably than they did. They're a strong team (as Croans the Ros champions were too). A word of caution - Carna-Caiseal the Galway champions were a very average side. They won the Galway junior very unexpectedly coming from the weaker side of the draw (avoided a few stronger teams in the North on the way to the final as the Galway c'ship is divisional up to the county final). Lost a promotion play off then to a senior club's B team, so they remain junior for next year. Kiltimagh would be a big step up in class from them. galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1332 - 17/11/2025 11:41:49 2644987 Link 1 |
Mullen kinda came from nowhere in 2020 played in a stinking day v Galway u20 missed the last peno. Nobody seen an all star ypoty that day coming later that year. McLaughlin Galway midfielder was way more hyped and I think has been for afl trials but barely strung a run of games since. He could be another Fenton who knows but just cool yet jets on a lad so young there's a lot to put on his plate I'm sure he's well grounded if he's anything like his father jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1752 - 17/11/2025 11:46:28 2644989 Link 0 |
Callinan I thought was one of Ballinas clear stand out players yesterday. The main problem for Ballina yesterday was their game plan and poor match ups, Roscommon Gaels did similar against Brigids recently and suffered a similar defeat. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4206 - 17/11/2025 12:13:23 2645002 Link 2 |
You seem to think I am calling him a great. I am not. I am saying he would be a senior starter and a free taker from the ground so he's a loss full stop. Argue away with other posters who want to compare him to x,y or z, I won't be doing that. Mullen did not come from nowhere. Again was seen as a definite senior starter as a teenager. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8640 - 17/11/2025 12:57:55 2645014 Link 0 |
Callinan was a Mayo senior player at a younger age than Hanley, who came on for a few games at 19. Hanley was a good prospect after he left but he was by no means the most hyped young player in Connacht at the time, never mind Ireland. Mullen seems to have gone from being a good player coming off a poor year for Mayo, to the best defender in Ireland in the time he's been away We see these underage superstars all the time and for every one that comes along and has a decent career like Aidan 0'Shea, there's many more that fall by the wayside. Ruari Canavan did the most freakish things as an underage player outside of Clifford in the last decade. He comes from even better stock than McDonald given who his father is. And he's still struggling to get a starting position for Tyrone. That's not to say he won't make it into a top forward, but it often takes quite a bit of time. Galway saw that with Meehan who was another insane underage player, winning motm in club all ireland finals at 18, as well as hogan cups and u21 all irelands. It was far more likely McDonald would follow a similar route than a Clifford who's the one big outlier recently. If he ends up coming back then the time away from that scene as a young adult could stand to him if anything PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 323 - 17/11/2025 13:33:38 2645018 Link 1 |
Watched game back after being there live and Callinan had a very good game, the one player you would pick out from Ballina and say yeah , he is inter county standard. Murray at midfield had excellent second half. facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 226 - 17/11/2025 14:12:54 2645034 Link 0 |
Jesus lads I am talking about Mayo starters. I am not saying all these players are all time greats. Please stop replying with stupid posts as if I am saying Mayo lost the greatest players in Ireland. Does that clear it up?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8640 - 17/11/2025 15:27:40 2645059 Link 0 |
Never said nowhere but similar to magic Thompson this time last year nobody had him earmarked as senior starter that yr or ypoty pre covid. Is kobe playing schools? Muiredecks I presume. Mayo have some really tidy forwards coming through and I'd see Lydon Beirne as certs for senior in next few years. if I was a betting man he will be back by 21 jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1752 - 17/11/2025 15:28:18 2645060 Link 0 |
Not sure who in Mayo you know but Mullen was earmarked as a starter all the way through.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8640 - 17/11/2025 16:01:09 2645074 Link 0 |
We will leave it talking over possibilities and intangibles
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1752 - 17/11/2025 16:31:25 2645082 Link 0 |
One of the reasons Meehan took awhile to 'settle in' 2003-2006 was because PJ was 'managing' back then too 'under' Peter Forde, and with himself and Donnellan back in that era imo, there was no room for another golden boy. PJ didn't appear to appreciate what he had in Meehan until about 2008, and by then his legs were going. 'Lost in Transition' could be the chapter in all their books, dealing with the 2004-2010 time frame. By 2011, Mayo would be too good for us for a number of years.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4472 - 17/11/2025 16:38:39 2645084 Link 0 |