Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Timbertony:  "That's true but he needs to earn his spot like everyone else. He can be a key player against Galway and KK but that could be an impact off the bench too. Thought we would see a bit more of Kinsella this year but he's struggled to get minutes on the pitch."
Would like to see more of Kinsella myself he's a big strong lad with plenty of hurling

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 23/04/2024 13:17:56    2540119

Replying To Timbertony:  "Agreed completely about Damien Reck, not an inter county 6 for me. Don't see an obvious replacement though, maybe Liam Ryan or Devitt but they haven't played all season. MOH was never an inter county standard 3 either so we have problems in critical positions. Molloy is a very good club player but he was average enough that day in KK. Same for McGuckian, there's a massive jump from club to county and while they are losses from the 26 I'm not sure they improve our starting half back line.

I know Eoin Whelan is only coming back from injury himself but surely he's a better bet than some on the panel?"
Devitt has never played centre back in a senior intercounty game to the best of my knowledge, Molloy was excellent in the 2nd half that day in KK, he didn't stand out in the 1st alright but the team as a whole were 2nd best, pity when his injury occurred, he could have got a good run over the league like Niall Murphy, Conor Foley etc. I'd agree we couldn't start him as things stand but I think he's alot of potential looking towards the future. Couldn't see Eoin Whelan been involved, possibly if the u20s are knocked out are we're still in the championship.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1756 - 23/04/2024 13:24:16    2540124

Does richie lawlor have enough hurling ability to be starting? Iv yet to see him stand out in any game of hurling since minor.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 23/04/2024 13:29:35    2540125

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Does richie lawlor have enough hurling ability to be starting? Iv yet to see him stand out in any game of hurling since minor."
His stickwork needs to tidy up but he's very good in the air, good athlete, his style of play will draw frees and he has a very good workrate, his best performance over the season in my opinion was against Clare when he played in midfield after Kevin Foley went off injured.

I'm not in anyway comparing to the man I'm about to mention but if ask anyone in Limerick about Gearoid Hegarty they never taught him aged 19-22 would become the figure he has in that Limerick team.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1756 - 23/04/2024 13:43:09    2540130

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Does richie lawlor have enough hurling ability to be starting? Iv yet to see him stand out in any game of hurling since minor."
Did well against Waterford I think. Caught a few nice balls in the air but consistency is the key word here. He's still very young and learning his trade but I'd agree with you I expected more from him at this stage of his development. As I'm a townie and Harriers man I think he will come good with more game time and strength and conditioning.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 23/04/2024 13:45:02    2540131

From watching walsh cupand league games he eserved his chance worked his socks off and won some serious ball , plus disruting opposition out ball . Sunday was nt his best day same could be saud for seamus casey .. as I said earlier postvthe team was set up to get chimney and Rory on as much ball as possible thats my opinion and it worked. Neither casey nor lawloelr got the supply they got .
Just assuming that was the game plan. Richie and Liam og cathal Dunbar to win and create space to give ball to chin Rory and hope few balls would fall to casey too as a finisher . Both chin and Rory capable of winning and scoring their own ball . Rest not so much .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 183 - 23/04/2024 13:57:52    2540140

He was very good against Waterford in the League this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:43:12    2540162

Replying To Magpie2:  "Scored one point from 73 minutes of play Viking.
We really need forwards that register scores and are heavily involved in the action throughput.
For me Dunbar is a neat tidy player but is usually anonymous for long spells of the game. We need lads that will give 100% not 20% or 30%.
Every player must give his all for the full 70 minutes +. Of course he may run out of gas late in the game due to exhaustion or injury but he has given it everything for as long as he can.
Success will only be achieved if the above happens. Anything less should not be acceptable.
The recipe for success in any walk of life is hard work, a willingness to correct your mistakes, never say die attitude, be passionate at all times and think before you act."
I agree he fades in and out of games. He was pretty poor in the 1st half Sunday, but then alot of the lads seemed to take ages to get up to speed.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:44:34    2540163

Are you having a laugh?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 23/04/2024 14:46:00    2540164

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "As an aside will ye have Carty or SOG back for the club championship?"
Very unlikely. They booked tickets for a year. Big losses. Said they'd fly back if the club were in bad trouble. Ian did tell me the day he left that he would be back for the start of intercounty. I hope he doesn't change his mind!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:47:17    2540165

Replying To Timbertony:  "Agreed completely about Damien Reck, not an inter county 6 for me. Don't see an obvious replacement though, maybe Liam Ryan or Devitt but they haven't played all season. MOH was never an inter county standard 3 either so we have problems in critical positions. Molloy is a very good club player but he was average enough that day in KK. Same for McGuckian, there's a massive jump from club to county and while they are losses from the 26 I'm not sure they improve our starting half back line.

I know Eoin Whelan is only coming back from injury himself but surely he's a better bet than some on the panel?"
Whelan was one of the best on last years u20s but he is probably more important to them the way things are going for them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:48:30    2540167

Replying To Timbertony:  "That's true but he needs to earn his spot like everyone else. He can be a key player against Galway and KK but that could be an impact off the bench too. Thought we would see a bit more of Kinsella this year but he's struggled to get minutes on the pitch."
Who would you start instead of Mogie? And if he doesn't get more gametime will he be able to make that impact off the bench?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:49:40    2540168

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Will be good to have him back next year should he commit"
Would be really great! He's only really played 2 or 3 seasons for the county though. He didn't commit before also. Great player when he's there though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:50:50    2540169

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Would like to see more of Kinsella myself he's a big strong lad with plenty of hurling"
He's only 22 this year though. Has plenty of time to get on the team.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:51:37    2540172

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Are you having a laugh?"
In fairness that poster said he didn't see much of us this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12074 - 23/04/2024 14:53:08    2540173

To be fair to Molloy, he's only 22 this year and that was his first ever league game, I wouldn't think he's ready to start right now in the half-back line but he definitely should be able to start there in a year or two IMO

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 275 - 23/04/2024 14:56:22    2540178

I think he has enough hurling ability to be starting, not every starting forward needs to be a brilliant ball-player, Tipp have won All-Irelands with Dan McCormack starting for instance

Richie is decent enough in the air, is good in tussles for possession, is good at hassling lads and trying to turn over opposition possession, has a decent bit of pace and is a direct runner, great engine and great work-rate

You have to remember he's only going 22 this year and this was only his second ever Championship start. My biggest problem was that we started him inside: his skill set is much more like a midfielder/half-forward than it is of an inside forward

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 275 - 23/04/2024 15:00:31    2540180

Replying To Viking66:  "He's only 22 this year though. Has plenty of time to get on the team."
Think he could be a starter for us in years to come. Its interesting I cant think of any of the top tier teams now that have lads 21/22 years of age starting on their team? They may have one young lad starting such as Adam Hogan in Clare but most teams are made up of lads in their mid 20s to early 30s. The S&C involved now lads arent making the teams until they are 23/24. Hopefully the young lads we have blooded this year will continue to improve and will be the backbone of our team in 3/4 years time

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 23/04/2024 15:21:34    2540188

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Think he could be a starter for us in years to come. Its interesting I cant think of any of the top tier teams now that have lads 21/22 years of age starting on their team? They may have one young lad starting such as Adam Hogan in Clare but most teams are made up of lads in their mid 20s to early 30s. The S&C involved now lads arent making the teams until they are 23/24. Hopefully the young lads we have blooded this year will continue to improve and will be the backbone of our team in 3/4 years time"
We have Richie Lawlor and Conor Foley starting in that age bracket but most counties have mostly lads in their mid to late 20s and early 30s making up their starting 15s

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 23/04/2024 15:26:07    2540190

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Are you having a laugh?"
No i aint having a laugh. Im just not deluded.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 23/04/2024 15:34:50    2540194